$225 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

4 stars
View map of 62 100 Kauna Oa Drive, Big Island Of Hawaii, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
250 out of 250
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
derekj88
Business
shreveport, la
Sep 20, 2009

Hapuna

The hotel and grounds were amazing. I've heard other reviews about the hotel not being "beach-front" - not true! The place is sprawling, so plan on walking a good distance to everything. My wife had a massage at the spa, "so-so" rating. Don't bother with the "beach-front" massage. It is actually right next to the path to the beach for half the rooms of the hotel (no privacy). There is definitely a rate hierarchy. We did not have some of the amenities that non-Orbitz rooms had, such as stocked mini-fridge, etc. Our "king size" bed was actually two twins pushed together. We went "around the island" one day, Green Sand Beach, Black Sand Beach, Volcano Nat'l Park, second black sand beach, lava flow into the ocean and dinner in Hilo. Quite a long day! If we could do it over again, we would spend 1 night on the Hilo side. Don't bother renting a jeep, you can't take it off road anyway, a convertible car would suffice. Bottom line, there are better hotels in the area for a little more $$$. Mauna Kea, Mauna Lani and Kona Village.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We spent six nights on the Kohala Coast at the Hapuna Prince. The best restaurant by far was a little place in Hawi (20 miles north) called "Bamboo". The seafood risotto was the best! I also tried the ribs which were fall off the bone in a pineapple bar-b-que sauce! "Hawaii Revealed" is a must have if you are planning to go, also, fly direct to Kona from mainland if you can, Honolulu Airport is a pain to change planes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ct_girl2012
Business
Stamford, Connecticut
Apr 19, 2011

Nice Location, Lots to Do on the Island

We stayed for 11 days on the Island in Hapuna, and although I found it average, by the looks of other resorts, the hotel was great for this island. The special Friday night buffet "Craby..." is not good, so skip that, waste of money. The breakfast is worth the $, so go for it. The food as the pool is good as well. But if you really want to enjoy the place go down to the shore to a place called Blue Dragon, amazing food and life music.Also, highly recommend to do a sunset horse back ride on the ranch off Rt 250 (in the mountains). Overall the views and the beach were very nice, but the furniture was dated and the room has this old, humid smell. The service is great in this hotel, people are very helpful and friendly. Towels at the pool are free, so I liked that, but the beach sand was a bit washed out (perhaps because of the tsunami). Try some wild beaches past the lava field park, next to the airport. A little hint, if you go all the way to the end of the lava national park trail, you can take a 30 to 35 minute walk towards a best beach in Big Island, but be prepared, you will have to walk thought the field of lava; but once you get to that wild beach, it will be truly worth it, the sand looks like sugar and the beach is simply breath taking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Blue Dragon about 5 minute drive, they are open Thursday to Sunday, food is simply amazing and the life music and dancing is great as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 5, 2010

Hapuna Nice but dead

Beach is amazing. Hotel lacked ambiance and personality. The hotel was kind of dead when we went the week after Thanksgiving which was nice to enjoy the beach, but the hotel had a sad empty feeling. We avoided the Ocean Terrace restaurant (it was the only option open Tuesday - Thursday) it didn't look like anything great, half buffet and very expensive. We ate at the Coastal Grill (even more expensive) the first night, the food was great. But dining over at Mauna Kea hotel was better it had a much warmer ambience and other guests that made it feel not as empty as the Hapuna Beach hotel. Every night they had Hawaiian music at the Reef lounge and there was only one or two tables occupied each night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA, Bay Area
Feb 2, 2011

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel Jan21-31, 2011

PRO: Pretty good hotel, caring staff. Very nice beach with fast and easy access CONS: Pretty boring in the evenings. Some rooms with smell of mildew - You will need asking for room replacement if it is a case. Expensive - parking, - food, - Internet access

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe Pesto

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DEEREMAN
Business
Eagle,Idaho
Feb 6, 2011

Big Island Retreat

Hotel is starting to show her age .this was our 5th visit it is obvious they have delayed all they can, place needs remodeled.Wallpaper peeling,woodwork needs refinishing carpet needs replaced. However is is still my favorite settings in the Pacific. Golfed at Mauna Kea teed off at 2:00 pm no beverage cart or snack service at clubhouse on the turn,staff was rude .will skip next time . Hapuna breakfast buffet is great.Pool food is great.However Latte machine was broken all week. Dinned at Mauna Kea extremely overpriced, moderate food, service slow. Try the Blue Dragon in Kawaihae for great food, music,and dancing.Do a sunset dinner cruise with captain Will great crew.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DEEREMAN
Business
Eagle,Idaho
Feb 3, 2011

Hapuna Prince

This was the 5th time we have stayed at the Prince. Beautiful setting,however building and rooms are starting to show there age (needs remodeled updated,elevator was broken)Service was good. The Mauna Kea golf course (part of Hotel)is nice however course staff were rude.We teed off at 2pm no beverage or food service .I would not golf there again due to rude staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Blue Dragon in Kawaihae for excellent food and entertainment. Do a Dinner cruise with Captian Will great people fun time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Viva!
Business
Seattle WA
Feb 13, 2011

Needs Room Updates, But overal Good

The property has the second best location on kohala...second only to its sister property (Mauna Kea...which you will have access to!). Good beach but rough surf. The rooms have obviously NOT been updated in 2 decades...pastels, Laura Ashley, etc. If you can afford to, I recommend the Mauna Kea next door!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Manta Pavillion for dinner at the Mauna Kea, next door....$$$$$, but worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ca
Sep 4, 2010

The perfect crime

More entertainment would be nice. The place is commanding in architecture but you need to be ready to drive to Kona or want to just lay by the pool or on the beach. No bar service on the beach you have to walk up to the pool bar. Be careful the place is secluded and Dark at night no security to be seen we walked around a couple of nights in early August and never spotted anyone except the local cat. Keep your door locked at all times. The final night of our stay we were robbed of Purse and Money-clip from inside our room. Security (The one man on duty) didn't do much other than take a report and call Police. The plantation shutter screen door doesn't lock from outside it can give you a false sense of security if you are inside or if you step just 20 feet away from your room. The sliding glass door also has plantation shutters that you can see through when they are closed. We felt we were being watched right before we were robbed. So take a room up High. This can be a great place to just get away and relax if you feel like doing nothing other than golf and lay on the beach and snorkel in the summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the coupons they offer 15% off to each of there resteraunts

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MT winter getaway
Business
Billings, MT
Nov 23, 2014

average getaway

We enjoyed our stay. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Great views of the ocean. Staff checking in were rude and gave us a room as far away from the conference we were attending as we could be. Gave us terrible directions on how to get to our room at midnight. Other staff were much friendlier. The food was ok. Beaches were clean and fun. Snorkeling was fair but waves too rough most days so couldn't see as good. Years past it was excellent when water was calmer. Parking garage was ok but they charge $15 a day...should be free. Wireless internet also additional fee which seems absurd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Average upper middle clas
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 9, 2014

could be much better

Hotel/resort is in a great location - excellent beach, view, and weather. Staff seem a bit curt at times but that could be the local way of life compared to the obscenely smiley American customer service. For a hotel/resort catering mostly to non-locals, they lack a restauran/bar that is open past 8:30 PM. Near by restaurants (about 5 miles aways) close at 9 PM and 10:30 PM. I am also not sure if they have a proper place serving lunch at the hotel. The most annoying aspect of this hotel and probably all other hotels is that they prefer to charge for parking, breakfast, wireless on top of the already high daily room rents. I really do not see the point of it. Why not bundle up all of them into one and make the customer feel better when they are at the hotel?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Get your food before 8 PM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top