$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

Maui Coast Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2259 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Maui Coast Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
532 out of 532
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Torrance, Californing
May 27, 2009

Hotel review

I was glad they had a laundry room in case you needed to do a load.. Next time I don't need to bring a suitcase of clothes... The pool was under construction when we went but they said we could use the the neighbooring hotels pool..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
May 27, 2009

Convenient,good location

I live in Honolulu and was only there for one night, so I think that's why they put me in the least desireable (view) room. The pool was closed on the day I was there, but I was spending time on the road sightseeing and at the beach so it was ok. Perfect location with great restaurants nearby. Clean and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fargo ND
Sep 14, 2009

Hotel review

The resteraunt was average, a little pricey for what you got. Drink specials good price and tasty Pool small and not as clean as it could have been. Beach area across road was nice. Rooms clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oahu
Sep 18, 2009

Good basic hotel with good service

Good basic hotel. Hotel was clean & service was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Inter-island kama'aina traveler
Business
Honolulu, HI
Aug 8, 2011

Fine

The room was excellent -- especially the mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee pot. Nice beds. Very clean. Friendly hotel staff. The pool, however, is quite small and not very "scenic." Nice poolside bar, though. It's across the street from the beach. The resort fee is astronomical given the lack of amenities it supposedly provides. For that kind of fee, the hotel needs to have a MUCH better pool as well as a tennis court, minigolf course, or some other fun things to do. No one was using either fitness center when we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We heard about a restaurant called Cafe O'Lei, and it was excellent. About a 10-minute walk from the hotel and then upstairs above some shops. Excellent food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
May 8, 2009

the hotel was okay.

The hotel was great. not a good location for the price. internet suck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jul 3, 2010

Karen's Kihei Maui Trip

Nice hotel within walking distance to the beach. Pool was nice. Restaurant on property was good. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Wish we would have stayed at a hotel on the beach to get those fabulous views but what we saved in dollars we were able to spend on fun excursions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Two exceptional meals we had were at Mama's Fish House by the airport and at the Marriott Wailea.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Jul 6, 2009

nice place, underwhelming service

The location is good if unspectacular (near lots of nice beaches but not on a beach), and the rooms have been recently renovated. The bed was great--I think the second most comfortable hotel bed I have stayed on. My complaint is that the front desk staff made me wait until exactly 3 pm before checking into my room, and then put me in a room close to an enormous and extremely loud piece of machinery (a cooling unit?) they have at the back of the hotel. The effect was something like having a jackhammer going about half a block away. I called down immediately to complain and they agreed to move me without my having to explain the problem in much detail--my sense was they are well aware of the noise, and deal with it by sticking some unlucky guest with the unit and hoping that that guest does not complain. When I went down to get the key to the new room the desk clerk would not meet my eye--could not tell if he was ashamed of their attempt to stick us with the lousy room or annoyed at me for having complained. In any case, it all worked out fine but a little more trouble getting settled than I would have liked on my honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Clean Sheets
Business
Sacramento, ca
Sep 9, 2014

Good Value

The stay was pleasant. The room was clean, beds were comfortable and there were ample amenities. Great location, with the beach right across the street and many great restaurants within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Inalifetime
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Jan 10, 2011

Odd hotel

The hotel is in a good location in Kihei across the street from the beach and a short walk to shopping areas. However, it's strangely designed/ built with a parking lot at the from (the hotel is further from the beach) and no ocean view from any of the rooms. The architect should be fired!!! There's a resort fee which is just obnoxious considering that this is not a resort. The pool area is very small and right next to the parking lot. The good thing is the free wireless in the rooms. The pool area/ bar has live music 6-10pm and can be clearly heard to the rooms. The rooms are nicely done and include a fridge and microwave. I call this an 'odd hotel' because I want to really like it (location, rooms, staff, wireless) but it's actually a glorified motel (parking lot views from rooms) and the darn resort fee annoys me as you actually don't get anything for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarkets are close by (walking distance) so you save quite a bit e.g. in breakfast costs, snacks, etc. The rooms have a fridge and a microwave so you can eat in if you so choose.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top