Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home

3 stars
View map of 2191 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wisconsin Sea Turtle
Business
Seymour, Wisconsin
Apr 5, 2010

Good Value

This was our 2nd stay at the Maui Vista. It is a very clean facility, and in a great location. Many things are within walking distance, and the beach is right across the road. The only thing we didn't like this time was our room was towards the road, and was EXTREMELY noisy....we couldn't hear each other talking sometimes. Other than that, we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Its a short walk to Fred's Mexican cafe, and you can get 2 for 1 breakfast coupons in the Maui This Week publication. Great food, breakfast, lunch, and dinner!! Must try the banana muffins.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 2, 2010

Awesome Maui Hotel/Condo!

This is the best place to stay in Maui! This is not a hotel, its a condo for a motel price! Our room had a bedroom, living room, bathroom, patio/balcony and full kitchen. You can save tons of money by cooking your own food in the kitchen. A 2 minute walk across the street to beaches and a 3 minute drive to tons more beaches and resort locations. Local area without too many tourists and lots of little, local restaurants and shops. Location is close enough to everything but far enough away from the tourist hot spots to feel real. Great parking and tennis courts. Rooms are fully furnished and stocked with board games, dishes, cooking supplies, tennis raquets, beach chairs, beach toys and everything you need for a fun stay. Super clean, each room is decorated in a cute, homey way that makes it feel really cozy. Each room has a balcony with views of the sunset. For what you get for the price, I would never stay anywhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

You have to rent a car in Maui. There is practically no public transportation so if you're planning on bussing it anywhere, think again. A rental car is a must!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gaithersburg, MD
Feb 10, 2010

Maui Vista - hit or miss

This was a house-hunting trip and teleworking trip for us so we were not just doing tourist things. [...] So you cannot judge a resort from one unit. The unit (1302) was OK but was obviously the absolute minimum for Maui Vista. It was right on South Kihei Road so was close to the water but very loud. The unit itself looked like it had recent carpet and linoleum (yuch) but everything else was old and worn. The shower tiles showed obvious attempts to patch and really needed a good scrub. The condo was very poorly provisioned. For a stay of 12 days (turned into 15) we were given 3 small, threadbare towels - like what you would get at a 1-start motel. The sheets on the bed were thin and when we went to change them after a week the extra set in the closet was stained and the edges shredded. The kitchen was very poorly provisioned. There were no pans that could go in the oven. There were no hot pads or kitchen towels. There were no steak knives and in general the flatware was little better than plastic. There were no plastic or wooden spoons so it was difficult to stir or serve from pots. In the end we had to go to K-Mart and buy towels, kitchen supplies, hot pads and kitchen towels, toilet paper, and cleaning supplies. The television had 5 stations - ABC, FOX, QVC, Maui tourist and a local station. No CBS or NBC or other cable stations. Note we were there for Superbowl weekend and so we could not watch it. It was obvious that whoever stocked the unit never stayed there.The air conditioner in the living room did not seem to do much so we were glad we were there during a "cool" period (78-80 degrees). The bedroom was particularly uncomfortable but there was an old, dirty fan to move the air around some.In the future we hope to have our own condo and certainly have learned what NOT to do for our guests. If we visit again before we have our own place we will go back to VRBO so we can see the unit. We looked at many units while we were there and we certainly saw worse places (not at Maui Vista) but we also saw many that had been redone to be very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Trilogy trip to Lanai was the only money trip we took and we woudl highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Staten Island
Jan 9, 2010

Perfect Location

Good beach right across the street and a short drive to even better beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, Ca
Oct 11, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

I enjoyed the beaches, the shopping centers and supper market was around the corner like Foodland. It was really comfortable the condo has all the items you need for a vacation even surfing board, folding chair, and barbacue gril. I felt i was at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnnieMo
Business
Lake Tahoe, NV
Aug 16, 2009

great place to stay!

We really liked this particular condo as we had a view of the ocean and just a one minute walk across the street to the beach. We were right on the main street, but the air conditioner in the living room drown out any noise of the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Moose McGuillicudy's has great early bird and nightly specials, as does Freds.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Aug 9, 2009

Nice place :)

We stayed in Maui vista for a week in July. It is close to beach. The room is comfortable and well furnitured. Almost has everything you need for beach fun,cooking etc.. Nice place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
Jul 4, 2009

Great loacation, excellent accommodation

It was a great accommodation and would recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guiness wife
Business
Fairfield, CA
Jun 30, 2009

Great Location!

The condos are all individually owned and rented out by different rental companies, so if you have a problem you have to call the rental company for your condo, you can't just go and talk to the front desk. That was really annoying. Plus, our condo was old and not very clean. The place was crawling with spiders and the air conditioning unit didn't work very well. Other condos in the complex looked really nice and redone! Pay attention to the rental company you go through for Maui Vista, because you could end up with a run down place or a really nice place. I would not stay here again unless I knew which condo I was getting. Great location just across from the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are looking for fabulous sushi, go to Sensei Japanese Restaurant and Sushi bar. Fantastic food and on Monday nights from 5-6pm it is 50% off. You must get in line early for this. I recommend being there by 4:15.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Vista-Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jbsipp
Business
Colorado
Jun 1, 2009

Outstanding Accomodations - Great Price

The location, price and the outstanding quality of the room was beyond our expectations, especially for the great price we got!! Very well furnished, clean and prompt, friendly staff. We always felt safe and comfortable. Located DIRECTLY across street from a beautiful beach, "Sea Turtles" every night to go with the awesome sunsets. We were on the 3rd floor with partial ocean veiw. The only thing I can think of the wasn't 100% was the air conditioner was getting old and worn out, but still kept us comfortable, and the hide a bed mattress needs to be replaced. DEFINATELY a place that we will return to and recommend to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Skip Wal-Mart, very little in the way of groceries, we found a Safeway just a little ways away, and the sale prices are the same as on the Mainland!! Cooking in the Condo saved us alot of money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top