$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 2, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

4 stars
62 100 Kauna Oa Drive, Big Island Of Hawaii, Kohala Coast, HI 96743
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
245 reviews
Love the Big Island and Hapuna Beach

This was our 4th stay in the last 8 years and it was wonderful. We even got the same room that we... See full review

  • Donna Pete
  • Nov 13, 2014
Can't imagine a more wonderful place to be

Incredible view, perfectly hosted. Great swimming on the beach here, kind and calm place to relax See full review

  • traveler town
  • Sep 18, 2014
Grand Hapuna Beach hotel with ocean views from every room
With an ancient name Hapuna, or "Spring of Life," the award-winning Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel sits oceanfront upon South Kohala's remarkable Hapuna Beach. All 350 luxurious guest rooms offer ocean views from private balconies. The resort shares its oceanfront landscape with sister property Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, combining amenities for an extended resort with championship golf courses, tennis, spas, a fitness center, swimming pool, restaurants and more.
Highlights
  • Enjoy access and signing privileges at the neighboring Mauna Kea Beach Hotel
  • Hapuna Beach is frequently ranked among America's best beaches by Condé Nast Traveler
  • Stargaze at the hotel's high-powered telescope with professional astronomers several days each week
Location
Less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona on the South Kohala Coast, the Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel fronts the grand Hapuna Beach, one of the Big Island's most famed beaches. Kings' Shops and Queens' MarketPlace are less than 10 miles south, with plentiful shopping and dining.
Rooms
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel angles away from the beach, offering ocean views from its 350 oversized guest rooms. Each includes a private balcony, Japanese robes, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), bathroom amenities and large bathroom with double vanity.
Features
Recreation
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel features an oceanfront swimming pool, fitness center, golf course and full-service spa (fees apply). Guests may use facilities at the neighboring Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, including Mauna Kea Spa by Mandara and Mauna Kea Golf Course (fees apply).
Dining
Guests choose from several dining experiences at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel. The open-air Ocean Terrace does breakfast both a la carte and buffet. The poolside Beach Bar offers salads, fresh fish and sandwiches -- or guests can make their own salads at Café Hapuna. Coast Grill features fresh Island ingredients with an American bistro slant. Room service is available.
Attractions
  • Hapuna Beach (In front)
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (8.1 mi/15 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (14 mi/22.6 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (31.7 mi/51 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (51.4 mi/82.7 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (97 mi/156 km)
Policies and fees
Self parking: $15 USD + tax per day Valet Parking: $20 USD + tax per day

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.9944 -155.8228
Area served
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel is situated on 32 oceanfront acres on the sunny Kohala Coast of the northernmost end of the Big Island of Hawaii. Perched on the hillside, it overlooks the beautiful #1 rated Hapuna Beach.
Nearby airports
30 minutes from the Kona airport 2 hours from Hilo
Area description
Directions from Keahole-Kona International Airport (KOA) to Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel As you leave the Airport, turn left onto Queen Kaahumanu Highway 19, heading toward Kawaihae. Drive north about 27 miles, approximately 30 minutes. Half-way point: after about 15 minutes you will come to a stoplight (near the Waikoloa Resort area), from this point you are half way there. 2-mile landmark: look for the signs for the small town of Puako (from this turn off you are about 2 miles from the hotel entrance). You'll pass the state highway sign for Hapuna Beach State Park, go over the overpass and shortly thereafter, look for the entrance to Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel – the entrance will be on the right side. Enter this driveway and the guard will direct you to the hotel, located oceanfront.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel Rooms

Premium Oceanview
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 9th floor. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Terrace
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 5th and 6th floors. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels,and local calls. High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Partial Oceanview
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 5th,6th and 7th floors. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Oceanfront
One King bed,two Doubles or two Queen beds. Located on all five floors of the Oceanfront building. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Oceanview
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 6th, 7th and 8th floors. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls. High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Oceanfront Suite
One King bed or two Queens in master bedroom, plus one Queen sofa bed in the living room. Located on all five floors of the Oceanfront building. 1,200 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Two bathrooms,including master bathroom showcasing granite vanity with double sinks. Separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers available in room. Complimentary welcome basket with coffee,biscotti,and macadamia nuts.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Coast Grille & Oyster Bar
Resort Executive Chef Piet Wigmans shares his love of Hawaii through his food – Hawaii Regional Cuisine. Blending the rich flavors of the island's ethnic dishes with the Big Island's distinctive ingredients, the unique cuisine offers fresh, flavorful and inspired dishes that showcase our island's bounty. The hotel's signature restaurant features an oyster bar and the freshest Pacific Rim cuisine in an indoor or outdoor setting. A specialty is the New England lobster, raised in cold pure deep-ocean waters at an aquaculture facility just down the road. Evening Dining, 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Call for Days Resort Attire
Beach Bar
Located poolside, the Beach Bar features lunch and early afternoon fare with salads, sandwiches, fresh island fish and full bar. At sunset, enjoy your favorite cocktail and watch the sun slip into the horizon. During the summer months, enjoy "Dive-In" movies on Saturday nights for free. Open Daily, 11:30am - 4:00pm Beach/Casual Attire
Ocean Terrace
Overlooking Hapuna Beach and the blue Pacific, this casual open-air breakfast restaurant offers a thoughtful mix of healthy, creative items along with familiar favorites. Featuring a daily breakfast buffet and an extensive a la carte menu. Open Daily for Breakfast, 6:30am - 11:00am Resort Attire
Reef Lounge
Just beneath the lobby, the open-air Reef Lounge provides spectacular ocean views of Hapuna Beach and the Kohala coastline from its central location. Another great spot to watch the sunset, enjoy tropical drinks to the island sounds of live Hawaiian guitar and hula nightly. Open Nightly, 5:30pm – 11:00pm Casual Resort Attire

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
One of the most sophisticated, full-service meeting facilities in the world, Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel offers unmatched options for meetings, incentives and conferences of all sizes. You'll find over 85,000 square feet of meeting space, including an 8,400 square-foot ballroom, six conference rooms, numerous breakout areas and a complete Business Center with computers, printers and facsimile machines.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (245)

Ratings and reviews for Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
245 out of 245
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
map1999
Business
Natchitoches, LA
Sep 29, 2009

Hapuna Beach Prince hotel- The Big Islan

The Hapuna Beach Hotel is an excellent, beautiful property located 30 minutes north of the airport at Kona, this is not well noted in the hotel description, it's kinda deceiving, I thought we would be in the city, but for what we did, the locatiion was fine. The hotel has a nice beech area that is attached to the Hapuna Beech Park, nice swimming and excellent snorkeling area to north of the beech area, we drove to several other snorkeling spots before trying it at the hotel and it was the easiest to enter the water and had great underwater sealife around the lava. I only went about 200 yds or so to the north of the beech area and saw at least 25 species of fish, and the hotel offers free snorkle gear use. In general the hotel is nice, but it's a little pricey at the restaraunts, but not extremely so, not a lot of nite time entertainment here, we went into Kona one nite for a luau, and to eat several other nites, this would really be my only gripe, that there arn't a lot of restaraunt choices other than the hotel close by, and they don't have ice machines; otherwise it's a great hotel, we enjoyed our stay; We rented a car and drove copletely around the island stopping at several of the botanical gardens and many of the historical sites and the volcano, was a great drive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't rent snokle gear they provide it poolside

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rachel Bedazzler
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Sep 23, 2009

Fantastic Beach Hotel

Stayed at the Hapuna for 8 days in September 2009. Wonderful hotel. However very large, more like a resort. So expect to do some walking since it is spaced out with several towers. Check in was easy and simple, we were offered juice and cold towels while doing so. We were upgraded to a ocean view which was really a partial oceanview due to tower 3 blocking the beach which we did not mind. The hotel was immaculate. The pictures on the website do not do justice. Rooms: Spacious bathrooms which are supplied with shampoo, conditioner, soap, and robes. Very clean rooms. Housekeeping does an excellent job. One downside is that you cannot lower the temperature of the room below 70 degrees. The room stayed cool but I tend to like it cold when going to bed. Service: Fantastic service. Very friendly and helpful. However the parking is pricey for each night you stay. Beach/Pool: Best part.Breathtaking White sand beach right in front. Hotel supplied chairs as well as towels. Pool was clean and never crowded. Jacuzzi was also clean and always available. Pool bar was great also. Food: We did not eat at our hotel. Food was pretty pricey. We went to the Kings Court and bought food and put it in our fridge. The hotel cafe allowed us to use their microwave to warm things up. The golf at the Maunea Kea (Hapunas sister hotel) had an excellet golf course with immaculate greens and a affordable price. We had a wonderful time a Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel and will definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

If you are looking for an exciting nightlife this is not a place to stay. This is a place for rest and relaxation. The exciting nightlife is a distance away. The hotel is quiet and peaceful after dark. Great for romantics.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport,TN
Sep 20, 2009

Super nice hotel and staff !!!!

The hotel was wonderful and the staff was super nice and friendly. The rooms were alittle worn looking but very clean and neat. The grounds and garden were beautiful against the dry volcanic background. A true oasis in the desert !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Kona and Kailua are the best palces for shopping and variety of dinning options. The Ocaen Grille and Reef Lounge at the hotel were excellent but alittle pricey. Super breakfast buffet and the dinners were excellent and not skimpy. A short drive to most places but it was very quiet and peaceful-very good for couples.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
derekj88
Business
shreveport, la
Sep 20, 2009

Hapuna

The hotel and grounds were amazing. I've heard other reviews about the hotel not being "beach-front" - not true! The place is sprawling, so plan on walking a good distance to everything. My wife had a massage at the spa, "so-so" rating. Don't bother with the "beach-front" massage. It is actually right next to the path to the beach for half the rooms of the hotel (no privacy). There is definitely a rate hierarchy. We did not have some of the amenities that non-Orbitz rooms had, such as stocked mini-fridge, etc. Our "king size" bed was actually two twins pushed together. We went "around the island" one day, Green Sand Beach, Black Sand Beach, Volcano Nat'l Park, second black sand beach, lava flow into the ocean and dinner in Hilo. Quite a long day! If we could do it over again, we would spend 1 night on the Hilo side. Don't bother renting a jeep, you can't take it off road anyway, a convertible car would suffice. Bottom line, there are better hotels in the area for a little more $$$. Mauna Kea, Mauna Lani and Kona Village.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We spent six nights on the Kohala Coast at the Hapuna Prince. The best restaurant by far was a little place in Hawi (20 miles north) called "Bamboo". The seafood risotto was the best! I also tried the ribs which were fall off the bone in a pineapple bar-b-que sauce! "Hawaii Revealed" is a must have if you are planning to go, also, fly direct to Kona from mainland if you can, Honolulu Airport is a pain to change planes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 19, 2009

Corp. annual meeting

We enjoyed our restfull stay at this resort and definitely make plan to come back. Room is a little bit dated but we do not mind at all. Great services, friendly staff,fabulous beach,wonderful pool/hot tub,beautifull scenery.There are $15 charge per day for you to self-park and it will be a good walk to your room if you are at the other end of the parking area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are quite a few place to eat and buy food/snack in Waimea which is a short drive from the hotel .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, CA
Sep 14, 2009

Hapuna

could not be better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wouldn't you like to know
Business
Irvine, CA
Sep 13, 2009

Secluded Getaway

This was our first time traveling to the Big Island. We booked Oceanfront rooms here and it was totally worth it. We feel asleep to the sound of the ocean every night! The hotel is on gorgeous property. It is NOT located around many other hotels or villages, which gives you a feeling of being secluded. This was also the only downside, as we found the food on premises to be overly-priced for what you get. To find any decent food, we had to travel to Kona or Waimea (and by decent, I mean quality to price ratio). Despite this, we wouldn't have changed a thing. You NEED to rent a car if you are staying here, but you should really rent a car if you are staying on the Big Island because there is so much to do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Save eating at the hotel for when you are really tired, because you are getting ripped off. Quality is edible but not at the price that they charge. You need to drive to Waimea or Kona for fair food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
Sep 13, 2009

Fantastic beach

This was third stay at this hotel. Would probably return. Golf was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Variety of restaurants available a short drive away at Mana Lani and Waikoloa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tom and Jen, Newlyweds
Business
Covina, CA
Sep 10, 2009

Everything was perfect!

The Big Island made our honeymoon great! The hotel was absolutely beautiful. The service was top notch. Everyone was very kind and really made us feel like VIP's. We took trips around the island every day, and spent one day at the hotel. We had so much fun on a snorkeling trip on a boat that we also rented equipment at the pool and went snorkeling at the reefs next to the hotel. It was great! Turtles, eels, and all the other fish can be seen on the reefs at the hotel. We did a lot of driving since the island is fairly large, but we had a convertible that made every drive fun! Volcanos, luaus, snorkeling, booze cruise, golf, and historical points, kept us busy throughout the trip... Don't plan on surfing though. The water is fairly calm with shorebreakers at every place we checked out. There are great views all around the hotel. It is located on the north part of the island and it is about a 40 minute drive into Kona. You will definitely need a rental car. Some hidden costs were the $20/day for valet service, or you can pay $15/day to park yourself. If you have a room with a great view of the beach, i would suggest getting room service. The server will put a table cloth on the patio table and you can enjoy breakfast, lunch, or dinner from your patio. I loved it! There was not much difference in price from room service to walking downstairs to the different restaurants. Food is pricey, and there are no other places to eat close to the hotel... We mostly ate at the hotel and enjoyed every meal. While on the island, about 95% of the locals were extremely friendly and were happy we were there. Watch out for the other 5%. Remember, they know what a rental car looks like, and you might get cut off once or twice during your stay...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel had a great variety of food. We had a game plan knowing that food is expensive in Hawaii. The convenience of eating great food at the hotel was worth the price, since other dining was a good distance away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mollusk Tipper
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 1, 2009

"Beautiful and Serene"

The Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel is as beautiful as ever. We stayed here once before, in 2002. The location is unbeatable (the sunny Kohala coast), the rooms are spacious and quiet, and the staff always courteous and friendly. In addition, the restaurants were great as well -- appetizers at the Reef Lounge, lunches poolside, and dinners at the Coast Grille. We just came back from 14 days and 15 nights here. The upgrade they gave us to a "partial ocean view" room was fantastic -- some partial! It was ALL ocean, with palm trees and other beautiful plants in the foreground. If you prefer quiet elegance (not too many kids and families) and want endless sun on a white sandy beach, this is the place to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are two great restaurants just a short drive away, about 3 miles to the North, that are NOT in the Kohala mega resorts. Cafe Pesto and The Blue Dragon, in the tiny town of Kawaihae, were both excellent in terms of food, drinks, and service. Neither has ocean views, but both have great ambience as well. The Blue Dragon is indoor/outdoor (with a twist).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top