$229 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Maui Coast Hotel

3 stars
2259 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
487 reviews
Great hotel in kihei

This is our second stay at Maui Coast and we really live the location and the value. The only thing... See full review

  • Mainland fever
  • Jul 26, 2014
Fantastic Vacation

Great Location and very friendly Staff. Best Vacation ever See full review

  • JJ and Tina
  • Apr 13, 2014
Choose the Maui Coast Hotel, and enjoy a laid-back, slow-paced vacation. One of 40 hotels in the Coast Hotels and Resorts chain, the hotel's guestrooms contain paintings from local artists, as well as verandas to admire the beauty of Hawaii. Live music is featured nightly at the poolside bar, while staff members are happy to serve you a fruit-adorned drink. To get your heart racing a little faster, check out the fitness center located on the premises; tennis enthusiasts will enjoy the lighted courts. Connect to the Internet, while you're away from home or the office, at two free terminals near the front desk.
Key facts
  • 7 floors
  • Free shuttle
  • 2 restaurants: 'Ami 'Ami Bar & Grill and Kamaole Poolside Cafe and Bar
  • Room service
  • Outdoor pool
  • Tennis court
  • 2 meeting/conference rooms
  • Business center
  • Concierge services
Neighborhood
Found in the coastal beauty spot and tourist-favorite Kihei, the Maui Coast Hotel is only a block away from Kamaole Beach Park I, and also within walking distance of local bars, restaurants and shopping. The Shops at Wailea is an excellent place to find clothing, jewelry and other luxury accessories, at stores ranging from Gucci to a Hawaiian-standard ABC outlet. For the golf enthusiast, the Maui Coast Hotel is close to four outstanding golf courses.
Hints and tips

When heading to the beach, ask the front desk for a towel and umbrella, which are free for guests to borrow.

If snorkeling's on the agenda, you'll want to head 10 minutes away for the sea turtles and (seasonal) whale watching opportunities at Makena Beach instead.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7238 -156.4464
Area served
Kihei, Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport-OGG
Area description
Just across the street from Kamaole Beach I continuing on with a wide stretch of beautiful, award-winning beaches, surrounded by several shops and restaurants this seven-story hotel is just 2 miles from the upscale Wailea area and championship golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maui Coast Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Maui Coast Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite
519 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. In addition, Hawaiian artwork from famous local artist Avi Kiriaty is displayed. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Deluxe Room
355 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
One-Bedroom Suite
545 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is One King Bed in the Bedroom and One Pullout Sofa Bed in the Living Room. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Televisions, New Furnishings, Microwaves, Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Wet Bar and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Dining

Kama'ole Poolside Caf
The Poolside Bar/Cafe provide the following: Lunch; Dinner; Full Bar; Nightly Entertainment; Open Daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (487)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Coast Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
487 out of 487
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sahster
Orange County, California
Sep 25, 2011

Maui Coast Hotel vacation

Friendly staff, clean/well-kept room, nice pool, proximity to great Maui beaches (e.g. Kamaole)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
Sep 7, 2009

Relaxing Trip and unbeatable location!

Amazing room, although, the only amenity that was lacking was free wifi in the room. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was clean, looked great and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii travel
Maryland
May 2, 2009

Better than expected

Clean. Bathrooms seem upgraded and/or new.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ALOHADAN
SAN JOSE, CA
Aug 26, 2013

Great, EXCEPT

FIX THE 2ND ELEVATOR!!!!! GREAT LOCATION GREAT POOL GREAT VALUE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weekendtravels
Salem,OR
Jun 26, 2012

Very clean hotel and friendly staff

This hotel was clean and comfortable. The room (2 queens) was a little bit small for 2 people. The balcony was nice for drying towels. The room had a safe, microwave, and small fridge. The beds were really comfy and there was a reading chair in the room. The wifi was slow! It basically only worked for me early in the morning or late at night. The pool was nice but was a little bit small for the size of the hotel. The pool restaurant's food was okay. Nothing to get too excited over but not bad (a little pricey). The chairs at the restaurant and pool are uncomfortable. The work out room looked fantastic but I didn't use it because we were busy doing other things. **The only thing that will stop me from coming back to this hotel is the location. If I am going to visit a tropical island I want it to be more tropical. This hotel is sort of in the middle of a working man's town and not feeling that tropical. I was attending a wedding and some of the other guests rented condos with ocean views/beach access for about the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kihei cafe is good. The banana/macademia nut french toast with coconut syrup is awesome. S&Q's coffee and shaved ice shack near Cafe O'Lei has awesome Hawaiian ice. Be sure to get the ice cream on the bottom and coconut milk on the top of the ice. So good. As far as beaches go, we loved Ulua in Wailea. It was about 7 mins by car. It was perfect for body surfing and had shade in the afternoon. We rented chairs from the hotel for $2.50 per chair/day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
davidw1940
Santa Clara, CA, USA
Feb 28, 2012

one annoying fact

It is annoying that there is a $17 per day fee added to the hotel rate. Why is this not included in the package deal. At least the internet connection was not additional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places to eat within short walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sylvia Super Traveler
Colorado
Jul 13, 2009

Super Location

We were very pleased with all of the renovations that had been done at this location. They were still completing the internet station while we were there but were most un-intrusive about it. Our room was very quiet and well maintained, staff was most friendly. All in all a perfect location and stay (all except the hotel coffee). We saw people returning to their rooms each morning with either the ABC Store coffee or Starbucks in their hands.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 7, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

We ultimately ended up choosing to stay at the Maui Coast hotel over the larger resorts in Ka'anapali because, as a couple, we wanted to avoid throngs of children and large tourist crowds. Location: The location ended up being perfect because all of the essentials were within a short walk or short drive of the hotel: ABC Store, Longs Drugs, plenty of great local places to eat, shaved ice, and a fantastic sandy beach across the street. It made for a great home base. It is a bit of a drive to the more touristy towns like Lahaina and Ka'anapali, but if you're in no hurry, it's always a pleasant drive considering just about every major highway hugs the coastline. Hotel Amenities: Our room was on the 7th floor and had a lovely view of the ocean. It was fairly quiet (especially considering we never closed our lanai door) and we were pleasantly surprised that there was a ceiling fan in the room. The flat screen TV, soft feathertopped mattresses, and mini-fridge/micro were great. The only complaint is the size of the bathroom, where the door does intrude quite a bit into the bathroom. However, this really wasn't an issue for us and the bathroom fixtures were very modern. Also, a final plus was the complimentary washers and dryers, which meant on our last night, we were able to wash all of our clothes and take home clean clothes rather than having the pleasure of washing everything as soon as we got back. Also, on site is a Local Expert who helped us book our trips. It was much nicer than the high pressure booking situations in Lahaina, with folks trying to pull you in off the street and bribe you with freebies. Re: the pool - we never used it, and frankly don't really understand using it when there's a perfectly fine beach across the street, but it was rather small. However, it seemed nice enough and it was never crowded. In the evening, there was music entertainment and we swung by for a happy hour one evening. If you're looking for one of those huge fancy resort pools, Ka'anapali is the place for you. Overall: This hotel is a great choice if you shy away from places that are packed with tourists and are looking for a more authentic experience. Also, because it's not as touristy an area, you'll find a lot of savings at restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Hit up the local Longs or Foodland and grab your essentials for a great trip: a flat of water, juices, and a cooler. Maui is pretty hot so keeping a stash of cold waters and juice in a cooler in the trunk ensures you don't get dehydrated and avoid paying for bottled water everywhere you go. Also, to help out maid service, leave your cans and bottles in a separate bag by the trash so they can recycle it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Maui
portland, Oregon
Sep 7, 2014

nice hotel

Nice rooms and staff. Hotel was clean. Pool wasn't anything special but does the job. Good location and great value. I would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Free laundry on site. Pack light and wash your clothes at the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Livestrong
California, USA
Sep 25, 2011

vacation getaway

After reading the reviews I decided to give the Maui Coast hotel a try for my first trip to Maui - I enjoyed my stay, staff was helpful and the beach was just a short walk across the street. It was also nice that they had bikes there which was included in the hotel fee, so people can cycle around town to do sight seeing plus to work off all the good eats from the local food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Kihei cafe for breakfast - good food and price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search