$168 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2015 Check-out: Jul 17, 2015

Maui Sunseeker Resort

3 stars
View map of 551 S. Kihei Rd, Kihei, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
18 reviews
Comfortable Stay

The room was clean and neat. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a late arrival and they... See full review

  • EdoinLA
  • Oct 19, 2011
GREAT place to stay!!

Excellent experience. Very friendly, accommodating, and competent staff helped me book outings,... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 2, 2011
Mauis premiere LGBT resort and hotel caters primarily to the discerning LGBT traveler, but all awesome adults are very welcome (we are an adults only property). The Maui Sunseeker LGBT Hotel and Resorts demographic is about 50% gay men, 35% lesbian women and 15% very cool straight, bisexual or transgender individuals/couples. Located on Mauis sunny South coast in Kihei (key-hay), the Sunseeker is close to the amazing south shore beaches and the famous Little Beach. Explore numerous ways to relax and enjoy the free amenities we offer in our guest rooms, spacious suites and our clothing optional saline pool. Experience amazing sunsets from our roof top terrace. Among Maui hotels and resorts, our staff and property consistently scores high on TripAdvisor.com where we hold a 4.5 star rating and have been awarded the Certificate of Excellence for 4 consecutive years. With the passage of marriage equality in Hawaii, the Sunseeker has become one of the top hotels for same-sex weddings and honeymoons. Maui Sunseeker; come share our Aloha Spirit!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maui Sunseeker Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Maui Sunseeker Resort Rooms

Full Suite
The full suite at the Maui Sunseeker has become a favorite for many of our LGBT guests. It includes three separate rooms for unabashed comfort: a bathroom, bedroom, full open kitchen and living room for a total living space of 500 square feet. The kitchen features a full-size refrigerator and stove, stocked with plenty of cook- and tableware.The full suite offers the addition of a queen-size sleeper sofa in the living room, ideal if you need a separate sleeping arrangement from the plush California King bed. The 600 building full suites offer pool views of our beautiful saline pool; the 100 and 200 building full suites offer garden and/or ocean views.
Standard Room
Maui Sunseekers standard room is anything but! Complete with a comfortable king-size bed, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee pot and limited tableware, our standard proudly offers more amenities than those available at larger resorts.
Junior Suite
Junior suites are standard rooms with 375 square feet of living space, including a full kitchen area and comfortable king-size bed. All junior suites feature either ground-floor garden views or second-floor ocean views. A junior suite kitchen comes complete with a full-size refrigerator and stove, and an ample supply of cook- and tableware. The dining area is located outside on the lanai, giving you the perfect excuse to revel in the heavenly tropical climate of gay Maui.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Maui Sunseeker Resort

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Sunseeker Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 17, 2007

Not so cool

Tacky and outdated decoration, Extremely small bathroom (I guess it was a closet before), Uncomfortable mattress, Very Noisy AC unit, A few ants in the kitchen + other aggravations that made us leave the place after only two days, I don't recommend this place to any one. The only consolation is a staff which is nice, welcoming and helpful when it's about fixing some situations they created.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach was really close. You need to drive to Lahaina or Walea for restaurants and other attractions.

Review of Maui Sunseeker Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Nov 17, 2007

Staff needs lessons on how to deal with guests

Sunseeker staff need help in dealing with guests. Check-in was rushed and we were unclear where anything was. Room was outside of rest of compound and you need to use key to get to other part of inner complex. Ran into another staff person next day who was hyper and quickly asked if he has aleady met us and then ran off. Awkward route of stairs to get to jacuzzi and computer area and visitors frequented the area to check out the place. Last day, we asked if we could have an extra hour before checkout and was briskly dismissed with a 'no' without any kind of consideration or pleasantness and then demanded to know right then if we intended to stay an hour longer as he would add a full days charge to the bill - we had stayed five days here. Word of mouth can hurt businesses like this and they seemed more interested in quickly chceking us in and then having nothing to do with us after. Dryer burnt the clothes - watch out. Room does have cooking faciliies which was a plus wih Maui restaurant prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Volcano national park was interesting drive to explore. A luau was OK but expensive. Would recommend Kuaia better.

Review of Maui Sunseeker Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Londonkraut & Kalord
Business
London, UK
Nov 23, 2009

Extremely Friendly Atmosphere

It may not be a luxury hotel, but it makes up with bags of charm, friendly and helpful staff and a great overall atmosphere. The sundeck was a great place to get to know other guests, have a chat or exchange tips about Maui, and the sunsets were unrivaled. The beach is just across the road and restaurants and shops are only a short ride away (a car is almost essential). Staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to give us a memorable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maui Sunseeker Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 8, 2010

Great Location

-Relax away from the real world. -Nothing was missing, perfect little spot to whole island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kihei Cafe and Tiki Lounge

Review of Maui Sunseeker Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 4, 2007

Good value for the money

This a decent 3-star hotel. Has basic amenities and a friendy staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Makena Beach....The best beach in MAUI

Review of Maui Sunseeker Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kaukau K.
Business
Hawaii
Jun 4, 2010

Relaxing getaway

Boutique hotel - not lost in large crowds. No screaming kids. Intimate & comfortable in good location across from beach & close to restaurants & shopping. (No meal service at hotel) Staff knowledgable about area & anxious to please. Some beach gear available free. Room cleaned well daily. Kitchenette makes meals/snack cheap & easy. Roof deck & jacuzzi great place for guests to mingle. Will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Stella Blues has happy hour drink/food menu 4-6 p.m. five nights with live local entertainment.

Review of Maui Sunseeker Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EdoinLA
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Comfortable Stay

The room was clean and neat. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a late arrival and they had our room info ready and waiting for us when we got there. The only negative was that the Jacuzzi wasn't working. Other than that it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maui Sunseeker Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bob Marks
Business
San Diego
Jun 18, 2012

We had a great time!!!

My lover and I have been to Hawaii several times and I have to say this was our best experience ever. The staff were gentle and friendly and left us wanting to come back for more. At work I am known as the Queen of my job and I felt like I was treated as royalty all week long! Thanks for everything, ALOHA!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maui Sunseeker Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami Beach
Sep 30, 2008

My review of Maui Sunseeker Resort-A Gay Resort

They did a wonderful job of making a person feel welcome and helping to familiarize visitors of the resort to the surrounding areas of Maui. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maui Sunseeker Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 2, 2011

GREAT place to stay!!

Excellent experience. Very friendly, accommodating, and competent staff helped me book outings, find gay places to patronize and they checked in how I was doing. Great service! They are also centrally located on S. Kihei Rd - very convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

MonkeyPod Kitchen at the end of Pilani highway offered a great sunset and dining experience. The staff was outstanding and friendly!

Back to menu Return to top