$231 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 3, 2015

Maui Coast Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2259 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Maui Coast Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
536 out of 536
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary Eliz
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 27, 2013

Not value for your money

Room is expensive for what it offers. They charge an extra $18per day for amenities - which ideally should be included in the room charge itself like parking fee etc. Compared to other hotels we stayed in recently, this is not value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
catfay
Business
california
Dec 26, 2013

Nice room, confused staff

Room is nice. We only spend one night there, so the required resort fee is a waste for us ... not a good place for people who only want to take a sleep during a long trip. But the room is good. The front lady made some mistakes when we checked out. She was not sure whether we paid or not, which made us a little late for flight check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
riqster
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

good location ,parking lot view

Hotel is right across the street from a decent looking beach. The main part of town is a couple of blocks away where you can get more decent food and entertainment than the hotel usually offers.The pool area is small but a good place to hang out at night if you like the band playing.Mixed drinks are pretty good but a little bit watered down.If you are located on the west side of the hotel ,make sure you're on the 1st or last couple of floors,otherwise your view would consist mainly of people in the parking area getting in and out of their cars.Overall, the hotel is o.k. for a few nights stay if that's all you're looking for. If you want a romantic ambiance,you might want to go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Baker boy
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 17, 2011

Not really Maui wowie

The hotel was in a good location. It was clean and friendly. However, we booked our room six months in advance. When we arrive , they gave us a room on the first floor with a view of a staircase and folks walking. We asked several times to be moved anywhere with a better view and was told nothing was available. Many flight crew people came and went during our 8 days and rooms could have been switched but management refused. Bummer. It's also annoying that there is a mandatory daily fee for things we don't need like washers. I'd rather pay for what I use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jul 10, 2010

Vacation in Maui

Nice room. Bikes, pool and laundry room were useful. Walking distance to nice swimming and activity beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Many tour activities will pick you up at your hotel. Pride of Maui had a great snorkeling cruise. Hotel also has a free shuttle.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 28, 2009

Hotel review

Hotel was in an ok location. Rooms had really loud a/c units and was stuffy without them. Overall all staff was friendly. Had 3 computers to use internet access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

about a 2 min drive go to foodland, a grocery store to pick up food.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 21, 2009

Ok budget property

While the rooms are freshly remodeled, they were poorly designed. You cannot take a shower without soaking the shower floor. The in room safe hardly holds anything and easily malfunctions. The shuttle driver cannot be relied upon to get you anywhere in a timely manner. The AC works but can take all night to cool the room down. Nice pool area, clean rooms. Not a bad budget property, but would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maui Tacos - just a few blocks away - good, cheap, quick meal.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Jul 29, 2007

Just okay

This hotel was just okay. The pool was small, the staff not overly friendly, and the price too high for the outdated and small rooms. We didn't think it was awful but were glad to move on to much nicer amenities and services at a different site later in our vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 13, 2007

Guest Service

The hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating. The staff in the restaurant and pool bar were another story. My wife and I took a walk one morning and purchased two cups of coffee. We walked back to the hotel and we decided to stop into the restaurant for breakfast. The two hostesses were sitting at a table talking and looked up at us like we were disturbing them. One hostess walked up and said,You can't bring those in here I said, Excuse me? She said you can't bring outside coffee into the restaurant. Her whole attitude made us walk out. The coffees we had were almost done and we were going to order more with breakfast. What happened to the Aloha Spirit The female bartender at the pool bar was the most unfriendly person I have met behind a bar. I think she left her personality in her other body. I tried to make small talk with her while she poured my beer but I got no response. My wife walked up for a drink and the bartender kept talking to another employee at the other end of the bar. She finally asked us across the bar if we needed anything. I am a Food and Beverage Manager in Las Vegas and if any of my staff would treat our guests this way, they would not have a job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many places to eat within walking distance from the hotel as well as bars. The beach is across the street.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, California
Nov 9, 2010

For a three star hotel it was great

I wish I would have known in advance that the pool and jacuzzi were closed for renovations but the rest of the hotel was very pleasant, clean and recently renovated. I liked having computers available in the lobby to use to check my email and print out my airline boarding passes to the front desk. I loved having housekeeping to help keep the room tidy, room service available and bicycles we could check out for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We drove up to Maalea Bay to go to the aquarium and stopped by the Pacific Whale Foundation. We purchased a family membership and this provided us discounts on aquarium admission, dolphin watching and snorkling tours. The tours were wonderful. We saw whales, dolphins and green sea turtles on our trip.

Back to menu Return to top