Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

3 stars
145 N. Kihei Road, Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
42 reviews
Weekend getaway

My friend and I went to Maui just for the weekend and this was the perfect spot to stay for the... See full review

  • Kamesantiago
  • Nov 22, 2014
Fantastic view

Had a great time, only complaint was there needed to be a ceiling fan in living room to better... See full review

  • ashiecat
  • Nov 22, 2014
Sunny Kihei beachfront condo includes free calls and Internet access
The Sugar Beach Resort is backed by the Kealia Pond National Wildlife Refuge and sits so close to the water that guests in oceanfront units fall asleep to the sound of waves. The five-mile-long beach fronting the property is perfect for long walks. Oversized one- and two-bedroom units include a full kitchen and washer/dryer. Extras include free high-speed Internet, local calls and calls to the U.S. mainland and Canada. Guests also enjoy an on-site activities desk and on-call massage service.
Highlights
  • Five-mile stretch of beach in front of resort with views of west Maui and neighbor islands
  • Call locally or to the U.S. mainland and Canada for free, plus take advantage of free high-speed Internet access
  • On-call licensed massage therapist service, plus an on-site activities desk
Location
The Sugar Beach Resort sits on a quiet, five-mile-long swimming beach in south Maui's sunny Kihei. Guests enjoy incredible panoramas of the ocean and the neighboring islands of Lanai and Kahoolawe. Kihei offers affordable restaurants and shops, plus easy access to Maui?s many sights.
Rooms
The Sugar Beach Resort offers 709-square-foot one-bedroom and 1,518-square-foot two-bedroom/two-bathroom condo units with garden, oceanview or oceanfront vistas. Oceanfront units nearly hover above the beach, which is just steps in front of the resort. All units feature a fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony, air conditioning, cable TV, VCR or DVD, beach towels and free high-speed Internet access. Guests make free local and U.S. mainland and Canada calls.
Dining
Sugar Beach Resort guests save by cooking in fully equipped kitchens. Restaurants and shops are plentiful within the Kihei area.
Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Sauna
  • Putting green
  • Barbecue areas
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
Attractions
  • Kealia Pond National Wildlife Refuge (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (4.1 mi/6.7 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (8.8 mi/14.2 km)
  • Lahaina Town (18.9 mi/30.4 km)
Policies and fees
  • CHECK-IN PROCEDURE: For check-in before 5 PM, keys will be at the property's front desk.
  • For check in after 5PM, guests must use courtesy phone outside the door of the front desk to call (808) 264-2454 to obtain keys.
  • The property is strictly non-smoking. Guests who will smoke in the condominium will be charged a $350 fee. Smoking is also not allowed in the balcony.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property Rooms

1 Bedroom Ocean View
The one bedroom ocean view units are located on floors 2 through 6 in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset from your private lanai at Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Ocean View is 4 people.
1 Bedroom Ocean Front
The one bedroom ocean front units are located on floors 2 through 6 Facing the water in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai at Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Ocean Front is 4 people.
1 Bedroom Beach Front, Ground Floor
The one bedroom beach front units are located on the ground floor Facing the water in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai At Sugar Beach Resort. The white sand of Sugar Beach is only steps from your lanai. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Beach Front is 4 people.
2 Bedroom Ocean View
The two bedroom ocean view units are located on floors 5 through 6 in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai At Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 2 Bedroom Beach Front is 6 people.
1 Bedroom Garden View
The one bedroom garden view units are located on the ground floor in Both buildings. You can step out right from your lanai on the grounds of Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Garden View is 4 people.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Dina's Sandwich Shop
Located on the Sugar Beach property is Dina's Sandwich shop, where You can order sandwiches and other deli items. There is also a small general store where you can purchase small snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L & L
Business
Centralia, Wa
Aug 1, 2009

wonderful place to stay

Sugar Beach is great for a kick back vacation in Maui. If you drive to Hana don't turn back. the drive around the island is a little rough but very beautiful. The resort has a great sandwich shop with the best ono burger I have ever had. We had room 134 which is a one bedroom, bottom floor ocean front. Great beach for swimming and watching the sun go down. We will go back to this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Longs Drug is a good place to buy food. they have produce, dairy and meat at a fair price for the islands. we bought bananas, lettuce, maui corn for cheaper than the grocery store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
L.A.
May 13, 2009

Great beach and pool

Very Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David and Anna
Business
California
Sep 18, 2014

Sugar Beach Resort

It was a wonderful stay in this condo. I would have rated it perfect 5 if the pool was not scheduled to be renovated during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
USA
Dec 30, 2008

Relaxing

The hotel is located in a quiet aera of Maui next to the beach, have a balcony with uncredible sunset... A 5mn walk on the beach and you find a Farmer Market... nice local fruits & vege... The hotel is well maintened and you have everything you need in and around the condo... People were very firendly... it was a very nice experience and got back home relax and my memory full of nice scene!!! If you are looking for activites at night, you will need a car and drive 15mn or more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno,NV
Jan 14, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Our condo was on the 3rd floor (room 335) with an amazing view. The condo had everything that one needed except for groceries. Very friendly staff and the Maui Sights and Treasures booked all of our activities. Ocean swimming was great as well as relaxing on the beach. Kihei was a great destination point. Will definitely stay again at Sugar Beach Resort.The day we were leaving, we spotted some whales from our balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno
Dec 15, 2008

Great view of the ocean, central to other areas of Maui.

PLUS: Great View of the ocean. 14 miles of beach to walk on the softest sand. Central to other areas of Maui. Kitchen equiped adequately. Caring staff at the Lobby. MINUS: toilet/tub area is a bit cramped. Overall, I would return to this Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to go for those daily walks on the beach, very relaxing, not crowded.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corbett, OR
Dec 14, 2010

Great Price

You can't go wrong with a Condo. You save so much in food costs alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sri
Business
San Jose, CA
Jan 27, 2011

Super-awesome ocean front condo

It was an awesome accommodation. The property was right on the beach and the view and ocean sounds from our our oceanfront condo was fabulous. We didn't even bother going out to the beach. It was as if the beach was right there when we opened the balcony door. We loved having breakfast and dinner, and enjoyed the beautiful sunsets. The property itself was superb - it had a large pool, sauna, jacuzzi, bar, a general store (yes, a small general store!), and many more amenities. Kihei is also a drier part of Maui. That helps. All in all, the vacation rental was one of the highlights of our vacation. I highly recommend the oceanfront. It is a few bucks more but totally worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Feast at Lele... The show was great, the beach-side setting was superb. They even accommodated our vegan/vegetarian needs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalie H
Business
Placerville, Ca
Dec 21, 2010

25th Anniversary celebration!

My husband and I celebrated our 25th anniversary this year..we never had a honeymoon, so we were so excited to finally get one and in Maui..how amazing! We renewed our vows on Paleau beach with The Maui Marrying Man, and we had a wondeful photographer who took gorgeous pics of us ( Dorthea Freeland Photography) Check out their websites! We were so blessed with the best condo ever (#414)! When we first walked in we loved the way the condo looked, marble counters, tile and carpeted floors. An amazing view of the ocean. I personally enjoyed my bible and prayer time on the lanai, with the sound of the surf and the blue ocean. We got in after check in time and the people were so helpful and kind. We hope to one day come back and stay here again. This condo is perfectly located to get you anywhere on the Island in just a short time. It didn't take long to get to the Hana highway and what an amazing drive that was..I strongly suggest that be your main goal before you leave! We enjoyed snorkling all over the island, and right outside our condo off the beach. Best to do snorkling first thing in the early mornings, because when the afternoon tradewinds come in the waters get a little rough. We loved swimming with the turtles ( but remeber: don't touch!) They are a beautful creation, along with the all the colorful fish. The dining experiences were pleasant as well, but shopping for food was expensive. I personally loves the ABC Stores that are located everywhere on the Island, they have great souviners, and extras. The pool at this condo was very enjoyable and we met some very nice people in the hot tub. We took long walks on the 5 mile beach, and at night you can see many crabs hanging out on the beach. I think my most favorite part of staying at Sugar Beach was having my windows open at night and drifting off to sleep to the sound of the ocean waves! And waking to the sound of the surf every morning. Staying here was the best experience we have ever had...thank you Sugar Beach Resort!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hana Highway, all beaches, volcano, all other towns

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChenteTexas
Business
Texas
Nov 7, 2014

Great Value

I've been staying here for years because Sugar Beach offers good value at a great location. There's always plenty of parking (free) and it's right on the beach. The only downside is that the individual units vary in quality. While I've never had a truly poor one - most have been average - I've had two that have been truly outstanding. Three notes: due to its location, the best time for swimming is the morning; the afternoons are usually too windy. Also, depending on which way the wind's blowing, you could be subjected to the infamous "Maui snow." Finally, you'll need a car, but its central location puts you close to Kihei, Lahaina and Kahului. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

O'O Farm Tour. It's a bit of drive to upcountry, but a tour of the farm is recommended. It lasts about three hours and included an outdoor lunch made on the spot by a highly trained chef using products grown on the farm (almost all#. It's the best meal I've ever had on Maui - far better than at the Pacific O', the restaurant in Lahaina they also operate - and included plenty of seconds. Beautiful location. Reservations are a must. Bring a jacket, sun block and good walking shoes that you don't mind getting muddy #on the chance it rains#.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top