$229 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

Maui Coast Hotel

3 stars
2259 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
488 reviews
Great hotel in kihei

This is our second stay at Maui Coast and we really live the location and the value. The only thing... See full review

  • Mainland fever
  • Jul 26, 2014
Fantastic Vacation

Great Location and very friendly Staff. Best Vacation ever See full review

  • JJ and Tina
  • Apr 13, 2014
Choose the Maui Coast Hotel, and enjoy a laid-back, slow-paced vacation. One of 40 hotels in the Coast Hotels and Resorts chain, the hotel's guestrooms contain paintings from local artists, as well as verandas to admire the beauty of Hawaii. Live music is featured nightly at the poolside bar, while staff members are happy to serve you a fruit-adorned drink. To get your heart racing a little faster, check out the fitness center located on the premises; tennis enthusiasts will enjoy the lighted courts. Connect to the Internet, while you're away from home or the office, at two free terminals near the front desk.
Key facts
  • 7 floors
  • Free shuttle
  • 2 restaurants: 'Ami 'Ami Bar & Grill and Kamaole Poolside Cafe and Bar
  • Room service
  • Outdoor pool
  • Tennis court
  • 2 meeting/conference rooms
  • Business center
  • Concierge services
Neighborhood
Found in the coastal beauty spot and tourist-favorite Kihei, the Maui Coast Hotel is only a block away from Kamaole Beach Park I, and also within walking distance of local bars, restaurants and shopping. The Shops at Wailea is an excellent place to find clothing, jewelry and other luxury accessories, at stores ranging from Gucci to a Hawaiian-standard ABC outlet. For the golf enthusiast, the Maui Coast Hotel is close to four outstanding golf courses.
Hints and tips

When heading to the beach, ask the front desk for a towel and umbrella, which are free for guests to borrow.

If snorkeling's on the agenda, you'll want to head 10 minutes away for the sea turtles and (seasonal) whale watching opportunities at Makena Beach instead.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7238 -156.4464
Area served
Kihei, Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport-OGG
Area description
Just across the street from Kamaole Beach I continuing on with a wide stretch of beautiful, award-winning beaches, surrounded by several shops and restaurants this seven-story hotel is just 2 miles from the upscale Wailea area and championship golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maui Coast Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Maui Coast Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite
519 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. In addition, Hawaiian artwork from famous local artist Avi Kiriaty is displayed. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Deluxe Room
355 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
One-Bedroom Suite
545 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is One King Bed in the Bedroom and One Pullout Sofa Bed in the Living Room. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Televisions, New Furnishings, Microwaves, Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Wet Bar and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Dining

Kama'ole Poolside Caf
The Poolside Bar/Cafe provide the following: Lunch; Dinner; Full Bar; Nightly Entertainment; Open Daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (488)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Coast Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
488 out of 488
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Going places is fun
Business
Coeur d'Alene, ID, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Beautiful hotel in Kihei

Beautiful hotel! If it was waterfront instead of across the street, I'm sure it would have been $450+ per night. It was an incredible value for our money and lacked for nothing. The beach across the street was fairly private and had as nice of sand as the resorts in Kaanapoli. I'd have no problem recommending this to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

We loved the parasailing (even though I'm scared of heights it was well worth the money). Also, Warren and Annabelle's magic show was our favorite night activity of the whole trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Obstraveler
Business
Boise, ID, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Honeymooners

Really, we could have stayed anywhere. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room. But when we did, we always had fresh linens and we were very comfortable. We had a suite which is a pretty loose term at this hotel--it basically means your bed is in another room. That being said, there was an AC in each room that ran quietly and kept us cool. The hotel surprised us with a welcoming gift (I won't say what it was and ruin it for you) which I thought went above and beyond my expectations. They have bar by the pool which has a band every night 'til 9. There are only two things I would change. They didn't have any cutlery available which was a small annoyance for eating in the room and the pool/hot tub closes at 10. The location of the pool is secluded enough from the rest of the hotel that a little late night splashing wouldn't disturb anyone so why not just leave it open? Really, this hotel is all about location which could be said for pretty much anywhere in Kihei. This is the best city to stay in if you are going to get a car and visit the rest of the island. It is centralized but still with quick beach access. I hope you have as much fun as we did!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

This will sound silly I'm sure but Bubba Gump Shrimp had the best fish we ate all trip. I suggest Jenny's Special. Mama's fish house knocked it out of the park with views and ambiance but at $180 for lunch, I expected better food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zinny
Business
Auckland, New Zealand
Nov 1, 2011

Superb value, but you need to lift the bar on your restaurant...

Accommodation was superb value for money. The only issue, if we had to pick one, was the hotel restaurant, especially the breakfast menu, which was shocking. That said, the Pool Bar Cafe was fine, so not sure what's going on there...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kihei Cafe brilliant for breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JulesVern
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Modern Amenities and Central Location

This hotel right in the middle of Kihei's beaches, restaurants and a very short drive from the airport. The staff here was very friendly and helpful in referring good locations to eat. Right across from the beach and very short drive (5 mins) to many other great beaches in Wailea. The harbor, Ma'alaia, where you can catch charters to Molokini and other snorkeling sites is only a 20 min drive away. The rooms were well appointed with modern furniture. A small fridge and microwave were convenient to have in the room. The bathrooms, however, were quite small though also nicely decorated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Cafe O'Lei; south of the hotel towards Wailea in the Rainbow mall. They had delicious lunches with great presentation and service at a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seattlegirl44
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Amazing BEDS!!

This was our second time at this hotel and we love it! It's afforable, comfortable, and clean! We will definaltly come back a third time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You cannot leave Maui w/ out eating at Mama's Fish House and Lahaina Grill!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ape2
Business
Italy
Nov 27, 2011

good quality

Nice big room, good comforts, but you have to pay extra for parking, Internet ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HarrisonB
Business
Colorado
Dec 1, 2011

Good location on sunny southern beaches

The hotel isn't on the beach but, is in a great location on the southern beaches with better weather than the north beaches. You can walk across the street to Kam 1 or take a short drive down to Wailea or "Big Beach" all of the beaches in the area are nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Skip the road to Hana and visit the town of Lahaina instead, nice quaint town. The beach version of Breckenridge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robey
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Dec 9, 2011

Fantastic Hotel

It was a very pleasant stay, rooms were very nice, very clean, the staff were very helpfull and pleasant. The only problem I had was the amenities charge, if you don't use the amenities you get charged for them anyway. You should get charged if you use these amenities, you should not be charged if you don't use the amenities. You use a cardkey they know when you use these amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Their are plenty of restaurants around this hotel, within walking distance. Their is a restaurant in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Magichands
Business
West Ryde, Australia
Dec 27, 2011

great holiday

convience location and good facilities. nice room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

nice location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pathfinder45
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Great hotel for the money!

This hotel had the most comfortable bed I've slept in. The location in South Kihei is perfect for shopping, dining, or the beach. We really enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top