$229 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Maui Coast Hotel

3 stars
2259 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
487 reviews
Great hotel in kihei

This is our second stay at Maui Coast and we really live the location and the value. The only thing... See full review

  • Mainland fever
  • Jul 26, 2014
Fantastic Vacation

Great Location and very friendly Staff. Best Vacation ever See full review

  • JJ and Tina
  • Apr 13, 2014
Choose the Maui Coast Hotel, and enjoy a laid-back, slow-paced vacation. One of 40 hotels in the Coast Hotels and Resorts chain, the hotel's guestrooms contain paintings from local artists, as well as verandas to admire the beauty of Hawaii. Live music is featured nightly at the poolside bar, while staff members are happy to serve you a fruit-adorned drink. To get your heart racing a little faster, check out the fitness center located on the premises; tennis enthusiasts will enjoy the lighted courts. Connect to the Internet, while you're away from home or the office, at two free terminals near the front desk.
Key facts
  • 7 floors
  • Free shuttle
  • 2 restaurants: 'Ami 'Ami Bar & Grill and Kamaole Poolside Cafe and Bar
  • Room service
  • Outdoor pool
  • Tennis court
  • 2 meeting/conference rooms
  • Business center
  • Concierge services
Neighborhood
Found in the coastal beauty spot and tourist-favorite Kihei, the Maui Coast Hotel is only a block away from Kamaole Beach Park I, and also within walking distance of local bars, restaurants and shopping. The Shops at Wailea is an excellent place to find clothing, jewelry and other luxury accessories, at stores ranging from Gucci to a Hawaiian-standard ABC outlet. For the golf enthusiast, the Maui Coast Hotel is close to four outstanding golf courses.
Hints and tips

When heading to the beach, ask the front desk for a towel and umbrella, which are free for guests to borrow.

If snorkeling's on the agenda, you'll want to head 10 minutes away for the sea turtles and (seasonal) whale watching opportunities at Makena Beach instead.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7238 -156.4464
Area served
Kihei, Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport-OGG
Area description
Just across the street from Kamaole Beach I continuing on with a wide stretch of beautiful, award-winning beaches, surrounded by several shops and restaurants this seven-story hotel is just 2 miles from the upscale Wailea area and championship golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maui Coast Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Maui Coast Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite
519 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. In addition, Hawaiian artwork from famous local artist Avi Kiriaty is displayed. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Deluxe Room
355 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
One-Bedroom Suite
545 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is One King Bed in the Bedroom and One Pullout Sofa Bed in the Living Room. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Televisions, New Furnishings, Microwaves, Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Wet Bar and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Dining

Kama'ole Poolside Caf
The Poolside Bar/Cafe provide the following: Lunch; Dinner; Full Bar; Nightly Entertainment; Open Daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (487)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Coast Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
487 out of 487
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary Eliz
San Jose, CA
Nov 27, 2013

Not value for your money

Room is expensive for what it offers. They charge an extra $18per day for amenities - which ideally should be included in the room charge itself like parking fee etc. Compared to other hotels we stayed in recently, this is not value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BH Kaneohe
Business
Kaneohe HI
Nov 20, 2013

Great value compared to other

Very friendly staff, clean rooms, great location in Kihei, and the value for the money on Maui is great. I have stayed in many other facilities in Kihei and would definitely stay again in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler9516514
Honolulu
Nov 18, 2013

Hidden fees

This resort charges a hidden "Resort Fee" that is not included in the cost of the room listed on this site. The fee is 18.23 per night. Be sure to factor this fee in when comparing to other places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

This resort charges a hidden "Resort Fee" that is not included in the cost of the room listed on this site. The fee is 18.23 per night. Be sure to factor this fee in when comparing to other places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nerd honeymooner
Chicago, IL
Nov 3, 2013

So close!

My wife and I spent our honeymoon here. I liked the hotel, but it was just short of being great. Pros: - very clean room, friendly cleaning service, always on time, quite efficient - hotel staff was very accomodating: they offer a free shuttle service within a 3 mile range, of which we took advantage (they also have free bike rentals for up to 3 hours) - pool and its bar are excellent, plus they have live music after dark - Ami Ami, the restaurant by the hotel, serves delicious, albeit expensive food - concierge was very helpful in helping us choose and book activities; I'm sure that we could have gotten them cheaper somewhere else, but it was quite convenient to have someone work it out for us Cons: - the walls between our room and the next were paper-thin: we could hear our neighbors carrying a conversation about the weather - while the hotel is technically close to the beach, actually getting there is a 10 minute walk - hotel room rental did not include the Hawaii fee (~$18/day), which we were charged when we checked in; I'm sure this was mentioned in small font somewhere during my booking, so I should have expected it, but it did catch me off guard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NellieG
Compton,California
Sep 17, 2013

Great Location

Hotel was very clean the bar/pool area had live music everyday. The food and drinks are great also. If you are looking for quite hotel and great staff you will find here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maui tacos

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BeachHunter International
San Francisco, CA
Sep 16, 2013

First time in South Maui

Stayed at Kannappali last time I went there so thought I'd try the south side out for a change. Nothing to write home about. The staff in the afternoon at check-in was extremely nonchalant & pretty much threw the keys at us. Didn't even bother to respond to our requests for a higher floor or upgrade. However, the staff in the morning is extremely friendly & accommodating. We didn't care much for the island orientation, they are just trying to sell you stuff rather than give you real information you can use. The location is pretty good though, right next to a very nice beach across the street. Included in the "resort fee" of 17.50/night + tax are bicycles - which you can take to closeby locations & also Wailea - a very nice area about 2 miles south. Couple of great resorts there & nice restaurants The pool is average but surprisingly crowded - I guess a lot of rooms/guests for a small pool. I wouldn't go there again but I guess its a good deal if you book at the right price/time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cuatro - restaurant in the Foodland groceries complex nearby. Probably served the best meal I ate at the island at a pretty reasonable price (gives you 25% off if you decide on an early dinner before 6)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous1979
Ca
Sep 14, 2013

gataway

The staff was great and the amenities were nice. However, I didn't like the fact that there was additional charge of close to $20 daily for usage of fitness, free beach towels, bicycles, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ubylive
Michigan
Sep 7, 2013

Good hotel but not to the hype

It's a good hotel but not really up to the reviews I read before selecting the place. My expectations were much higher. Very good for the parking and location. Very slow wifi depending on the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Some good restaurants close to the hotel but need to drive. They all close around 10 pm .. which is way too early in a touristic islands..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ALOHADAN
SAN JOSE, CA
Aug 26, 2013

Great, EXCEPT

FIX THE 2ND ELEVATOR!!!!! GREAT LOCATION GREAT POOL GREAT VALUE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun Sand Beach Lover
Washington, DC
Aug 21, 2013

Way Better Than Anticipated!

The hotel was so much better than the reviews we'd read. What I read made the hotel good enough for a one night stay before we went to our other hotel for the next week. What we experienced was so much nicer than expected. The lobby was beautiful; the staff very friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable as well as nice and clean. I have terrible allergies and asthma and most hotel room ACs cause me difficulty breathing and even sinus infections. The AC did not smell musty or mildewy; it blew fresh clean air and was wonderful! We had a peaceful night sleep and the following morning had brunch at the restaurant poolside! The lunch was delicious and a great price, and the wait staff very friendly. It was a nice casual setting and was a much better value than the food we later experienced at our 5 star and 5 diamond hotel & restaurants! Next time we go to Maui we will not stay at the higher priced resort, but will stay at the Maui Coast Hotel! It was so close to the beach and walking distance to the town that we know we will enjoy our next visit very much and spend the money saved on more excursions or gifts to take home! The Maui Coast Hotel is very nice and comfortable and had we stayed there for 8 days we would've saved several thousand dollars and still would've had a great time! Don't overlook this hotel; it's a gem!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is literally across the street! The park is next door to the beach and local shopping and restaurants are within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search