Sugar Beach - Maui Condo & Home

3 stars
View map of 145 North Kihei Rd, Kihei, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Sugar-Beach---Maui-Condo-&-Home-Hotel-Exterior
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
27 reviews
awesome place

Perfect location, relaxing we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. All the comfort of home. See full review

  • D.P.
  • Aug 18, 2015
amazing! my husband and I cannot wait to go back.

The hotel although not state of the art, was exceptionally maintained and clean. Every morning... See full review

  • Rebecca A.
  • May 19, 2015
The Sugar Beach Resort is backed by the Kealia Pond National Wildlife Refuge and sits so close to the water that guests in oceanfront units fall asleep to the sound of waves. The five-mile-long beach is perfect for long walks. Oversized one- and two-bedroom units include a full kitchen, washer/dryer and mellow island décor. In addition to a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, putting green and barbecue area, guests have access to an on-site activities desk and convenience store.
Location
The Sugar Beach Resort sits on a quiet, five-mile-long swimming beach in south Maui’s sunny Kihei. Guests enjoy incredible panoramas of the ocean and the neighboring islands of Lanai and Kahoolawe. Kihei offers affordable restaurants and shops, plus easy access to Maui’s many sights.
Dining
Sugar Beach Resort guests save by cooking in fully equipped kitchens. Restaurants and shops are plentiful within the Kihei area.
Rooms
The Sugar Beach Resort manages 709-square-foot one-bedroom and 1,518-square-foot two-bedroom/two-bathroom oceanview and oceanfront condo units. Oceanfront units nearly hover above the beach, which is just steps in front of the resort. All Sugar Beach Resort units feature a fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and cable TV.
Highlights
  • Five-mile stretch of beach in front of resort with views of west Maui and neighbor islands
  • Adjacent to Kealia Pond National Wildlife Refuge for bird watching
  • On-site activities desk to plan island-wide adventures
Nearby attractions
  • Kealia Pond National Wildlife Refuge (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (4.1 mi/6.7 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (8.8 mi/14.2 km)
  • Lahaina Town (18.9 mi/30.4 km)
Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
Recreation
  • Heated swimming pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Sauna
  • Putting green
  • Barbecue areas
  • Golf (nearby)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sugar Beach - Maui Condo & Home also booked these hotels.

★★★
$134
3.9 / 5 194 reviews
★★★
$149
3.6 / 5 106 reviews
★★★
$187
4.2 / 5 23 reviews
★★★
$215
4.3 / 5 43 reviews
★★
$99
3.1 / 5 118 reviews
★★
$105
3.5 / 5 304 reviews
★★★★
$299
4.2 / 5 214 reviews
★★★
$139
4.6 / 5 18 reviews

Sugar Beach - Maui Condo & Home Rooms

Ocean View Condo
Situated in the center of the property with views of the Ocean. Fully furnished condo with a fully equipped kitchen including all standard appliances, High-speed internet surcharge and a washer/dryer. Queen or king bed based on availability. Central Air Conditioning. Non-Smoking.
Ocean Front Condo
Ocean Front units located only yards from the ocean make you feel like you are floating above it. Fully furnished condo with a Fully equipped kitchen including all standard appliances, High-speed internet for surcharge and a washer/dryer. Central Air Conditioning. Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sugar Beach - Maui Condo & Home

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sugar Beach - Maui Condo & Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D.P.
Couples
N/A
Aug 18, 2015

awesome place

Perfect location, relaxing we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. All the comfort of home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sugar Beach - Maui Condo & Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rebecca A.
Couples
Barbourville
May 19, 2015

amazing! my husband and I cannot wait to go back.

The hotel although not state of the art, was exceptionally maintained and clean. Every morning staff were out and about watering plants, cleaning, and making sure the place was spit shine. The room itself had all we needed and more. Even a cooler to use at the beach. There were books to borrow, washer, dryer, beach towels, everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sugar Beach - Maui Condo & Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Randy26
Couples
Hesperia, Ca
Dec 1, 2013

Anniversary Celebration

My wife and I decided to make our first trip Maui to celebrate our 20th. I was overwhelmed with the all the choices of places to stay. I had no idea what area would suit us. We wanted a quiet place, centrally located and with an ocean view. Sugar Beach resort delivered. The building is old, but well kept. Even with my unit being at the back of the property, the beach was only steps away. The beach is a nice place to play and the surf is always calm. Good for kids, or just lounging, but not so good if you're looking to body board. But, if that's what you're after, there are plenty of great beaches nearby. My unit, #301, was clean with recently updated kitchen and bathroom. The only complaints would be the window coverings are due to be replaced as they are kind of dingy, but not enough to make us feel like the place was unclean. The other would be some road noise from the road behind the building. Again, not enough to make the stay unpleasant at all. Other units may not have as much exposure to the road noise. I can't comment too much on the staff as I had a perfect stay and did not need their assistance after check in, which was quick and easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sugar Beach - Maui Condo & Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kilroy Was There
Couples
Vancouver, Canada
Nov 24, 2013

Sugar Beach

Awesome location, about 50feet from water, about 30 minutes drive to anywhere you really want to be, make sure you have a car, I would definitely stay here again, have fun!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Costco for booze, gas, macadamia, & pineapple, can't be beat...

Review of Sugar Beach - Maui Condo & Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CrochetGmom
Couples
Georgetown, DE
Nov 1, 2013

Sugar Beach Kihei

We loved Sugar Beach. The location was perfect. Wonderful ocean view. The grounds of the condo resort are amazing. The room was a little worn but had everything we needed. Bedding could use replacing. The linens and blankets have seen better days. A TV in the bedroom would have been nice. The management at the condo had to get us the pass code into the room. The pass code and real estate management contact should have been provided before our departure. If the office had not been open, we would not have been able to get in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sugar Beach - Maui Condo & Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dustman
Couples
Central PA
Sep 3, 2013

Good Place

Really enjoyed our stay. Building was a little dated but exceeded our expectations. Veiw was amazing.Would definitley stay here again and would recomend to others. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car and bring your own GPS unit

Review of Sugar Beach - Maui Condo & Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AmyJoe
Couples
Lincoln, ca
May 14, 2013

40th birthday getaway

Sugar beach Maui resort was perfect. We stayed in room #326 and it had everything we needed plus more. The view out the lanai is always breathtaking. We would totally recommend this resort to anyone not looking for a ritzy itzy hotel, but a fun and quiet condo with a beautiful ocean view. The location is perfect. It's just off the main road in Kihei.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sugar Beach - Maui Condo & Home

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blommie
Couples
Surrey B.C
Dec 16, 2012

Tried and true

We haved stayed at the Sugar Beach several times over the years. The location is ocean front with quiet uncrowded beaches. The units are old and it is clear the cleaning staff have no pride in their jobs. Soiled walls stained carpets and spotty kitchen cleanliness are evident. I have learned to bring cleaning supplies and spend time bringing it to standard. There was a large ball of human hair in the hair dryer bag and the vacuum canister was jammed. The common areas are clean. When the room safe needed charging it took three calls to Maui Condo and Homes to get a response that the safe was for the use of the owners only. Really? I was disappointed there was no tub. The in room laundry was valuable but it vents into the bathroom which blows sticky lint Onto everything. Don't try to ask any questions of the front desk resort staff unless it concerns a common area. They are not helpful. If you go knowing that it is not upscale full service resort then you won't be disappointed. We understand that some of the units have been updated. Dina's sandwich snack bar used to be a good place to meet other resort guests but it has been taking over by over served locals. BBQ pits are fun and reasonably clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The food in Maui can be spectacular, especially the up scale restaurants such as Mama's Fish House and Ko's at the Fairmont.

Review of Sugar Beach - Maui Condo & Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hickster
Couples
Lake Tahoe, United States
Apr 1, 2012

Great Getaway

Very nice Condo, great oceanview from 2nd floor and a super walking beach.(not great surf/swim). Our condo had everything we needed except maybe a few beach chairs to use and an ice chest to take on trips(cheap to rent at location)(and bed was uncomfortable). Good location to travel all over island and into town, except no restaurants to walk too, but nice 'Sand Witch' bar and deli on site. Pool was cool, had dry sauna, lots of lounge chairs so you don't have to sit close to someone( I like some space)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

ate most breakfast/lunch at condo and dinners out. But it costs a bit to stock-up but is worth it

Review of Sugar Beach - Maui Condo & Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tamala
Couples
Corbett, OR 97019, USA
Dec 22, 2011

Very relaxing

This was my 4th trip here. It is always very low key and relaxing. If you are looking for a place to kick back and not do much, this is the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top