$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 20, 2015

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

4 stars
View map of 62 100 Kauna Oa Drive, Big Island Of Hawaii, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
250 out of 250
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elizaveta
Seattle, WA
Nov 14, 2012

Fantastic beach and excellent hotel

Swimming beach is one of the best on Hawaii. Golf course is pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Pretty much expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
adhyas00
Business
fremont, ca
May 28, 2014

young baby and family

We had a wonderful time. The views from ocean facing room is very nice. For a calm family vacation, this is a good spot. Golf course is nearby, and you can snorkel on the calm beach every morning. A bit of a drive from the city life of Kona and Hilo, if you plan to spend time there. Volcano is also a bit of a drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe Pesto

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim Petro
Business
Reno, Nv.
May 21, 2014

Great vacation

This is a great hotel with a great beach. Will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

About 5 miles north are several alternate eating places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kikorio
Business
Sarasota Florida
May 15, 2014

Anniversary Getaway

Location awesome on one of few beaches on island. Pool good but expected better as well as rooms. Large resort You do a lot of walking. Food very expensive, Overall good but my expectations were a little higher

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rooms have mini frig would pick up some drinks and snacks too minimize food costs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DJinAriz
Business
Arizona City, AZ
May 13, 2014

Location

Resort's location puts it right on a sand beach and is within walking distance of two others. Buffet breakfast was ok, didn't try dinners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Sand beach on resort and two others within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ducati rider
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Mar 26, 2014

Happy in Hawaii

The Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel was a great choice for our anniversary. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and the views were amazing. We had our room upgraded for free and had a late checkout the last day which gave us another morning at the beach. The location is 20 minutes to Waimea, 25 to Kona and maybe 10 minutes to shopping at the Queen's Marketplace. We already miss watching the whales from our balcony. We recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a relaxing vacation away from the touristy hustle of downtown Kona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining costs might seem high but you'll pay just as much at restaurants at the KIng's or Queen's shopping areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hawaii Island Hopper
Business
Kailua, Hawaii
Mar 25, 2014

Great family escape!

This was a wonderful first trip to the Big Island. My daughter and I enjoyed relaxing poolside and catching some body surf in the ocean. Our room was very spacious and comfortable with a nice outside terrace patio! The restaurant, Coast Grill, was fabulous! We also took advantage of the free shuttle to their sister property, Mauna Kea, for the luau. I have been to a couple luaus on Oahu and this luau was superb. The food was excellent and the entertainment was top notch! The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The only negative at this hotel is that you have to pay for either valet or self parking and wifi in your room everyday. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Coloradoans
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 21, 2014

Right on the beach

Big hotel, but well-managed and right on Hapuna Beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Butch of S.F. and Bronx
Business
San Francisco, Honolulu and the Bronx
Feb 4, 2014

Quiet location, nice beach

The locals love this beach. The hotel blends in well with landscape. I enjoyed watching the sunrise at the top of the golf course and you can see all 4 mountains before the clouds come in. Not all restaurants are open every evening. Go to the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel for some nice restaurants or cocktails if you stay is more than one night here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jaanu
Business
Columbus,OHIO
Dec 27, 2013

Liked it very much.

Go this one only if you want to spend your complete day in the resort. Good place to relax, enjoy. Morning Brunch is a good one for 22 $ extra bucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KEA2013
Business
Tulsa, OK
Dec 9, 2013

Amazing!

The Hapuna is our favorite hotel on the Big Island. This hotel is everything that I wanted: amazing views and a perfect beach. The sunsets are gorgeous. Be sure to upgrade to a room with a partial or ocean view. It is worth every penny!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top