Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home

3 stars
2191 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
74 reviews
Great stay

Great palace in good location, very cute condo stocked with everything we needed including beach... See full review

  • Megz rn
  • Apr 6, 2014
NIce stay

One bedroom condo mostly updated with full kitchen.the bathroom had tile shower and bedroom had... See full review

  • Tman777
  • Nov 10, 2014
Fully-equipped condos across from the beach in south Maui’s Kihei
Just across from the beach on the sunny coast of Kihei, the low-rise Maui Vista Resort offers guests affordable, fully-equipped one- and two-bedroom condo units that accommodate the whole family. Each unit includes a kitchen, washer/dryer and private balcony so guests feel at home. The property also features three swimming pools, six tennis courts, lush gardens and barbecue areas. Free parking and free local calls add value. The neighborhood of Kihei has plentiful shopping and dining and is next to the upscale resort area of Wailea.
Highlights
  • Two-story, two-bedroom units offer stylish loft layout and private balcony
  • Each unit includes a fully-equipped kitchen
  • Kamaole Beach Park I across the street
  • Three swimming pools
  • Barbecue areas

 

Location
Situated in sunny Kihei on Maui's south shore, the Maui Vista Resort offers sweeping ocean views of the neighboring island of Lanai, plus great whale watching in winter. Across the street from the condo is Young's Beach -- the northern tip of the popular Kamaole Beach Park I. Plentiful shopping and dining are within a few minutes of the resort.

 

Rooms
The four-story Maui Vista Resort features one- and two-bedroom privately-owned condo units with easygoing island décor and individual appeal. Each includes a private balcony, full kitchen, dishwasher, washer/dryer, TV, DVD/CD player, air conditioning and ceiling fan. Two-bedroom units have a loft-style second bedroom. Internet access is available (fees may apply).
Dining
Guests save by cooking in the fully-equipped kitchens. Restaurants and other shops are within a few blocks of the Maui Vista Resort.
Recreation
  • Three swimming pools
  • Six tennis courts
  • Barbecue areas
  • Golf (nearby)

 

Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (12.8 mi/20.6 km)

 

Attractions
  • Maui Ocean Center (10.1 mi/16.2 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (16.6 mi/26.7 km)
  • Lahaina Town (24.8 mi/39.9 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (48.9 mi/78.7 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home Rooms

Two Bedroom condo
Queen bed, two twin beds and queen hide a bed sofa. All condominiums have fully equipped kitchen, telephone, color cable TV or complex satellite and private lanais. All condominium resorts have a swimming pool, barbeque and are close to shopping, restaurants, golf, activities and the airport.
One Bedroom condo
Queen bed and queen hide a bed sofa. All condominiums have fully equipped kitchen, telephone, color cable TV or complex satellite and private lanais. All condominium resorts have a swimming pool, barbeque and are close to shopping, restaurants, golf, activities and the airport.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 74
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 17, 2011

Filthy Disgusting unit

We have stayed at the Maui Vista for the last 20 years. The unit we were booked into was disgusting. Gary cut his foot on a broken piece of glass that had not been vacuumed prior to our arrival. When we pulled our dinner out of the oven a swarm of cockroaches came pouring out of the cupboards and tried to join our dinner party. We found cockroaches in all of the cabinets and had to wash every dish in the place before I would even consider eating off of them. We went out to dinner a lot even though we had stocked up at Costco on our way to the condo. The kitchen shelves had a half an inch of dust and grime on them and plenty of crumbs were in the drawers and under the stove top to keep the cockroaches fat and happy. I pulled 3 hand fulls of lint out behind the dryer lint catcher. This was a fire hazard. The vacuum didn't work so it was difficult to vacuum up all the cockroaches. We found old roach hotels throughout the cupboards and needed to purchase new ones. The slats on the fan in the bathroom had not been cleaned in months, but after spending an entire day cleaning the condo, I learned to turn my back and not look at it. We've always enjoyed the Maui Vista, but we will never stay there again if we are put in that unit or have the same management company in charge of the maintenance. At $140+ a night it was a total rip off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Conifer, CO
Nov 6, 2010

Really bad condo!

The condo wasn't clean, the curtains were torn up, the bathroom was gross (someone else's hair was in the tub and the toilet looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years)there were no numbers on the phone(for dailing out), no toaster, the stove was the worst, there was no dust pan to even clean up the floors, the curtains were so dusty in the bedroom when you moved them it just flew off and no air conditioning in the bedroom and the bed was really uncomfortable, it felt like springs were coming threw. The condo was a very bad experiance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
May 29, 2007

Good Vacation Place EXCEPT that......

We enjoyed the kitchen and the living room. But we could not stay in the bedroom. The waterfall outside our window, and echo of all the airconditioners made it very noisy. The worst was a chemical smell that we could not get rid of. So put the matress in the livingroom, since the couch was only a one person convertable, and that fixed it. Quiet with nice fresh air was enjoyed with at wonderful nights sleep. We used the lanai outside our livingroom for a livingroom. So it worked out. The bathroom was clean, the kitchen was clean and everything was there that you would need for a great vacation, which we proceeded to have. It was close to everything if you have a car rental.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The Kihei Cafe, for breakfast. . DA Kitchen, Chicken Katzu) dinner. Any Beach south of hotel great snorkeling. Boss Frogg's $8.00 snorkel rental. Blue and White signs - beach access for public. Don't leave stuff in the trunk of you car. REALLY! Our trunk was robbed. ask someone to watch it- or leave it in hotel room, not in car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gaithersburg, MD
Feb 10, 2010

Maui Vista - hit or miss

This was a house-hunting trip and teleworking trip for us so we were not just doing tourist things. [...] So you cannot judge a resort from one unit. The unit (1302) was OK but was obviously the absolute minimum for Maui Vista. It was right on South Kihei Road so was close to the water but very loud. The unit itself looked like it had recent carpet and linoleum (yuch) but everything else was old and worn. The shower tiles showed obvious attempts to patch and really needed a good scrub. The condo was very poorly provisioned. For a stay of 12 days (turned into 15) we were given 3 small, threadbare towels - like what you would get at a 1-start motel. The sheets on the bed were thin and when we went to change them after a week the extra set in the closet was stained and the edges shredded. The kitchen was very poorly provisioned. There were no pans that could go in the oven. There were no hot pads or kitchen towels. There were no steak knives and in general the flatware was little better than plastic. There were no plastic or wooden spoons so it was difficult to stir or serve from pots. In the end we had to go to K-Mart and buy towels, kitchen supplies, hot pads and kitchen towels, toilet paper, and cleaning supplies. The television had 5 stations - ABC, FOX, QVC, Maui tourist and a local station. No CBS or NBC or other cable stations. Note we were there for Superbowl weekend and so we could not watch it. It was obvious that whoever stocked the unit never stayed there.The air conditioner in the living room did not seem to do much so we were glad we were there during a "cool" period (78-80 degrees). The bedroom was particularly uncomfortable but there was an old, dirty fan to move the air around some.In the future we hope to have our own condo and certainly have learned what NOT to do for our guests. If we visit again before we have our own place we will go back to VRBO so we can see the unit. We looked at many units while we were there and we certainly saw worse places (not at Maui Vista) but we also saw many that had been redone to be very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Trilogy trip to Lanai was the only money trip we took and we woudl highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 5, 2007

Ok for the price

Maui Vista was nice for the price. It's a cheap place to stay, and it does have a very good location (the Charlie Young beach is right across the street). We thought it was a little more run-down than we expected. The shower head is mounted low on the wall so you practically have to be on your knees to wash your hair. The bed was rather flimsy too. For how much we stayed in our room, however, it was alright. It was rather odd to not be able to check-in at the front desk. Each unit is individually owned so you have to call a different number to get your keys. Overall the stay was alright, but we'll be staying somewhere else if we go back to Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MN Man
Business
MN
Sep 16, 2010

Location Location

Location was great, across the street from the beach. Our room had an ocean view which was perfect. Did not spend much time in the room, but room was very dated and in need of some upgrades. Walls are very thin and you can hear much of what happens in the neighboring condos. Has full kitchenette with all pots pans etc. also has in room laundry which was very helpful. Decent place if you are on a budget and don't plan on spending much time in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are planning on buying groceries sign up for the local membership card for free. Saves tons of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ok stay
Business
Marysville, WA, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Good Value

This was a decent room for the price. I would reccomend it to anyone who would like to experience Maui on a budget. Staff could have been better, I put a towel on the lanai to dry for a half hour and got a nasty written warning, I simple polite knock on the door would have been much better. Gas grills were nice and full sets of pots and pans very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2 RenoTravelers
Business
Reno, Nevada
Mar 4, 2013

5 days in Maui

Although the location at Sugar Beach Resort was fantastic--ocean front, the cleanliness and upkeep were not up to par. The rental company was very responsive and cleaned the spots on the carpet and had a cleaner come in to clean the couch and all the chair cushions. The drapes to the balcony were torn and very worn, and the curtains in the bedroom had a drooping hem where the stitches had a come out. The kitchen was very well equipped and having air conditioning was great and it worked well. The location was great at the north end of Kihei away from the crowds and central to get to the rest of the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Beach Bums
Business
Gig Harbor, WA
Nov 21, 2013

Great location

We stayed for 2 weeks at Maui Vista and enjoyed our stay. The location of this condo was great as it was close enough to Makena Beach, Lahaina, etc. The condo we had was very nice, newly remodeled, however, the bed was an inexpensive bed and really not comfortable at all. Also, the air conditioner is only in the living room and really doesn't make its way to the bedroom so it gets really hot back there. Overall though, it was a very nice place and I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Kihei Cafe for breakfast...very good food! We also liked Fred's for mexican food and a great sunset view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guiness wife
Business
Fairfield, CA
Jun 30, 2009

Great Location!

The condos are all individually owned and rented out by different rental companies, so if you have a problem you have to call the rental company for your condo, you can't just go and talk to the front desk. That was really annoying. Plus, our condo was old and not very clean. The place was crawling with spiders and the air conditioning unit didn't work very well. Other condos in the complex looked really nice and redone! Pay attention to the rental company you go through for Maui Vista, because you could end up with a run down place or a really nice place. I would not stay here again unless I knew which condo I was getting. Great location just across from the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are looking for fabulous sushi, go to Sensei Japanese Restaurant and Sushi bar. Fantastic food and on Monday nights from 5-6pm it is 50% off. You must get in line early for this. I recommend being there by 4:15.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top