$141 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Maui Coast Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2259 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Maui Coast Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
461 out of 461
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
no super mom
Family
San Diego, CA
Feb 23, 2013

nice stay at Maui Coast

The hotel is in a nice area in Kihei, close to Wailea, where there are a couple of nice snorkeling areas: wailea beach and makena landing. There is a beach just across street from the hotel, we watched sun set there - very nice. There is also a strip mall just 2-3 blocks north of the hotel. The plate lunch at Da Kitchen is an excellent value. Hotel staff is also super friendly. The daily resort fee, at $17.50 plus tax, is somewhat steep but I think we get our money's worth. Our six year old son asked to swim in the pool and use the hot tub every day and we did. The resort fee also includes free parking and free wi-fi in the room. The refrigerator is a decent size where you can store breakfast items, and perhaps leftovers as food is very expensive in Maui. There is also a microwave. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Saw a few giant sea turtles at Makena Landing.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vacationSssstravel
Couples
nyc
Jul 2, 2012

Nice hotel

Nice hotel away from busy traffic but nearby the beach and cafes, restaurants, great location. $ resort fee of ~$18. The hotel pool is small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free laundry from 8am-10pm. Have to buy detergent supplies.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dannnie
Family
Gilbert, Arizona
Jul 22, 2012

Great Place to Stay

A bit away from the big resorts so it's not as crowded and it's quieter too. All the beaches in Maui are public, so you can go to any of the bigger resorts and use the beach. The staff was super friendly, and very helpful. A plus was the refrigerator and microwave in the room - we always look for that when we stay for a week or more. There is a resort fee for towels, parking, bicycles, etc. so keep that in mind when figuring out your trip budget. Kihei itself gives more of a feel of a beach town than a resort town - we loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deb the baseball mom
Couples
Mobile, Al
Jul 27, 2012

Beautiful Hawiian Experience !!

Maui Coast Hotel is everything they advertised and more. We were so impressed by how clean the entire property is kept down to each individual room. The entire staff ws so helpful and hospitable in every way. I would go back there again for sure and I would suggest this hotel to everyone. Thank you for a wonderful vacation.The location is right in the middle of so many water, shopping and eating venues, you don't even have to drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The most beautiful water you will ever see. Paddle boarding, canoeing, just swimming or floating in the water, all right across the street.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jiran
Family
Big island Hawaii
Jul 28, 2012

Beautiful island

Nice hotel! Nice having the microwave save me some money to eat outside! but the ac is too loud hardly sleep at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the park and beach

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kunue
Couples
Miami, FL
Jun 13, 2012

Home Away from Home

For the price you can't beat it. Its about a 45 minute trip to Lahaina, but its close to Kihei and Big Beach. They do offer free bikes and the gym is fantastic if you are into the workout thing. This is my 3rd stay back at Maui Coast. Aloha!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Life's a Beach. Good music, vibe, and drinks are reasonable.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Long Overdue Vaca
Couples
Woodbridge, VA
Jun 24, 2012

Great getaway location!

The hotel view was awesome. I could see the mountains to my left and the ocean to my right. The beaches are right across the street and there are many shops in walking distance. The hotel shuttle will take you 3 miles north and south of the hotel. Suggest you rent a car if you want to travel all of Maui, but isn't necessary if traveling for a quite beach location. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. . I noticed plenty of families with small children and lots of couples so this is an ideal spot for both. The noise level was minimal. We had a junior suite which lessened seeing the hallway lights. It wasn't a big suite but it was comfortable. Having a refrigerator and microwave was great as well as the complimentary washer/dryer. I highly recommend and would easily book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great low cost jewelry and trinkets are in walking distance at the shop next to Pizza Hut heading towards Wailea.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
we love pugs
Couples
NJ
Aug 14, 2012

relaxing maui vacation

the hotel location was ideal for us, it's walking distance from the beach and there were plenty of food places around. the room size was good and the staff were great. the only thing was that our room was situated in the far end of the hotel and we had no wifi connection. management said they were gonna fix it within the week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Site Seeing Sondra
Couples
Honolulu, HI
Aug 14, 2012

Weekend getaway for 2 to Maui

I am so glad we chose the Maui Coast hotel. It's a quiet little resort that has been VERY nicely upgraded. The staff was wonderful...my hubby and I were celebrating our 11yr anniversary so the staff delivered complimentary champagne with a personalized note to our room. The poolside cafe has good food and drinks (try the Lava Flow cocktail!) The hotel also offers bicycle usage that is included in the $17.50/day resort fee. I haven't rode a bike in a while but this was fun and there are a lot of places to visit nearby. The beach is across the street and there are some restaurants and souvenir shops nearby. The hotel definitely met all of my expectations and requests with no problem, I really enjoyed it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel had a poolside cafe that was open until 10pm, but the actual onsite restaurant is closed. There are a few restaurants nearby that you can either walk, ride one of their bikes, or take a short drive to.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chamba
Business
Honolulu, HI
Aug 16, 2012

Busines Trip/ extended weekend with wife

For the money this was one of the best trips my wife and I have had. Its located in heart of Kihei and is walking and biking distance to the beach and many stores and restaurants (bikes are included in resort fee). Things I liked: - Clean bathroom (must for my wife) - New gym - Friendly staff - Great location (not directly on the beach, but near everything) - Bikes available for all people Things that sucked: - Access to the internet was bad and sometimes didn't connect (it really bugged me because I was on a business trip) Things I didn't use: - The pool - Hotel food (I like eating at local places on trips) - Tourist help desk Overall: I thought the hotel was great for the money. If your on a budget and looking for a clean place with good service I highly recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honey mooners12
Couples
Seattle, WA
Aug 27, 2012

Honeymoon

We booked for our honeymoon and couldn't have asked for a better hotel! It was clean everyday, the staff was friendly and very helpful and the fitness center was great! We would love to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top