$158 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Maui Sunseeker Resort

3 stars
View map of 551 S. Kihei Rd, Kihei, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Maui Sunseeker Resort

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Sunseeker Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Nov 17, 2007

Staff needs lessons on how to deal with guests

Sunseeker staff need help in dealing with guests. Check-in was rushed and we were unclear where anything was. Room was outside of rest of compound and you need to use key to get to other part of inner complex. Ran into another staff person next day who was hyper and quickly asked if he has aleady met us and then ran off. Awkward route of stairs to get to jacuzzi and computer area and visitors frequented the area to check out the place. Last day, we asked if we could have an extra hour before checkout and was briskly dismissed with a 'no' without any kind of consideration or pleasantness and then demanded to know right then if we intended to stay an hour longer as he would add a full days charge to the bill - we had stayed five days here. Word of mouth can hurt businesses like this and they seemed more interested in quickly chceking us in and then having nothing to do with us after. Dryer burnt the clothes - watch out. Room does have cooking faciliies which was a plus wih Maui restaurant prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Volcano national park was interesting drive to explore. A luau was OK but expensive. Would recommend Kuaia better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Sunseeker Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 17, 2007

Not so cool

Tacky and outdated decoration, Extremely small bathroom (I guess it was a closet before), Uncomfortable mattress, Very Noisy AC unit, A few ants in the kitchen + other aggravations that made us leave the place after only two days, I don't recommend this place to any one. The only consolation is a staff which is nice, welcoming and helpful when it's about fixing some situations they created.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach was really close. You need to drive to Lahaina or Walea for restaurants and other attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Sunseeker Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 4, 2007

Good value for the money

This a decent 3-star hotel. Has basic amenities and a friendy staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Makena Beach....The best beach in MAUI

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Sunseeker Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 4, 2007

Maui Sun Seeker, A Great Place to Stay in South Maui

The people at Maui Sun Seeker were great and very accommodating. The room contained a full kitchen and bath with complementary beach towels, beach chairs and boogie boards. The room had it's own garden patio with table and chairs. The garden was excellently maintained. The property also contained a roof top BBQ patio complete with a jacuzzi from which you can watch the sunset over the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The BIG WAVE restaurant, located in the first strip mall south of the hotel has two for one dinners seven days a week from 5:30 to 7:00 pm and the food is great!! the waitresses and owner and the cook, of course know how to do it right. We ate there almost every night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Sunseeker Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cicely
Business
Manchester, NH
Jul 25, 2007

Great in every way

Everything was great at the Sunseeker. The room was comfortable and very clean. The location was central so it was easy to get everywhere. The staff was very helpful with planning or anything we needed for that matter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Sunseeker Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Jul 13, 2007

Cute,Quaint,Cozy,With Hawian Charm

The Maui Sunseeker in Kehei Hawaii was one of the coziest accomadations we have stayed in. The rooms make you feel like you in a bungalow of your own with either a view of the ocean or a lanai filled with tropical plants walkway and flowing fountains.The clothing optional ocean view rooftop is great at night to soak in the hottub, or sunbath duing the day, and get a private massage.Its close in any direction for shops , beaches, water sports and restaurants.Its all here in Maui at the Sunseeker.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Little Beach,on the other side of Big beach is a nude beach. Make sure you wear shoes to climb over a small wall of lava to get there. The water and views are beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Sunseeker Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 27, 2007

Warm and inviting

Staying at the Maui Sunseeker was a great experience. The staff were incredibly helpful, warm, and made you feel like family. Our room, which overlooked the garden, and had an ocean view, was comfortable, clean, and functional. The inclusion of the full-sized kitchen, was a great thing, as we were able to save money by cooking breakfast in the room before heading out for the days activities. The resort, although small, has the feel of home, and is conveniently located between gorgeous beaches, shoppping, and all the other sites that make Maui a vacation you won't soon forget. We'll be back soon!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Stella Blue's Cafe has a great Mega Mai-Tai, and some great seafood as well. Sansei sushi is some of the best I've tasted, and the Blushing Bride sake is out of this world too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Sunseeker Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
May 8, 2007

Comfort and Privacy

I think what I really enjoyed was the location at a much more secluded area of Kihei, and the spa area on the upper deck, set aside for privacy and enjoyment of the ocean without the interuption of other beach goers. The grounds are beautifully landscaped giving you the very feel of a tropical island and the staff was very helpful in finding things to do around the area. The rooms are very comfortable and clean, all in all a very good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This area of Kihei is close to anything you might choose to do on the Island. We did the road to Hana which was an hour drive. The boat docks where we went on a snorkeling trip was 15 minutes away. Public beaches are all around and good dining is any where from 5 minutes to 20 minutes away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top