$225 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

4 stars
View map of 62 100 Kauna Oa Drive, Big Island Of Hawaii, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
250 out of 250
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
omg051212
Business
houston
May 30, 2012

great location

Very nice gated hotel. Room is big with its own private backyard. Got to see wild turkeys in the backyard, it was pretty cool. Awesome private beach! But make sure to return the beach towels and let them know or else they will charge you without notice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Best private beach in big island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary and Mike
Business
North Carolina
May 29, 2012

Breathtaking!!!

This hotel is beautiful. The landscaping is just breathtaking!!! The rooms are spacious and very clean. There is everything in the room for comfort: safe, refrigerator, coffee, robes, blowdryer...could go on and on. The staff are really friendly and will accommodate needs (I asked for a fan and before I knew it, one was delivered to my room!!!). The food was a bit pricy but I guess that would be expected for this type of hotel. Also, the hotel is a bit remote so to get to where there is any action is a bit of a drive. If you like to enjoy quiet and relaxing, this is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Do some research...hotel dining is expensive. We discovered some other options for meals. Read brochures, pamplets, talk to other travellers about the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John and J.M.
Business
Maui Hawaii
May 28, 2012

Fantastic Getaway

The quality of this resort is 5 star all the way. The staff is impeccable from the beach to the facility. Very clean and well maintained resort. The location to the beach cannot be matched, some of the cleanest sand and reef I have ever experienced in Hawaii. The pool is the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Just ask the staff --- they will excceed your expectations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quiet Hawaii
Business
Sacramento, California
May 18, 2012

Left the kids at home

If you are looking for a fantastic beach, pool and great views this is the hotel for you. This hotel is on the Kohala Coast of the big island which seems to have perennial sunshine. Be aware that it is 20 miles from the airport. You share amenities and beach privileges with the sister hotel, Mauna Kea, which is 5 minute drive or 20 minute walk away. This hotel is design for those who want to go and spend time at the beach or pool. Not a lot else going on. You have to drive to another hotel or to Kona (30 miles away). There are shops and a few restaurants located 15 minutes away on Waikoloa Beach Drive. We were looking for a quiet Hawaiian vacation and this was perfect. Hotel can be pricey. Rooms vary. There are several versions of "ocean view." We upgraded to ocean front which was awesome but expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
greatful1
Business
Napa, CA
May 15, 2012

LOVED THIS PLACE AND THE PEOPLE!!

This was a very beautiful location and the room and facilities were so wonderful! We had the best vacation of our lives...from the start to finish...the whole trip was perfect and we rarely left the Hapuna Price and Mauna Kea...the views and nightly music and the yummy food at the buffets...we snorkeled every day right from the beach...at both places and we swam with the same sea turtle family each day it was magical and we will be going back asap!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

the Kings and Queens shoppes in the waikaloa resort area are a great place to get some really good less expensive food...we loved the island fish and chips at the Kings shoppes and the pre-made sushi at the market at Queens shoppes :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don and Syl
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 15, 2012

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

The hotel is beautifully situated on a really nice public state park beach. There is an arrangement with the park where they are able to provide lounge chairs and umbrellas - and the beach staff are very nice about helping with this. Snorkeling off the north end of the beach is really quite good, particularly as you swim further north along the reefs. The hotel is nicely designed - open to the breezes. Nice big pool. The restaurants on the property, however, are very average, and very expensive. The Japanese buffet (Hakuna, i believe) was abysmal. Breakfast buffet was OK and the servers were all very nice. Lunch salad at the poolside restaurant was not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you can arrange it, try to get a deal with breakfast included.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Buddies
Business
Portland, OR
May 8, 2012

Hapuna Prince Hotel

Great location on the most beautiful beach! Excellent views and spot to enjoy sunsets. For a $24 per day fee, they include parking (normally $15 per day) and wireless internet access, and some small food/beverage discounts. Nice pool and great, safe spot to get in the ocean. As I have found in most hotels in Hawaii, the food is not on a par with the hotel. It is very expensive ($24 breakfast, and $15 hamburgers, $35+ entrees), and mostly run-of-the-mill offerings. The in-room fridge does allow you to stock some food and beverages in your room. You'll need a car to sample other restaurants. I would return to the hotel, but will probably look for a condo with an ocean view and a kitchen first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I recommend going 20 miles to the small town of Hawi, a creative little town that harks back to small town merchants and fun shops and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jasonsgirl
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

fantastic family getaway

True, the hotel is a little dated--but it is very clean and we had a fabulous and comfortable stay here. We are a family of 4--mom, dad, and 2 boys ages 5 and 7. This was a wonderful stay for us. The location can't be beat. The pool is big and simple (no water slides and no deep end--the whole pool is about 4 ft. deep). The BEST thing is the location--it is right on the most beautiful beach on the big island--so it was so easy for us to play at the beach or swim at the pool. My boys were in heaven...which meant WE were in heaven too. The major downside to this hotel is the restaurant choices. The pool side cafe was great--good food, good selection, and decent prices--but it only serves food from 11-3 each day. The other restaurant choices are very limited for younger kids (and non-meat or non-seafood eaters). We ate one meal at the Hau Tree at the Mauna Kea Resort next door--and that was WONDERFUL! Overall, the price (we got a GREAT deal on-line) and the location make this a PERFECT family vacation spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Foodland Market at Mauna Lani shopping center. Has a nice deli area, fresh sushi rolls, fruits and vegies, milk, alcohol, etc. It's about a 6 mile drive from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beautifulog
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Great getaway

Perfect beach location. We went to all the beaches in kona beaches and this one was the best . Not crowded clear water soft sand . It was just perfect for our honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe pesto is up the road about 8 miles up the road and there food is so good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kona lover
Business
Berkeley, CA, USA
Apr 10, 2012

not luxury by any stretch

beautiful location - that's it. oh, and I liked the old school swimming pool room outdated. $4 to get hot water to make tea. resort was not crowded at all - great for us, but maybe not for the business. would recommend for travelers without kids - quieter, no kids club or crazy beach/pool equipment or activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

buy staples - there is a refridgerator in the room...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top