$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

4 stars
62 100 Kauna Oa Drive, Big Island Of Hawaii, Kohala Coast, HI 96743
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
237 reviews
Wonderful experience

Hotel was beautiful and clean. We loved the location on the beach. The staff was friendly and... See full review

  • Chris V
  • Aug 31, 2014
Good facilities, fantastic location

The hotel is located in one of the best beaches in Hawaii. The rooms are spacious, clean. My only... See full review

  • 1juanpa1
  • Aug 11, 2014
Grand Hapuna Beach hotel with ocean views from every room
With an ancient name Hapuna, or "Spring of Life," the award-winning Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel sits oceanfront upon South Kohala's remarkable Hapuna Beach. All 350 luxurious guest rooms offer ocean views from private balconies. The resort shares its oceanfront landscape with sister property Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, combining amenities for an extended resort with championship golf courses, tennis, spas, a fitness center, swimming pool, restaurants and more.
Highlights
  • Enjoy access and signing privileges at the neighboring Mauna Kea Beach Hotel
  • Hapuna Beach is frequently ranked among America's best beaches by Condé Nast Traveler
  • Stargaze at the hotel's high-powered telescope with professional astronomers several days each week
Location
Less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona on the South Kohala Coast, the Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel fronts the grand Hapuna Beach, one of the Big Island's most famed beaches. Kings' Shops and Queens' MarketPlace are less than 10 miles south, with plentiful shopping and dining.
Rooms
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel angles away from the beach, offering ocean views from its 350 oversized guest rooms. Each includes a private balcony, Japanese robes, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), bathroom amenities and large bathroom with double vanity.
Features
Recreation
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel features an oceanfront swimming pool, fitness center, golf course and full-service spa (fees apply). Guests may use facilities at the neighboring Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, including Mauna Kea Spa by Mandara and Mauna Kea Golf Course (fees apply).
Dining
Guests choose from several dining experiences at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel. The open-air Ocean Terrace does breakfast both a la carte and buffet. The poolside Beach Bar offers salads, fresh fish and sandwiches -- or guests can make their own salads at Café Hapuna. Coast Grill features fresh Island ingredients with an American bistro slant. Room service is available.
Attractions
  • Hapuna Beach (In front)
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (8.1 mi/15 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (14 mi/22.6 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (31.7 mi/51 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (51.4 mi/82.7 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (97 mi/156 km)
Policies and fees
Self parking: $15 USD + tax per day Valet Parking: $20 USD + tax per day

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.9944 -155.8228
Area served
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel is situated on 32 oceanfront acres on the sunny Kohala Coast of the northernmost end of the Big Island of Hawaii. Perched on the hillside, it overlooks the beautiful #1 rated Hapuna Beach.
Nearby airports
30 minutes from the Kona airport 2 hours from Hilo
Area description
Directions from Keahole-Kona International Airport (KOA) to Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel As you leave the Airport, turn left onto Queen Kaahumanu Highway 19, heading toward Kawaihae. Drive north about 27 miles, approximately 30 minutes. Half-way point: after about 15 minutes you will come to a stoplight (near the Waikoloa Resort area), from this point you are half way there. 2-mile landmark: look for the signs for the small town of Puako (from this turn off you are about 2 miles from the hotel entrance). You'll pass the state highway sign for Hapuna Beach State Park, go over the overpass and shortly thereafter, look for the entrance to Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel – the entrance will be on the right side. Enter this driveway and the guard will direct you to the hotel, located oceanfront.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel Rooms

Premium Oceanview
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 9th floor. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Terrace
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 5th and 6th floors. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels,and local calls. High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Partial Oceanview
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 5th,6th and 7th floors. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Oceanfront
One King bed,two Doubles or two Queen beds. Located on all five floors of the Oceanfront building. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Oceanview
One King bed or two Double beds. Located on the 6th, 7th and 8th floors. 600 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls. High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Large bathroom showingcasing a granite vanity with double sinks. There is a separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers are also available for your use.
Oceanfront Suite
One King bed or two Queens in master bedroom, plus one Queen sofa bed in the living room. Located on all five floors of the Oceanfront building. 1,200 square feet. Private, furnished lanai with tropical landscape views. Island decor with light woods of wicker and rattan furnishings. Compact refrigerator,coffemaker,video games(surcharge), and in room safe. Complimentary premium channels and local calls.High speed internet access available for a nominal fee. Two bathrooms,including master bathroom showcasing granite vanity with double sinks. Separate glass shower stall and marble tub. Bathrobes and slippers available in room. Complimentary welcome basket with coffee,biscotti,and macadamia nuts.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
One of the most sophisticated, full-service meeting facilities in the world, Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel offers unmatched options for meetings, incentives and conferences of all sizes. You'll find over 85,000 square feet of meeting space, including an 8,400 square-foot ballroom, six conference rooms, numerous breakout areas and a complete Business Center with computers, printers and facsimile machines.

Dining

Coast Grille & Oyster Bar
Resort Executive Chef Piet Wigmans shares his love of Hawaii through his food – Hawaii Regional Cuisine. Blending the rich flavors of the island's ethnic dishes with the Big Island's distinctive ingredients, the unique cuisine offers fresh, flavorful and inspired dishes that showcase our island's bounty. The hotel's signature restaurant features an oyster bar and the freshest Pacific Rim cuisine in an indoor or outdoor setting. A specialty is the New England lobster, raised in cold pure deep-ocean waters at an aquaculture facility just down the road. Evening Dining, 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Call for Days Resort Attire
Beach Bar
Located poolside, the Beach Bar features lunch and early afternoon fare with salads, sandwiches, fresh island fish and full bar. At sunset, enjoy your favorite cocktail and watch the sun slip into the horizon. During the summer months, enjoy "Dive-In" movies on Saturday nights for free. Open Daily, 11:30am - 4:00pm Beach/Casual Attire
Ocean Terrace
Overlooking Hapuna Beach and the blue Pacific, this casual open-air breakfast restaurant offers a thoughtful mix of healthy, creative items along with familiar favorites. Featuring a daily breakfast buffet and an extensive a la carte menu. Open Daily for Breakfast, 6:30am - 11:00am Resort Attire
Reef Lounge
Just beneath the lobby, the open-air Reef Lounge provides spectacular ocean views of Hapuna Beach and the Kohala coastline from its central location. Another great spot to watch the sunset, enjoy tropical drinks to the island sounds of live Hawaiian guitar and hula nightly. Open Nightly, 5:30pm – 11:00pm Casual Resort Attire

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tom and Jen, Newlyweds
Covina, CA
Sep 10, 2009

Everything was perfect!

The Big Island made our honeymoon great! The hotel was absolutely beautiful. The service was top notch. Everyone was very kind and really made us feel like VIP's. We took trips around the island every day, and spent one day at the hotel. We had so much fun on a snorkeling trip on a boat that we also rented equipment at the pool and went snorkeling at the reefs next to the hotel. It was great! Turtles, eels, and all the other fish can be seen on the reefs at the hotel. We did a lot of driving since the island is fairly large, but we had a convertible that made every drive fun! Volcanos, luaus, snorkeling, booze cruise, golf, and historical points, kept us busy throughout the trip... Don't plan on surfing though. The water is fairly calm with shorebreakers at every place we checked out. There are great views all around the hotel. It is located on the north part of the island and it is about a 40 minute drive into Kona. You will definitely need a rental car. Some hidden costs were the $20/day for valet service, or you can pay $15/day to park yourself. If you have a room with a great view of the beach, i would suggest getting room service. The server will put a table cloth on the patio table and you can enjoy breakfast, lunch, or dinner from your patio. I loved it! There was not much difference in price from room service to walking downstairs to the different restaurants. Food is pricey, and there are no other places to eat close to the hotel... We mostly ate at the hotel and enjoyed every meal. While on the island, about 95% of the locals were extremely friendly and were happy we were there. Watch out for the other 5%. Remember, they know what a rental car looks like, and you might get cut off once or twice during your stay...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel had a great variety of food. We had a game plan knowing that food is expensive in Hawaii. The convenience of eating great food at the hotel was worth the price, since other dining was a good distance away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mollusk Tipper
San Diego, CA
Sep 1, 2009

"Beautiful and Serene"

The Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel is as beautiful as ever. We stayed here once before, in 2002. The location is unbeatable (the sunny Kohala coast), the rooms are spacious and quiet, and the staff always courteous and friendly. In addition, the restaurants were great as well -- appetizers at the Reef Lounge, lunches poolside, and dinners at the Coast Grille. We just came back from 14 days and 15 nights here. The upgrade they gave us to a "partial ocean view" room was fantastic -- some partial! It was ALL ocean, with palm trees and other beautiful plants in the foreground. If you prefer quiet elegance (not too many kids and families) and want endless sun on a white sandy beach, this is the place to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are two great restaurants just a short drive away, about 3 miles to the North, that are NOT in the Kohala mega resorts. Cafe Pesto and The Blue Dragon, in the tiny town of Kawaihae, were both excellent in terms of food, drinks, and service. Neither has ocean views, but both have great ambience as well. The Blue Dragon is indoor/outdoor (with a twist).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boulder Colorado
Aug 12, 2009

What a wonderful resort!!!!!

The staff is amazing. So friendly, informative and genuinely helpful. The pool is grgeous and the beach spectacular. We loved the food at all of the hotel's restaurants too and found breakfast, lunch and dinners priced well. We can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The dinners at the Coast Grille were fabulous!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Swarthmore, PA
Aug 10, 2009

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel is a Dream !

The Hapuna Prince is a wonderful hotel with an amazing location.It is about 40 minutes north of the KOA airport and right next to the Hapuna Beach State Park.We were upgraded to a deluxe oceanview room,very spacious. We had a king size bed and a rollaway bed, and still had space in our room. Their service is impecable.I requested the rollaway bed in advance through the Orbitz website with our flight information, and when we walked into our room the rollaway was there !The bathroom is the largest I have seen in a hotel: separate shower and bathtub,large double sink vanity and a toilette with a privacy door. The view from the balcony is just breathtaking. The prices at their Hapuna Cafe at the Lobby are the best that I have seen from a resort. I bought my morning coffee a couple of days and it was a great $2 cup, better than the Starbucks. All in all its a great hotel,amazing location and a wonderful staff. The staff gives wonferful tips about what to see or do in the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

After you pick up your car from the KOA airport, drive 10 minutes south you will hit a Target, a Walmart, a couple of supermarkets and you can buy snacks, drinks, etc. before heading to Hapuna.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
love the beach
phoenix, az
Jul 31, 2009

Beautiful Beach Location

Beautiful location, great white sand beach on HI Big Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Louis, MO
Jul 15, 2009

WHAT A GREAT EXPERIENCE

we truly enjoye our stay.. The staff was excellent. very high class hotel, but you always felt comfortable. The dining room (Coast Grill) was always a wonderful experience, but was only open Mon thru Thurs. and Sat. evening. We really missed the food and service on the days it was closed. All in all it was a beautiful place for a great vacation. The beach and snorkeling that was available were great. I'd go back any time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Though the food was pricey, it is almost everywhere in Hawaii, the dinners at the Coast Grille were an event we looked forward to every evening it was open.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandkisser
Dolores, CO
Jul 2, 2009

Paradise

Beautiful hotel located directly on the beach. Very relaxing. Staff was very friendly. Rooms immaculate and comfortable. We went snorkeling near the hotel and saw fish and turtles. Watch out for the big waves! They can hurt you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WeLoveHawaii
Boston, MA
Jun 22, 2009

Wow.

We were first-time visitors to Hawaii and did an exhaustive search into which island to stay, etc. We knew that the Big Island would be a great choice because we did not want the touristy-feeling and commercial feel of Honolulu. Orbitz had a fantastic package deal with airfare, hotel, and car rental (please note – a car is an absolute must to get around, and we brought our own GPS, which was very helpful). We were greeted with fresh juice and hot towels upon check in and were upgraded from a partial ocean view to an ocean view on the 9th floor. The view was breathtaking – I have never seen anything like it. We even slept a couple of nights with the sliding doors open. The hotel provides for everything, slippers and a robe, mini-fridge, books about Hawaii, an umbrella – everything you could imagine. The location is a bit far from Kona – over 30 minutes – but we only went there one day to stock up on supplies. Buy your snorkel gear at walmart or bring your own, as the rental fees are high. The snorkeling was phenomenal – we saw all kinds of fish and watched a sea turtle grazing on the rocks for almost a whole morning. The waters are calm and blue, the sand is smooth, and there is not a hint of seaweed. Don't expect to find shells, though. The beach is open to the public but we noticed that towards the hotel, only guests lingered. The state park drew most of the crowds. We kept returning to Kings Shops/Queen's MarketPlace for shopping and food - Mauna Lani and Waikoloa Market were a disappointment. One thing that I would have liked to see improved is information on activities near the hotel – the hotel staff didn't seem to know much. There is an activity desk but it is an outside company that will try to get you to go on their day trips. The activities staff was helpful, though – still, do your research and have an idea of where you want to go. All in all, we couldn't be more pleased with our experience here – it was a restful and rejuvenating vacation. We will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mamaduck
Corvallis, OR
Jun 19, 2009

Hapuna Beach Prince

This was our 6th stay at the Hapuna Beach Prince, and was as good as all the others. The hotel isn't as ornate or flashy as some of the other Kohala hotels, but it suits our style. The staff are friendly and helpful and the beach is one of the best in the world. The restaurants all have good food. We missed being able to eat at Hakone; the Japanese restaurant has closed due to current economic conditions. The hotel is located in the midst of the Kohala district, so going to other resorts for meals or to swim is an easy drive. We walked to the luau at the neighboring Mauna Kea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 15, 2009

Hawaiian Holiday

The staff was the friendliest, without exception, in all of the 35 years my wife and I have taken vacations. The food was excellent, and even with someone occupying the room next to ours all week (more than one couple) it was extremely quiet. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the food, and food service, was first rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search