$259 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

Maui Coast Hotel

3 stars
2259 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
489 reviews
Great experience

My husband and I had a terrific stay at Maui Coast. The staff was friendly and accommodating and... See full review

  • Vacationer2956
  • Nov 16, 2014
Great hotel in kihei

This is our second stay at Maui Coast and we really live the location and the value. The only thing... See full review

  • Mainland fever
  • Jul 26, 2014
Choose the Maui Coast Hotel, and enjoy a laid-back, slow-paced vacation. One of 40 hotels in the Coast Hotels and Resorts chain, the hotel's guestrooms contain paintings from local artists, as well as verandas to admire the beauty of Hawaii. Live music is featured nightly at the poolside bar, while staff members are happy to serve you a fruit-adorned drink. To get your heart racing a little faster, check out the fitness center located on the premises; tennis enthusiasts will enjoy the lighted courts. Connect to the Internet, while you're away from home or the office, at two free terminals near the front desk.
Key facts
  • 7 floors
  • Free shuttle
  • 2 restaurants: 'Ami 'Ami Bar & Grill and Kamaole Poolside Cafe and Bar
  • Room service
  • Outdoor pool
  • Tennis court
  • 2 meeting/conference rooms
  • Business center
  • Concierge services
Neighborhood
Found in the coastal beauty spot and tourist-favorite Kihei, the Maui Coast Hotel is only a block away from Kamaole Beach Park I, and also within walking distance of local bars, restaurants and shopping. The Shops at Wailea is an excellent place to find clothing, jewelry and other luxury accessories, at stores ranging from Gucci to a Hawaiian-standard ABC outlet. For the golf enthusiast, the Maui Coast Hotel is close to four outstanding golf courses.
Hints and tips

When heading to the beach, ask the front desk for a towel and umbrella, which are free for guests to borrow.

If snorkeling's on the agenda, you'll want to head 10 minutes away for the sea turtles and (seasonal) whale watching opportunities at Makena Beach instead.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7238 -156.4464
Area served
Kihei, Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport-OGG
Area description
Just across the street from Kamaole Beach I continuing on with a wide stretch of beautiful, award-winning beaches, surrounded by several shops and restaurants this seven-story hotel is just 2 miles from the upscale Wailea area and championship golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maui Coast Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Maui Coast Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite
519 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. In addition, Hawaiian artwork from famous local artist Avi Kiriaty is displayed. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Deluxe Room
355 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
One-Bedroom Suite
545 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is One King Bed in the Bedroom and One Pullout Sofa Bed in the Living Room. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Televisions, New Furnishings, Microwaves, Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Wet Bar and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Dining

Kama'ole Poolside Caf
The Poolside Bar/Cafe provide the following: Lunch; Dinner; Full Bar; Nightly Entertainment; Open Daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (489)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Coast Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 489
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 17, 2008

My review of Maui Coast Hotel

the room's t.v. was super tiny. the ac didn't keep a consistent temp. the maids started cleaning way too early...vacuum in the hall right on the other side of the wall we were sleeping. not friendly at front desk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is close to this hotel.the best beach for sunsets is right across the beach.the best fish taco's on the island are at fred's mexican grill downstairs from moose mcgillicudy's. the best breakfast at the five palms which is in a hotel i don't remember the name of but its on the main street that runs through kihei

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
elevatorwiz
Business
Fullerton, Ca
Jun 24, 2009

avoid the maui coast hotel

friendly staff, fair price, clean rooms, but the beds were so soft/worn out, that i opted to sleep on the floor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

the keihi cafe has a great breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Psychobob
Business
Las Vegas
Apr 22, 2014

Good value

Despite requesting an upper floor, the desk clerk stuck us at the end of the hall on the third floor. The disregard was contemptible, and I would hesitate to recommend the hotel because of her. The breakfast served by room service was also deplorable, and room service was not used again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great tex-mex at Fred's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flower
Business
Mountain View, CA
Oct 21, 2010

Great location but not great service

I went there with my husband and parents in law, the location was really great with the beach across the street. The hotel was nice but the food at the hotel is very expensive and not good at all (and also you don't have much choices in the menu). The Hotel has a mandatory fee per day, this fee is for the use of the hotel installations, of course you don't have the option of not paying it. I think that for the price that you pay for each night at the Hotel they don't have to charge you anything else. You don't have internet in you room and if you want it you have to pay it. In the lobby you have 3 PC's with Internet, but you have to be standing up 'cause they are high. The receptionists of the Hotel don't have enough information of the area and places for dinner or lunch. Another bad point is that the view from each room is not good 'cause you only see the parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You have lots of activities such as snorkeling, scuba diving, kayaking, whale view, etc. We did snorkeling with the Pacific Whale Foundation and it was AMAZING!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Inalifetime
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Jan 10, 2011

Odd hotel

The hotel is in a good location in Kihei across the street from the beach and a short walk to shopping areas. However, it's strangely designed/ built with a parking lot at the from (the hotel is further from the beach) and no ocean view from any of the rooms. The architect should be fired!!! There's a resort fee which is just obnoxious considering that this is not a resort. The pool area is very small and right next to the parking lot. The good thing is the free wireless in the rooms. The pool area/ bar has live music 6-10pm and can be clearly heard to the rooms. The rooms are nicely done and include a fridge and microwave. I call this an 'odd hotel' because I want to really like it (location, rooms, staff, wireless) but it's actually a glorified motel (parking lot views from rooms) and the darn resort fee annoys me as you actually don't get anything for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarkets are close by (walking distance) so you save quite a bit e.g. in breakfast costs, snacks, etc. The rooms have a fridge and a microwave so you can eat in if you so choose.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tvern
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jan 15, 2011

Good location, this stay was just okay

We've stayed at the hotel in the past and were very impressed. This time around we did not have the same experience. We would be away from the room for 5-7 hours and the staff couldn't find the time to clean the room until we returned. We had to wait several times. They couldn't help us with multiple beds (I don't care for sofa beds) and only allowed one hour for late checkout. It seems they are more interested in catering to airline staff. They wouldn't even allow you to change the channel in the workout room. We love the location but will probably look harder at other options next time. Easy walk to restaurants, shops and nice beaches. Kudos to Moose's (breakfast), Denny's (breakfast), Beach Bums in Maalaea (lunch), Hula Cookie in Maalaea (great any time of the day - get the ice cream sandwich with two different cookies) and Cafe O'Lei (lunch).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Get the brisket sandwich and green bean casserole at Beach Bums at Maalea Harbor. After that, get an ice cream sandwich at Hula Cookie (upstairs from Beach Bums).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cgal
Business
California, USA
Mar 19, 2012

good place but...

The bed was supposed to be a queen but felt like it was just a double bed. Why can't they just give a regular shape pillows instead of those huge square pillow that doesn't even fit on the bed. The ammenities are good but then again you have to pay for it even if you won't use it. The location is great and close to nice beach and good restaurants. Overall, I will stay here again if I don't have to pay for ammenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary Eliz
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 27, 2013

Not value for your money

Room is expensive for what it offers. They charge an extra $18per day for amenities - which ideally should be included in the room charge itself like parking fee etc. Compared to other hotels we stayed in recently, this is not value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jul 10, 2010

Vacation in Maui

Nice room. Bikes, pool and laundry room were useful. Walking distance to nice swimming and activity beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Many tour activities will pick you up at your hotel. Pride of Maui had a great snorkeling cruise. Hotel also has a free shuttle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Nov 20, 2010

Nice place to stay in Kihei

This was our first time to Kihei. We usually travel to Mexico (Cabo). I really enjoyed the atmosphere, hospitality, people, weather and close proximity of everything. One thing the hotel didnt have when we arrived was a pool. We booked this specific hotel for one primary reason. It had a kids pool. Unfortunately it was under renovation when we visited the island. They did offer us access to the pool next store at the Wyndam which was just fine and fairly close. Food was great at Spices there resteraunt on site, rooms were wonderfully sized (Jr. Suite) and the onsite conceirge was very helpful planning our adventures. I have been to many "fancy" hotels and this is not one of them. However it was relaxing, clean, functional, convenient to all venues and they loaned out bicycles as a perk to all guests. I would stay here again but will research other hotels now that we are very familiar with the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Joe's Bar and Grill was the best dining experience my wife and I had on the island. Grandma volunteered to babysit the little one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top