$226 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

4 stars
View map of 62 100 Kauna Oa Drive, Big Island Of Hawaii, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lchris
Nevada
Jan 14, 2013

Beautiful Hotel

We loved our stay at the Hapuna Beach Hotel. We had a fantastic view from our room. The staff were all very helpful and friendly accept for the woman with the short hair at the activities desk. My only recommendation is that they open more restaurants for dinner or vary the menu from night to night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go on a whale watch!

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack Traveller
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Dec 2, 2013

Weekend Getaway

y girlfriend and I stayed here for Thanksgiving break and we loved it! We got upgraded for an Ocean view at check in for a reasonable price and that was one of the best decisions. The view is spectacular! The room was gorgeous and clean. The staff is very accommodating and friendly, except for some of the towel personnel by the pool, kind of rude so get your towel and move on. The drinks are well made and a great way to spend the time by the pool and catch the beautiful sun. When we left, my gf left her bikini at the hotel and the front desk could not have been more pleasant in making arrangements to have it delivered to us. Will be back again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marglane
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Sep 21, 2013

Very relaxing

If you are looking for a GREAT beach, this is the place to be! Water is beautiful and there is plenty of beach so you don't feel crowded by other people! Make sure you visit with Maka on the beach. He has great knowledge of Hawaiian history and information about the local dining available. He was also very helpful in making sure we had everything we needed on the beach. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and you have some wonderful views from your lanai! Lunches at The Coast Grill were very affordable and the food is good. We didn't eat at the other restaurants but I'm sure they are good too! This hotel is a bit remote so it might be best to have a car if you want to venture out on your own. Overall, a very nice place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Luau at the sister hotel, The Mauna Kea, was a nice treat! Cost was about $100 per person but we used a coupon for 50% off the second ticket.

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Williama
Business
Port Townsend, WA
Sep 9, 2013

The view and beach make it so easy!

Super clean accommations, beach just steps away. Well worth the price and there's reciprocity at Mauna Kea which is next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Humus
Business
California
Aug 15, 2013

Try harder please

Receptionist lady made me feel inferior since I made my reservations thru O- - - - z. Pool needs to be cleaned more often. Spa was very dirty and not working properly. Hapuna Cafe was good and open all the time. Lunch servers by the pool were efficient. Coast Grille was over-priced and servers were over-selling and pushy. Linens were clean but over-used. There are no activities in this hotel, but they have the best beaches in the whole Island. If you want quiet time, with great beaches this hotel is for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Roy's for dinners. For more activity go to Waikoloa Beach.

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MandE2013
Business
Ontario, CA
Jun 9, 2013

beautiful but far away from fun

The hotel is beautiful. It is right on Hapuna Beach which was soo nice! Staff was nice and the buffet was good. Expensive @ $26 per person but it helped that children 12 & under ate free. The only bad thing is that the closest shopping locations and the bay that you leave for all boat tours and activities is 30 mins away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Enjoy it NOW
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 5, 2013

Perfect!

The resort is a well-kept gem! The location is on a beautiful beach, which is not crowded. On the lanai from each room, you can view the manicured lawn, ocean and enjoy the peace and quiet -- no loud watersides or yelling guests. The food service / restaurants rotate between a variety of on-site themed restaurants, (seafood, Japanese) and is excellent. We especially liked the lunch by the pool, and the daily breakfast buffets. We had four wonderful days, and will definitely be back. May 2013.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the drive up to Waimea and along the road through the Parker Ranch. Some of the most spectacular island views are looking south, down from the northern-most point along the island ridge. Beautiful! (Highway 19 to Hwy 250, and loop around).

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M'Posa
Business
Snta Cruz,Ca
May 20, 2013

End of trip finale was a dud :(

First the location and staff were all great. The room had pumped in coconut spray which was awful. The worst part how ever was the food. We sent back meals and wine on 2 different occasions. It was super overpriced and poor quality so we finally went off site last 2 meals when we had hoped to sleep in and eat on site.There is a frig in room bring food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Seafood bar or cafe pesto in just 10 mins north in kahai bay?

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blinded by the light
Business
San Francisco
Mar 28, 2013

Hapuna Prince

The Hapuna is a great hotel with an awesome beach right below it. The hotel is very quiet and you rarely see or hear guests, except at meals, poolside or on the beach. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The only real problem that we encountered was that mealtimes are limited and the bars close at 8:30. This wouldn't have been much of a headache , but the Hapuna is about a 15 minute drive from any goods and services. In fact the restaurant the bell hop recommended was on the other side of a DUI checkpoint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

If you are interested in a quiet beach vacation, this is the place for you. If you want to party or just enjoy the evening after 9:00pm I would suggest booking elsewhere.

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gjakawww
Business
PA
Mar 11, 2013

A beautiful spot!

Staff helpful; great beach; food at beach bar and grill very good. Other restaurants at hotel too pricey so ate elsewhere. Room view incredible. Hapuna Beach is our favorite on the Big Island. Loved the openness of the hotel w/birds flying around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Many restaurants within short drive of the hotel provide good food at less cost.

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gattobriz
Business
Vienna, Austria
Feb 27, 2013

Beautiful beach

We had a fantastic view from our premium oceanview room and we really enjoyed our time there. Most of the staff very friendly and helpful, but room service was definitely understaffed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Queens Market Place at Waikoloa

Back to menu Return to top