$225 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

4 stars
62 100 Kauna Oa Drive, Big Island Of Hawaii, Kohala Coast, HI 96743
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
236 reviews
Good facilities, fantastic location

The hotel is located in one of the best beaches in Hawaii. The rooms are spacious, clean. My only... See full review

  • 1juanpa1
  • Aug 11, 2014
Amazing Hotel and staff

The hotel, location, and staff were amazing. We would definitely stay there again and recommend our... See full review

  • Sheldon and Roxana
  • Jul 22, 2014
Grand Hapuna Beach hotel with ocean views from every room
With an ancient name Hapuna, or "Spring of Life," the award-winning Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel sits oceanfront upon South Kohala's remarkable Hapuna Beach. All 350 luxurious guest rooms offer ocean views from private balconies. The resort shares its oceanfront landscape with sister property Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, combining amenities for an extended resort with championship golf courses, tennis, spas, a fitness center, swimming pool, restaurants and more.
Highlights
  • Enjoy access and signing privileges at the neighboring Mauna Kea Beach Hotel
  • Hapuna Beach is frequently ranked among America's best beaches by Condé Nast Traveler
  • Stargaze at the hotel's high-powered telescope with professional astronomers several days each week
Location
Less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona on the South Kohala Coast, the Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel fronts the grand Hapuna Beach, one of the Big Island's most famed beaches. Kings' Shops and Queens' MarketPlace are less than 10 miles south, with plentiful shopping and dining.
Rooms
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel angles away from the beach, offering ocean views from its 350 oversized guest rooms. Each includes a private balcony, Japanese robes, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), bathroom amenities and large bathroom with double vanity.
Features
Recreation
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel features an oceanfront swimming pool, fitness center, golf course and full-service spa (fees apply). Guests may use facilities at the neighboring Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, including Mauna Kea Spa by Mandara and Mauna Kea Golf Course (fees apply).
Dining
Guests choose from several dining experiences at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel. The open-air Ocean Terrace does breakfast both a la carte and buffet. The poolside Beach Bar offers salads, fresh fish and sandwiches -- or guests can make their own salads at Café Hapuna. Coast Grill features fresh Island ingredients with an American bistro slant. Room service is available.
Attractions
  • Hapuna Beach (In front)
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (8.1 mi/15 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (14 mi/22.6 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (31.7 mi/51 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (51.4 mi/82.7 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (97 mi/156 km)
Policies and fees
Self parking: $15 USD + tax per day Valet Parking: $20 USD + tax per day

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.9944 -155.8228
Area served
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel is situated on 32 oceanfront acres on the sunny Kohala Coast of the northernmost end of the Big Island of Hawaii. Perched on the hillside, it overlooks the beautiful #1 rated Hapuna Beach.
Nearby airports
30 minutes from the Kona airport 2 hours from Hilo
Area description
Directions from Keahole-Kona International Airport (KOA) to Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel As you leave the Airport, turn left onto Queen Kaahumanu Highway 19, heading toward Kawaihae. Drive north about 27 miles, approximately 30 minutes. Half-way point: after about 15 minutes you will come to a stoplight (near the Waikoloa Resort area), from this point you are half way there. 2-mile landmark: look for the signs for the small town of Puako (from this turn off you are about 2 miles from the hotel entrance). You'll pass the state highway sign for Hapuna Beach State Park, go over the overpass and shortly thereafter, look for the entrance to Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel – the entrance will be on the right side. Enter this driveway and the guard will direct you to the hotel, located oceanfront.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel Rooms

Premium Oceanview
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 9th floor. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Terrace
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 5th and 6th floors. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels,and local calls. High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Partial Oceanview
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 5th,6th and 7th floors. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Oceanfront
One King bed,two Doubles or two Queen beds. Located on all five floors of the Oceanfront building. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Oceanview
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 6th, 7th and 8th floors. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls. High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Oceanfront Suite
One King bed or two Queens in master bedroom, plus one Queen sofa bed in the living room. Located on all five floors of the Oceanfront building. 1,200 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Two bathrooms,including master bathroom showcasing granite vanity with double sinks. Separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers available in room. Complimentary welcome basket with coffee,biscotti,and macadamia nuts.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Coast Grille & Oyster Bar
Resort Executive Chef Piet Wigmans shares his love of Hawaii through his food – Hawaii Regional Cuisine. Blending the rich flavors of the island's ethnic dishes with the Big Island's distinctive ingredients, the unique cuisine offers fresh, flavorful and inspired dishes that showcase our island's bounty. The hotel's signature restaurant features an oyster bar and the freshest Pacific Rim cuisine in an indoor or outdoor setting. A specialty is the New England lobster, raised in cold pure deep-ocean waters at an aquaculture facility just down the road. Evening Dining, 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Call for Days Resort Attire
Beach Bar
Located poolside, the Beach Bar features lunch and early afternoon fare with salads, sandwiches, fresh island fish and full bar. At sunset, enjoy your favorite cocktail and watch the sun slip into the horizon. During the summer months, enjoy "Dive-In" movies on Saturday nights for free. Open Daily, 11:30am - 4:00pm Beach/Casual Attire
Ocean Terrace
Overlooking Hapuna Beach and the blue Pacific, this casual open-air breakfast restaurant offers a thoughtful mix of healthy, creative items along with familiar favorites. Featuring a daily breakfast buffet and an extensive a la carte menu. Open Daily for Breakfast, 6:30am - 11:00am Resort Attire
Reef Lounge
Just beneath the lobby, the open-air Reef Lounge provides spectacular ocean views of Hapuna Beach and the Kohala coastline from its central location. Another great spot to watch the sunset, enjoy tropical drinks to the island sounds of live Hawaiian guitar and hula nightly. Open Nightly, 5:30pm – 11:00pm Casual Resort Attire

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
One of the most sophisticated, full-service meeting facilities in the world, Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel offers unmatched options for meetings, incentives and conferences of all sizes. You'll find over 85,000 square feet of meeting space, including an 8,400 square-foot ballroom, six conference rooms, numerous breakout areas and a complete Business Center with computers, printers and facsimile machines.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (236)

Ratings and reviews for Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City
Oct 27, 2010

Paradise

Beautiful beach and hotel. Wonderful food and service. We would definately recommend and would love to go back again. This resort has the most beautiful beach I have ever seen and I was even able to snorkel at the resort and see tropical fish. I would recommend a car to see other sights on the island. We went to a fabulous Luau close by as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Luau at Kona Village.

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
InsideTrip Dave
Seattle, WA
Jun 14, 2009

Best combo of beach/hotel/value in Hawai

This is probably the best combination of incredible beach with good hotel you can find in all of Hawaii. We can't say enough about how convenient having a room at a world class hotel a mere steps from one of the best beaches in the world is. Don't hesitate for one minute about this hotel and also go for the beachfront if it isn't that much more. The only drawback is that the hotel was so empty that some of the facilities (restaurants, etc.) are closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Watch Orbitz sales on this hotel as we scored an unbelievable deal for an oceanfront room.

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Swarthmore, PA
Aug 10, 2009

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel is a Dream !

The Hapuna Prince is a wonderful hotel with an amazing location.It is about 40 minutes north of the KOA airport and right next to the Hapuna Beach State Park.We were upgraded to a deluxe oceanview room,very spacious. We had a king size bed and a rollaway bed, and still had space in our room. Their service is impecable.I requested the rollaway bed in advance through the Orbitz website with our flight information, and when we walked into our room the rollaway was there !The bathroom is the largest I have seen in a hotel: separate shower and bathtub,large double sink vanity and a toilette with a privacy door. The view from the balcony is just breathtaking. The prices at their Hapuna Cafe at the Lobby are the best that I have seen from a resort. I bought my morning coffee a couple of days and it was a great $2 cup, better than the Starbucks. All in all its a great hotel,amazing location and a wonderful staff. The staff gives wonferful tips about what to see or do in the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

After you pick up your car from the KOA airport, drive 10 minutes south you will hit a Target, a Walmart, a couple of supermarkets and you can buy snacks, drinks, etc. before heading to Hapuna.

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ractis
Auberry, CA
Dec 2, 2010

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, Hawaii

We really had a lot of fun on the Hapuna/Kona Coast. The hotel was just beautiful, and there's golfing on the premises if you're so inclined. We swam and body-surfed/boogie-boarded daily. Things we did: A mile down the road towards Kona take the road to Puako/Beach 69. Skip Beach 69: very small beach, small swells, no snorkeling to speak of. Instead, drive into this small town packed with very nice houses that are fun to look at. But the real reason is that every few 100 yards there will be a small road with a sign that says something like 'Public Beach Access Road'. Pull into one of those and walk out onto the 'beach'---most likely black sand/lava bed. But in the shallows there will be swarms of green turtles. We swam within a few feet of several. One was even out of the water on the rocks, sleeping. Also, pay the money and take a Manta Ray Snorkeling or Diving Trip. We snorkeled at night just offshore the Kona Coast, and using our flashlights attracted plankton, which attracted car-sized Manta Rays that will swim in loops below you, gobbling up the plankton---they will come within inches of your body as you lay on the surface! It's hard to laugh into a snorkel---especially when listening to your daughter excitedly screaming into hers! We took a helicopter out of Hilo and flew over the volcano, spotting red lava through 'sky lights', which was fun too. My wife liked this best although my kids and I thought the Manta Rays were a far better experience. Also, I've heard (after the fact) that hiring a plane is cheaper and provides a longer trip, so look into that. Hiking to see the glow of the lava is tougher than it sounds---you'll understand when you see how rough the lava is that you'll have to walk over. You can only see the glow at night---and if the fog comes in, you won't see much. Assuming that the volcano is benign like it was during our trip. Overall, we had a great time, and highly recommend the Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go up the road to the gas station at the container harbor--they have cheap snorkeling/boogie-boards/underwater cameras in the store! Also, pretty good restaurants in the vicinity too.

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wonder
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 18, 2011

Beautiful resort

What a beautiful resort! The grounds are well-kept, and the view of the ocean is spectacular. The valet attendants are friendly & helpful. The only downside is that there aren't concierge services to help you plan outings...bring a good travel guide book!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like Japanese food and/or sushi, check on Monstera...it's fantastic!

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MartinTC
Honolulu, HI
Mar 29, 2012

Great place

Everything is perfect there, rooms, employees, foods, golf courses, etc... I will stay again if I have a chance to big island highly recommend. If they have shuttle bus from airport to the hotel would be feel better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Corpus Christi, TX / Evergreen CO
May 26, 2009

Exccellent location and value

Excellent property Great value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Coast grill

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mpm and dad
Baltimore, MD
Jan 14, 2010

Anniversary getaway

excellant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kona brewing company is a great place to eat

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oklahoma
May 18, 2009

Heaven on Earth!!

This resort is absolutely beautiful. The sunsets from the beach were spectacular! We truly enjoyed our week we spent there. We only wished we would have been able to spend more days. The drive into Kona is a very nice drive with wonderful views of the ocean. The only negative if there is one is that there isn't a variety of dining available or any shopping at the Hapuna. The closest place we found was at the Queen's Market. Other than that we definitely would recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Jun 1, 2009

Perfect hotel

Beautiful hotel. Wonderful view. Great staff. No complaints at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search