$310 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 5, 2015 Check-out: Mar 8, 2015

Maui Coast Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2259 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
493 reviews
Maui vacation

This hotel is a great place to stay if you like the town of Kihei. It is located a short driving... See full review

  • Marathon Marine
  • Jan 19, 2015
Great experience

My husband and I had a terrific stay at Maui Coast. The staff was friendly and accommodating and... See full review

  • Vacationer2956
  • Nov 16, 2014
Choose the Maui Coast Hotel, and enjoy a laid-back, slow-paced vacation. One of 40 hotels in the Coast Hotels and Resorts chain, the hotel's guestrooms contain paintings from local artists, as well as verandas to admire the beauty of Hawaii. Live music is featured nightly at the poolside bar, while staff members are happy to serve you a fruit-adorned drink. To get your heart racing a little faster, check out the fitness center located on the premises; tennis enthusiasts will enjoy the lighted courts. Connect to the Internet, while you're away from home or the office, at two free terminals near the front desk.
Key facts
  • 7 floors
  • Free shuttle
  • 2 restaurants: 'Ami 'Ami Bar & Grill and Kamaole Poolside Cafe and Bar
  • Room service
  • Outdoor pool
  • Tennis court
  • 2 meeting/conference rooms
  • Business center
  • Concierge services
Neighborhood
Found in the coastal beauty spot and tourist-favorite Kihei, the Maui Coast Hotel is only a block away from Kamaole Beach Park I, and also within walking distance of local bars, restaurants and shopping. The Shops at Wailea is an excellent place to find clothing, jewelry and other luxury accessories, at stores ranging from Gucci to a Hawaiian-standard ABC outlet. For the golf enthusiast, the Maui Coast Hotel is close to four outstanding golf courses.
Hints and tips

When heading to the beach, ask the front desk for a towel and umbrella, which are free for guests to borrow.

If snorkeling's on the agenda, you'll want to head 10 minutes away for the sea turtles and (seasonal) whale watching opportunities at Makena Beach instead.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maui Coast Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Maui Coast Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
355 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Junior Suite
519 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. In addition, Hawaiian artwork from famous local artist Avi Kiriaty is displayed. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
One-Bedroom Suite
545 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is One King Bed in the Bedroom and One Pullout Sofa Bed in the Living Room. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Televisions, New Furnishings, Microwaves, Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Wet Bar and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Dining

Kama'ole Poolside Caf
The Poolside Bar/Cafe provide the following: Lunch; Dinner; Full Bar; Nightly Entertainment; Open Daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (493)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Coast Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
493 out of 493
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
Mar 13, 2010

Nice but basic hotel

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. I bought a flight and hotel package through [...] but when i arrived to the hotel they charged a mandatory additional $15 resort fee per night. The hotel houses flight crews which could result in a shortage of rooms and the hotel refused to grant a courtesy 1hr late checkout. Car is necessary to visit neighboring towns and island. Overall good location for Kihei. Comfy spacious rooms and decent entertainment by pool area. Good happy hour prices

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

About .5 miles down is a center that contains restaurants, nightlife, and shopping. It's a long walk but a short ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Oct 13, 2010

Good news bad news

Good news was a great hotel for the price ...the bad news was that [...] Coast Hotels did not indicate that the pool would be closed for a remodel during our time. When we checked in we were told that the pool was closed but there was a pool in a location next door that we could use. No food or drink and a condo style pool was at the end of the path. I would like to have known this before we booked our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Baker boy
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 17, 2011

Not really Maui wowie

The hotel was in a good location. It was clean and friendly. However, we booked our room six months in advance. When we arrive , they gave us a room on the first floor with a view of a staircase and folks walking. We asked several times to be moved anywhere with a better view and was told nothing was available. Many flight crew people came and went during our 8 days and rooms could have been switched but management refused. Bummer. It's also annoying that there is a mandatory daily fee for things we don't need like washers. I'd rather pay for what I use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
paulguitar
Business
Shrewsbury, UK.
Oct 2, 2010

Good, but they need thermostat in rooms!

I booked a one bedroom suite for a single night. Decent room, good bed, reasonable value for Maui. The problem is that with a simple wall mounted air-conditioner, you have the option of roasting with it off in peace or having a bearable temperature with it on but an 'airport' leevel of noise from the unit. So you tend to end up fighting this all night and don't sleep well which defeats the object somewhat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Inter-island kama'aina traveler
Business
Honolulu, HI
Aug 8, 2011

Fine

The room was excellent -- especially the mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee pot. Nice beds. Very clean. Friendly hotel staff. The pool, however, is quite small and not very "scenic." Nice poolside bar, though. It's across the street from the beach. The resort fee is astronomical given the lack of amenities it supposedly provides. For that kind of fee, the hotel needs to have a MUCH better pool as well as a tennis court, minigolf course, or some other fun things to do. No one was using either fitness center when we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We heard about a restaurant called Cafe O'Lei, and it was excellent. About a 10-minute walk from the hotel and then upstairs above some shops. Excellent food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
May 8, 2009

the hotel was okay.

The hotel was great. not a good location for the price. internet suck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jul 3, 2010

Karen's Kihei Maui Trip

Nice hotel within walking distance to the beach. Pool was nice. Restaurant on property was good. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Wish we would have stayed at a hotel on the beach to get those fabulous views but what we saved in dollars we were able to spend on fun excursions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Two exceptional meals we had were at Mama's Fish House by the airport and at the Marriott Wailea.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Torrance, Californing
May 27, 2009

Hotel review

I was glad they had a laundry room in case you needed to do a load.. Next time I don't need to bring a suitcase of clothes... The pool was under construction when we went but they said we could use the the neighbooring hotels pool..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Jul 6, 2009

nice place, underwhelming service

The location is good if unspectacular (near lots of nice beaches but not on a beach), and the rooms have been recently renovated. The bed was great--I think the second most comfortable hotel bed I have stayed on. My complaint is that the front desk staff made me wait until exactly 3 pm before checking into my room, and then put me in a room close to an enormous and extremely loud piece of machinery (a cooling unit?) they have at the back of the hotel. The effect was something like having a jackhammer going about half a block away. I called down immediately to complain and they agreed to move me without my having to explain the problem in much detail--my sense was they are well aware of the noise, and deal with it by sticking some unlucky guest with the unit and hoping that that guest does not complain. When I went down to get the key to the new room the desk clerk would not meet my eye--could not tell if he was ashamed of their attempt to stick us with the lousy room or annoyed at me for having complained. In any case, it all worked out fine but a little more trouble getting settled than I would have liked on my honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
May 27, 2009

Convenient,good location

I live in Honolulu and was only there for one night, so I think that's why they put me in the least desireable (view) room. The pool was closed on the day I was there, but I was spending time on the road sightseeing and at the beach so it was ok. Perfect location with great restaurants nearby. Clean and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top