$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 16, 2014 Check-out: Oct 19, 2014

Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

3 stars
145 N. Kihei Road, Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
38 reviews
All the comforts of home

This condo had all the amenities you could ever want- our room came with beach chairs, beach... See full review

  • Heather wishiwasinmaui
  • Jun 21, 2013
Perfect Resort right on the beach

Private balcony overlooking the ocean. Quiet getaway where you can listen to the waves. Swimming... See full review

  • Leo189
  • May 30, 2013
Join the many guests who return to Sugar Beach each year to enjoy the spectacular views from this exceptional beachfront location. Wake up to the gentle sound of waves breaking along five miles of white sand beach. One of Maui's best beaches for strolling, sunning and swimming is right outside your door. The spacious one and two bedroom units come with a fully equipped kitchen, central air conditioning, cable television, telephone, high-speed internet access (fee), private lanai, washer/dryer, and in-room safe.

Sugar Beach Resort conveniently features an on-site activities desk, Maui Sights and Treasures. The knowledgeable, experienced staff can help you plan, arrange, and book all the fun things you want to do while you're here, from snorkel trips, and visiting outer islands, to helicopter tours. Better yet, reserve ahead of your trip visiting their website, mauivalue.com Additionally, a licensed massage therapist is also available through Massage Maui.

CHECK-IN: 3:00PM CHECK-OUT: 11:00AM.

CHECK-IN PROCEDURE: Drive directly to the SUGAR BEACH RESORT to check-in and get your keys. Directions from the Kahului Airport to the Sugar Beach Resort (Drive time approx. 20 minutes):.

1) Follow Hwy 311 (Mokulele Hwy) to Kihei 5.9 miles.
2) Turn RIGHT at the stoplight on Hwy 310 North (N. Kihei Road) 0.4 miles -Signs will state (Lahaina and Maalaea).
3) SUGAR BEACH RESORT will be on the left -145 N. Kihei Rd. -Look for the red & green water wheel at the entrance.

*Go to the central front office area to register and pick up your information packet & keys.

If you arrive before 5:00pm your keys will be at the front desk.

Sugar Beach Resort is a non-smoking property..

Please be advised the Sugar Beach Resort will undergo Pool maintenance work and walkway work to the ground floor sidewalks. The entire Pool, Jacuzzi and Spa area will be closed from Monday, September 15, 2014 to Monday, September 22, 2014, due to the pool deck being refinished. There will be some intermittent noise caused by sanding during this repair. During the closure no guest is allowed in the entire pool deck area for safety reasons. Guests however will have full beach access. The ground floor walkways repair is from Monday, September 22, 2014 to Monday, October 6, 2014. The work scheduled will include minimal noise level and disruption. There may be limited access in and out of the units on the ground floor.

Hotel Map

20.7863 -156.4678
Area served
Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului International Airport
Area description
Sugar Beach Resort is located directly on a beautiful white sand beach, perfect for strolling and swimming. Sugar Beach Resort is just a short 20 minute drive from Kahului Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property Rooms

1 Bedroom Ocean View
The one bedroom ocean view units are located on floors 2 through 6 in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset from your private lanai at Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Ocean View is 4 people.
1 Bedroom Ocean Front
The one bedroom ocean front units are located on floors 2 through 6 Facing the water in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai at Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Ocean Front is 4 people.
1 Bedroom Beach Front, Ground Floor
The one bedroom beach front units are located on the ground floor Facing the water in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai At Sugar Beach Resort. The white sand of Sugar Beach is only steps from your lanai. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Beach Front is 4 people.
2 Bedroom Ocean View
The two bedroom ocean view units are located on floors 5 through 6 in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai At Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 2 Bedroom Beach Front is 6 people.
1 Bedroom Garden View
The one bedroom garden view units are located on the ground floor in Both buildings. You can step out right from your lanai on the grounds of Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Garden View is 4 people.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Dina's Sandwich Shop
Located on the Sugar Beach property is Dina's Sandwich shop, where You can order sandwiches and other deli items. There is also a small general store where you can purchase small snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J. Maui Friend
The Bay Area Peninsula, near SFO.
Jun 8, 2011

Sugar Beach Resort

The initial check in was poor. We were told that we could check in early and the front desk told us that we would be notified when the room was cleaned and ready, that was not true. No notification until we called C.R.H. and C.R.H. told the activity desk to give us the room info, the front desk and the activity desk do not work together even though they are right next to each other and all communication is heard between the two. We referred to the manager [...] who was not very helpful either. After the check in challenges and the call to C.R.H. all went better. The first room was closest to the road and C.R.H. moved us one room over although road noise that wakes at night was still present. The room views from the deck were nice as was the complex and the people who live at SB year round. The beach front is super for walking, go left or right for a friendlier beach swimming experience as right in front is a bit rocky. The Kihei Canoe Club right up the beach is great and allows visitors to join in on Tuesday on Thursdays, it is worth doing. We hit Haleakala which was a WOW moment, but get there early for the sunrise. Twin Falls on the road to Hana is super with the flora and the twin falls. Snorkeling was great and there are lots of places to check out all along the coast. The National Marine Sanctuary is worth a stop as it has lots of great local info on the sea life. The Kaanapali has the best sunsets and is worth the visit. Mamas Fish House and The Water Front were both nice restaurants to eat. The fish is very fresh and the service was great. Wailea and Makena are to more place to check out. The shops and the beaches are great although Makena Big Beach has waves that can be a bit heavy for most. Maui is the best, na ka oi, and the Valley Isle and a place to be savored for every second of any visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Water Front make the trip for the fresh fish!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Feb 12, 2011

Sugar Beach Resort

This was our 5th time to stay at the Sugar Beach Resort. The complex has become run down and the people at the check-in desk are less than helpful. We were told that if we needed anything to call the condo rental agency and not to call them at the front desk, and that if we forgot our combo to our room that we could use the phone outside to call the condo rental agency. Our condo was great and the view was beautiful as always. They use to have maid service, but no more. We had to supply our own trash bags, paper products and laundry soap do wash towels and the sheets. We stayed 12 days. We love Maui but we won't go back to the Sugar Beach Resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sri
San Jose, CA
Jan 27, 2011

Super-awesome ocean front condo

It was an awesome accommodation. The property was right on the beach and the view and ocean sounds from our our oceanfront condo was fabulous. We didn't even bother going out to the beach. It was as if the beach was right there when we opened the balcony door. We loved having breakfast and dinner, and enjoyed the beautiful sunsets. The property itself was superb - it had a large pool, sauna, jacuzzi, bar, a general store (yes, a small general store!), and many more amenities. Kihei is also a drier part of Maui. That helps. All in all, the vacation rental was one of the highlights of our vacation. I highly recommend the oceanfront. It is a few bucks more but totally worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Feast at Lele... The show was great, the beach-side setting was superb. They even accommodated our vegan/vegetarian needs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Foster City, CA
Dec 31, 2010

Christmas 2010 at Sugar Beach

Hotel is in great location on great beach. However, there was heavy rains one night and a lot of debris landed on our beach. The water was brown. We cannot enjoy the water or walk on the beach because of too much debris. We had to drive down to Polo Beach in Wailea. Such a disappointment! We've been here 5 times and this is the first this has happened. Also, the aircon in our unit conked out on our last day so we were kinda warm in our condo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

try canoeing with the Maui Canoe club just a short walk from Sugar Beach. it is a great experience. even beginners will enjoy!n Members were very helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalie H
Placerville, Ca
Dec 21, 2010

25th Anniversary celebration!

My husband and I celebrated our 25th anniversary this year..we never had a honeymoon, so we were so excited to finally get one and in Maui..how amazing! We renewed our vows on Paleau beach with The Maui Marrying Man, and we had a wondeful photographer who took gorgeous pics of us ( Dorthea Freeland Photography) Check out their websites! We were so blessed with the best condo ever (#414)! When we first walked in we loved the way the condo looked, marble counters, tile and carpeted floors. An amazing view of the ocean. I personally enjoyed my bible and prayer time on the lanai, with the sound of the surf and the blue ocean. We got in after check in time and the people were so helpful and kind. We hope to one day come back and stay here again. This condo is perfectly located to get you anywhere on the Island in just a short time. It didn't take long to get to the Hana highway and what an amazing drive that was..I strongly suggest that be your main goal before you leave! We enjoyed snorkling all over the island, and right outside our condo off the beach. Best to do snorkling first thing in the early mornings, because when the afternoon tradewinds come in the waters get a little rough. We loved swimming with the turtles ( but remeber: don't touch!) They are a beautful creation, along with the all the colorful fish. The dining experiences were pleasant as well, but shopping for food was expensive. I personally loves the ABC Stores that are located everywhere on the Island, they have great souviners, and extras. The pool at this condo was very enjoyable and we met some very nice people in the hot tub. We took long walks on the 5 mile beach, and at night you can see many crabs hanging out on the beach. I think my most favorite part of staying at Sugar Beach was having my windows open at night and drifting off to sleep to the sound of the ocean waves! And waking to the sound of the surf every morning. Staying here was the best experience we have ever had...thank you Sugar Beach Resort!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hana Highway, all beaches, volcano, all other towns

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Corbett, OR
Dec 14, 2010

Great Price

You can't go wrong with a Condo. You save so much in food costs alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
miz taz
Wilsonville, Oregon
Nov 27, 2010

great comfie condo

Our condo was everything we needed and more! This paritcular unit had been updated and was extremely well equipped. The only drawback to the unit was the icky pocketdoor in the bathroom(they NEVER work well no matter how well they are installed). The clothes dryer ventalation is routed into the bathroom, which made it uncomfortably warm. Hopefully this will be remedied in the near future. We were delighted with the staff friendliness, until the last day. The cleaning crew attempted to barge in ten minutes after the scheduled check out time(we were in error of the time and were in the process of changing our clothes to get out the door) she continued to push her way in all the time declaring that we were past check out time, even though we told her that we were hurrying and were undressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sargento's in south Kihei has a wonderful happy hour-well worth the extra $$-and a beautiful oceanfront view of the sunset.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zuludog
Richmond, Va
Oct 14, 2010

#216 Best for the view

The late arrival went well,friendly staff and super views from the room. Very small bathreoom needing updating. Comfortable living area. You pay for the view which is out of this world. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to go to Mamas Fish House in Paia.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, AZ
Apr 21, 2010

Not a Resort

Let me start by saying THIS IS NOT A RESORT. The name of the place made me believe that this was a resort when it is actually just a no-frills condo. The first shock was when we arrived we found no shampoo in the room and were told we would have to supply our own. There was no daily cleaning unless we paid an extra fee. No room service and no one at the desk in the evening. [...] When I called to confirm the reservation I was told that none of the oceanfront rooms had 2 twin beds. There were 2 of us traveling, so one of us had to sleep on the sleeper-sofa.Upon entering the room, we found that the dead-bolt did not work. I called maintenance and they told me that this was on purpose since they had change over to electronic locks. They also told me it was so that maintenance/staff could get in and out of the room when they wanted. This really bothered me. I felt very un-safe while sleeping at night knowing that anyone with the code could sneak in at any time. The first night the wind blew the light cover out of the ceiling and broke it. We called maintenance and they said they would fix it. A week later when we checked out it still was not fixed.The garbage bins are located in the parking lock very close to the rooms. The stench is awful. You cannot open the doors or windows towards the parking lot without being overwhelmed by it. Also, every time you come or leave you have to deal with the smell.Also, this condo is very close to the road and has very thin walls. In the bedroom you cold hear traffic noise all night, even with the windows closed and the fan on. And the final complaint is that we checked in on Saturday and they gave us a code to the pool. When we went to the pool on Sunday the code had changed. Apparently they change the code every Sunday. It would have been nice for the staff to let us know that the code was going to change the next day since we were going to be there for the week. Here are the good things about the condos.First, we had a 3rd story oceanfront condo and the views were wonderful. We were only a few feet from the ocean and had completely unobstructed views.The beach is a wonderful beach. There were very few people on the beach so it felt like we had our own private beach. The location is wonderful. The resort is almost dead-center in the middle of the west coast of Maui so you have easy access to all of the west coast. The condo came well equipped. It had plenty of towels, beach towels, beach chairs, pots, pans, dishes glasses, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Stop at Walmart or Costco when you arrive. The prices there are a fraction of what you will pay on the rest of the island. We actually found some items that were cheaper than back home. Also, if you go to Costco, get a Sport-Brella, these give you great shade on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jatrvan
Seattle, wa
Feb 22, 2010

The Good, The Bad, and the Smelly

We've stayed at Sugar Beach Resort a number of times in the past and chose it because the price was right and like the location to the beach and pool. This time however we were put in a shabby condo that smelled pretty bad and was close to the on-premise deli where people stand outside smoking and talking loudly--especially after a few drinks. The condo really is starting to show it's age. If you go and want a room that directly faces the water, ask for "ocean front" rather than "ocean view." You will likely get a better condo and won't have to deal with as much noise. Also, this beach is notoriously windy and in a week's stay, the water was never clear enough to snorkel because the wind kicked up a lot of sand and silt. Too bad because in past years we've seen lots of sea turtle 20-30 feet out from the beach. We will likely not be returning to Sugar Beach Resort on future trips to Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search