Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

3 stars
145 N. Kihei Road, Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
42 reviews
Weekend getaway

My friend and I went to Maui just for the weekend and this was the perfect spot to stay for the... See full review

  • Kamesantiago
  • Nov 22, 2014
Fantastic view

Had a great time, only complaint was there needed to be a ceiling fan in living room to better... See full review

  • ashiecat
  • Nov 22, 2014
Sunny Kihei beachfront condo includes free calls and Internet access
The Sugar Beach Resort is backed by the Kealia Pond National Wildlife Refuge and sits so close to the water that guests in oceanfront units fall asleep to the sound of waves. The five-mile-long beach fronting the property is perfect for long walks. Oversized one- and two-bedroom units include a full kitchen and washer/dryer. Extras include free high-speed Internet, local calls and calls to the U.S. mainland and Canada. Guests also enjoy an on-site activities desk and on-call massage service.
Highlights
  • Five-mile stretch of beach in front of resort with views of west Maui and neighbor islands
  • Call locally or to the U.S. mainland and Canada for free, plus take advantage of free high-speed Internet access
  • On-call licensed massage therapist service, plus an on-site activities desk
Location
The Sugar Beach Resort sits on a quiet, five-mile-long swimming beach in south Maui's sunny Kihei. Guests enjoy incredible panoramas of the ocean and the neighboring islands of Lanai and Kahoolawe. Kihei offers affordable restaurants and shops, plus easy access to Maui?s many sights.
Rooms
The Sugar Beach Resort offers 709-square-foot one-bedroom and 1,518-square-foot two-bedroom/two-bathroom condo units with garden, oceanview or oceanfront vistas. Oceanfront units nearly hover above the beach, which is just steps in front of the resort. All units feature a fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony, air conditioning, cable TV, VCR or DVD, beach towels and free high-speed Internet access. Guests make free local and U.S. mainland and Canada calls.
Dining
Sugar Beach Resort guests save by cooking in fully equipped kitchens. Restaurants and shops are plentiful within the Kihei area.
Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Sauna
  • Putting green
  • Barbecue areas
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
Attractions
  • Kealia Pond National Wildlife Refuge (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (4.1 mi/6.7 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (8.8 mi/14.2 km)
  • Lahaina Town (18.9 mi/30.4 km)
Policies and fees
  • CHECK-IN PROCEDURE: For check-in before 5 PM, keys will be at the property's front desk.
  • For check in after 5PM, guests must use courtesy phone outside the door of the front desk to call (808) 264-2454 to obtain keys.
  • The property is strictly non-smoking. Guests who will smoke in the condominium will be charged a $350 fee. Smoking is also not allowed in the balcony.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property Rooms

1 Bedroom Ocean View
The one bedroom ocean view units are located on floors 2 through 6 in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset from your private lanai at Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Ocean View is 4 people.
1 Bedroom Ocean Front
The one bedroom ocean front units are located on floors 2 through 6 Facing the water in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai at Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Ocean Front is 4 people.
1 Bedroom Beach Front, Ground Floor
The one bedroom beach front units are located on the ground floor Facing the water in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai At Sugar Beach Resort. The white sand of Sugar Beach is only steps from your lanai. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Beach Front is 4 people.
2 Bedroom Ocean View
The two bedroom ocean view units are located on floors 5 through 6 in both buildings. You can enjoy an Maui sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai At Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 2 Bedroom Beach Front is 6 people.
1 Bedroom Garden View
The one bedroom garden view units are located on the ground floor in Both buildings. You can step out right from your lanai on the grounds of Sugar Beach Resort. The maximum occupancy for a 1 Bedroom Garden View is 4 people.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Dina's Sandwich Shop
Located on the Sugar Beach property is Dina's Sandwich shop, where You can order sandwiches and other deli items. There is also a small general store where you can purchase small snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kamesantiago
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Nov 22, 2014

Weekend getaway

My friend and I went to Maui just for the weekend and this was the perfect spot to stay for the money I paid. We checked in late and it was very easy to get into our room that night. Plus, down the street are a bunch of different places to eat, which was the reason I picked it. We barely stayed in the room because we were out exploring the island. However, for the time we were here, we had no problems. The room had everything we could need. I would stay here again the next time I am in Maui

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ashiecat
Business
Plato, MO
Nov 22, 2014

Fantastic view

Had a great time, only complaint was there needed to be a ceiling fan in living room to better distribute the a.c. Everything we needed was provided and staff even left things from previous guests - like aluminum foil, plastic wrap & spices. Was great to be able to rest the wallet & eat in and have everything we needed to do it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

You need a vehicle to stay here, too long a walk to a real grocery store. There is an ABC store (gifts, liquor & groceries) right next to a bakery & Ululani's shaved ice (OMG the shaved ice was great!) not too far if you walk via the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChenteTexas
Business
Texas
Nov 7, 2014

Great Value

I've been staying here for years because Sugar Beach offers good value at a great location. There's always plenty of parking (free) and it's right on the beach. The only downside is that the individual units vary in quality. While I've never had a truly poor one - most have been average - I've had two that have been truly outstanding. Three notes: due to its location, the best time for swimming is the morning; the afternoons are usually too windy. Also, depending on which way the wind's blowing, you could be subjected to the infamous "Maui snow." Finally, you'll need a car, but its central location puts you close to Kihei, Lahaina and Kahului. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

O'O Farm Tour. It's a bit of drive to upcountry, but a tour of the farm is recommended. It lasts about three hours and included an outdoor lunch made on the spot by a highly trained chef using products grown on the farm (almost all#. It's the best meal I've ever had on Maui - far better than at the Pacific O', the restaurant in Lahaina they also operate - and included plenty of seconds. Beautiful location. Reservations are a must. Bring a jacket, sun block and good walking shoes that you don't mind getting muddy #on the chance it rains#.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David and Anna
Business
California
Sep 18, 2014

Sugar Beach Resort

It was a wonderful stay in this condo. I would have rated it perfect 5 if the pool was not scheduled to be renovated during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Plup
Business
Madera, CA.
Jul 15, 2014

Very Good Location, nice room

It was pretty much every man for himself, but we didn't expect anything more. Adequately furnished, somewhat dated, small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop at food land NOT Safeway! *(Expensive)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
leal536
Business
Olympia WA
Oct 19, 2013

Maui Experience

The condo was sufficient for my needs. I was on the go so much that it really was a place to sleep and shower; never even turned on the TV. Check in after 5 pm was not as easy as I would have liked. No staff to assist. Had to call to get a code to the lock box. A few days after checking in, I helped several others in getting into the lock box. Then I had to do the real check in the next morning which cut into the time I had for touring. Nothing much in the way of amenities: Pool, hot tub that was not hot, only a sandwich shop and gift shop on site. On a more positive note, the beach was about as close as you can get without getting wet!. The sound of the surf in the early morning was superb. My 3 star rating is primarily due to the check in process and the lack of amenities. However, if I return to Maui some day in the future, I will use Sugar Beach Resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are numerous places to eat in Kihei - all pretty good. Two places - Home Maid Cafe - is a great place to get breakfast. The service was slow but the food was worth the wait. Kihei Cafe is also very good - large portions, a little on the expensive side but the portion sizes dictate the price. It is a cash only place and all the seating is outside next to the road. Birds all over the place - perhaps not healthy but interesting. Go early as lines tend to build early. Seating is limited at both places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heather wishiwasinmaui
Business
Clovis, CA
Jun 21, 2013

All the comforts of home

This condo had all the amenities you could ever want- our room came with beach chairs, beach towels, an ice chest, and even Blue Ice to put in it! Everything I would have in my own house. Room was comfortable and had no noise from neighbors. Property is centrally-located- easy access to anywhere on the island. The property is right on the beach and has a beautiful lawn with lounge chairs just steps from the ocean. We loved our stay and would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eskimo Candy in Kihei has the BEST seafood and the best price! Try the poke, coconut shrimp, and mahi fish and chips, amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leo189
Business
Olympia, WA
May 30, 2013

Perfect Resort right on the beach

Private balcony overlooking the ocean. Quiet getaway where you can listen to the waves. Swimming pool and spa a few feet from the beach. A sandwich place, and tourist shop nearby. Drive South Kihei Road to find stores, food, and plenty of beautiful parks. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I typically went to places I knew (Denny's, Panda Express), but be adventurous and try new places. Everywhere I went was wonderful, and typically offer something on the menu you'd enjoy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Day Dreamer 7
Business
Eastern Washington State
Jul 7, 2012

Great place to relax and venture out from

For the most part it was fantastic. The room had an ocean view, was clean, had extra towels and linens for our 12 day stay. We appreciated having a washer, dryer and a full size kitchen. Sugar beach is located north of the main business disrrict Kihei, so it is away from the shpping and eating area. The drawback was arriving at night. The office was hard to locate in the dark. After being directed to a third number by some unfriendly voices, we got the information to get into our condo #505.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk on the beach toward the east you come to the Kihei Canoe Club. Tuesday and Thursday mornings they take out non members to the sea turtles for a donation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aloha Dude
Business
Southern California
Jun 25, 2012

A getaway for two

A top floor condo, on the ocean, what's not to like? The unit was clean, spotless, fully stocked with all one could need. The grounds are manicured, with a pool and grass for lounging, and with direct access to a sandy beach that goes forever. The Kihei location is central to all of Maui's attractions. At the end of the day, my personal pleasure was to sit on the balcony (with a glass of wine in hand) and stare blankly at the incoming waves......Pure bliss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top