$180 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Maui Coast Hotel

3 stars
2259 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
519 reviews
Great hotel in kihei

This is our second stay at Maui Coast and we really live the location and the value. The only thing... See full review

  • Mainland fever
  • Jul 26, 2014
Great!

Helpful staff, great location, nice rooms! Very glad I stayed here for my first time on Maui.... See full review

  • Dogmom2014
  • Jun 6, 2014
Choose the Maui Coast Hotel, and enjoy a laid-back, slow-paced vacation. One of 40 hotels in the Coast Hotels and Resorts chain, the hotel's guestrooms contain paintings from local artists, as well as verandas to admire the beauty of Hawaii. Live music is featured nightly at the poolside bar, while staff members are happy to serve you a fruit-adorned drink. To get your heart racing a little faster, check out the fitness center located on the premises; tennis enthusiasts will enjoy the lighted courts. Connect to the Internet, while you're away from home or the office, at two free terminals near the front desk.
Key facts
  • 7 floors
  • Free shuttle
  • 2 restaurants: 'Ami 'Ami Bar & Grill and Kamaole Poolside Cafe and Bar
  • Room service
  • Outdoor pool
  • Tennis court
  • 2 meeting/conference rooms
  • Business center
  • Concierge services
Neighborhood
Found in the coastal beauty spot and tourist-favorite Kihei, the Maui Coast Hotel is only a block away from Kamaole Beach Park I, and also within walking distance of local bars, restaurants and shopping. The Shops at Wailea is an excellent place to find clothing, jewelry and other luxury accessories, at stores ranging from Gucci to a Hawaiian-standard ABC outlet. For the golf enthusiast, the Maui Coast Hotel is close to four outstanding golf courses.
Hints and tips

When heading to the beach, ask the front desk for a towel and umbrella, which are free for guests to borrow.

If snorkeling's on the agenda, you'll want to head 10 minutes away for the sea turtles and (seasonal) whale watching opportunities at Makena Beach instead.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7238 -156.4464
Area served
Kihei, Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport-OGG
Area description
Just across the street from Kamaole Beach I continuing on with a wide stretch of beautiful, award-winning beaches, surrounded by several shops and restaurants this seven-story hotel is just 2 miles from the upscale Wailea area and championship golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maui Coast Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Maui Coast Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
355 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Junior Suite
519 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. In addition, Hawaiian artwork from famous local artist Avi Kiriaty is displayed. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
One-Bedroom Suite
545 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is One King Bed in the Bedroom and One Pullout Sofa Bed in the Living Room. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Televisions, New Furnishings, Microwaves, Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Wet Bar and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Dining

Kama'ole Poolside Caf
The Poolside Bar/Cafe provide the following: Lunch; Dinner; Full Bar; Nightly Entertainment; Open Daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (519)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Coast Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 519
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler9516514
Honolulu
Nov 18, 2013

Hidden fees

This resort charges a hidden "Resort Fee" that is not included in the cost of the room listed on this site. The fee is 18.23 per night. Be sure to factor this fee in when comparing to other places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

This resort charges a hidden "Resort Fee" that is not included in the cost of the room listed on this site. The fee is 18.23 per night. Be sure to factor this fee in when comparing to other places.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sherdeezy
San Diego, california
Jul 23, 2012

Average at best

This is the perfect in between hotel. Not too pricey but not too cheap where you feel like you are in a motel. Room is a decent size with fridge and microwave. Every time they clean your room you get two free water bottles in fridge. It's a mandatory $17.50 a day plus tax for uses of amenities. I booked because of the fitness center which was the highlight. I did not get the "aloha" welcome when I first checked in. It seemed like I was more excited to be there than they were to see me. The spirit came through when I checked out. It's a minute and a half walk to the beach. Overall average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Da kitchen is amuse eat and the shaved ice with haupia.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
akDev
Alaska
Oct 19, 2012

Affordable Getaway

The rooms are priced very reasonably for what you get. The room was pretty simple, but had A/C, a decent fridge, and a microwave. The bathroom was fairly cramped, but served its purpose. Overall, this is a great place to vacation on a tight budget and still have a great time. Would recommend to friends for those who are looking to save a little cash.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is a 10 minute drive from Makena Beach--one of Maui's best beaches. Definitely worth hitting.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
paulguitar
Shrewsbury, UK.
Oct 2, 2010

Good, but they need thermostat in rooms!

I booked a one bedroom suite for a single night. Decent room, good bed, reasonable value for Maui. The problem is that with a simple wall mounted air-conditioner, you have the option of roasting with it off in peace or having a bearable temperature with it on but an 'airport' leevel of noise from the unit. So you tend to end up fighting this all night and don't sleep well which defeats the object somewhat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu
May 27, 2009

Convenient,good location

I live in Honolulu and was only there for one night, so I think that's why they put me in the least desireable (view) room. The pool was closed on the day I was there, but I was spending time on the road sightseeing and at the beach so it was ok. Perfect location with great restaurants nearby. Clean and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
slowroller3
post falls,ID
Sep 30, 2009

nice vacation experience

great location for a vacation spot. nice view while layin out at the pool or the beach, which is just across the street. There are nice restaurants in the area. The nite life is fun, u gotta check out the tiki bar, and lu lu's restaurant. On the third day I went north of the hotel location and went on a submarine tour. Pretty cool to go 127 feet below the surface and see the school's of fish and sharks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Jul 30, 2010

Enjoyable stay

I was visiting my daughter and grandson. My grandson was able to stay with me a few nights. Very enjoyable time there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Northern Cali
Jul 27, 2011

Great Maui location

Maui Coast is a very comfortable hotel; rooms very comfortable and the lanai a definite plus- loved having breakfast every morning out there. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Having [...] there made signing up for tours so easy; she is very knowledgeable and did not hesitate with current information that was not mentioned in brochures. The shuttle service, laundry, parking very convenient. Although, when I booked the package, the $17.50 per day was not mentioned for what one would initially assume to be complimentary amenities. I also choose hotels that provide room service. Unfortunately, I found the Spices Restaurant to be lacking in variety and did not even have Hawaiian/Island food choices, which was surprising. Restaurants, deli places, grocery stores easily accessible- walking distance- from the hotel, thank goodness. The biggest plus is that beach access is right across the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Lots of dining around the hotel- walking or short drive distances. Other that an occasional breakfast, skip Spices Restaurant.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
c3po
New Mexico, USA
Oct 22, 2011

Maui Week

The Maui Coast Hotel was better than the 3 stars given by Orbtiz - I was impressed by the room quality and the service. The breakfast at the hotel restaurant (Spices) were good; the dinners were ordinary. For the price, I would definitely go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sansei restaurant - best sushi in Maui!

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zinny
Auckland, New Zealand
Nov 1, 2011

Superb value, but you need to lift the bar on your restaurant...

Accommodation was superb value for money. The only issue, if we had to pick one, was the hotel restaurant, especially the breakfast menu, which was shocking. That said, the Pool Bar Cafe was fine, so not sure what's going on there...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kihei Cafe brilliant for breakfast

Back to menu Return to top

Change search