$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

4 stars
62 100 Kauna Oa Drive, Big Island Of Hawaii, Kohala Coast, HI 96743
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
237 reviews
Wonderful experience

Hotel was beautiful and clean. We loved the location on the beach. The staff was friendly and... See full review

  • Chris V
  • Aug 31, 2014
Good facilities, fantastic location

The hotel is located in one of the best beaches in Hawaii. The rooms are spacious, clean. My only... See full review

  • 1juanpa1
  • Aug 11, 2014
Grand Hapuna Beach hotel with ocean views from every room
With an ancient name Hapuna, or "Spring of Life," the award-winning Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel sits oceanfront upon South Kohala's remarkable Hapuna Beach. All 350 luxurious guest rooms offer ocean views from private balconies. The resort shares its oceanfront landscape with sister property Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, combining amenities for an extended resort with championship golf courses, tennis, spas, a fitness center, swimming pool, restaurants and more.
Highlights
  • Enjoy access and signing privileges at the neighboring Mauna Kea Beach Hotel
  • Hapuna Beach is frequently ranked among America's best beaches by Condé Nast Traveler
  • Stargaze at the hotel's high-powered telescope with professional astronomers several days each week
Location
Less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona on the South Kohala Coast, the Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel fronts the grand Hapuna Beach, one of the Big Island's most famed beaches. Kings' Shops and Queens' MarketPlace are less than 10 miles south, with plentiful shopping and dining.
Rooms
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel angles away from the beach, offering ocean views from its 350 oversized guest rooms. Each includes a private balcony, Japanese robes, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), bathroom amenities and large bathroom with double vanity.
Features
Recreation
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel features an oceanfront swimming pool, fitness center, golf course and full-service spa (fees apply). Guests may use facilities at the neighboring Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, including Mauna Kea Spa by Mandara and Mauna Kea Golf Course (fees apply).
Dining
Guests choose from several dining experiences at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel. The open-air Ocean Terrace does breakfast both a la carte and buffet. The poolside Beach Bar offers salads, fresh fish and sandwiches -- or guests can make their own salads at Café Hapuna. Coast Grill features fresh Island ingredients with an American bistro slant. Room service is available.
Attractions
  • Hapuna Beach (In front)
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (8.1 mi/15 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (14 mi/22.6 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (31.7 mi/51 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (51.4 mi/82.7 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (97 mi/156 km)
Policies and fees
Self parking: $15 USD + tax per day Valet Parking: $20 USD + tax per day

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.9944 -155.8228
Area served
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel is situated on 32 oceanfront acres on the sunny Kohala Coast of the northernmost end of the Big Island of Hawaii. Perched on the hillside, it overlooks the beautiful #1 rated Hapuna Beach.
Nearby airports
30 minutes from the Kona airport 2 hours from Hilo
Area description
Directions from Keahole-Kona International Airport (KOA) to Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel As you leave the Airport, turn left onto Queen Kaahumanu Highway 19, heading toward Kawaihae. Drive north about 27 miles, approximately 30 minutes. Half-way point: after about 15 minutes you will come to a stoplight (near the Waikoloa Resort area), from this point you are half way there. 2-mile landmark: look for the signs for the small town of Puako (from this turn off you are about 2 miles from the hotel entrance). You'll pass the state highway sign for Hapuna Beach State Park, go over the overpass and shortly thereafter, look for the entrance to Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel – the entrance will be on the right side. Enter this driveway and the guard will direct you to the hotel, located oceanfront.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel Rooms

Premium Oceanview
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 9th floor. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Terrace
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 5th and 6th floors. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels,and local calls. High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Partial Oceanview
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 5th,6th and 7th floors. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Oceanfront
One King bed,two Doubles or two Queen beds. Located on all five floors of the Oceanfront building. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Oceanview
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 6th, 7th and 8th floors. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls. High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Oceanfront Suite
One King bed or two Queens in master bedroom, plus one Queen sofa bed in the living room. Located on all five floors of the Oceanfront building. 1,200 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Two bathrooms,including master bathroom showcasing granite vanity with double sinks. Separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers available in room. Complimentary welcome basket with coffee,biscotti,and macadamia nuts.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Coast Grille & Oyster Bar
Resort Executive Chef Piet Wigmans shares his love of Hawaii through his food – Hawaii Regional Cuisine. Blending the rich flavors of the island's ethnic dishes with the Big Island's distinctive ingredients, the unique cuisine offers fresh, flavorful and inspired dishes that showcase our island's bounty. The hotel's signature restaurant features an oyster bar and the freshest Pacific Rim cuisine in an indoor or outdoor setting. A specialty is the New England lobster, raised in cold pure deep-ocean waters at an aquaculture facility just down the road. Evening Dining, 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Call for Days Resort Attire
Beach Bar
Located poolside, the Beach Bar features lunch and early afternoon fare with salads, sandwiches, fresh island fish and full bar. At sunset, enjoy your favorite cocktail and watch the sun slip into the horizon. During the summer months, enjoy "Dive-In" movies on Saturday nights for free. Open Daily, 11:30am - 4:00pm Beach/Casual Attire
Ocean Terrace
Overlooking Hapuna Beach and the blue Pacific, this casual open-air breakfast restaurant offers a thoughtful mix of healthy, creative items along with familiar favorites. Featuring a daily breakfast buffet and an extensive a la carte menu. Open Daily for Breakfast, 6:30am - 11:00am Resort Attire
Reef Lounge
Just beneath the lobby, the open-air Reef Lounge provides spectacular ocean views of Hapuna Beach and the Kohala coastline from its central location. Another great spot to watch the sunset, enjoy tropical drinks to the island sounds of live Hawaiian guitar and hula nightly. Open Nightly, 5:30pm – 11:00pm Casual Resort Attire

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
One of the most sophisticated, full-service meeting facilities in the world, Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel offers unmatched options for meetings, incentives and conferences of all sizes. You'll find over 85,000 square feet of meeting space, including an 8,400 square-foot ballroom, six conference rooms, numerous breakout areas and a complete Business Center with computers, printers and facsimile machines.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lchris
Nevada
Jan 14, 2013

Beautiful Hotel

We loved our stay at the Hapuna Beach Hotel. We had a fantastic view from our room. The staff were all very helpful and friendly accept for the woman with the short hair at the activities desk. My only recommendation is that they open more restaurants for dinner or vary the menu from night to night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go on a whale watch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Xaris
San Francisco
Oct 8, 2012

Good Location poor hotel

I only a view could make happy this hotel would get five stars, but everything her is only for money or not possible. WLAN 25 Dollar a day Airport shuttle no pay by yourself Tours only 2 offers for a pick up from the Hotel Snorkel gear 8 dollar an hour no day charge possible The one restaurant which is open is pricy and not really good. You i felt always that the only want the money and not an happy customer. I would stay their when it is a real 4 star hotel again with service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

You need a rental car and rent it online at the hotel they say the have only SUV or convertible for rent on the Island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rumpelstielzchen
Beverly Crest ,California
Jan 5, 2013

shabby and expensive

Ain't what it used to be. We went there once or twice a year. This was the last time. Needs new management. Mahalo and Aloha

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Waikaloa or Waimea

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange, Ca
Aug 14, 2010

STAY AWAY!

The Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel is very disappointing. The first room we stayed in smelled very strongly of mildew and there were brown smears over the carpet that we realized were from squished cockroaches. We saw two live ones on the carpet the second day. I have been to the Hawaiian Islands five times and have never seen a roach in my room before. The management did move us to a cleaner, non-smelly room on the fourth of our five nights and they did not charge us for the upgrade. The hotel itself is empty. On most evenings the common areas, such as the bar and the terrace restaurant, were totally empty. There was a paid musician singing to no one. We tried to go to the Coast Grille, their "fancy" restaurant" for dinner on Wednesday night at 6:30 but it was locked and empty. The parking lot had very few cars. The buildings need paint and a serious cleaning. For example, the umbrellas on the terrace restaurant are covered with bird poop. Not appetizing. On the plus side, the staff was friendly. There were lots of wild cats that were cute and the beach is beautiful. If you have stayed at a resort such as the Hyatt in Maui, you will be very sad to stay here. Stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is not much to eat at the hotel. Queen's Market is about 12 minutes south and there are good places to eat there. There is a Macaroni Grill, Roy's, and Sansei (Japanese). All good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CElizabeth
Business
Washington DC
May 13, 2011

two star service

Arriving early evening on Saturday night we were dissappointed to find on shusi served at the sole eatery. Furhermore, NO SHUTTLE to the sister resort of Mona kea. Each day only 1 resturant is open with the pool food servise stopping at 2 pm. Heaven help any one who does not eat raw fish. The staff is not helpful. The rooms are dated with an old Sony TV and wornwicker furniture. Room service and housekeeping are also slow. 2 star service at 5 star prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Blue Dragon is a jwewl intherough

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
warning friends
Honolulu, HI
Jul 2, 2011

Open the book

People were nice. but the valet person, when we got there was not very happy when my husband forgot to tip. On the tag where they write down the date. One of them wrote F U. I thought wow dont they pay this people enough. Is not like we didnt tip at all. Just saying, One bad apple does leave a bad taste in your mouth. we love the person who clean our room. We didnt tell her that the pillow on the bed some of them smell. We had two queen beds we had to pick the pillows that didnt smell. I though that is because the A.C. in the room smelled. Also the small fridge stop working on the first day. Then the next day when we got back to the room at 10pm the TV was broken the picture was crazy. My husband said, never mind we dont have time to watch anyway. But I thought it would be nice to watch after a long day of siteseing. Over all to compare to a previous trip to vegas. Where we stayed at MGM it is really no comparison MGM was so much better. The TV and the pillow and the AC did not smells at all. The beach and the hotel outside our room looks beautiful. But, you really cant read a book by its cover.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The island is bigger than the other island and although the island is beautiful the drive everywhere to get to the places is long and its part of the charm of the place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
D.man
Orange County, Calif
Jan 2, 2012

Don't nickel and dime

Paying $650 per night and then having to pay extra for internet is pathetic. The web says they have internet, but not that you have to pay $11.95 extra for it. If Starbucks can provide internet for free, "grand hotels" that charge $450 per night and up should absolutely have it for free too! Shower was old tile, old glass, and the fixture was coming apart. Also, bottled water in the room is a must for a top hotel. And $20 per day for valet parking? They have no shuttle from the airport, so everyone has to have a car! Either add it into the price of the room in advance, or just waive the fee-either way, they turn things into a nickel and dime experience. If you get a massage, don't have it in the "spa", which is a hair salon that has a side room for massages. At $140, nobody wants to listen to the chatter of "salon talk".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed couple....
Dallas, TX
Mar 22, 2011

Would reconsider staying here...

Hotel hospitality was lacking in a big way... The rooms are left to be desired, very old and dated. The showers were dirty with mildew stains. Hotel nickels and dimes you for everything, not to mention way overpriced at the restaurants. Very small swimming pool, the one that they did have. Only one restaurant opened per night and they pretty much charge you the same prices with very similar menus... I would not recommend staying at this place for a couple. The view is pretty and that is about it, not worth the price that you pay for staying here... plus the fact we requested a king bed and got doubles, the staff kept saying they were overbooked yet the hotel was dead... I would say it was at 25-30% capacity at most... they tried to get us to upgrade for $100 more a night to the ocean view in order to get the king bed. Was not friendly or helpful at all!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Dec 5, 2010

Hapuna Nice but dead

Beach is amazing. Hotel lacked ambiance and personality. The hotel was kind of dead when we went the week after Thanksgiving which was nice to enjoy the beach, but the hotel had a sad empty feeling. We avoided the Ocean Terrace restaurant (it was the only option open Tuesday - Thursday) it didn't look like anything great, half buffet and very expensive. We ate at the Coastal Grill (even more expensive) the first night, the food was great. But dining over at Mauna Kea hotel was better it had a much warmer ambience and other guests that made it feel not as empty as the Hapuna Beach hotel. Every night they had Hawaiian music at the Reef lounge and there was only one or two tables occupied each night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I love vacations
Seattle, Washington
Dec 11, 2011

Great location!

The room was a little out dated, but was clean. All the staff that we contacted, the deli, the pool bar, beach attendant, reception, and the two gift stores were all pleasant and friendly. The food at the pool bar was very good. The lobby is extraordinary. Beautiful views! Parking is $15.00 a day. Internet access is $12.00 a day. I really enjoyed staying at the hotel and would stay again. It's not a Four Season, but it is reasonably priced, great views and on a fabulous beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive to the King's shopping area and have dinner at Roy's! The service and food was Impeccable! Not inexpensive, but worth the splurge!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kahala
Honolulu, HI
Jan 6, 2012

Confusing Hotel

The hotel is difficult to understand and to get around in. After much searching I found a little map. Getting to the pool without steps seems impossible, and signage is poor. It was a long way to my room from the front desk. The room itself was very nice, plain but nice. The lanai led to a small front yard with a little ocean view. The only problem was the myriad well-fed cats who were around; I don't like cats. The other problem was that the restaurants don't give you a copy of the bill, so there is nothing to compare with when you get your final bill. Also, they discontinued the shuttle to the Mauna Kea Hotel, their sister hotel,. Since I didn't have a car that was a problem. Lastly, it was a $90 taxi ride to and from the airport, plus tip. To sum it up, I will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search