$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2015 Check-out: Sep 25, 2015

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

4 stars
View map of 62 100 Kauna Oa Drive, Big Island Of Hawaii, Kohala Coast, HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
algre
Family
arizona
Jan 26, 2012

Great beachfront location

The Hapuna Beach was great. The room was pleasant, great view of the ocean. The beach was fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ivan Krupskij
Couples
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Beautiful Hapuna beach

Very beautiful beach, quiet, elegant hotel. Not so much for kids, more for the romance ;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PAV25
Couples
San Francisco, CA
Jan 10, 2012

Fantastic family getaway

What a beautiful resort! The beach is great, very friendly staff, big rooms, great views. Location is perfect. Everything was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kahala
Single
Honolulu, HI
Jan 6, 2012

Confusing Hotel

The hotel is difficult to understand and to get around in. After much searching I found a little map. Getting to the pool without steps seems impossible, and signage is poor. It was a long way to my room from the front desk. The room itself was very nice, plain but nice. The lanai led to a small front yard with a little ocean view. The only problem was the myriad well-fed cats who were around; I don't like cats. The other problem was that the restaurants don't give you a copy of the bill, so there is nothing to compare with when you get your final bill. Also, they discontinued the shuttle to the Mauna Kea Hotel, their sister hotel,. Since I didn't have a car that was a problem. Lastly, it was a $90 taxi ride to and from the airport, plus tip. To sum it up, I will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
D.man
Family
Orange County, Calif
Jan 2, 2012

Don't nickel and dime

Paying $650 per night and then having to pay extra for internet is pathetic. The web says they have internet, but not that you have to pay $11.95 extra for it. If Starbucks can provide internet for free, "grand hotels" that charge $450 per night and up should absolutely have it for free too! Shower was old tile, old glass, and the fixture was coming apart. Also, bottled water in the room is a must for a top hotel. And $20 per day for valet parking? They have no shuttle from the airport, so everyone has to have a car! Either add it into the price of the room in advance, or just waive the fee-either way, they turn things into a nickel and dime experience. If you get a massage, don't have it in the "spa", which is a hair salon that has a side room for massages. At $140, nobody wants to listen to the chatter of "salon talk".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
neon
Family
Fremont, CA, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Perfect family vacation

This is a very big resort hotel with lot of open space where you can sit and enjoy looking at the nature. They have a nice lobby overlooking the beach/ocean and a perfect swimming pool near the beach. We stayed here during the Christmas week and it wasn't crowded. The Hapuna beach is the most beautiful beach I have ever seen. It is very clean and shallow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a place called Mauna Lani about 15 min drive from Hapuna towards the airport. There are several shops and a grocery store here where you can get snacks and fruits. If you drive down for another 5 min you'll arrive at Queen's Marketplace which has a food court with Subway and several other fast food restaurants. There is also a decent Thai restaurant in this place.

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wonder
Couples
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 18, 2011

Beautiful resort

What a beautiful resort! The grounds are well-kept, and the view of the ocean is spectacular. The valet attendants are friendly & helpful. The only downside is that there aren't concierge services to help you plan outings...bring a good travel guide book!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like Japanese food and/or sushi, check on Monstera...it's fantastic!

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I love vacations
Friends
Seattle, Washington
Dec 11, 2011

Great location!

The room was a little out dated, but was clean. All the staff that we contacted, the deli, the pool bar, beach attendant, reception, and the two gift stores were all pleasant and friendly. The food at the pool bar was very good. The lobby is extraordinary. Beautiful views! Parking is $15.00 a day. Internet access is $12.00 a day. I really enjoyed staying at the hotel and would stay again. It's not a Four Season, but it is reasonably priced, great views and on a fabulous beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive to the King's shopping area and have dinner at Roy's! The service and food was Impeccable! Not inexpensive, but worth the splurge!

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
valya
Single
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Dec 7, 2011

Quiet hospitable environment

Perfect location, I could walk from my balcony to the beach; extremely friendly stuff; very clean room, very quiet. The only things that disappointed me were uncomfortable acrylic blanket and some synthetic comforter. It ruined the whole otherwise satisfying impression of my stay at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
relaxing
Couples
California, USA
Dec 4, 2011

4th time at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

The hotel grounds are beautiful. The Beach is MAGNIFACINT, we go here to reset all our counters. Our typical day is getting up with the sunrise staying in bed listining to the waves and eventually going for a walk on the beach. A swim follows if the waves cooperate. If not look at Turtle point for an opportunity to swim. Lunch and a coctail at the beach bar is a good option. Laying on the lounge chairs for some hours and then deciding if Sansei at the Queens shopping center in Waikoloa or the Coast Grill at the hotel will be our dinner location. If you get up to Wiamea, the Panini Grill is a good option. If you are so inclined, go buy some dry and canned cat food and feed the population of abandoned and feral cats that inhabit the property. Some have been spayed or neutered. Some are clearly abandoned house pets that really enjoy a good meal. You will enjoy knowing you are giving them a good meal and it makes your stay even more enjoyable. We fed about 12 cats every evening starting around 9 pm. We hit th 4th level near the restaraunt, the wall down th path to the right of the elevators (when you get off turn right and go to the place where the wall starts about 100 yrds). Finally there are some that hang around the pool bar. There is a kitten named Lilikuoi that will entertain you with her play in the lounge chairs near the pool under the trees. She deserves a healthy cat food meal for her performance. If you are lucky she will come and sleep with you on your lounge chair. We will return again to one of the bests places on earth. Take a walk to Mauna Kae and enjoy that property at least one day while at Hapuna.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top