$185 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Maui Coast Hotel

3 stars
2259 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
782 reviews
Fantastic Vacation

Great Location and very friendly Staff. Best Vacation ever See full review

  • JJ and Tina
  • Apr 13, 2014
Awesome hotel!

We stayed at the Maui Coast on our honeymoon. When we arrived we got upgraded to a Junior Suite -... See full review

  • Alinu
  • Dec 10, 2013
Choose the Maui Coast Hotel, and enjoy a laid-back, slow-paced vacation. One of 40 hotels in the Coast Hotels and Resorts chain, the hotel's guestrooms contain paintings from local artists, as well as verandas to admire the beauty of Hawaii. Live music is featured nightly at the poolside bar, while staff members are happy to serve you a fruit-adorned drink. To get your heart racing a little faster, check out the fitness center located on the premises; tennis enthusiasts will enjoy the lighted courts. Connect to the Internet, while you're away from home or the office, at two free terminals near the front desk.
Key facts
  • 7 floors
  • Free shuttle
  • 2 restaurants: 'Ami 'Ami Bar & Grill and Kamaole Poolside Cafe and Bar
  • Room service
  • Outdoor pool
  • Tennis court
  • 2 meeting/conference rooms
  • Business center
  • Concierge services
Neighborhood
Found in the coastal beauty spot and tourist-favorite Kihei, the Maui Coast Hotel is only a block away from Kamaole Beach Park I, and also within walking distance of local bars, restaurants and shopping. The Shops at Wailea is an excellent place to find clothing, jewelry and other luxury accessories, at stores ranging from Gucci to a Hawaiian-standard ABC outlet. For the golf enthusiast, the Maui Coast Hotel is close to four outstanding golf courses.
Hints and tips

When heading to the beach, ask the front desk for a towel and umbrella, which are free for guests to borrow.

If snorkeling's on the agenda, you'll want to head 10 minutes away for the sea turtles and (seasonal) whale watching opportunities at Makena Beach instead.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7238 -156.4464
Area served
Kihei, Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport-OGG
Area description
Just across the street from Kamaole Beach I continuing on with a wide stretch of beautiful, award-winning beaches, surrounded by several shops and restaurants this seven-story hotel is just 2 miles from the upscale Wailea area and championship golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maui Coast Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Maui Coast Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
355 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Junior Suite
519 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. In addition, Hawaiian artwork from famous local artist Avi Kiriaty is displayed. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
One-Bedroom Suite
545 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is One King Bed in the Bedroom and One Pullout Sofa Bed in the Living Room. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Televisions, New Furnishings, Microwaves, Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Wet Bar and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Dining

Kama'ole Poolside Caf
The Poolside Bar/Cafe provide the following: Lunch; Dinner; Full Bar; Nightly Entertainment; Open Daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (782)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Coast Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
782 out of 782
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alinu
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Dec 10, 2013

Awesome hotel!

We stayed at the Maui Coast on our honeymoon. When we arrived we got upgraded to a Junior Suite - thank you so much! Room was great, very clean and had everything you needed. The pool with the 2 hottubs and the bar was one of the best I have seen, very nicely taken care of. The give you free towels from the front desk. The location of the hotel in Kihei is very good, and if you rent a car it is very easy to go around the island. BTW my favourite beach was Big Beach(wide, great sand and Water, no rocks) and if you want to snorkel there are plenty of spots on the island where you can see the turtles! Would def come back and stay at the same place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try The Kitchen restaurant nearby, for some great food at excellent prices!

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Queend1313
Tucson,az
Jun 24, 2014

Awesome location

The only thing that I can see wrong with these rooms is that the bathrooms are extremely small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to sansei for sushi

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PChew
Honolulu
Jun 23, 2014

Lovely stay with beachfront

Been staying at this hotel many times and love the resort feel and comfortable rooms. Added attraction is the lovelybeach just outside the hotel entrance .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zumahm50
Seattle, WA
May 6, 2014

Maui Coast - A Good Value If That's What You Seek

Let's start with the pros, because there are several. The staff is great. The rooms are clean. The rooms are very quiet - we never heard our neighbors for the 5 nights we stayed. Though not on the beach, access is a 2-minute walk from the lobby. There is a nice and secluded pool and poolside bar that wasn't terribly crowded when we visited. The Cons: rooms are comfortable but somewhat dated and minimalistic. We had the deluxe king room on the second floor, towards the back of the building. At 350 sqft it's a little tight, but hey, you aren't in Maui to spend much time in the hotel room. The small lanai faced taller hotel buildings with no view. Other rooms higher up with a westerly orientation undoubtedly have better views. We actually tried to leave early for a comparably priced but much nicer resort hotel, and though the hotel agent said they could do it without penalty, they insisted on the $100 cancellation fee when contacted by the discount travel company agent. The daily add-on resort fee is modest, but the resort amenities are pretty meager in comparison. All in all, a 3.5 star experience. It was OK, but we will try a different place next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Psychobob
Las Vegas
Apr 22, 2014

Good value

Despite requesting an upper floor, the desk clerk stuck us at the end of the hall on the third floor. The disregard was contemptible, and I would hesitate to recommend the hotel because of her. The breakfast served by room service was also deplorable, and room service was not used again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great tex-mex at Fred's.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JJ and Tina
Alamogordo, New México
Apr 13, 2014

Fantastic Vacation

Great Location and very friendly Staff. Best Vacation ever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Krystenblair
Sacramento ca
Apr 12, 2014

Classy Little Gem

Boyfriend and I enjoyed staying here very much. Staff was always nice and helpful. Free bikes is a wonderful plus. Just across the street is the beach and lots to do ! So glad we didn't book one of the big building hotels or timeshares that look like old apartments. It was a classy gem that I would be pleased to stay in again. Thanks maui coast !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots to do

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aisha001
San Jose, CA
Jan 3, 2014

Beautiful hotel and location

Loved staying here. The Junior suite was very spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
catfay
california
Dec 26, 2013

Nice room, confused staff

Room is nice. We only spend one night there, so the required resort fee is a waste for us ... not a good place for people who only want to take a sleep during a long trip. But the room is good. The front lady made some mistakes when we checked out. She was not sure whether we paid or not, which made us a little late for flight check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alinu
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Dec 10, 2013

Awesome hotel!

We stayed at the Maui Coast on our honeymoon. When we arrived we got upgraded to a Junior Suite - thank you so much! Room was great, very clean and had everything you needed. The pool with the 2 hottubs and the bar was one of the best I have seen, very nicely taken care of. The give you free towels from the front desk. The location of the hotel in Kihei is very good, and if you rent a car it is very easy to go around the island. BTW my favourite beach was Big Beach(wide, great sand and Water, no rocks) and if you want to snorkel there are plenty of spots on the island where you can see the turtles! Would def come back and stay at the same place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try The Kitchen restaurant nearby, for some great food at excellent prices!

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristabela
New York, NY
Dec 2, 2013

Perfect Location in Maui

South Maui is the best place to stay in Maui, location wise, and the Maui Coast is a great hotel for its value. Some highlights: location, location, great looking lobby, free use of good bikes, beach towels, friendly staff and again, amazing location. Go to Keawakapu beach, great beach, a 15 minute bike ride south from the hotel. Also, rent paddle boards from Maui Wave Riders, just a few blocks north from the hotel. For food, we loved Cafe o Lei, again just a couple of blocks south from hotel as well as 808 bistro (get the ahi, you won't regret it, byob btw) also a few blocks south from hotel. Again the location of the hotel couldn't have been more perfect and everything about it was great. If we return to Maui, we will stay at the Maui Coast again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top