Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

3 stars
145 N. Kihei Road, Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
66 reviews
All the comforts of home

This condo had all the amenities you could ever want- our room came with beach chairs, beach... See full review

  • Heather wishiwasinmaui
  • Jun 21, 2013
Perfect Resort right on the beach

Private balcony overlooking the ocean. Quiet getaway where you can listen to the waves. Swimming... See full review

  • Leo189
  • May 30, 2013
Sunny Kihei beachfront condo includes free calls and Internet access
The Sugar Beach Resort is backed by the Kealia Pond National Wildlife Refuge and sits so close to the water that guests in oceanfront units fall asleep to the sound of waves. The five-mile-long beach fronting the property is perfect for long walks. Oversized one- and two-bedroom units include a full kitchen and washer/dryer. Extras include free high-speed Internet, local calls and calls to the U.S. mainland and Canada. Guests also enjoy an on-site activities desk and on-call massage service.
Highlights
  • Five-mile stretch of beach in front of resort with views of west Maui and neighbor islands
  • Call locally or to the U.S. mainland and Canada for free, plus take advantage of free high-speed Internet access
  • On-call licensed massage therapist service, plus an on-site activities desk
Location
The Sugar Beach Resort sits on a quiet, five-mile-long swimming beach in south Maui’s sunny Kihei. Guests enjoy incredible panoramas of the ocean and the neighboring islands of Lanai and Kahoolawe. Kihei offers affordable restaurants and shops, plus easy access to Maui’s many sights.
Rooms
The Sugar Beach Resort offers 709-square-foot one-bedroom and 1,518-square-foot two-bedroom/two-bathroom condo units with garden, oceanview or oceanfront vistas. Oceanfront units nearly hover above the beach, which is just steps in front of the resort. All units feature a fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony, air conditioning, cable TV, VCR or DVD, beach towels and free high-speed Internet access. Guests make free local and U.S. mainland and Canada calls.
Dining
Sugar Beach Resort guests save by cooking in fully equipped kitchens. Restaurants and shops are plentiful within the Kihei area.
Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Sauna
  • Putting green
  • Barbecue areas
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
Attractions
  • Kealia Pond National Wildlife Refuge (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (4.1 mi/6.7 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (8.8 mi/14.2 km)
  • Lahaina Town (18.9 mi/30.4 km)
Policies and fees
  • CHECK-IN PROCEDURE: For check-in before 5 PM, keys will be at the property's front desk.
  • For check in after 5PM, guests must use courtesy phone outside the door of the front desk to call (808) 264-2454 to obtain keys.
  • Sugar Beach Resort will be repaving both the Plantation and Mill Building parking lots starting Monday, May 12 until Friday, May 23. During the repaving project, all guests will need to use the parking lot on the opposite side. 
  • The property is strictly non-smoking. Guests who will smoke in the condominium will be charged a $350 fee. Smoking is also not allowed in the balcony.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property Rooms

1 Bedroom Ocean View
The one bedroom ocean view units are located on floors 2 through 6 in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset from your private lanai at Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Ocean View is 4 people.
1 Bedroom Ocean Front
The one bedroom ocean front units are located on floors 2 through 6 Facing the water in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai at Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Ocean Front is 4 people.
1 Bedroom Beach Front, Ground Floor
The one bedroom beach front units are located on the ground floor Facing the water in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai At Sugar Beach Resort. The white sand of Sugar Beach is only steps from your lanai. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Beach Front is 4 people.
2 Bedroom Ocean View
The two bedroom ocean view units are located on floors 5 through 6 in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai At Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 2 Bedroom Beach Front is 6 people.
1 Bedroom Garden View
The one bedroom garden view units are located on the ground floor in Both buildings. You can step out right from your lanai on the grounds of Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Garden View is 4 people.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

20.7863 -156.4678
Area served
Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului International Airport
Area description
Sugar Beach Resort is located directly on a beautiful white sand beach, perfect for strolling and swimming. Sugar Beach Resort is just a short 20 minute drive from Kahului Airport.

Dining

Dina's Sandwich Shop
Located on the Sugar Beach property is Dina's Sandwich shop, where You can order sandwiches and other deli items. There is also a small general store where you can purchase small snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Feb 12, 2011

Sugar Beach Resort

This was our 5th time to stay at the Sugar Beach Resort. The complex has become run down and the people at the check-in desk are less than helpful. We were told that if we needed anything to call the condo rental agency and not to call them at the front desk, and that if we forgot our combo to our room that we could use the phone outside to call the condo rental agency. Our condo was great and the view was beautiful as always. They use to have maid service, but no more. We had to supply our own trash bags, paper products and laundry soap do wash towels and the sheets. We stayed 12 days. We love Maui but we won't go back to the Sugar Beach Resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Feb 12, 2011

Sugar Beach Resort

This was our 5th time to stay at the Sugar Beach Resort. The complex has become run down and the people at the check-in desk are less than helpful. We were told that if we needed anything to call the condo rental agency and not to call them at the front desk, and that if we forgot our combo to our room that we could use the phone outside to call the condo rental agency. Our condo was great and the view was beautiful as always. They use to have maid service, but no more. We had to supply our own trash bags, paper products and laundry soap do wash towels and the sheets. We stayed 12 days. We love Maui but we won't go back to the Sugar Beach Resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jatrvan
Seattle, wa
Feb 22, 2010

The Good, The Bad, and the Smelly

We've stayed at Sugar Beach Resort a number of times in the past and chose it because the price was right and like the location to the beach and pool. This time however we were put in a shabby condo that smelled pretty bad and was close to the on-premise deli where people stand outside smoking and talking loudly--especially after a few drinks. The condo really is starting to show it's age. If you go and want a room that directly faces the water, ask for "ocean front" rather than "ocean view." You will likely get a better condo and won't have to deal with as much noise. Also, this beach is notoriously windy and in a week's stay, the water was never clear enough to snorkel because the wind kicked up a lot of sand and silt. Too bad because in past years we've seen lots of sea turtle 20-30 feet out from the beach. We will likely not be returning to Sugar Beach Resort on future trips to Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jatrvan
Seattle, wa
Feb 22, 2010

The Good, The Bad, and the Smelly

We've stayed at Sugar Beach Resort a number of times in the past and chose it because the price was right and like the location to the beach and pool. This time however we were put in a shabby condo that smelled pretty bad and was close to the on-premise deli where people stand outside smoking and talking loudly--especially after a few drinks. The condo really is starting to show it's age. If you go and want a room that directly faces the water, ask for "ocean front" rather than "ocean view." You will likely get a better condo and won't have to deal with as much noise. Also, this beach is notoriously windy and in a week's stay, the water was never clear enough to snorkel because the wind kicked up a lot of sand and silt. Too bad because in past years we've seen lots of sea turtle 20-30 feet out from the beach. We will likely not be returning to Sugar Beach Resort on future trips to Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Need a name.
Business
Arlington, TX, USA
Aug 31, 2011

Sugar Beach

The condo was great, clean and had a great view. Finding rats and I mean rats not mice eating remnants from the grills in the barbecue was disturbing and turned our stomach. Also some idiot wizzed in the elevator leaving a bad aroma for the entire stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the fresh fruit from Kihei Road and less than a block from the condo.

Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Need a name.
Business
Arlington, TX, USA
Aug 31, 2011

Sugar Beach

The condo was great, clean and had a great view. Finding rats and I mean rats not mice eating remnants from the grills in the barbecue was disturbing and turned our stomach. Also some idiot wizzed in the elevator leaving a bad aroma for the entire stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the fresh fruit from Kihei Road and less than a block from the condo.

Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
flyfischr
Anchorage,AK
May 3, 2009

Sugar Beach Resort

We showed up late and when we got to the condo the office was closed. We then proceeded to go through the process that was lined out,which was: 1.Ask for the key from the C-store operator, when we realized he didn't have it we proceeded to the next step,which was..... 2.to call all three of the contact numbers listed on the sheet, one of which was an after hours number. When we received a message on this phone we left our number and proceeded down the highway to drop off another party at another hotel. We never did get a call back. Then the next morning when we checked in, they were asking questions like we did not conform to after hours policy. We did get a credit for this night as we did have to stay somewhere else. All in all it was great stay at a great place. I would call ahead to verify that everything will be in place. Nothing is worse than traveling all day then getting in and you cannot check into the condo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Rent a condo and eat-in. It will save you lots of $$$$$$

Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Plup
Madera, CA.
Jul 15, 2014

Very Good Location, nice room

It was pretty much every man for himself, but we didn't expect anything more. Adequately furnished, somewhat dated, small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop at food land NOT Safeway! *(Expensive)

Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Foster City, CA
Dec 31, 2010

Christmas 2010 at Sugar Beach

Hotel is in great location on great beach. However, there was heavy rains one night and a lot of debris landed on our beach. The water was brown. We cannot enjoy the water or walk on the beach because of too much debris. We had to drive down to Polo Beach in Wailea. Such a disappointment! We've been here 5 times and this is the first this has happened. Also, the aircon in our unit conked out on our last day so we were kinda warm in our condo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

try canoeing with the Maui Canoe club just a short walk from Sugar Beach. it is a great experience. even beginners will enjoy!n Members were very helpful.

Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr KK
Las Vegas NV
Jun 23, 2011

Just spent a week @ Sugar Beach

- Checked in late at night. Everything went fine. - The room was clean, although somewhat dated (unit built in the 70's and looked it). The A/C worked great; washing machine didn't. Pool area and grounds kept up really nice. Kids swam in pool everyday. Good place for family fun. - The only real problem was next door and the front office. Re-doing bathroom and cut tile EVERY day we were there from 8 am to 5pm. (8 days). Made friends with tile workers they were there so much, but very noisey and did get OLD. - Front desk only there to tell you what not to do. There was a disconnect with us(the guest)and the company that manages this exact unit. Ex: We asked front desk office what cleaning supplies we could use. they didn't know. Said to call the managing company in folder on table. We called. They didn't know either. (I got the feeling they didn't even know where I was calling from. I repeated this 4 or 5 times). Hung up more confused than before. - Front door is a punchcode. We came home from the beach to find a note from the bugman. Called front desk and they said we should have looked at the bulletin board for notification? What? Very invasive. - Overall, good deal, but punchcode that anyone can get into, front desk clueless, but good pool, oceanfront, and clean. You decide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top