$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 20, 2014 Check-out: Nov 23, 2014

Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

3 stars
145 N. Kihei Road, Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
39 reviews
Sugar Beach Resort

It was a wonderful stay in this condo. I would have rated it perfect 5 if the pool was not... See full review

  • David and Anna
  • Sep 18, 2014
All the comforts of home

This condo had all the amenities you could ever want- our room came with beach chairs, beach... See full review

  • Heather wishiwasinmaui
  • Jun 21, 2013
Join the many guests who return to Sugar Beach each year to enjoy the spectacular views from this exceptional beachfront location. Wake up to the gentle sound of waves breaking along five miles of white sand beach. One of Maui's best beaches for strolling, sunning and swimming is right outside your door. The spacious one and two bedroom units come with a fully equipped kitchen, central air conditioning, cable television, telephone, high-speed internet access (fee), private lanai, washer/dryer, and in-room safe.

Sugar Beach Resort conveniently features an on-site activities desk, Maui Sights and Treasures. The knowledgeable, experienced staff can help you plan, arrange, and book all the fun things you want to do while you're here, from snorkel trips, and visiting outer islands, to helicopter tours. Better yet, reserve ahead of your trip visiting their website, mauivalue.com Additionally, a licensed massage therapist is also available through Massage Maui.

CHECK-IN: 3:00PM CHECK-OUT: 11:00AM.

CHECK-IN PROCEDURE: Drive directly to the SUGAR BEACH RESORT to check-in and get your keys. Directions from the Kahului Airport to the Sugar Beach Resort (Drive time approx. 20 minutes):.

1) Follow Hwy 311 (Mokulele Hwy) to Kihei 5.9 miles.
2) Turn RIGHT at the stoplight on Hwy 310 North (N. Kihei Road) 0.4 miles -Signs will state (Lahaina and Maalaea).
3) SUGAR BEACH RESORT will be on the left -145 N. Kihei Rd. -Look for the red & green water wheel at the entrance.

*Go to the central front office area to register and pick up your information packet & keys.

If you arrive before 5:00pm your keys will be at the front desk.

Sugar Beach Resort is a non-smoking property..

Please be advised the Sugar Beach Resort will undergo Pool maintenance work and walkway work to the ground floor sidewalks. The entire Pool, Jacuzzi and Spa area will be closed from Monday, September 15, 2014 to Monday, September 22, 2014, due to the pool deck being refinished. There will be some intermittent noise caused by sanding during this repair. During the closure no guest is allowed in the entire pool deck area for safety reasons. Guests however will have full beach access. The ground floor walkways repair is from Monday, September 22, 2014 to Monday, October 6, 2014. The work scheduled will include minimal noise level and disruption. There may be limited access in and out of the units on the ground floor.

Hotel Map

20.7863 -156.4678
Area served
Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului International Airport
Area description
Sugar Beach Resort is located directly on a beautiful white sand beach, perfect for strolling and swimming. Sugar Beach Resort is just a short 20 minute drive from Kahului Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property Rooms

1 Bedroom Ocean View
The one bedroom ocean view units are located on floors 2 through 6 in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset from your private lanai at Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Ocean View is 4 people.
1 Bedroom Ocean Front
The one bedroom ocean front units are located on floors 2 through 6 Facing the water in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai at Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Ocean Front is 4 people.
1 Bedroom Beach Front, Ground Floor
The one bedroom beach front units are located on the ground floor Facing the water in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai At Sugar Beach Resort. The white sand of Sugar Beach is only steps from your lanai. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Beach Front is 4 people.
2 Bedroom Ocean View
The two bedroom ocean view units are located on floors 5 through 6 in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai At Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 2 Bedroom Beach Front is 6 people.
1 Bedroom Garden View
The one bedroom garden view units are located on the ground floor in Both buildings. You can step out right from your lanai on the grounds of Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Garden View is 4 people.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Dina's Sandwich Shop
Located on the Sugar Beach property is Dina's Sandwich shop, where You can order sandwiches and other deli items. There is also a small general store where you can purchase small snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Day Dreamer 7
Eastern Washington State
Jul 7, 2012

Great place to relax and venture out from

For the most part it was fantastic. The room had an ocean view, was clean, had extra towels and linens for our 12 day stay. We appreciated having a washer, dryer and a full size kitchen. Sugar beach is located north of the main business disrrict Kihei, so it is away from the shpping and eating area. The drawback was arriving at night. The office was hard to locate in the dark. After being directed to a third number by some unfriendly voices, we got the information to get into our condo #505.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk on the beach toward the east you come to the Kihei Canoe Club. Tuesday and Thursday mornings they take out non members to the sea turtles for a donation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David and Anna
Business
California
Sep 18, 2014

Sugar Beach Resort

It was a wonderful stay in this condo. I would have rated it perfect 5 if the pool was not scheduled to be renovated during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Plup
Business
Madera, CA.
Jul 15, 2014

Very Good Location, nice room

It was pretty much every man for himself, but we didn't expect anything more. Adequately furnished, somewhat dated, small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop at food land NOT Safeway! *(Expensive)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
leal536
Business
Olympia WA
Oct 19, 2013

Maui Experience

The condo was sufficient for my needs. I was on the go so much that it really was a place to sleep and shower; never even turned on the TV. Check in after 5 pm was not as easy as I would have liked. No staff to assist. Had to call to get a code to the lock box. A few days after checking in, I helped several others in getting into the lock box. Then I had to do the real check in the next morning which cut into the time I had for touring. Nothing much in the way of amenities: Pool, hot tub that was not hot, only a sandwich shop and gift shop on site. On a more positive note, the beach was about as close as you can get without getting wet!. The sound of the surf in the early morning was superb. My 3 star rating is primarily due to the check in process and the lack of amenities. However, if I return to Maui some day in the future, I will use Sugar Beach Resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are numerous places to eat in Kihei - all pretty good. Two places - Home Maid Cafe - is a great place to get breakfast. The service was slow but the food was worth the wait. Kihei Cafe is also very good - large portions, a little on the expensive side but the portion sizes dictate the price. It is a cash only place and all the seating is outside next to the road. Birds all over the place - perhaps not healthy but interesting. Go early as lines tend to build early. Seating is limited at both places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heather wishiwasinmaui
Business
Clovis, CA
Jun 21, 2013

All the comforts of home

This condo had all the amenities you could ever want- our room came with beach chairs, beach towels, an ice chest, and even Blue Ice to put in it! Everything I would have in my own house. Room was comfortable and had no noise from neighbors. Property is centrally-located- easy access to anywhere on the island. The property is right on the beach and has a beautiful lawn with lounge chairs just steps from the ocean. We loved our stay and would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eskimo Candy in Kihei has the BEST seafood and the best price! Try the poke, coconut shrimp, and mahi fish and chips, amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leo189
Business
Olympia, WA
May 30, 2013

Perfect Resort right on the beach

Private balcony overlooking the ocean. Quiet getaway where you can listen to the waves. Swimming pool and spa a few feet from the beach. A sandwich place, and tourist shop nearby. Drive South Kihei Road to find stores, food, and plenty of beautiful parks. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I typically went to places I knew (Denny's, Panda Express), but be adventurous and try new places. Everywhere I went was wonderful, and typically offer something on the menu you'd enjoy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Day Dreamer 7
Business
Eastern Washington State
Jul 7, 2012

Great place to relax and venture out from

For the most part it was fantastic. The room had an ocean view, was clean, had extra towels and linens for our 12 day stay. We appreciated having a washer, dryer and a full size kitchen. Sugar beach is located north of the main business disrrict Kihei, so it is away from the shpping and eating area. The drawback was arriving at night. The office was hard to locate in the dark. After being directed to a third number by some unfriendly voices, we got the information to get into our condo #505.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk on the beach toward the east you come to the Kihei Canoe Club. Tuesday and Thursday mornings they take out non members to the sea turtles for a donation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aloha Dude
Business
Southern California
Jun 25, 2012

A getaway for two

A top floor condo, on the ocean, what's not to like? The unit was clean, spotless, fully stocked with all one could need. The grounds are manicured, with a pool and grass for lounging, and with direct access to a sandy beach that goes forever. The Kihei location is central to all of Maui's attractions. At the end of the day, my personal pleasure was to sit on the balcony (with a glass of wine in hand) and stare blankly at the incoming waves......Pure bliss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richland
Business
Hercules, CA
Mar 2, 2012

Beautiful, relaxing location

Enjoyable from day of arrival to departure. The staff was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Canadian traveller
Business
British Columbia, Canada
Jan 1, 2012

Know what you get

We've stayed here twice before in an ocean front condo. This time we had an ocean view condo. Our mistake. The difference is remarkable. The layout is the same, comfortable. The general repair is the same; depends on the unit. The amenities are the same: full kitchen, internet, tv, etc. The lanai has a nice view of the ocean. Some ocean view units are close to the road, which is audible in the bedroom and on the lanai. More importantly, the units overlook the pool, putting green and lawn. That means anything happening there is also something you experience: children (and adiults) loudly playing in the pool from the time it opens at 9:30AM for the next 12 hours. Similar things happen on the lawn. Depending on a person's "tolerance" for things like this, and perhaps one's expectations for a vacation in Maui, it might not be a good experience. We felt that at times the noise denied us the enjoyment of our lanai (part of what we were paying for). We felt that the difference in experience did not justify the price that was asked. We like the resort and will probably stay there again, just not in anything but a oceanh front unit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The ABC Store can be reached by waling down the beach to just before the rocky breakwater, turning left, and crossing the road. It is a useful corner store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Need a name.
Business
Arlington, TX, USA
Aug 31, 2011

Sugar Beach

The condo was great, clean and had a great view. Finding rats and I mean rats not mice eating remnants from the grills in the barbecue was disturbing and turned our stomach. Also some idiot wizzed in the elevator leaving a bad aroma for the entire stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the fresh fruit from Kihei Road and less than a block from the condo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top