$387 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 28, 2015 Check-out: Mar 3, 2015

Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

3 stars
View map of 145 N. Kihei Road, Kihei, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
43 reviews
Weekend getaway

My friend and I went to Maui just for the weekend and this was the perfect spot to stay for the... See full review

  • Kamesantiago
  • Nov 22, 2014
Fantastic view

Had a great time, only complaint was there needed to be a ceiling fan in living room to better... See full review

  • ashiecat
  • Nov 22, 2014
Sunny Kihei beachfront condo includes free calls and Internet access
The Sugar Beach Resort is backed by the Kealia Pond National Wildlife Refuge and sits so close to the water that guests in oceanfront units fall asleep to the sound of waves. The five-mile-long beach fronting the property is perfect for long walks. Oversized one- and two-bedroom units include a full kitchen and washer/dryer. Extras include free high-speed Internet, local calls and calls to the U.S. mainland and Canada. Guests also enjoy an on-site activities desk and on-call massage service.
Highlights
  • Five-mile stretch of beach in front of resort with views of west Maui and neighbor islands
  • Call locally or to the U.S. mainland and Canada for free, plus take advantage of free high-speed Internet access
  • On-call licensed massage therapist service, plus an on-site activities desk
Location
The Sugar Beach Resort sits on a quiet, five-mile-long swimming beach in south Maui's sunny Kihei. Guests enjoy incredible panoramas of the ocean and the neighboring islands of Lanai and Kahoolawe. Kihei offers affordable restaurants and shops, plus easy access to Maui?s many sights.
Rooms
The Sugar Beach Resort offers 709-square-foot one-bedroom and 1,518-square-foot two-bedroom/two-bathroom condo units with garden, oceanview or oceanfront vistas. Oceanfront units nearly hover above the beach, which is just steps in front of the resort. All units feature a fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony, air conditioning, cable TV, VCR or DVD, beach towels and free high-speed Internet access. Guests make free local and U.S. mainland and Canada calls.
Dining
Sugar Beach Resort guests save by cooking in fully equipped kitchens. Restaurants and shops are plentiful within the Kihei area.
Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Sauna
  • Putting green
  • Barbecue areas
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
Attractions
  • Kealia Pond National Wildlife Refuge (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (4.1 mi/6.7 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (8.8 mi/14.2 km)
  • Lahaina Town (18.9 mi/30.4 km)
Policies and fees
  • CHECK-IN PROCEDURE: For check-in before 5 PM, keys will be at the property's front desk.
  • For check in after 5PM, guests must use courtesy phone outside the door of the front desk to call (808) 264-2454 to obtain keys.
  • The property is strictly non-smoking. Guests who will smoke in the condominium will be charged a $350 fee. Smoking is also not allowed in the balcony.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property Rooms

1 Bedroom Ocean View
The one bedroom ocean view units are located on floors 2 through 6 in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset from your private lanai at Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Ocean View is 4 people.
1 Bedroom Ocean Front
The one bedroom ocean front units are located on floors 2 through 6 Facing the water in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai at Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Ocean Front is 4 people.
1 Bedroom Beach Front, Ground Floor
The one bedroom beach front units are located on the ground floor Facing the water in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai At Sugar Beach Resort. The white sand of Sugar Beach is only steps from your lanai. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Beach Front is 4 people.
2 Bedroom Ocean View
The two bedroom ocean view units are located on floors 5 through 6 in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai At Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 2 Bedroom Beach Front is 6 people.
1 Bedroom Garden View
The one bedroom garden view units are located on the ground floor in Both buildings. You can step out right from your lanai on the grounds of Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Garden View is 4 people.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Dina's Sandwich Shop
Located on the Sugar Beach property is Dina's Sandwich shop, where You can order sandwiches and other deli items. There is also a small general store where you can purchase small snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gumpha
Business
Bowdoin, Maine
Oct 19, 2009

Firts time renting a Condo. Great!!

The condo offered everything we needed. Beautiful, clean, sandy beach and the location was the perfect starting point to venture to other parts of the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Use the available Gas Grills to prepare some of your meals. Very convenient and cost effective.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SE Wisconsin
Sep 23, 2009

A very pleasant surprise.

We relaxed, & swam in the ocean and the pool. Love the exclusivity of the beach and the features of the facility overall. Would love to go back again! The position of the buildings formed a sort of accoustic chamber where conversations almost anywhere in the courtyard area could be clearly overheard. With its location being close to a commuting route, there was morning traffic noise, but that tapered off after the AM rush. Really enjoyed the concept of condominium rental as compared with the typical hotel. The fully-equipped condo afforded us the chance to 'do our own thing' from shopping at the discounted food mart & cooking in, to getting caught up on our laundry from the other legs of our vacation with the in-condo washer & dryer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Fully furnished condo with kitchenette, laundry, complimentary HS internet, discount food shopping, on-site discount activites center with equipt rentals, & coupons for island attractions & activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RocknRoll Mama
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Aug 23, 2009

No complaints

The condo was perfect for our needs and the ocean view was worth the extra money. We mainly spent the week near Kihei, going to the nearby beaches. Although the Condo is in North Kihei where the beaches are not as nice, nothing is too far away. Made the majority of our meals at home in a well stocked kitchen. Recommend stocking up on food at Costco near the airport. The local markets aren't far, and have everything. Our toaster was smoking, but after a phone call to the office, a new one was delivered the next day. Didn't use the pool, but it looked large and inviting. Based on the parking availability, there wasn't full occupancy. The only noise we heard was the crashing of the waves. We would definitely stay there again. It would have been nice to have beach chairs, but that was the only thing missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Snorkeling trip to Molokini was a highlight of the week.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L & L
Business
Centralia, Wa
Aug 1, 2009

wonderful place to stay

Sugar Beach is great for a kick back vacation in Maui. If you drive to Hana don't turn back. the drive around the island is a little rough but very beautiful. The resort has a great sandwich shop with the best ono burger I have ever had. We had room 134 which is a one bedroom, bottom floor ocean front. Great beach for swimming and watching the sun go down. We will go back to this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Longs Drug is a good place to buy food. they have produce, dairy and meat at a fair price for the islands. we bought bananas, lettuce, maui corn for cheaper than the grocery store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CKVan
Business
Gig Harbor, WA
Jul 23, 2009

Our place on Maui

We love Sugar Beach! It has a quiet beach, great pool, close to so many activities and restaurants. We enjoy that they have a small grocery and a sandwich shop right on the property, as well as full kitchens and bbq grills to cook ourselves. It is very family friendly and we will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Costco right by the airport and pick up stuff to grill, save the cost of dinners out every night. Also use coupons from flyers (they are everywhere) for when you do splurge!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clovis, Ca
Jul 13, 2009

Great Experience

The Condo was perfect for us. It was near all the main attractions, but secluded from all the resorts. The water was only 15 steps away from our back door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sansei Seafood and Sushi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vashon Island, WA.
Jul 9, 2009

Great value and location for the price!

We love staying at the Sugar Beach Resort because of its central location to the things we like to do. The resort is well maintained inside and out with a very accomodating staff. The beach is beautiful for walking and never too crowded. On days we didn't go sightseeing we totally enjoyed sunbathing and swimming in their wondeful pool with an occasional dip in the hottub. We are already planning our next trip to Sugar Beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
young at heart fifty somethings
Business
east freetown MA
Jul 1, 2009

great condo great location

great location. easy drive to Kaanapali , wailai. it is in between both. quick 20 min drive to airport. good central location to travel to different parts of island each day. activities director was great and you get discounts booking through them. great sandwich shop with bar when tired after a busy day of traveling to hana. great beach for long walks. not all built up with huge high rise hotels like wailai and kaanapali

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

tons of restauraunts in kihei. taco tuedays at barefoot beach cafe in kihei. $2.50 tacos and $2,50 beers. $4.00 margaritas. all delicious

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
L.A.
May 13, 2009

Great beach and pool

Very Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
flyfischr
Business
Anchorage,AK
May 3, 2009

Sugar Beach Resort

We showed up late and when we got to the condo the office was closed. We then proceeded to go through the process that was lined out,which was: 1.Ask for the key from the C-store operator, when we realized he didn't have it we proceeded to the next step,which was..... 2.to call all three of the contact numbers listed on the sheet, one of which was an after hours number. When we received a message on this phone we left our number and proceeded down the highway to drop off another party at another hotel. We never did get a call back. Then the next morning when we checked in, they were asking questions like we did not conform to after hours policy. We did get a credit for this night as we did have to stay somewhere else. All in all it was great stay at a great place. I would call ahead to verify that everything will be in place. Nothing is worse than traveling all day then getting in and you cannot check into the condo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Rent a condo and eat-in. It will save you lots of $$$$$$

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top