Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

3 stars
View map of 145 N. Kihei Road, Kihei, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Day Dreamer 7
Couples
Eastern Washington State
Jul 7, 2012

Great place to relax and venture out from

For the most part it was fantastic. The room had an ocean view, was clean, had extra towels and linens for our 12 day stay. We appreciated having a washer, dryer and a full size kitchen. Sugar beach is located north of the main business disrrict Kihei, so it is away from the shpping and eating area. The drawback was arriving at night. The office was hard to locate in the dark. After being directed to a third number by some unfriendly voices, we got the information to get into our condo #505.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk on the beach toward the east you come to the Kihei Canoe Club. Tuesday and Thursday mornings they take out non members to the sea turtles for a donation.

Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aloha Dude
Couples
Southern California
Jun 25, 2012

A getaway for two

A top floor condo, on the ocean, what's not to like? The unit was clean, spotless, fully stocked with all one could need. The grounds are manicured, with a pool and grass for lounging, and with direct access to a sandy beach that goes forever. The Kihei location is central to all of Maui's attractions. At the end of the day, my personal pleasure was to sit on the balcony (with a glass of wine in hand) and stare blankly at the incoming waves......Pure bliss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richland
Single
Hercules, CA
Mar 2, 2012

Beautiful, relaxing location

Enjoyable from day of arrival to departure. The staff was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Canadian traveller
Couples
British Columbia, Canada
Jan 1, 2012

Know what you get

We've stayed here twice before in an ocean front condo. This time we had an ocean view condo. Our mistake. The difference is remarkable. The layout is the same, comfortable. The general repair is the same; depends on the unit. The amenities are the same: full kitchen, internet, tv, etc. The lanai has a nice view of the ocean. Some ocean view units are close to the road, which is audible in the bedroom and on the lanai. More importantly, the units overlook the pool, putting green and lawn. That means anything happening there is also something you experience: children (and adiults) loudly playing in the pool from the time it opens at 9:30AM for the next 12 hours. Similar things happen on the lawn. Depending on a person's "tolerance" for things like this, and perhaps one's expectations for a vacation in Maui, it might not be a good experience. We felt that at times the noise denied us the enjoyment of our lanai (part of what we were paying for). We felt that the difference in experience did not justify the price that was asked. We like the resort and will probably stay there again, just not in anything but a oceanh front unit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The ABC Store can be reached by waling down the beach to just before the rocky breakwater, turning left, and crossing the road. It is a useful corner store.

Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Need a name.
Business
Arlington, TX, USA
Aug 31, 2011

Sugar Beach

The condo was great, clean and had a great view. Finding rats and I mean rats not mice eating remnants from the grills in the barbecue was disturbing and turned our stomach. Also some idiot wizzed in the elevator leaving a bad aroma for the entire stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the fresh fruit from Kihei Road and less than a block from the condo.

Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr KK
Family
Las Vegas NV
Jun 23, 2011

Just spent a week @ Sugar Beach

- Checked in late at night. Everything went fine. - The room was clean, although somewhat dated (unit built in the 70's and looked it). The A/C worked great; washing machine didn't. Pool area and grounds kept up really nice. Kids swam in pool everyday. Good place for family fun. - The only real problem was next door and the front office. Re-doing bathroom and cut tile EVERY day we were there from 8 am to 5pm. (8 days). Made friends with tile workers they were there so much, but very noisey and did get OLD. - Front desk only there to tell you what not to do. There was a disconnect with us(the guest)and the company that manages this exact unit. Ex: We asked front desk office what cleaning supplies we could use. they didn't know. Said to call the managing company in folder on table. We called. They didn't know either. (I got the feeling they didn't even know where I was calling from. I repeated this 4 or 5 times). Hung up more confused than before. - Front door is a punchcode. We came home from the beach to find a note from the bugman. Called front desk and they said we should have looked at the bulletin board for notification? What? Very invasive. - Overall, good deal, but punchcode that anyone can get into, front desk clueless, but good pool, oceanfront, and clean. You decide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J. Maui Friend
Couples
The Bay Area Peninsula, near SFO.
Jun 8, 2011

Sugar Beach Resort

The initial check in was poor. We were told that we could check in early and the front desk told us that we would be notified when the room was cleaned and ready, that was not true. No notification until we called C.R.H. and C.R.H. told the activity desk to give us the room info, the front desk and the activity desk do not work together even though they are right next to each other and all communication is heard between the two. We referred to the manager [...] who was not very helpful either. After the check in challenges and the call to C.R.H. all went better. The first room was closest to the road and C.R.H. moved us one room over although road noise that wakes at night was still present. The room views from the deck were nice as was the complex and the people who live at SB year round. The beach front is super for walking, go left or right for a friendlier beach swimming experience as right in front is a bit rocky. The Kihei Canoe Club right up the beach is great and allows visitors to join in on Tuesday on Thursdays, it is worth doing. We hit Haleakala which was a WOW moment, but get there early for the sunrise. Twin Falls on the road to Hana is super with the flora and the twin falls. Snorkeling was great and there are lots of places to check out all along the coast. The National Marine Sanctuary is worth a stop as it has lots of great local info on the sea life. The Kaanapali has the best sunsets and is worth the visit. Mamas Fish House and The Water Front were both nice restaurants to eat. The fish is very fresh and the service was great. Wailea and Makena are to more place to check out. The shops and the beaches are great although Makena Big Beach has waves that can be a bit heavy for most. Maui is the best, na ka oi, and the Valley Isle and a place to be savored for every second of any visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Water Front make the trip for the fresh fish!

Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Seattle, WA
Feb 12, 2011

Sugar Beach Resort

This was our 5th time to stay at the Sugar Beach Resort. The complex has become run down and the people at the check-in desk are less than helpful. We were told that if we needed anything to call the condo rental agency and not to call them at the front desk, and that if we forgot our combo to our room that we could use the phone outside to call the condo rental agency. Our condo was great and the view was beautiful as always. They use to have maid service, but no more. We had to supply our own trash bags, paper products and laundry soap do wash towels and the sheets. We stayed 12 days. We love Maui but we won't go back to the Sugar Beach Resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sri
Couples
San Jose, CA
Jan 27, 2011

Super-awesome ocean front condo

It was an awesome accommodation. The property was right on the beach and the view and ocean sounds from our our oceanfront condo was fabulous. We didn't even bother going out to the beach. It was as if the beach was right there when we opened the balcony door. We loved having breakfast and dinner, and enjoyed the beautiful sunsets. The property itself was superb - it had a large pool, sauna, jacuzzi, bar, a general store (yes, a small general store!), and many more amenities. Kihei is also a drier part of Maui. That helps. All in all, the vacation rental was one of the highlights of our vacation. I highly recommend the oceanfront. It is a few bucks more but totally worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Feast at Lele... The show was great, the beach-side setting was superb. They even accommodated our vegan/vegetarian needs.

Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Foster City, CA
Dec 31, 2010

Christmas 2010 at Sugar Beach

Hotel is in great location on great beach. However, there was heavy rains one night and a lot of debris landed on our beach. The water was brown. We cannot enjoy the water or walk on the beach because of too much debris. We had to drive down to Polo Beach in Wailea. Such a disappointment! We've been here 5 times and this is the first this has happened. Also, the aircon in our unit conked out on our last day so we were kinda warm in our condo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

try canoeing with the Maui Canoe club just a short walk from Sugar Beach. it is a great experience. even beginners will enjoy!n Members were very helpful.

Back to menu Return to top