Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

3 stars
145 N. Kihei Road, Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
42 reviews
Weekend getaway

My friend and I went to Maui just for the weekend and this was the perfect spot to stay for the... See full review

  • Kamesantiago
  • Nov 22, 2014
Fantastic view

Had a great time, only complaint was there needed to be a ceiling fan in living room to better... See full review

  • ashiecat
  • Nov 22, 2014
Sunny Kihei beachfront condo includes free calls and Internet access
The Sugar Beach Resort is backed by the Kealia Pond National Wildlife Refuge and sits so close to the water that guests in oceanfront units fall asleep to the sound of waves. The five-mile-long beach fronting the property is perfect for long walks. Oversized one- and two-bedroom units include a full kitchen and washer/dryer. Extras include free high-speed Internet, local calls and calls to the U.S. mainland and Canada. Guests also enjoy an on-site activities desk and on-call massage service.
Highlights
  • Five-mile stretch of beach in front of resort with views of west Maui and neighbor islands
  • Call locally or to the U.S. mainland and Canada for free, plus take advantage of free high-speed Internet access
  • On-call licensed massage therapist service, plus an on-site activities desk
Location
The Sugar Beach Resort sits on a quiet, five-mile-long swimming beach in south Maui's sunny Kihei. Guests enjoy incredible panoramas of the ocean and the neighboring islands of Lanai and Kahoolawe. Kihei offers affordable restaurants and shops, plus easy access to Maui?s many sights.
Rooms
The Sugar Beach Resort offers 709-square-foot one-bedroom and 1,518-square-foot two-bedroom/two-bathroom condo units with garden, oceanview or oceanfront vistas. Oceanfront units nearly hover above the beach, which is just steps in front of the resort. All units feature a fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony, air conditioning, cable TV, VCR or DVD, beach towels and free high-speed Internet access. Guests make free local and U.S. mainland and Canada calls.
Dining
Sugar Beach Resort guests save by cooking in fully equipped kitchens. Restaurants and shops are plentiful within the Kihei area.
Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Sauna
  • Putting green
  • Barbecue areas
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
Attractions
  • Kealia Pond National Wildlife Refuge (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (4.1 mi/6.7 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (8.8 mi/14.2 km)
  • Lahaina Town (18.9 mi/30.4 km)
Policies and fees
  • CHECK-IN PROCEDURE: For check-in before 5 PM, keys will be at the property's front desk.
  • For check in after 5PM, guests must use courtesy phone outside the door of the front desk to call (808) 264-2454 to obtain keys.
  • The property is strictly non-smoking. Guests who will smoke in the condominium will be charged a $350 fee. Smoking is also not allowed in the balcony.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property Rooms

1 Bedroom Ocean View
The one bedroom ocean view units are located on floors 2 through 6 in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset from your private lanai at Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Ocean View is 4 people.
1 Bedroom Ocean Front
The one bedroom ocean front units are located on floors 2 through 6 Facing the water in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai at Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Ocean Front is 4 people.
1 Bedroom Beach Front, Ground Floor
The one bedroom beach front units are located on the ground floor Facing the water in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai At Sugar Beach Resort. The white sand of Sugar Beach is only steps from your lanai. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Beach Front is 4 people.
2 Bedroom Ocean View
The two bedroom ocean view units are located on floors 5 through 6 in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai At Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 2 Bedroom Beach Front is 6 people.
1 Bedroom Garden View
The one bedroom garden view units are located on the ground floor in Both buildings. You can step out right from your lanai on the grounds of Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Garden View is 4 people.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Dina's Sandwich Shop
Located on the Sugar Beach property is Dina's Sandwich shop, where You can order sandwiches and other deli items. There is also a small general store where you can purchase small snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 42
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ashiecat
Business
Plato, MO
Nov 22, 2014

Fantastic view

Had a great time, only complaint was there needed to be a ceiling fan in living room to better distribute the a.c. Everything we needed was provided and staff even left things from previous guests - like aluminum foil, plastic wrap & spices. Was great to be able to rest the wallet & eat in and have everything we needed to do it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

You need a vehicle to stay here, too long a walk to a real grocery store. There is an ABC store (gifts, liquor & groceries) right next to a bakery & Ululani's shaved ice (OMG the shaved ice was great!) not too far if you walk via the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David and Anna
Business
California
Sep 18, 2014

Sugar Beach Resort

It was a wonderful stay in this condo. I would have rated it perfect 5 if the pool was not scheduled to be renovated during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heather wishiwasinmaui
Business
Clovis, CA
Jun 21, 2013

All the comforts of home

This condo had all the amenities you could ever want- our room came with beach chairs, beach towels, an ice chest, and even Blue Ice to put in it! Everything I would have in my own house. Room was comfortable and had no noise from neighbors. Property is centrally-located- easy access to anywhere on the island. The property is right on the beach and has a beautiful lawn with lounge chairs just steps from the ocean. We loved our stay and would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eskimo Candy in Kihei has the BEST seafood and the best price! Try the poke, coconut shrimp, and mahi fish and chips, amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Day Dreamer 7
Business
Eastern Washington State
Jul 7, 2012

Great place to relax and venture out from

For the most part it was fantastic. The room had an ocean view, was clean, had extra towels and linens for our 12 day stay. We appreciated having a washer, dryer and a full size kitchen. Sugar beach is located north of the main business disrrict Kihei, so it is away from the shpping and eating area. The drawback was arriving at night. The office was hard to locate in the dark. After being directed to a third number by some unfriendly voices, we got the information to get into our condo #505.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk on the beach toward the east you come to the Kihei Canoe Club. Tuesday and Thursday mornings they take out non members to the sea turtles for a donation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aloha Dude
Business
Southern California
Jun 25, 2012

A getaway for two

A top floor condo, on the ocean, what's not to like? The unit was clean, spotless, fully stocked with all one could need. The grounds are manicured, with a pool and grass for lounging, and with direct access to a sandy beach that goes forever. The Kihei location is central to all of Maui's attractions. At the end of the day, my personal pleasure was to sit on the balcony (with a glass of wine in hand) and stare blankly at the incoming waves......Pure bliss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Canadian traveller
Business
British Columbia, Canada
Jan 1, 2012

Know what you get

We've stayed here twice before in an ocean front condo. This time we had an ocean view condo. Our mistake. The difference is remarkable. The layout is the same, comfortable. The general repair is the same; depends on the unit. The amenities are the same: full kitchen, internet, tv, etc. The lanai has a nice view of the ocean. Some ocean view units are close to the road, which is audible in the bedroom and on the lanai. More importantly, the units overlook the pool, putting green and lawn. That means anything happening there is also something you experience: children (and adiults) loudly playing in the pool from the time it opens at 9:30AM for the next 12 hours. Similar things happen on the lawn. Depending on a person's "tolerance" for things like this, and perhaps one's expectations for a vacation in Maui, it might not be a good experience. We felt that at times the noise denied us the enjoyment of our lanai (part of what we were paying for). We felt that the difference in experience did not justify the price that was asked. We like the resort and will probably stay there again, just not in anything but a oceanh front unit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The ABC Store can be reached by waling down the beach to just before the rocky breakwater, turning left, and crossing the road. It is a useful corner store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J. Maui Friend
Business
The Bay Area Peninsula, near SFO.
Jun 8, 2011

Sugar Beach Resort

The initial check in was poor. We were told that we could check in early and the front desk told us that we would be notified when the room was cleaned and ready, that was not true. No notification until we called C.R.H. and C.R.H. told the activity desk to give us the room info, the front desk and the activity desk do not work together even though they are right next to each other and all communication is heard between the two. We referred to the manager [...] who was not very helpful either. After the check in challenges and the call to C.R.H. all went better. The first room was closest to the road and C.R.H. moved us one room over although road noise that wakes at night was still present. The room views from the deck were nice as was the complex and the people who live at SB year round. The beach front is super for walking, go left or right for a friendlier beach swimming experience as right in front is a bit rocky. The Kihei Canoe Club right up the beach is great and allows visitors to join in on Tuesday on Thursdays, it is worth doing. We hit Haleakala which was a WOW moment, but get there early for the sunrise. Twin Falls on the road to Hana is super with the flora and the twin falls. Snorkeling was great and there are lots of places to check out all along the coast. The National Marine Sanctuary is worth a stop as it has lots of great local info on the sea life. The Kaanapali has the best sunsets and is worth the visit. Mamas Fish House and The Water Front were both nice restaurants to eat. The fish is very fresh and the service was great. Wailea and Makena are to more place to check out. The shops and the beaches are great although Makena Big Beach has waves that can be a bit heavy for most. Maui is the best, na ka oi, and the Valley Isle and a place to be savored for every second of any visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Water Front make the trip for the fresh fish!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 12, 2011

Sugar Beach Resort

This was our 5th time to stay at the Sugar Beach Resort. The complex has become run down and the people at the check-in desk are less than helpful. We were told that if we needed anything to call the condo rental agency and not to call them at the front desk, and that if we forgot our combo to our room that we could use the phone outside to call the condo rental agency. Our condo was great and the view was beautiful as always. They use to have maid service, but no more. We had to supply our own trash bags, paper products and laundry soap do wash towels and the sheets. We stayed 12 days. We love Maui but we won't go back to the Sugar Beach Resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sri
Business
San Jose, CA
Jan 27, 2011

Super-awesome ocean front condo

It was an awesome accommodation. The property was right on the beach and the view and ocean sounds from our our oceanfront condo was fabulous. We didn't even bother going out to the beach. It was as if the beach was right there when we opened the balcony door. We loved having breakfast and dinner, and enjoyed the beautiful sunsets. The property itself was superb - it had a large pool, sauna, jacuzzi, bar, a general store (yes, a small general store!), and many more amenities. Kihei is also a drier part of Maui. That helps. All in all, the vacation rental was one of the highlights of our vacation. I highly recommend the oceanfront. It is a few bucks more but totally worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Feast at Lele... The show was great, the beach-side setting was superb. They even accommodated our vegan/vegetarian needs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalie H
Business
Placerville, Ca
Dec 21, 2010

25th Anniversary celebration!

My husband and I celebrated our 25th anniversary this year..we never had a honeymoon, so we were so excited to finally get one and in Maui..how amazing! We renewed our vows on Paleau beach with The Maui Marrying Man, and we had a wondeful photographer who took gorgeous pics of us ( Dorthea Freeland Photography) Check out their websites! We were so blessed with the best condo ever (#414)! When we first walked in we loved the way the condo looked, marble counters, tile and carpeted floors. An amazing view of the ocean. I personally enjoyed my bible and prayer time on the lanai, with the sound of the surf and the blue ocean. We got in after check in time and the people were so helpful and kind. We hope to one day come back and stay here again. This condo is perfectly located to get you anywhere on the Island in just a short time. It didn't take long to get to the Hana highway and what an amazing drive that was..I strongly suggest that be your main goal before you leave! We enjoyed snorkling all over the island, and right outside our condo off the beach. Best to do snorkling first thing in the early mornings, because when the afternoon tradewinds come in the waters get a little rough. We loved swimming with the turtles ( but remeber: don't touch!) They are a beautful creation, along with the all the colorful fish. The dining experiences were pleasant as well, but shopping for food was expensive. I personally loves the ABC Stores that are located everywhere on the Island, they have great souviners, and extras. The pool at this condo was very enjoyable and we met some very nice people in the hot tub. We took long walks on the 5 mile beach, and at night you can see many crabs hanging out on the beach. I think my most favorite part of staying at Sugar Beach was having my windows open at night and drifting off to sleep to the sound of the ocean waves! And waking to the sound of the surf every morning. Staying here was the best experience we have ever had...thank you Sugar Beach Resort!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hana Highway, all beaches, volcano, all other towns

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top