$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 16, 2014 Check-out: Oct 19, 2014

Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

3 stars
145 N. Kihei Road, Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
38 reviews
All the comforts of home

This condo had all the amenities you could ever want- our room came with beach chairs, beach... See full review

  • Heather wishiwasinmaui
  • Jun 21, 2013
Perfect Resort right on the beach

Private balcony overlooking the ocean. Quiet getaway where you can listen to the waves. Swimming... See full review

  • Leo189
  • May 30, 2013
Join the many guests who return to Sugar Beach each year to enjoy the spectacular views from this exceptional beachfront location. Wake up to the gentle sound of waves breaking along five miles of white sand beach. One of Maui's best beaches for strolling, sunning and swimming is right outside your door. The spacious one and two bedroom units come with a fully equipped kitchen, central air conditioning, cable television, telephone, high-speed internet access (fee), private lanai, washer/dryer, and in-room safe.

Sugar Beach Resort conveniently features an on-site activities desk, Maui Sights and Treasures. The knowledgeable, experienced staff can help you plan, arrange, and book all the fun things you want to do while you're here, from snorkel trips, and visiting outer islands, to helicopter tours. Better yet, reserve ahead of your trip visiting their website, mauivalue.com Additionally, a licensed massage therapist is also available through Massage Maui.

CHECK-IN: 3:00PM CHECK-OUT: 11:00AM.

CHECK-IN PROCEDURE: Drive directly to the SUGAR BEACH RESORT to check-in and get your keys. Directions from the Kahului Airport to the Sugar Beach Resort (Drive time approx. 20 minutes):.

1) Follow Hwy 311 (Mokulele Hwy) to Kihei 5.9 miles.
2) Turn RIGHT at the stoplight on Hwy 310 North (N. Kihei Road) 0.4 miles -Signs will state (Lahaina and Maalaea).
3) SUGAR BEACH RESORT will be on the left -145 N. Kihei Rd. -Look for the red & green water wheel at the entrance.

*Go to the central front office area to register and pick up your information packet & keys.

If you arrive before 5:00pm your keys will be at the front desk.

Sugar Beach Resort is a non-smoking property..

Please be advised the Sugar Beach Resort will undergo Pool maintenance work and walkway work to the ground floor sidewalks. The entire Pool, Jacuzzi and Spa area will be closed from Monday, September 15, 2014 to Monday, September 22, 2014, due to the pool deck being refinished. There will be some intermittent noise caused by sanding during this repair. During the closure no guest is allowed in the entire pool deck area for safety reasons. Guests however will have full beach access. The ground floor walkways repair is from Monday, September 22, 2014 to Monday, October 6, 2014. The work scheduled will include minimal noise level and disruption. There may be limited access in and out of the units on the ground floor.

Hotel Map

20.7863 -156.4678
Area served
Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului International Airport
Area description
Sugar Beach Resort is located directly on a beautiful white sand beach, perfect for strolling and swimming. Sugar Beach Resort is just a short 20 minute drive from Kahului Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property Rooms

1 Bedroom Ocean View
The one bedroom ocean view units are located on floors 2 through 6 in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset from your private lanai at Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Ocean View is 4 people.
1 Bedroom Ocean Front
The one bedroom ocean front units are located on floors 2 through 6 Facing the water in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai at Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Ocean Front is 4 people.
1 Bedroom Beach Front, Ground Floor
The one bedroom beach front units are located on the ground floor Facing the water in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai At Sugar Beach Resort. The white sand of Sugar Beach is only steps from your lanai. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Beach Front is 4 people.
2 Bedroom Ocean View
The two bedroom ocean view units are located on floors 5 through 6 in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai At Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 2 Bedroom Beach Front is 6 people.
1 Bedroom Garden View
The one bedroom garden view units are located on the ground floor in Both buildings. You can step out right from your lanai on the grounds of Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Garden View is 4 people.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Dina's Sandwich Shop
Located on the Sugar Beach property is Dina's Sandwich shop, where You can order sandwiches and other deli items. There is also a small general store where you can purchase small snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 38
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jatrvan
Seattle, wa
Feb 22, 2010

The Good, The Bad, and the Smelly

We've stayed at Sugar Beach Resort a number of times in the past and chose it because the price was right and like the location to the beach and pool. This time however we were put in a shabby condo that smelled pretty bad and was close to the on-premise deli where people stand outside smoking and talking loudly--especially after a few drinks. The condo really is starting to show it's age. If you go and want a room that directly faces the water, ask for "ocean front" rather than "ocean view." You will likely get a better condo and won't have to deal with as much noise. Also, this beach is notoriously windy and in a week's stay, the water was never clear enough to snorkel because the wind kicked up a lot of sand and silt. Too bad because in past years we've seen lots of sea turtle 20-30 feet out from the beach. We will likely not be returning to Sugar Beach Resort on future trips to Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Plup
Madera, CA.
Jul 15, 2014

Very Good Location, nice room

It was pretty much every man for himself, but we didn't expect anything more. Adequately furnished, somewhat dated, small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop at food land NOT Safeway! *(Expensive)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Foster City, CA
Dec 31, 2010

Christmas 2010 at Sugar Beach

Hotel is in great location on great beach. However, there was heavy rains one night and a lot of debris landed on our beach. The water was brown. We cannot enjoy the water or walk on the beach because of too much debris. We had to drive down to Polo Beach in Wailea. Such a disappointment! We've been here 5 times and this is the first this has happened. Also, the aircon in our unit conked out on our last day so we were kinda warm in our condo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

try canoeing with the Maui Canoe club just a short walk from Sugar Beach. it is a great experience. even beginners will enjoy!n Members were very helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr KK
Las Vegas NV
Jun 23, 2011

Just spent a week @ Sugar Beach

- Checked in late at night. Everything went fine. - The room was clean, although somewhat dated (unit built in the 70's and looked it). The A/C worked great; washing machine didn't. Pool area and grounds kept up really nice. Kids swam in pool everyday. Good place for family fun. - The only real problem was next door and the front office. Re-doing bathroom and cut tile EVERY day we were there from 8 am to 5pm. (8 days). Made friends with tile workers they were there so much, but very noisey and did get OLD. - Front desk only there to tell you what not to do. There was a disconnect with us(the guest)and the company that manages this exact unit. Ex: We asked front desk office what cleaning supplies we could use. they didn't know. Said to call the managing company in folder on table. We called. They didn't know either. (I got the feeling they didn't even know where I was calling from. I repeated this 4 or 5 times). Hung up more confused than before. - Front door is a punchcode. We came home from the beach to find a note from the bugman. Called front desk and they said we should have looked at the bulletin board for notification? What? Very invasive. - Overall, good deal, but punchcode that anyone can get into, front desk clueless, but good pool, oceanfront, and clean. You decide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
leal536
Olympia WA
Oct 19, 2013

Maui Experience

The condo was sufficient for my needs. I was on the go so much that it really was a place to sleep and shower; never even turned on the TV. Check in after 5 pm was not as easy as I would have liked. No staff to assist. Had to call to get a code to the lock box. A few days after checking in, I helped several others in getting into the lock box. Then I had to do the real check in the next morning which cut into the time I had for touring. Nothing much in the way of amenities: Pool, hot tub that was not hot, only a sandwich shop and gift shop on site. On a more positive note, the beach was about as close as you can get without getting wet!. The sound of the surf in the early morning was superb. My 3 star rating is primarily due to the check in process and the lack of amenities. However, if I return to Maui some day in the future, I will use Sugar Beach Resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are numerous places to eat in Kihei - all pretty good. Two places - Home Maid Cafe - is a great place to get breakfast. The service was slow but the food was worth the wait. Kihei Cafe is also very good - large portions, a little on the expensive side but the portion sizes dictate the price. It is a cash only place and all the seating is outside next to the road. Birds all over the place - perhaps not healthy but interesting. Go early as lines tend to build early. Seating is limited at both places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, AZ
Apr 21, 2010

Not a Resort

Let me start by saying THIS IS NOT A RESORT. The name of the place made me believe that this was a resort when it is actually just a no-frills condo. The first shock was when we arrived we found no shampoo in the room and were told we would have to supply our own. There was no daily cleaning unless we paid an extra fee. No room service and no one at the desk in the evening. [...] When I called to confirm the reservation I was told that none of the oceanfront rooms had 2 twin beds. There were 2 of us traveling, so one of us had to sleep on the sleeper-sofa.Upon entering the room, we found that the dead-bolt did not work. I called maintenance and they told me that this was on purpose since they had change over to electronic locks. They also told me it was so that maintenance/staff could get in and out of the room when they wanted. This really bothered me. I felt very un-safe while sleeping at night knowing that anyone with the code could sneak in at any time. The first night the wind blew the light cover out of the ceiling and broke it. We called maintenance and they said they would fix it. A week later when we checked out it still was not fixed.The garbage bins are located in the parking lock very close to the rooms. The stench is awful. You cannot open the doors or windows towards the parking lot without being overwhelmed by it. Also, every time you come or leave you have to deal with the smell.Also, this condo is very close to the road and has very thin walls. In the bedroom you cold hear traffic noise all night, even with the windows closed and the fan on. And the final complaint is that we checked in on Saturday and they gave us a code to the pool. When we went to the pool on Sunday the code had changed. Apparently they change the code every Sunday. It would have been nice for the staff to let us know that the code was going to change the next day since we were going to be there for the week. Here are the good things about the condos.First, we had a 3rd story oceanfront condo and the views were wonderful. We were only a few feet from the ocean and had completely unobstructed views.The beach is a wonderful beach. There were very few people on the beach so it felt like we had our own private beach. The location is wonderful. The resort is almost dead-center in the middle of the west coast of Maui so you have easy access to all of the west coast. The condo came well equipped. It had plenty of towels, beach towels, beach chairs, pots, pans, dishes glasses, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Stop at Walmart or Costco when you arrive. The prices there are a fraction of what you will pay on the rest of the island. We actually found some items that were cheaper than back home. Also, if you go to Costco, get a Sport-Brella, these give you great shade on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
son worshiper
canada
Dec 15, 2009

unbeatable location !!!! will stay here!

We loved the beach. quite beach lots of room for playing in and out of the water. Good location to other attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Redmond, WA
Jan 14, 2010

Great beach

Lovely beach, nice pool, clean, convenient to Kihei, quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clovis, Ca
Jul 13, 2009

Great Experience

The Condo was perfect for us. It was near all the main attractions, but secluded from all the resorts. The water was only 15 steps away from our back door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sansei Seafood and Sushi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CKVan
Gig Harbor, WA
Jul 23, 2009

Our place on Maui

We love Sugar Beach! It has a quiet beach, great pool, close to so many activities and restaurants. We enjoy that they have a small grocery and a sandwich shop right on the property, as well as full kitchens and bbq grills to cook ourselves. It is very family friendly and we will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Costco right by the airport and pick up stuff to grill, save the cost of dinners out every night. Also use coupons from flyers (they are everywhere) for when you do splurge!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search