$185 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Maui Coast Hotel

3 stars
2259 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
784 reviews
Great hotel in kihei

This is our second stay at Maui Coast and we really live the location and the value. The only thing... See full review

  • Mainland fever
  • Jul 26, 2014
Fantastic Vacation

Great Location and very friendly Staff. Best Vacation ever See full review

  • JJ and Tina
  • Apr 13, 2014
Choose the Maui Coast Hotel, and enjoy a laid-back, slow-paced vacation. One of 40 hotels in the Coast Hotels and Resorts chain, the hotel's guestrooms contain paintings from local artists, as well as verandas to admire the beauty of Hawaii. Live music is featured nightly at the poolside bar, while staff members are happy to serve you a fruit-adorned drink. To get your heart racing a little faster, check out the fitness center located on the premises; tennis enthusiasts will enjoy the lighted courts. Connect to the Internet, while you're away from home or the office, at two free terminals near the front desk.
Key facts
  • 7 floors
  • Free shuttle
  • 2 restaurants: 'Ami 'Ami Bar & Grill and Kamaole Poolside Cafe and Bar
  • Room service
  • Outdoor pool
  • Tennis court
  • 2 meeting/conference rooms
  • Business center
  • Concierge services
Neighborhood
Found in the coastal beauty spot and tourist-favorite Kihei, the Maui Coast Hotel is only a block away from Kamaole Beach Park I, and also within walking distance of local bars, restaurants and shopping. The Shops at Wailea is an excellent place to find clothing, jewelry and other luxury accessories, at stores ranging from Gucci to a Hawaiian-standard ABC outlet. For the golf enthusiast, the Maui Coast Hotel is close to four outstanding golf courses.
Hints and tips

When heading to the beach, ask the front desk for a towel and umbrella, which are free for guests to borrow.

If snorkeling's on the agenda, you'll want to head 10 minutes away for the sea turtles and (seasonal) whale watching opportunities at Makena Beach instead.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7238 -156.4464
Area served
Kihei, Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport-OGG
Area description
Just across the street from Kamaole Beach I continuing on with a wide stretch of beautiful, award-winning beaches, surrounded by several shops and restaurants this seven-story hotel is just 2 miles from the upscale Wailea area and championship golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maui Coast Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Maui Coast Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
355 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Junior Suite
519 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. In addition, Hawaiian artwork from famous local artist Avi Kiriaty is displayed. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
One-Bedroom Suite
545 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is One King Bed in the Bedroom and One Pullout Sofa Bed in the Living Room. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Televisions, New Furnishings, Microwaves, Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Wet Bar and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Dining

Kama'ole Poolside Caf
The Poolside Bar/Cafe provide the following: Lunch; Dinner; Full Bar; Nightly Entertainment; Open Daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (784)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Coast Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
784 out of 784
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, California
Nov 9, 2010

For a three star hotel it was great

I wish I would have known in advance that the pool and jacuzzi were closed for renovations but the rest of the hotel was very pleasant, clean and recently renovated. I liked having computers available in the lobby to use to check my email and print out my airline boarding passes to the front desk. I loved having housekeeping to help keep the room tidy, room service available and bicycles we could check out for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We drove up to Maalea Bay to go to the aquarium and stopped by the Pacific Whale Foundation. We purchased a family membership and this provided us discounts on aquarium admission, dolphin watching and snorkling tours. The tours were wonderful. We saw whales, dolphins and green sea turtles on our trip.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chaconne
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 12, 2009

Friendly staff but poor room clearning

We did not spend lots of time at this hotel, since we usually went out to the beach and other nice places. The front desk staff was very friendly (even to the airline crew who stayed there), and was able to address my problem during check-in. Besides the pool is small (under construction), a major disappointment during our stay was the daily room cleaning. The maid did not give use new soap, shampoo, sugar & creme, etc for at least 2 consecutive nights. Another bad thing is that, the concierge staff was not very helpful or was not in a good mood to answer our questions. This also made our stay from a 4-star experience down to 3.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
fargo ND
Sep 14, 2009

Hotel review

The resteraunt was average, a little pricey for what you got. Drink specials good price and tasty Pool small and not as clean as it could have been. Beach area across road was nice. Rooms clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Sep 10, 2009

Just a place to sleep

Small requests from the front desk was unwelcomed. Housekeeping had a hard time keeping the bathroom stocked with simple things like soap and mouthwash. Overall service was inconsistent. Spend the extra cash for a better stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lahaina is a great location. Nice beaches, great shopping, great food, plenty of activities and entertainment. Lahaina is where I would stay the next time I go to Maui.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Nov 20, 2010

Nice place to stay in Kihei

This was our first time to Kihei. We usually travel to Mexico (Cabo). I really enjoyed the atmosphere, hospitality, people, weather and close proximity of everything. One thing the hotel didnt have when we arrived was a pool. We booked this specific hotel for one primary reason. It had a kids pool. Unfortunately it was under renovation when we visited the island. They did offer us access to the pool next store at the Wyndam which was just fine and fairly close. Food was great at Spices there resteraunt on site, rooms were wonderfully sized (Jr. Suite) and the onsite conceirge was very helpful planning our adventures. I have been to many "fancy" hotels and this is not one of them. However it was relaxing, clean, functional, convenient to all venues and they loaned out bicycles as a perk to all guests. I would stay here again but will research other hotels now that we are very familiar with the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Joe's Bar and Grill was the best dining experience my wife and I had on the island. Grandma volunteered to babysit the little one.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Sep 28, 2009

Hotel review

Hotel was in an ok location. Rooms had really loud a/c units and was stuffy without them. Overall all staff was friendly. Had 3 computers to use internet access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

about a 2 min drive go to foodland, a grocery store to pick up food.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Sep 10, 2009

Just a place to sleep

Small requests from the front desk was unwelcomed. Housekeeping had a hard time keeping the bathroom stocked with simple things like soap and mouthwash. Overall service was inconsistent. Spend the extra cash for a better stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lahaina is a great location. Nice beaches, great shopping, great food, plenty of activities and entertainment. Lahaina is where I would stay the next time I go to Maui.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flower
Mountain View, CA
Oct 21, 2010

Great location but not great service

I went there with my husband and parents in law, the location was really great with the beach across the street. The hotel was nice but the food at the hotel is very expensive and not good at all (and also you don't have much choices in the menu). The Hotel has a mandatory fee per day, this fee is for the use of the hotel installations, of course you don't have the option of not paying it. I think that for the price that you pay for each night at the Hotel they don't have to charge you anything else. You don't have internet in you room and if you want it you have to pay it. In the lobby you have 3 PC's with Internet, but you have to be standing up 'cause they are high. The receptionists of the Hotel don't have enough information of the area and places for dinner or lunch. Another bad point is that the view from each room is not good 'cause you only see the parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You have lots of activities such as snorkeling, scuba diving, kayaking, whale view, etc. We did snorkeling with the Pacific Whale Foundation and it was AMAZING!!

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
seattle, wa
Nov 8, 2010

Half and Half

We were on our first family vacation - which included my husband and our daughter as well as my parents... When we arrived at the hotel our 1 year old daughter was asleep and needed a place to take a nap - but unfortunately our room wasn't ready. We were early but I've never been to a hotel where our room wasn't ready even when we arrived 2-3 hours before official check-in time. Our room reservations were also not what we asked for - one King size bed - instead the hotel had us down for two Queen size beds. There was one room that they found was available with a King size bed on the bottom floor. So we just took it so our daughter could sleep. My parents ended up staying in that room... A few hours later our room was ready and I think the employee at the front desk could see my irritation we were given a bit of an upgrade for our second room. It was on the top floor and it was much bigger and brighter and just so much nicer in so many ways.... But my husband and I felt awful that my parents didn't get the same type of room that we did. It was a nuisance being on separate floors from them. The other thing we didn't enjoy about the hotel was the $15 daily "resort" fee - - this is something that we've had before and somehow you never know about it until you arrive at the hotel. AND we didn't use anything that the fee applied to! I'm not sure how hotels get away with that. That added up to an additional $200 for the week for both of our rooms together. It's worse than the "baggage" fee that the airlines charge. Also the pool was closed! So we had to use the one next door...which is not so convinient when you have a small child with you. And we had gotten strawberries and other things on the bed - daughter was eating in the bed - so we left a note requesting a sheet change and that never happened during our whole stay. Overall - we probably won't stay there again.....the room was nice but everything else was not very inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're looking to save money on food - a condo is you're best bet so you can shop and cook for yourself. We've been to hawaii 3 other times - but for some reason during this trip every time we went to a restaurant the bill was $80+ and the waiter already put in the tip. It was very strange...

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 13, 2007

Guest Service

The hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating. The staff in the restaurant and pool bar were another story. My wife and I took a walk one morning and purchased two cups of coffee. We walked back to the hotel and we decided to stop into the restaurant for breakfast. The two hostesses were sitting at a table talking and looked up at us like we were disturbing them. One hostess walked up and said,You can't bring those in here I said, Excuse me? She said you can't bring outside coffee into the restaurant. Her whole attitude made us walk out. The coffees we had were almost done and we were going to order more with breakfast. What happened to the Aloha Spirit The female bartender at the pool bar was the most unfriendly person I have met behind a bar. I think she left her personality in her other body. I tried to make small talk with her while she poured my beer but I got no response. My wife walked up for a drink and the bartender kept talking to another employee at the other end of the bar. She finally asked us across the bar if we needed anything. I am a Food and Beverage Manager in Las Vegas and if any of my staff would treat our guests this way, they would not have a job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many places to eat within walking distance from the hotel as well as bars. The beach is across the street.

Back to menu Return to top