Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

3 stars
View map of 145 N. Kihei Road, Kihei, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

3.8/5

Overall score

91%

Would recommend

Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2
Sunny Kihei beachfront condo includes free calls and Internet access
The Sugar Beach Resort is backed by the Kealia Pond National Wildlife Refuge and sits so close to the water that guests in oceanfront units fall asleep to the sound of waves. The five-mile-long beach fronting the property is perfect for long walks. Oversized one- and two-bedroom units include a full kitchen and washer/dryer. Extras include free high-speed Internet, local calls and calls to the U.S. mainland and Canada. Guests also enjoy an on-site activities desk and on-call massage service.
Highlights
  • Five-mile stretch of beach in front of resort with views of west Maui and neighbor islands
  • Call locally or to the U.S. mainland and Canada for free, plus take advantage of free high-speed Internet access
  • On-call licensed massage therapist service, plus an on-site activities desk
Location
The Sugar Beach Resort sits on a quiet, five-mile-long swimming beach in south Maui's sunny Kihei. Guests enjoy incredible panoramas of the ocean and the neighboring islands of Lanai and Kahoolawe. Kihei offers affordable restaurants and shops, plus easy access to Maui?s many sights.
Rooms
The Sugar Beach Resort offers 709-square-foot one-bedroom and 1,518-square-foot two-bedroom/two-bathroom condo units with garden, oceanview or oceanfront vistas. Oceanfront units nearly hover above the beach, which is just steps in front of the resort. All units feature a fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony, air conditioning, cable TV, VCR or DVD, beach towels and free high-speed Internet access. Guests make free local and U.S. mainland and Canada calls.
Dining
Sugar Beach Resort guests save by cooking in fully equipped kitchens. Restaurants and shops are plentiful within the Kihei area.
Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Sauna
  • Putting green
  • Barbecue areas
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
Attractions
  • Kealia Pond National Wildlife Refuge (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (4.1 mi/6.7 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (8.8 mi/14.2 km)
  • Lahaina Town (18.9 mi/30.4 km)
Policies and fees
  • CHECK-IN PROCEDURE: For check-in before 5 PM, keys will be at the property's front desk.
  • For check in after 5PM, guests must use courtesy phone outside the door of the front desk to call (808) 264-2454 to obtain keys.
  • The property is strictly non-smoking. Guests who will smoke in the condominium will be charged a $350 fee. Smoking is also not allowed in the balcony.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property Rooms

1 Bedroom Ocean View
The one bedroom ocean view units are located on floors 2 through 6 in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset from your private lanai at Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Ocean View is 4 people.
1 Bedroom Ocean Front
The one bedroom ocean front units are located on floors 2 through 6 Facing the water in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai at Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Ocean Front is 4 people.
1 Bedroom Beach Front, Ground Floor
The one bedroom beach front units are located on the ground floor Facing the water in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai At Sugar Beach Resort. The white sand of Sugar Beach is only steps from your lanai. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Beach Front is 4 people.
2 Bedroom Ocean View
The two bedroom ocean view units are located on floors 5 through 6 in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai At Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 2 Bedroom Beach Front is 6 people.
1 Bedroom Garden View
The one bedroom garden view units are located on the ground floor in Both buildings. You can step out right from your lanai on the grounds of Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Garden View is 4 people.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

20.7863 -156.4678
Area served
Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului International Airport
Area description
Sugar Beach Resort is located directly on a beautiful white sand beach, perfect for strolling and swimming. Sugar Beach Resort is just a short 20 minute drive from Kahului Airport.

Dining

Dina's Sandwich Shop
Located on the Sugar Beach property is Dina's Sandwich shop, where You can order sandwiches and other deli items. There is also a small general store where you can purchase small snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 12, 2011

Sugar Beach Resort

This was our 5th time to stay at the Sugar Beach Resort. The complex has become run down and the people at the check-in desk are less than helpful. We were told that if we needed anything to call the condo rental agency and not to call them at the front desk, and that if we forgot our combo to our room that we could use the phone outside to call the condo rental agency. Our condo was great and the view was beautiful as always. They use to have maid service, but no more. We had to supply our own trash bags, paper products and laundry soap do wash towels and the sheets. We stayed 12 days. We love Maui but we won't go back to the Sugar Beach Resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Need a name.
Business
Arlington, TX, USA
Aug 31, 2011

Sugar Beach

The condo was great, clean and had a great view. Finding rats and I mean rats not mice eating remnants from the grills in the barbecue was disturbing and turned our stomach. Also some idiot wizzed in the elevator leaving a bad aroma for the entire stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the fresh fruit from Kihei Road and less than a block from the condo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jatrvan
Business
Seattle, wa
Feb 22, 2010

The Good, The Bad, and the Smelly

We've stayed at Sugar Beach Resort a number of times in the past and chose it because the price was right and like the location to the beach and pool. This time however we were put in a shabby condo that smelled pretty bad and was close to the on-premise deli where people stand outside smoking and talking loudly--especially after a few drinks. The condo really is starting to show it's age. If you go and want a room that directly faces the water, ask for "ocean front" rather than "ocean view." You will likely get a better condo and won't have to deal with as much noise. Also, this beach is notoriously windy and in a week's stay, the water was never clear enough to snorkel because the wind kicked up a lot of sand and silt. Too bad because in past years we've seen lots of sea turtle 20-30 feet out from the beach. We will likely not be returning to Sugar Beach Resort on future trips to Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Canadian traveller
Business
British Columbia, Canada
Jan 1, 2012

Know what you get

We've stayed here twice before in an ocean front condo. This time we had an ocean view condo. Our mistake. The difference is remarkable. The layout is the same, comfortable. The general repair is the same; depends on the unit. The amenities are the same: full kitchen, internet, tv, etc. The lanai has a nice view of the ocean. Some ocean view units are close to the road, which is audible in the bedroom and on the lanai. More importantly, the units overlook the pool, putting green and lawn. That means anything happening there is also something you experience: children (and adiults) loudly playing in the pool from the time it opens at 9:30AM for the next 12 hours. Similar things happen on the lawn. Depending on a person's "tolerance" for things like this, and perhaps one's expectations for a vacation in Maui, it might not be a good experience. We felt that at times the noise denied us the enjoyment of our lanai (part of what we were paying for). We felt that the difference in experience did not justify the price that was asked. We like the resort and will probably stay there again, just not in anything but a oceanh front unit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The ABC Store can be reached by waling down the beach to just before the rocky breakwater, turning left, and crossing the road. It is a useful corner store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
leal536
Business
Olympia WA
Oct 19, 2013

Maui Experience

The condo was sufficient for my needs. I was on the go so much that it really was a place to sleep and shower; never even turned on the TV. Check in after 5 pm was not as easy as I would have liked. No staff to assist. Had to call to get a code to the lock box. A few days after checking in, I helped several others in getting into the lock box. Then I had to do the real check in the next morning which cut into the time I had for touring. Nothing much in the way of amenities: Pool, hot tub that was not hot, only a sandwich shop and gift shop on site. On a more positive note, the beach was about as close as you can get without getting wet!. The sound of the surf in the early morning was superb. My 3 star rating is primarily due to the check in process and the lack of amenities. However, if I return to Maui some day in the future, I will use Sugar Beach Resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are numerous places to eat in Kihei - all pretty good. Two places - Home Maid Cafe - is a great place to get breakfast. The service was slow but the food was worth the wait. Kihei Cafe is also very good - large portions, a little on the expensive side but the portion sizes dictate the price. It is a cash only place and all the seating is outside next to the road. Birds all over the place - perhaps not healthy but interesting. Go early as lines tend to build early. Seating is limited at both places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Foster City, CA
Dec 31, 2010

Christmas 2010 at Sugar Beach

Hotel is in great location on great beach. However, there was heavy rains one night and a lot of debris landed on our beach. The water was brown. We cannot enjoy the water or walk on the beach because of too much debris. We had to drive down to Polo Beach in Wailea. Such a disappointment! We've been here 5 times and this is the first this has happened. Also, the aircon in our unit conked out on our last day so we were kinda warm in our condo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

try canoeing with the Maui Canoe club just a short walk from Sugar Beach. it is a great experience. even beginners will enjoy!n Members were very helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
Apr 21, 2010

Not a Resort

Let me start by saying THIS IS NOT A RESORT. The name of the place made me believe that this was a resort when it is actually just a no-frills condo. The first shock was when we arrived we found no shampoo in the room and were told we would have to supply our own. There was no daily cleaning unless we paid an extra fee. No room service and no one at the desk in the evening. [...] When I called to confirm the reservation I was told that none of the oceanfront rooms had 2 twin beds. There were 2 of us traveling, so one of us had to sleep on the sleeper-sofa.Upon entering the room, we found that the dead-bolt did not work. I called maintenance and they told me that this was on purpose since they had change over to electronic locks. They also told me it was so that maintenance/staff could get in and out of the room when they wanted. This really bothered me. I felt very un-safe while sleeping at night knowing that anyone with the code could sneak in at any time. The first night the wind blew the light cover out of the ceiling and broke it. We called maintenance and they said they would fix it. A week later when we checked out it still was not fixed.The garbage bins are located in the parking lock very close to the rooms. The stench is awful. You cannot open the doors or windows towards the parking lot without being overwhelmed by it. Also, every time you come or leave you have to deal with the smell.Also, this condo is very close to the road and has very thin walls. In the bedroom you cold hear traffic noise all night, even with the windows closed and the fan on. And the final complaint is that we checked in on Saturday and they gave us a code to the pool. When we went to the pool on Sunday the code had changed. Apparently they change the code every Sunday. It would have been nice for the staff to let us know that the code was going to change the next day since we were going to be there for the week. Here are the good things about the condos.First, we had a 3rd story oceanfront condo and the views were wonderful. We were only a few feet from the ocean and had completely unobstructed views.The beach is a wonderful beach. There were very few people on the beach so it felt like we had our own private beach. The location is wonderful. The resort is almost dead-center in the middle of the west coast of Maui so you have easy access to all of the west coast. The condo came well equipped. It had plenty of towels, beach towels, beach chairs, pots, pans, dishes glasses, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Stop at Walmart or Costco when you arrive. The prices there are a fraction of what you will pay on the rest of the island. We actually found some items that were cheaper than back home. Also, if you go to Costco, get a Sport-Brella, these give you great shade on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J. Maui Friend
Business
The Bay Area Peninsula, near SFO.
Jun 8, 2011

Sugar Beach Resort

The initial check in was poor. We were told that we could check in early and the front desk told us that we would be notified when the room was cleaned and ready, that was not true. No notification until we called C.R.H. and C.R.H. told the activity desk to give us the room info, the front desk and the activity desk do not work together even though they are right next to each other and all communication is heard between the two. We referred to the manager [...] who was not very helpful either. After the check in challenges and the call to C.R.H. all went better. The first room was closest to the road and C.R.H. moved us one room over although road noise that wakes at night was still present. The room views from the deck were nice as was the complex and the people who live at SB year round. The beach front is super for walking, go left or right for a friendlier beach swimming experience as right in front is a bit rocky. The Kihei Canoe Club right up the beach is great and allows visitors to join in on Tuesday on Thursdays, it is worth doing. We hit Haleakala which was a WOW moment, but get there early for the sunrise. Twin Falls on the road to Hana is super with the flora and the twin falls. Snorkeling was great and there are lots of places to check out all along the coast. The National Marine Sanctuary is worth a stop as it has lots of great local info on the sea life. The Kaanapali has the best sunsets and is worth the visit. Mamas Fish House and The Water Front were both nice restaurants to eat. The fish is very fresh and the service was great. Wailea and Makena are to more place to check out. The shops and the beaches are great although Makena Big Beach has waves that can be a bit heavy for most. Maui is the best, na ka oi, and the Valley Isle and a place to be savored for every second of any visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Water Front make the trip for the fresh fish!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
flyfischr
Business
Anchorage,AK
May 3, 2009

Sugar Beach Resort

We showed up late and when we got to the condo the office was closed. We then proceeded to go through the process that was lined out,which was: 1.Ask for the key from the C-store operator, when we realized he didn't have it we proceeded to the next step,which was..... 2.to call all three of the contact numbers listed on the sheet, one of which was an after hours number. When we received a message on this phone we left our number and proceeded down the highway to drop off another party at another hotel. We never did get a call back. Then the next morning when we checked in, they were asking questions like we did not conform to after hours policy. We did get a credit for this night as we did have to stay somewhere else. All in all it was great stay at a great place. I would call ahead to verify that everything will be in place. Nothing is worse than traveling all day then getting in and you cannot check into the condo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Rent a condo and eat-in. It will save you lots of $$$$$$

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr KK
Business
Las Vegas NV
Jun 23, 2011

Just spent a week @ Sugar Beach

- Checked in late at night. Everything went fine. - The room was clean, although somewhat dated (unit built in the 70's and looked it). The A/C worked great; washing machine didn't. Pool area and grounds kept up really nice. Kids swam in pool everyday. Good place for family fun. - The only real problem was next door and the front office. Re-doing bathroom and cut tile EVERY day we were there from 8 am to 5pm. (8 days). Made friends with tile workers they were there so much, but very noisey and did get OLD. - Front desk only there to tell you what not to do. There was a disconnect with us(the guest)and the company that manages this exact unit. Ex: We asked front desk office what cleaning supplies we could use. they didn't know. Said to call the managing company in folder on table. We called. They didn't know either. (I got the feeling they didn't even know where I was calling from. I repeated this 4 or 5 times). Hung up more confused than before. - Front door is a punchcode. We came home from the beach to find a note from the bugman. Called front desk and they said we should have looked at the bulletin board for notification? What? Very invasive. - Overall, good deal, but punchcode that anyone can get into, front desk clueless, but good pool, oceanfront, and clean. You decide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top