$345 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Maui Coast Hotel

3 stars
2259 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
491 reviews
Great experience

My husband and I had a terrific stay at Maui Coast. The staff was friendly and accommodating and... See full review

  • Vacationer2956
  • Nov 16, 2014
Great hotel in kihei

This is our second stay at Maui Coast and we really live the location and the value. The only thing... See full review

  • Mainland fever
  • Jul 26, 2014
Choose the Maui Coast Hotel, and enjoy a laid-back, slow-paced vacation. One of 40 hotels in the Coast Hotels and Resorts chain, the hotel's guestrooms contain paintings from local artists, as well as verandas to admire the beauty of Hawaii. Live music is featured nightly at the poolside bar, while staff members are happy to serve you a fruit-adorned drink. To get your heart racing a little faster, check out the fitness center located on the premises; tennis enthusiasts will enjoy the lighted courts. Connect to the Internet, while you're away from home or the office, at two free terminals near the front desk.
Key facts
  • 7 floors
  • Free shuttle
  • 2 restaurants: 'Ami 'Ami Bar & Grill and Kamaole Poolside Cafe and Bar
  • Room service
  • Outdoor pool
  • Tennis court
  • 2 meeting/conference rooms
  • Business center
  • Concierge services
Neighborhood
Found in the coastal beauty spot and tourist-favorite Kihei, the Maui Coast Hotel is only a block away from Kamaole Beach Park I, and also within walking distance of local bars, restaurants and shopping. The Shops at Wailea is an excellent place to find clothing, jewelry and other luxury accessories, at stores ranging from Gucci to a Hawaiian-standard ABC outlet. For the golf enthusiast, the Maui Coast Hotel is close to four outstanding golf courses.
Hints and tips

When heading to the beach, ask the front desk for a towel and umbrella, which are free for guests to borrow.

If snorkeling's on the agenda, you'll want to head 10 minutes away for the sea turtles and (seasonal) whale watching opportunities at Makena Beach instead.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maui Coast Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Maui Coast Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite
519 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. In addition, Hawaiian artwork from famous local artist Avi Kiriaty is displayed. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Deluxe Room
355 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
One-Bedroom Suite
545 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is One King Bed in the Bedroom and One Pullout Sofa Bed in the Living Room. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Televisions, New Furnishings, Microwaves, Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Wet Bar and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Dining

Kama'ole Poolside Caf
The Poolside Bar/Cafe provide the following: Lunch; Dinner; Full Bar; Nightly Entertainment; Open Daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (491)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Coast Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 491
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chaconne
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 12, 2009

Friendly staff but poor room clearning

We did not spend lots of time at this hotel, since we usually went out to the beach and other nice places. The front desk staff was very friendly (even to the airline crew who stayed there), and was able to address my problem during check-in. Besides the pool is small (under construction), a major disappointment during our stay was the daily room cleaning. The maid did not give use new soap, shampoo, sugar & creme, etc for at least 2 consecutive nights. Another bad thing is that, the concierge staff was not very helpful or was not in a good mood to answer our questions. This also made our stay from a 4-star experience down to 3.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
Mar 13, 2010

Nice but basic hotel

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. I bought a flight and hotel package through [...] but when i arrived to the hotel they charged a mandatory additional $15 resort fee per night. The hotel houses flight crews which could result in a shortage of rooms and the hotel refused to grant a courtesy 1hr late checkout. Car is necessary to visit neighboring towns and island. Overall good location for Kihei. Comfy spacious rooms and decent entertainment by pool area. Good happy hour prices

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

About .5 miles down is a center that contains restaurants, nightlife, and shopping. It's a long walk but a short ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rancho santa margarita, ca
Nov 3, 2010

maui coast hotel

the rooms were excellant...bathroom was a little tight, but not biggie! The front desk staff were all very pleasant, especially one guy called [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sami
Business
Illinois, USA
Aug 31, 2011

Girls Getaway

The hotel was very nice and clean....everything from the room to the pool! The hotel was right across from the beach and in a nice central location on the island....easy to get pretty much everywhere. It was also within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. There is also a shuttle provided that will take you within a 3 mile radius which is nice for the luau at the Marriott so you don't have to drive! The only downfall was the $17.50 resort fee every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weekendtravels
Business
Salem,OR
Jun 26, 2012

Very clean hotel and friendly staff

This hotel was clean and comfortable. The room (2 queens) was a little bit small for 2 people. The balcony was nice for drying towels. The room had a safe, microwave, and small fridge. The beds were really comfy and there was a reading chair in the room. The wifi was slow! It basically only worked for me early in the morning or late at night. The pool was nice but was a little bit small for the size of the hotel. The pool restaurant's food was okay. Nothing to get too excited over but not bad (a little pricey). The chairs at the restaurant and pool are uncomfortable. The work out room looked fantastic but I didn't use it because we were busy doing other things. **The only thing that will stop me from coming back to this hotel is the location. If I am going to visit a tropical island I want it to be more tropical. This hotel is sort of in the middle of a working man's town and not feeling that tropical. I was attending a wedding and some of the other guests rented condos with ocean views/beach access for about the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kihei cafe is good. The banana/macademia nut french toast with coconut syrup is awesome. S&Q's coffee and shaved ice shack near Cafe O'Lei has awesome Hawaiian ice. Be sure to get the ice cream on the bottom and coconut milk on the top of the ice. So good. As far as beaches go, we loved Ulua in Wailea. It was about 7 mins by car. It was perfect for body surfing and had shade in the afternoon. We rented chairs from the hotel for $2.50 per chair/day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harmony college kid
Business
Los Angeles, California
Aug 22, 2012

Luxurious, relaxing getaway.

I really enjoyed this hotel. It had all the amenities and the hotel staff was very attentive and had answers to any questions. I really enjoyed the transportation service they offered of a 3 mile radius around the hotel. It was very useful to reach bus pick up areas and have access to all the good restaurants around. It was well located across from a beautiful beach with delicious restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe O Lei is absolutely delicious. We had the catch of the day and some sushi and both were superb. They do take reservations, but when we went on a Thursday night there was no wait.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gary the beast.
Business
Woodbridge Va
Nov 5, 2012

Very relaxing.

This is my second stay at this Hotel. Clean and the the staff are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Music by the pool

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bvmaltese
Business
Bristol, Tn
Feb 10, 2011

Loved the area. Hotel was nice.

Would have liked to had more coffee in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Worth driving up to Front St and shopping. Breakfast at the entrance of hotel was NOT good. Food nad/or service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 9, 2011

Great Hotel for the Price and Location.

The hotel was better then expected especially for a notoriously expensive place like Maui. It was located perfectly in the center of Kihea and across the street from a fantastic beach and down the street from many more. There was plenty of parking which is important since most everyone has a car in Maui and the staff was friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean, spacious and filled with all necessities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

LuLu's sports bar for some great football watching (Super Bowl) yet with a view of the ocean and a nice breeze.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
loving the maui coast!
Business
Erie, Colorado
Sep 2, 2009

Perfect for the occasion!

We were visiting our daughter and fiance who live in Maui and this hotel was so close to where they lived. It was very affordable and the room we had was a great size. Would have loved to have had free internet in the room, but they did offer computers in the open air lobby that were free and I was even able to print out my boarding passes when it was time to go! Nice staff. The rooms were always clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on, even better then my own bed at home!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just across the street to the left of the hotel is a great public beach. Clean and a great spot to watch the sunset!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top