$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 24, 2015

Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

3 stars
View map of 145 N. Kihei Road, Kihei, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sri
Business
San Jose, CA
Jan 27, 2011

Super-awesome ocean front condo

It was an awesome accommodation. The property was right on the beach and the view and ocean sounds from our our oceanfront condo was fabulous. We didn't even bother going out to the beach. It was as if the beach was right there when we opened the balcony door. We loved having breakfast and dinner, and enjoyed the beautiful sunsets. The property itself was superb - it had a large pool, sauna, jacuzzi, bar, a general store (yes, a small general store!), and many more amenities. Kihei is also a drier part of Maui. That helps. All in all, the vacation rental was one of the highlights of our vacation. I highly recommend the oceanfront. It is a few bucks more but totally worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Feast at Lele... The show was great, the beach-side setting was superb. They even accommodated our vegan/vegetarian needs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Foster City, CA
Dec 31, 2010

Christmas 2010 at Sugar Beach

Hotel is in great location on great beach. However, there was heavy rains one night and a lot of debris landed on our beach. The water was brown. We cannot enjoy the water or walk on the beach because of too much debris. We had to drive down to Polo Beach in Wailea. Such a disappointment! We've been here 5 times and this is the first this has happened. Also, the aircon in our unit conked out on our last day so we were kinda warm in our condo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

try canoeing with the Maui Canoe club just a short walk from Sugar Beach. it is a great experience. even beginners will enjoy!n Members were very helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalie H
Business
Placerville, Ca
Dec 21, 2010

25th Anniversary celebration!

My husband and I celebrated our 25th anniversary this year..we never had a honeymoon, so we were so excited to finally get one and in Maui..how amazing! We renewed our vows on Paleau beach with The Maui Marrying Man, and we had a wondeful photographer who took gorgeous pics of us ( Dorthea Freeland Photography) Check out their websites! We were so blessed with the best condo ever (#414)! When we first walked in we loved the way the condo looked, marble counters, tile and carpeted floors. An amazing view of the ocean. I personally enjoyed my bible and prayer time on the lanai, with the sound of the surf and the blue ocean. We got in after check in time and the people were so helpful and kind. We hope to one day come back and stay here again. This condo is perfectly located to get you anywhere on the Island in just a short time. It didn't take long to get to the Hana highway and what an amazing drive that was..I strongly suggest that be your main goal before you leave! We enjoyed snorkling all over the island, and right outside our condo off the beach. Best to do snorkling first thing in the early mornings, because when the afternoon tradewinds come in the waters get a little rough. We loved swimming with the turtles ( but remeber: don't touch!) They are a beautful creation, along with the all the colorful fish. The dining experiences were pleasant as well, but shopping for food was expensive. I personally loves the ABC Stores that are located everywhere on the Island, they have great souviners, and extras. The pool at this condo was very enjoyable and we met some very nice people in the hot tub. We took long walks on the 5 mile beach, and at night you can see many crabs hanging out on the beach. I think my most favorite part of staying at Sugar Beach was having my windows open at night and drifting off to sleep to the sound of the ocean waves! And waking to the sound of the surf every morning. Staying here was the best experience we have ever had...thank you Sugar Beach Resort!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hana Highway, all beaches, volcano, all other towns

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corbett, OR
Dec 14, 2010

Great Price

You can't go wrong with a Condo. You save so much in food costs alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
miz taz
Business
Wilsonville, Oregon
Nov 27, 2010

great comfie condo

Our condo was everything we needed and more! This paritcular unit had been updated and was extremely well equipped. The only drawback to the unit was the icky pocketdoor in the bathroom(they NEVER work well no matter how well they are installed). The clothes dryer ventalation is routed into the bathroom, which made it uncomfortably warm. Hopefully this will be remedied in the near future. We were delighted with the staff friendliness, until the last day. The cleaning crew attempted to barge in ten minutes after the scheduled check out time(we were in error of the time and were in the process of changing our clothes to get out the door) she continued to push her way in all the time declaring that we were past check out time, even though we told her that we were hurrying and were undressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sargento's in south Kihei has a wonderful happy hour-well worth the extra $$-and a beautiful oceanfront view of the sunset.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zuludog
Business
Richmond, Va
Oct 14, 2010

#216 Best for the view

The late arrival went well,friendly staff and super views from the room. Very small bathreoom needing updating. Comfortable living area. You pay for the view which is out of this world. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to go to Mamas Fish House in Paia.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
Apr 21, 2010

Not a Resort

Let me start by saying THIS IS NOT A RESORT. The name of the place made me believe that this was a resort when it is actually just a no-frills condo. The first shock was when we arrived we found no shampoo in the room and were told we would have to supply our own. There was no daily cleaning unless we paid an extra fee. No room service and no one at the desk in the evening. [...] When I called to confirm the reservation I was told that none of the oceanfront rooms had 2 twin beds. There were 2 of us traveling, so one of us had to sleep on the sleeper-sofa.Upon entering the room, we found that the dead-bolt did not work. I called maintenance and they told me that this was on purpose since they had change over to electronic locks. They also told me it was so that maintenance/staff could get in and out of the room when they wanted. This really bothered me. I felt very un-safe while sleeping at night knowing that anyone with the code could sneak in at any time. The first night the wind blew the light cover out of the ceiling and broke it. We called maintenance and they said they would fix it. A week later when we checked out it still was not fixed.The garbage bins are located in the parking lock very close to the rooms. The stench is awful. You cannot open the doors or windows towards the parking lot without being overwhelmed by it. Also, every time you come or leave you have to deal with the smell.Also, this condo is very close to the road and has very thin walls. In the bedroom you cold hear traffic noise all night, even with the windows closed and the fan on. And the final complaint is that we checked in on Saturday and they gave us a code to the pool. When we went to the pool on Sunday the code had changed. Apparently they change the code every Sunday. It would have been nice for the staff to let us know that the code was going to change the next day since we were going to be there for the week. Here are the good things about the condos.First, we had a 3rd story oceanfront condo and the views were wonderful. We were only a few feet from the ocean and had completely unobstructed views.The beach is a wonderful beach. There were very few people on the beach so it felt like we had our own private beach. The location is wonderful. The resort is almost dead-center in the middle of the west coast of Maui so you have easy access to all of the west coast. The condo came well equipped. It had plenty of towels, beach towels, beach chairs, pots, pans, dishes glasses, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Stop at Walmart or Costco when you arrive. The prices there are a fraction of what you will pay on the rest of the island. We actually found some items that were cheaper than back home. Also, if you go to Costco, get a Sport-Brella, these give you great shade on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jatrvan
Business
Seattle, wa
Feb 22, 2010

The Good, The Bad, and the Smelly

We've stayed at Sugar Beach Resort a number of times in the past and chose it because the price was right and like the location to the beach and pool. This time however we were put in a shabby condo that smelled pretty bad and was close to the on-premise deli where people stand outside smoking and talking loudly--especially after a few drinks. The condo really is starting to show it's age. If you go and want a room that directly faces the water, ask for "ocean front" rather than "ocean view." You will likely get a better condo and won't have to deal with as much noise. Also, this beach is notoriously windy and in a week's stay, the water was never clear enough to snorkel because the wind kicked up a lot of sand and silt. Too bad because in past years we've seen lots of sea turtle 20-30 feet out from the beach. We will likely not be returning to Sugar Beach Resort on future trips to Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Algood, TN.
Jan 25, 2010

A great location

The unit was nice, well equipped for cooking, had a very good king size bed, quite and comforable, with a private beranda, great view of the ocean and beautiful sunsets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you plan to fix meals go to WalMart, Cosco, or Safeway, for best prices, and be ready for sticker shock

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno,NV
Jan 14, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Our condo was on the 3rd floor (room 335) with an amazing view. The condo had everything that one needed except for groceries. Very friendly staff and the Maui Sights and Treasures booked all of our activities. Ocean swimming was great as well as relaxing on the beach. Kihei was a great destination point. Will definitely stay again at Sugar Beach Resort.The day we were leaving, we spotted some whales from our balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top