$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

4 stars
View map of 62 100 Kauna Oa Drive, Big Island Of Hawaii, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
259 out of 259
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovehawaii1
Business
la, ca
Jan 7, 2013

Great experience.

Hotel is great just make sure you dont expect much from the restaurants!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rumpelstielzchen
Business
Beverly Crest ,California
Jan 5, 2013

shabby and expensive

Ain't what it used to be. We went there once or twice a year. This was the last time. Needs new management. Mahalo and Aloha

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Waikaloa or Waimea

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shekasoo
Business
Vancouver
Jan 4, 2013

Beautiful Facility, Room fixtures average

The Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel is situated on beautiful grounds with private beach access, perfect for any paradise seeker. The landscape of the hotel is exquisite with awe amazing achitecture. Room furniture and fixtures are outdated (tube television, old bathroom faucets, and etc.), but their outdoor pool is a must haven for splash and relaxation. To get around Kona and from this hotel, a car is required.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Manta Ray Snorkeling, a must see!

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Ms. Mike
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 1, 2013

Beautiful beach setting

I have stayed at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel around 15 years ago and I loved it. Great location, perfect weather, wonderful staff. I still feel that it's a great location, weather was great, and the staff was very nice but the hotel needs ome updating. I am very happy that we spent our holiday vacation at Hapuna and when we were checking in, they upgraded us to a partial ocean view room. Some suggestions for the hotel are new beach chairs, more parasols, new furniture and TV in the rooms. The hotel has potential for more with some TLC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

There is no concierge. The activitiy desks are manned by tour companies to sell, not to inform. I would do my own research and book directly for activities. There are many places for dinning 10-15 min driving distance.

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chynadol29
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Jan 1, 2013

Good family getaway

Courteous staff, clean rooms, excellent beach access. Just a bit far from good eating options ~ 30min drive anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rush00121
Business
Sunnyvale, California
Dec 21, 2012

Great view and location

Amazing beaches , v luxurious , amazing service . Only thing not in favor are paid internet, paid parking , a little far away from civilization to get any food . But in all , a wonderful place to vacation , highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The restaurants near the Queen's Shops in the Hilton resort area , a couple of miles away have a good selection in the food courts

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
akJohn
Business
Chugiak, Ak
Dec 10, 2012

Great Vacation

What a great time. The hotel itself is fantastic and the location and beach are great. The staff were amazing and genuinely friendly and helpful. I would go there again in a heartbeat. I would suggest that they pay more attention to the small details. Wallpaper corners peeling up, small areas of mold, not enough and inconvenient outlets, lights along walkways that were knocked over and wires exposed for obviously long periods of time, beach shower not working for a long period of time, etc. Again these are relatively minor things, and I got an amazing deal , but if I were paying high dollar there I would be wondering why the details were not being attended to better. As with all the hotels, the food is expensive, but really not too bad for what you get and the convenience. The location is very convenient for going to several other local eateries, some of which are amazing and most of the attractions are a short drive away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pestos

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
blitzer
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 8, 2012

Hotel worn out but great location

If this was your first trip to a Prince Hotel you would be disappointed. It needs a good power wash and new beach chairs and some paint and vanish. It seems like they are just milking the property until they can sell it based on location next to one of Hawaii's best beaches. Great bargain for those who do not concern themselves with upkeep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Village Burger in Waimae. Great burgers with wonderful fresh ingredients. Well worth the trip to the Parker Ranch center

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SF based traveller
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 27, 2012

Good, but not great...

Good-sized hotel room with a beautiful beach. Don't go for a terrace room if you're not comfortable with having people walk right by your lanai within only a few feet. Dining options definitely leave A LOT to be desired, especially for the price. And the staff seem quite disorganized even when you have a dinner reservation made weeks ahead of time. Great if you want to spend all of your time on the beach or at the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elizaveta
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 14, 2012

Fantastic beach and excellent hotel

Swimming beach is one of the best on Hawaii. Golf course is pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Pretty much expensive

Back to menu Return to top