$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 3, 2015

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

4 stars
View map of 62 100 Kauna Oa Drive, Big Island Of Hawaii, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
259 out of 259
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Dec 31, 2009

Excellent location

The hotel has a great location with an excellent beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful. However, we arrived on the evening of Christmas Day and did not have reservations at the hotel for dinner. They were very unorganized, and had a long line of unhappy guests waiting to be seated for the buffet with empty tables everywhere. The food was well prepared and plentiful when we were finally seated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
map1999
Business
Natchitoches, LA
Sep 29, 2009

Hapuna Beach Prince hotel- The Big Islan

The Hapuna Beach Hotel is an excellent, beautiful property located 30 minutes north of the airport at Kona, this is not well noted in the hotel description, it's kinda deceiving, I thought we would be in the city, but for what we did, the locatiion was fine. The hotel has a nice beech area that is attached to the Hapuna Beech Park, nice swimming and excellent snorkeling area to north of the beech area, we drove to several other snorkeling spots before trying it at the hotel and it was the easiest to enter the water and had great underwater sealife around the lava. I only went about 200 yds or so to the north of the beech area and saw at least 25 species of fish, and the hotel offers free snorkle gear use. In general the hotel is nice, but it's a little pricey at the restaraunts, but not extremely so, not a lot of nite time entertainment here, we went into Kona one nite for a luau, and to eat several other nites, this would really be my only gripe, that there arn't a lot of restaraunt choices other than the hotel close by, and they don't have ice machines; otherwise it's a great hotel, we enjoyed our stay; We rented a car and drove copletely around the island stopping at several of the botanical gardens and many of the historical sites and the volcano, was a great drive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't rent snokle gear they provide it poolside

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rachel Bedazzler
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Sep 23, 2009

Fantastic Beach Hotel

Stayed at the Hapuna for 8 days in September 2009. Wonderful hotel. However very large, more like a resort. So expect to do some walking since it is spaced out with several towers. Check in was easy and simple, we were offered juice and cold towels while doing so. We were upgraded to a ocean view which was really a partial oceanview due to tower 3 blocking the beach which we did not mind. The hotel was immaculate. The pictures on the website do not do justice. Rooms: Spacious bathrooms which are supplied with shampoo, conditioner, soap, and robes. Very clean rooms. Housekeeping does an excellent job. One downside is that you cannot lower the temperature of the room below 70 degrees. The room stayed cool but I tend to like it cold when going to bed. Service: Fantastic service. Very friendly and helpful. However the parking is pricey for each night you stay. Beach/Pool: Best part.Breathtaking White sand beach right in front. Hotel supplied chairs as well as towels. Pool was clean and never crowded. Jacuzzi was also clean and always available. Pool bar was great also. Food: We did not eat at our hotel. Food was pretty pricey. We went to the Kings Court and bought food and put it in our fridge. The hotel cafe allowed us to use their microwave to warm things up. The golf at the Maunea Kea (Hapunas sister hotel) had an excellet golf course with immaculate greens and a affordable price. We had a wonderful time a Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel and will definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

If you are looking for an exciting nightlife this is not a place to stay. This is a place for rest and relaxation. The exciting nightlife is a distance away. The hotel is quiet and peaceful after dark. Great for romantics.

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport,TN
Sep 20, 2009

Super nice hotel and staff !!!!

The hotel was wonderful and the staff was super nice and friendly. The rooms were alittle worn looking but very clean and neat. The grounds and garden were beautiful against the dry volcanic background. A true oasis in the desert !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Kona and Kailua are the best palces for shopping and variety of dinning options. The Ocaen Grille and Reef Lounge at the hotel were excellent but alittle pricey. Super breakfast buffet and the dinners were excellent and not skimpy. A short drive to most places but it was very quiet and peaceful-very good for couples.

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
derekj88
Business
shreveport, la
Sep 20, 2009

Hapuna

The hotel and grounds were amazing. I've heard other reviews about the hotel not being "beach-front" - not true! The place is sprawling, so plan on walking a good distance to everything. My wife had a massage at the spa, "so-so" rating. Don't bother with the "beach-front" massage. It is actually right next to the path to the beach for half the rooms of the hotel (no privacy). There is definitely a rate hierarchy. We did not have some of the amenities that non-Orbitz rooms had, such as stocked mini-fridge, etc. Our "king size" bed was actually two twins pushed together. We went "around the island" one day, Green Sand Beach, Black Sand Beach, Volcano Nat'l Park, second black sand beach, lava flow into the ocean and dinner in Hilo. Quite a long day! If we could do it over again, we would spend 1 night on the Hilo side. Don't bother renting a jeep, you can't take it off road anyway, a convertible car would suffice. Bottom line, there are better hotels in the area for a little more $$$. Mauna Kea, Mauna Lani and Kona Village.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We spent six nights on the Kohala Coast at the Hapuna Prince. The best restaurant by far was a little place in Hawi (20 miles north) called "Bamboo". The seafood risotto was the best! I also tried the ribs which were fall off the bone in a pineapple bar-b-que sauce! "Hawaii Revealed" is a must have if you are planning to go, also, fly direct to Kona from mainland if you can, Honolulu Airport is a pain to change planes.

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 19, 2009

Corp. annual meeting

We enjoyed our restfull stay at this resort and definitely make plan to come back. Room is a little bit dated but we do not mind at all. Great services, friendly staff,fabulous beach,wonderful pool/hot tub,beautifull scenery.There are $15 charge per day for you to self-park and it will be a good walk to your room if you are at the other end of the parking area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are quite a few place to eat and buy food/snack in Waimea which is a short drive from the hotel .

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, CA
Sep 14, 2009

Hapuna

could not be better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wouldn't you like to know
Business
Irvine, CA
Sep 13, 2009

Secluded Getaway

This was our first time traveling to the Big Island. We booked Oceanfront rooms here and it was totally worth it. We feel asleep to the sound of the ocean every night! The hotel is on gorgeous property. It is NOT located around many other hotels or villages, which gives you a feeling of being secluded. This was also the only downside, as we found the food on premises to be overly-priced for what you get. To find any decent food, we had to travel to Kona or Waimea (and by decent, I mean quality to price ratio). Despite this, we wouldn't have changed a thing. You NEED to rent a car if you are staying here, but you should really rent a car if you are staying on the Big Island because there is so much to do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Save eating at the hotel for when you are really tired, because you are getting ripped off. Quality is edible but not at the price that they charge. You need to drive to Waimea or Kona for fair food.

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
Sep 13, 2009

Fantastic beach

This was third stay at this hotel. Would probably return. Golf was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Variety of restaurants available a short drive away at Mana Lani and Waikoloa.

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tom and Jen, Newlyweds
Business
Covina, CA
Sep 10, 2009

Everything was perfect!

The Big Island made our honeymoon great! The hotel was absolutely beautiful. The service was top notch. Everyone was very kind and really made us feel like VIP's. We took trips around the island every day, and spent one day at the hotel. We had so much fun on a snorkeling trip on a boat that we also rented equipment at the pool and went snorkeling at the reefs next to the hotel. It was great! Turtles, eels, and all the other fish can be seen on the reefs at the hotel. We did a lot of driving since the island is fairly large, but we had a convertible that made every drive fun! Volcanos, luaus, snorkeling, booze cruise, golf, and historical points, kept us busy throughout the trip... Don't plan on surfing though. The water is fairly calm with shorebreakers at every place we checked out. There are great views all around the hotel. It is located on the north part of the island and it is about a 40 minute drive into Kona. You will definitely need a rental car. Some hidden costs were the $20/day for valet service, or you can pay $15/day to park yourself. If you have a room with a great view of the beach, i would suggest getting room service. The server will put a table cloth on the patio table and you can enjoy breakfast, lunch, or dinner from your patio. I loved it! There was not much difference in price from room service to walking downstairs to the different restaurants. Food is pricey, and there are no other places to eat close to the hotel... We mostly ate at the hotel and enjoyed every meal. While on the island, about 95% of the locals were extremely friendly and were happy we were there. Watch out for the other 5%. Remember, they know what a rental car looks like, and you might get cut off once or twice during your stay...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel had a great variety of food. We had a game plan knowing that food is expensive in Hawaii. The convenience of eating great food at the hotel was worth the price, since other dining was a good distance away.

Back to menu Return to top