$386 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Maui Coast Hotel

3 stars
2259 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
492 reviews
Great experience

My husband and I had a terrific stay at Maui Coast. The staff was friendly and accommodating and... See full review

  • Vacationer2956
  • Nov 16, 2014
Great hotel in kihei

This is our second stay at Maui Coast and we really live the location and the value. The only thing... See full review

  • Mainland fever
  • Jul 26, 2014
Choose the Maui Coast Hotel, and enjoy a laid-back, slow-paced vacation. One of 40 hotels in the Coast Hotels and Resorts chain, the hotel's guestrooms contain paintings from local artists, as well as verandas to admire the beauty of Hawaii. Live music is featured nightly at the poolside bar, while staff members are happy to serve you a fruit-adorned drink. To get your heart racing a little faster, check out the fitness center located on the premises; tennis enthusiasts will enjoy the lighted courts. Connect to the Internet, while you're away from home or the office, at two free terminals near the front desk.
Key facts
  • 7 floors
  • Free shuttle
  • 2 restaurants: 'Ami 'Ami Bar & Grill and Kamaole Poolside Cafe and Bar
  • Room service
  • Outdoor pool
  • Tennis court
  • 2 meeting/conference rooms
  • Business center
  • Concierge services
Neighborhood
Found in the coastal beauty spot and tourist-favorite Kihei, the Maui Coast Hotel is only a block away from Kamaole Beach Park I, and also within walking distance of local bars, restaurants and shopping. The Shops at Wailea is an excellent place to find clothing, jewelry and other luxury accessories, at stores ranging from Gucci to a Hawaiian-standard ABC outlet. For the golf enthusiast, the Maui Coast Hotel is close to four outstanding golf courses.
Hints and tips

When heading to the beach, ask the front desk for a towel and umbrella, which are free for guests to borrow.

If snorkeling's on the agenda, you'll want to head 10 minutes away for the sea turtles and (seasonal) whale watching opportunities at Makena Beach instead.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maui Coast Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Maui Coast Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
355 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Junior Suite
519 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. In addition, Hawaiian artwork from famous local artist Avi Kiriaty is displayed. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
One-Bedroom Suite
545 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is One King Bed in the Bedroom and One Pullout Sofa Bed in the Living Room. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Televisions, New Furnishings, Microwaves, Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Wet Bar and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Dining

Kama'ole Poolside Caf
The Poolside Bar/Cafe provide the following: Lunch; Dinner; Full Bar; Nightly Entertainment; Open Daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (492)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Coast Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
492 out of 492
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jargabright23
Business
San Jose, Ca
Jun 1, 2009

Great Deal In Kehei!

Great hotel. Had the Jr Suite. Room was very modern and brand new! Flat panel tv, super comfy beds with beautiful soft white comforters. Bar area with sink and fridge. Large room in general with a big restroom and huge tub. Right in the middle of Kihei within walking distance of all sorts of stuff! I couldn't beleive what a deal for the money it was. VERY HAPPY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Stella Blues Cafe for breakfast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eventual Traveler
Business
Fresno, CA
Jun 19, 2009

Perfect choice for the price.

It's location is perfect, so it became a perfect homebase for our trip. Nice parks and beaches at a walking distance. Plenty of restaurants and shops in the area. The room was cleaned daily by friendly staff, the room had ample space, the king size bed was jut perfect (so much that I'll be shopping for the same mattress), the closet was equiped with complementary security box. I noticed daily that airline crews (pilots and flight attendants) were dropped off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Reasonable drive to/from international airport. Central location, equidistant to either east or west side of the Island. The most incredible beaches if you drive south on hwy 31.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lango
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jun 21, 2009

Maui Coast Hotel

The hotel itself was very nice and fresh. The room was clean, large and quite nicely decorated with newer items. The pool area was also to my satisfaction with the outside bar area. The restaurant "Spices" on the other hand, will not be getting my business again. The biggest problem is that the restaurant is located too far from the hotel. Staff must carry food across the parking lot in order to provide room service. Same thing for Pupu's at the pool bar area. Also, during breakfast at the restaurant, the staff was quite rude making comments and almost throwing food down on the table. Overall, I'd stay at the hotel again, but will not waste my time with the restaurant..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scarygary
Business
riverside,ca.
Jul 5, 2009

great time

friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maui
Jul 18, 2009

It's all good in Maui !!!

Our first trip to Maui. We found the Maui Coast Hotel to be just what we wanted. The bed was perfect! We slept great and that was the most important thing for us! Nice and quiet. We enjoyed the beach towels. We checked out two every day without a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the coupons for buy one get one half off. They are everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G..R..
Business
Burnaby, BC
Aug 25, 2009

Cheers for Maui overall

Beautiful location and well taken care of hotel. Not as efficient with cleaning rooms (i.e., ran out of soap, coffee condiments, requesting pillow case be changed and wasn't, wouldn't let delivery person bring pizza to the room so had to get dressed and walk down to front desk, and charged $10 day for internet use in room as brought lap top and did not want to wait in line up for free ones at front desk). This was a huge concern as every hotel I have stayed in provides internet access free as part of room charge. On plus side, clean and nice looking hotel with pool outdoors, catering at pool, courtesy washing machines for getting ready for trip home. Sunnier side of Maui, great for jogging but farther away from activities. As a result, might stay on West Maui side next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Wonderful show that has run for 10 years called Ulalena. Worth seeing. We bought VIP show that included a meal and meeting the cast. Expensive night but well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guard259
Business
Abington, PA
Sep 7, 2009

Good location on island. nice room.

I think we stayed in a good geographic location on the island. The room was nice. We didn't hang out much in the Hotel because there is so much to do on island! It was always nice to come back to a comfortable bed and good shower. Big rooms, fridge, micro, coffeemaker. Beaches are across street, and very close. I would come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit up Fred's for Mexican a few blocks south on Kihei street. Excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eagle 1943
Business
Poulsbo, WA
Sep 15, 2009

Nice Hotel on Maui

The people were very friendly and helpful beginning with the desk clerk who checked us in, [...], and all the others who served us food & drink and took care of our rooms. This hotel was a very good buy for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Makena Beach and south. Very interesting views and walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
slowroller3
Business
post falls,ID
Sep 30, 2009

nice vacation experience

great location for a vacation spot. nice view while layin out at the pool or the beach, which is just across the street. There are nice restaurants in the area. The nite life is fun, u gotta check out the tiki bar, and lu lu's restaurant. On the third day I went north of the hotel location and went on a submarine tour. Pretty cool to go 127 feet below the surface and see the school's of fish and sharks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maui Lover
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 8, 2009

Lovely stay at the Maui Coast

What a wonderful experience! The Maui Coast surpassed all of our expectations. Sure our standard room was on the smaller end of the spectrum and the bathroom was a little cramped but it was clean, superbly comfortable (ahhh, the beds!) and tastefully decorated. Check in and check out was a breeze and the front desk agents were friendly and helpful. The free internet in the lobby is a great asset but the 3 stations are frequently occupied. Of course if it was free in the rooms that would be the most ideal but I think it was like, $10 a day to use. Lame. The fitness center gets the job done and is clean with new equipment. The hotel and it's grounds are impeccably manicured and well maintained. I most appreciated its proximity to the beach-- just right across the street. All you have to do is head down the driveway, make a left towards the intersection, cross the street and there it is- a gorgeous, relaxing beach to enjoy. Our seventh floor eastward facing room had a great ocean view and a balcony by which to really enjoy it. Loved having a mini-fridge to keep all our beverages cold as well as a microwave to enjoy leftovers. The Maui Coast is situated in the most ideal location. Lots to do, lots to see and lots of conveniences to take advantage of. I suppose my only gripe would be with the housekeeping policy where, even if you have your "do not disturb" sign out, they can open the door and check on the condition of your room sometime after 2pm. Really wasn't a problem but just a bit of a nuisance. Didn't get a chance to try any of the food outlets at the hotel although was interested in the $5 breakfast offered at "Spices." It seemed to get pretty busy in the a.m. so I imagine it was at least decent. You must try Cafe O'Lei down the street for lunch. Food is delicious and prices can't be beat. Originally went there for dinner which was amazing and we thought worth the $20+ entree price but then we stopped in for lunch and it was literally the same dishes & portions for less than half the price! Must try the blackened mahi and the fettuccine dish! Yum! Maui was amazing and the Maui Coast just made our trip all the more incredible. All in all, we cannot wait to go back to the island and we cannot wait to get back to the Maui Coast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top