$235 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

4 stars
62 100 Kauna Oa Drive, Big Island Of Hawaii, Kohala Coast, HI 96743
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
368 reviews
Amazing Hotel and staff

The hotel, location, and staff were amazing. We would definitely stay there again and recommend our... See full review

  • Sheldon and Roxana
  • Jul 22, 2014
very romantic couples destination

Beautiful room with an unbelievable ocean view, great terrace dining overlooking pool and beach... See full review

  • PR Neil
  • Jun 20, 2014
Grand Hapuna Beach hotel with ocean views from every room
With an ancient name Hapuna, or "Spring of Life," the award-winning Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel sits oceanfront upon South Kohala's remarkable Hapuna Beach. All 350 luxurious guest rooms offer ocean views from private balconies. The resort shares its oceanfront landscape with sister property Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, combining amenities for an extended resort with championship golf courses, tennis, spas, a fitness center, swimming pool, restaurants and more.
Highlights
  • Enjoy access and signing privileges at the neighboring Mauna Kea Beach Hotel
  • Hapuna Beach is frequently ranked among America's best beaches by Condé Nast Traveler
  • Stargaze at the hotel's high-powered telescope with professional astronomers several days each week
Location
Less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona on the South Kohala Coast, the Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel fronts the grand Hapuna Beach, one of the Big Island's most famed beaches. Kings' Shops and Queens' MarketPlace are less than 10 miles south, with plentiful shopping and dining.
Rooms
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel angles away from the beach, offering ocean views from its 350 oversized guest rooms. Each includes a private balcony, Japanese robes, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), bathroom amenities and large bathroom with double vanity.
Features
Recreation
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel features an oceanfront swimming pool, fitness center, golf course and full-service spa (fees apply). Guests may use facilities at the neighboring Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, including Mauna Kea Spa by Mandara and Mauna Kea Golf Course (fees apply).
Dining
Guests choose from several dining experiences at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel. The open-air Ocean Terrace does breakfast both a la carte and buffet. The poolside Beach Bar offers salads, fresh fish and sandwiches -- or guests can make their own salads at Café Hapuna. Coast Grill features fresh Island ingredients with an American bistro slant. Room service is available.
Attractions
  • Hapuna Beach (In front)
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (8.1 mi/15 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (14 mi/22.6 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (31.7 mi/51 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (51.4 mi/82.7 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (97 mi/156 km)
Policies and fees
Self parking: $15 USD + tax per day Valet Parking: $20 USD + tax per day

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel Rooms

Premium Oceanview
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 9th floor. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Terrace
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 5th and 6th floors. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels,and local calls. High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Partial Oceanview
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 5th,6th and 7th floors. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Oceanfront
One King bed,two Doubles or two Queen beds. Located on all five floors of the Oceanfront building. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Oceanview
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 6th, 7th and 8th floors. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls. High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Oceanfront Suite
One King bed or two Queens in master bedroom, plus one Queen sofa bed in the living room. Located on all five floors of the Oceanfront building. 1,200 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Two bathrooms,including master bathroom showcasing granite vanity with double sinks. Separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers available in room. Complimentary welcome basket with coffee,biscotti,and macadamia nuts.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.9944 -155.8228
Area served
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel is situated on 32 oceanfront acres on the sunny Kohala Coast of the northernmost end of the Big Island of Hawaii. Perched on the hillside, it overlooks the beautiful #1 rated Hapuna Beach.
Nearby airports
30 minutes from the Kona airport 2 hours from Hilo
Area description
Directions from Keahole-Kona International Airport (KOA) to Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel As you leave the Airport, turn left onto Queen Kaahumanu Highway 19, heading toward Kawaihae. Drive north about 27 miles, approximately 30 minutes. Half-way point: after about 15 minutes you will come to a stoplight (near the Waikoloa Resort area), from this point you are half way there. 2-mile landmark: look for the signs for the small town of Puako (from this turn off you are about 2 miles from the hotel entrance). You'll pass the state highway sign for Hapuna Beach State Park, go over the overpass and shortly thereafter, look for the entrance to Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel – the entrance will be on the right side. Enter this driveway and the guard will direct you to the hotel, located oceanfront.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
One of the most sophisticated, full-service meeting facilities in the world, Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel offers unmatched options for meetings, incentives and conferences of all sizes. You'll find over 85,000 square feet of meeting space, including an 8,400 square-foot ballroom, six conference rooms, numerous breakout areas and a complete Business Center with computers, printers and facsimile machines.

Dining

Coast Grille & Oyster Bar
Resort Executive Chef Piet Wigmans shares his love of Hawaii through his food – Hawaii Regional Cuisine. Blending the rich flavors of the island's ethnic dishes with the Big Island's distinctive ingredients, the unique cuisine offers fresh, flavorful and inspired dishes that showcase our island's bounty. The hotel's signature restaurant features an oyster bar and the freshest Pacific Rim cuisine in an indoor or outdoor setting. A specialty is the New England lobster, raised in cold pure deep-ocean waters at an aquaculture facility just down the road. Evening Dining, 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Call for Days Resort Attire
Beach Bar
Located poolside, the Beach Bar features lunch and early afternoon fare with salads, sandwiches, fresh island fish and full bar. At sunset, enjoy your favorite cocktail and watch the sun slip into the horizon. During the summer months, enjoy "Dive-In" movies on Saturday nights for free. Open Daily, 11:30am - 4:00pm Beach/Casual Attire
Ocean Terrace
Overlooking Hapuna Beach and the blue Pacific, this casual open-air breakfast restaurant offers a thoughtful mix of healthy, creative items along with familiar favorites. Featuring a daily breakfast buffet and an extensive a la carte menu. Open Daily for Breakfast, 6:30am - 11:00am Resort Attire
Reef Lounge
Just beneath the lobby, the open-air Reef Lounge provides spectacular ocean views of Hapuna Beach and the Kohala coastline from its central location. Another great spot to watch the sunset, enjoy tropical drinks to the island sounds of live Hawaiian guitar and hula nightly. Open Nightly, 5:30pm – 11:00pm Casual Resort Attire

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (368)

Ratings and reviews for Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
368 out of 368
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, Utah
May 26, 2009

Spectacular Getaway.

Great hotel and staff. Right on the ocean. spectacular views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jacksonville, FL
Sep 3, 2008

Very strong but could have been much stronger

The scenery, ambiance, and hotel staff are top-notch. Our room and view were breath-taking with the location and room amenities great. The beach is quiet and scenic with awesome views. We were NOT told by the hotel that two of the restaurants advertised were closed down, nor that the golf course would be closed for 1.5 days for maintenance. If we had known that we would have chosen another property so we felt taken aback by their failure to be open with us, especially with the rates charged. Alternative restaurants are available but you must have your own transportation since the hotel does not provide a shuttle. We were excited about visiting the property since we were on our honeymoon but the glamour faded quickly once we arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seattle Architect
Seattle
Feb 7, 2011

Best Beach on Island

We saw many beaches on the Big Island and Hapuna Beach is one of the best, if not the best, beach on the Big Island. The actual hotel is very nice, with a very grand lobby, excellent fitness room, and nice pool (a few too many kids for our taste though). Our room had a partial ocean view on the 7th floor. The view was actually excellent for being partial ocean view. Most rooms have large lanai's with a chaise lounge, a table and two chairs and wonderfully large sliding doors with insect screen and separate light control louvers. The large hotel room itself is showing some signs of wear, such as pealing wall paper in corners, and bathroom grout that could use replacing, but overall the room was clean and house keeping was good. The bathroom has two sinks, a separate toilet room (I wish the door was a full height door and more private too, rather than a louvered door), a shower, and separate tub. The room was air conditioned, which most of the time is not needed, but it makes it more comfortable to sleep at night. We did not eat at the hotel much because there are some excellent restaurants on the island, and most are more reasonably priced than the hotel food, which we felt was too expensive. The room does have a small 'dorm' fridge, big enough for half gallons of fruit juice and milk, and bottles of water. Overall, I would recommend this hotel and we enjoyed our stay. Be aware of a fifteen dollar a day parking fee (which doesn't appear to be listed on their website).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had great Dinners at nearby Cafe Pesto, and Merriman's in Waimea.

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
SLC, UT
May 23, 2009

A great place to stay

A few weeks before leaving, I requested some information about activities, etc via e-mail and also mentioned that we were celebrating our 39th wedding anniversary. We received the information from [...] the next day which I really appreciated. When we checked in they had upgraded our terrace room to a partial ocean view and left us a bottle of Champagne. We really appreciated this nice gesture. The staff were all very friendly, the beach and pool are terrific, the room was very nice, though there was a slight smell of mildew hence not quite a 5 star rating. Snorkelling on the south end is great for beginners and quite good for those more advanced snorkelers. Snorkelling at the Mauna Kea beach (use the shuttle to the Mauna Kea resort) is fantastic. Because we booked our entire stay in the Prince, we had to do a lot of driving to see the volcano, drive to the top of Mauna Kea (which was great) and visit the historical parks on the south west side of the island. But the quality of the Hotel made it worth the extra driving, at least for me, to avoid booking another hotel for a couple of nights on the Hilo side. Others who don't like driving would do best to spend a couple of nights at the Hapuna Prince and then a couple over in Hilo. Beause we got a great deal using Orbitz, it was a very good value. Over all it was a very nice stay and we hated to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cjerbeck
Vancouver,Wa
May 5, 2009

A Special place!

We had a wonderful time,beautiful place.The Management even sent a bottle of bubbly to our room for my Wifes birthday

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast Buffet was good.Good food available nearby in Kamuela/Waimea.Also just north of resort a couple of miles.Try the Pizza at Kona Brewing.Great!

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
williesmomok
Bellevue, Washington
Apr 8, 2011

Quiet location on the beach

Don't worry when you have to turn off the highway away from ocean to get to this hotel. The road winds around and under the highway to a perfect location on the beach. Nice surrounding grounds were well maintained. There were plenty of beach chairs and umbrella's, but beware in the late afternoon the staff starts stacking the chairs for the night. Food is good but expensive for every meal. We got salads at the grocery store and enjoyed dinner on our deck with a gorgeous sunset. The surf was high during our week long stay so we were not able to snorkel. High waves were great for the surfers. The staff was very nice and helped us with a room change after my first night because I wanted a better view of the ocean. Beware some rooms have large palm trees obstructing the view. I was very pleased and felt very taken care of at the Prince. I would like to stay there again....because the staff was so helpful and accommodating to my needs. One area of improvement that would be nice is to replace the plantation style shutters with drapes to block out the light in the morning. I also would have like to see more flowers of different kinds on the grounds. I really wanted a nice photo of a bird of paradise. I didn't like having to pay for internet....I think it should be included in a resort hotel. My previous trip was at a 5 star resort so I gave this one a 4 star. It was very nice and a good value for the money I spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

When we got off the plane we drove to Costco and got water and snacks for our stay. Saved money on not buying smaller quantity on a daily basis.

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ozeejay
Cupertino, CA
Aug 29, 2010

Lovely and relaxing

This is our second time to the Hapuna Beach Prince. It's so lovely and relaxing. The grounds are very nice as are the rooms. Although the rooms on either side of us were occupied (I think), I barely heard a peep from any neighbors. The housekeeping staff also seems to be very quiet, or else they came along our corridor after we left our room (around 9am usually), because I never heard them, either. I really appreciate that! The pool and beach are great. The only thing that seemed lacking was a choice of places to dine at the hotel. It was either a very cheap to-go meal (at the Cafe), or a farily expensive sit-down meal at one of the two restaurants, which were never both open at the same time. So, pretty limited options. Actually, one other slight negative - it was hard sometimes to get from Point A to Point B at the hotel, as the routes can be a little convoluted and may require a fair amount of stair-walking. I like the added exercise and don't mind, although some people might find it too much. Overall, however, if you want peace and quiet and beauty, and a very friendly staff to boot, this is a great place to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
steobr
Rhode Island
Feb 2, 2011

Good resort destination

Clean, friendly, great pool, it would be nice to be able to obtain ice without calling housekeeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

location allowed you to bypass traffic of Kona

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jasper GA
Feb 22, 2010

Still a Great Place but....

The Mauna Kea Resort and the Hapuna Hotel are still First Class and have superb service and staffs, but cuts in little things reflect the state of the economy, I guess. Examples of things missing this trip that were present our last visit are: 1. Daily delivery of bottled water to the room. 2. Turn down service (although still referred to in hotel literature.) 3. Omelet and waffle station at the breakfast buffet. 4. Bag tags at the golf courses. 5. The Japanese steak house at the Hapuna.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
tucson
Jan 6, 2011

Wonderful hotel and staff

rooms were very nice. Staff was friendly and service was very good Excellent beach All in all a great vacationspot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great beach and nice pool.good workout and spa, but a walk from hotel. Very few restaurants were open and notnmuch for late night entertainment.

Back to menu Return to top