Maui Coast Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2259 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
461 reviews
Great value and Location

This has been a great hotel over the years, and we've been treated with upgrades due to the hotel's... See full review

  • Joaquin N.
  • Jul 29, 2015
AMAZING honeymoon!

My husband and I absolutely loved our stay at Maui Coast Hotel. The rooms are very spacious and... See full review

  • Mary Christine
  • Jul 22, 2015

When heading to the beach, ask the front desk for a towel and umbrella, which are free for guests to borrow.

If snorkeling's on the agenda, you'll want to head 10 minutes away for the sea turtles and (seasonal) whale watching opportunities at Makena Beach instead.

General
Maui Coast Hotel, Maui
Location
Choose the Maui Coast Hotel, and enjoy a laid-back, slow-paced vacation. One of 40 hotels in the Coast Hotels and Resorts chain, the hotel's guestrooms contain paintings from local artists, as well as verandas to admire the beauty of Hawaii. Live music is featured nightly at the poolside bar, while staff members are happy to serve you a fruit-adorned drink. To get your heart racing a little faster, check out the fitness center located on the premises; tennis enthusiasts will enjoy the lighted courts. Connect to the Internet, while you're away from home or the office, at two free terminals near the front desk.
Dining
  • 7 floors
  • Free shuttle
  • 2 restaurants: 'Ami 'Ami Bar & Grill and Kamaole Poolside Cafe and Bar
  • Room service
  • Outdoor pool
  • Tennis court
  • 2 meeting/conference rooms
  • Business center
  • Concierge services
Rooms
Found in the coastal beauty spot and tourist-favorite Kihei, the Maui Coast Hotel is only a block away from Kamaole Beach Park I, and also within walking distance of local bars, restaurants and shopping. The Shops at Wailea is an excellent place to find clothing, jewelry and other luxury accessories, at stores ranging from Gucci to a Hawaiian-standard ABC outlet. For the golf enthusiast, the Maui Coast Hotel is close to four outstanding golf courses.
Highlights
  • 7 floors
  • Free shuttle
  • 2 restaurants: 'Ami 'Ami Bar & Grill and Kamaole Poolside Cafe and Bar
  • Room service
  • Outdoor pool
  • Tennis court
  • 2 meeting/conference rooms
  • Business center
  • Concierge services
Policies

When heading to the beach, ask the front desk for a towel and umbrella, which are free for guests to borrow.

If snorkeling's on the agenda, you'll want to head 10 minutes away for the sea turtles and (seasonal) whale watching opportunities at Makena Beach instead.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Maui Coast Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite
519 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. In addition, Hawaiian artwork from famous local artist Avi Kiriaty is displayed. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
One-Bedroom Suite
545 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is One King Bed in the Bedroom and One Pullout Sofa Bed in the Living Room. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Televisions, New Furnishings, Microwaves, Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Wet Bar and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Deluxe Room
355 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Hotel Map

20.7238 -156.4464
Area served
Kihei, Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport-OGG
Area description
Just across the street from Kamaole Beach I continuing on with a wide stretch of beautiful, award-winning beaches, surrounded by several shops and restaurants this seven-story hotel is just 2 miles from the upscale Wailea area and championship golf courses.

Dining

Kama'ole Poolside Caf
The Poolside Bar/Cafe provide the following: Lunch; Dinner; Full Bar; Nightly Entertainment; Open Daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (461)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Coast Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
461 out of 461
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vacationSssstravel
Couples
nyc
Jul 2, 2012

Nice hotel

Nice hotel away from busy traffic but nearby the beach and cafes, restaurants, great location. $ resort fee of ~$18. The hotel pool is small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free laundry from 8am-10pm. Have to buy detergent supplies.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dannnie
Family
Gilbert, Arizona
Jul 22, 2012

Great Place to Stay

A bit away from the big resorts so it's not as crowded and it's quieter too. All the beaches in Maui are public, so you can go to any of the bigger resorts and use the beach. The staff was super friendly, and very helpful. A plus was the refrigerator and microwave in the room - we always look for that when we stay for a week or more. There is a resort fee for towels, parking, bicycles, etc. so keep that in mind when figuring out your trip budget. Kihei itself gives more of a feel of a beach town than a resort town - we loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deb the baseball mom
Couples
Mobile, Al
Jul 27, 2012

Beautiful Hawiian Experience !!

Maui Coast Hotel is everything they advertised and more. We were so impressed by how clean the entire property is kept down to each individual room. The entire staff ws so helpful and hospitable in every way. I would go back there again for sure and I would suggest this hotel to everyone. Thank you for a wonderful vacation.The location is right in the middle of so many water, shopping and eating venues, you don't even have to drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The most beautiful water you will ever see. Paddle boarding, canoeing, just swimming or floating in the water, all right across the street.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jiran
Family
Big island Hawaii
Jul 28, 2012

Beautiful island

Nice hotel! Nice having the microwave save me some money to eat outside! but the ac is too loud hardly sleep at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the park and beach

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kunue
Couples
Miami, FL
Jun 13, 2012

Home Away from Home

For the price you can't beat it. Its about a 45 minute trip to Lahaina, but its close to Kihei and Big Beach. They do offer free bikes and the gym is fantastic if you are into the workout thing. This is my 3rd stay back at Maui Coast. Aloha!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Life's a Beach. Good music, vibe, and drinks are reasonable.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Long Overdue Vaca
Couples
Woodbridge, VA
Jun 24, 2012

Great getaway location!

The hotel view was awesome. I could see the mountains to my left and the ocean to my right. The beaches are right across the street and there are many shops in walking distance. The hotel shuttle will take you 3 miles north and south of the hotel. Suggest you rent a car if you want to travel all of Maui, but isn't necessary if traveling for a quite beach location. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. . I noticed plenty of families with small children and lots of couples so this is an ideal spot for both. The noise level was minimal. We had a junior suite which lessened seeing the hallway lights. It wasn't a big suite but it was comfortable. Having a refrigerator and microwave was great as well as the complimentary washer/dryer. I highly recommend and would easily book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great low cost jewelry and trinkets are in walking distance at the shop next to Pizza Hut heading towards Wailea.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
we love pugs
Couples
NJ
Aug 14, 2012

relaxing maui vacation

the hotel location was ideal for us, it's walking distance from the beach and there were plenty of food places around. the room size was good and the staff were great. the only thing was that our room was situated in the far end of the hotel and we had no wifi connection. management said they were gonna fix it within the week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Site Seeing Sondra
Couples
Honolulu, HI
Aug 14, 2012

Weekend getaway for 2 to Maui

I am so glad we chose the Maui Coast hotel. It's a quiet little resort that has been VERY nicely upgraded. The staff was wonderful...my hubby and I were celebrating our 11yr anniversary so the staff delivered complimentary champagne with a personalized note to our room. The poolside cafe has good food and drinks (try the Lava Flow cocktail!) The hotel also offers bicycle usage that is included in the $17.50/day resort fee. I haven't rode a bike in a while but this was fun and there are a lot of places to visit nearby. The beach is across the street and there are some restaurants and souvenir shops nearby. The hotel definitely met all of my expectations and requests with no problem, I really enjoyed it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel had a poolside cafe that was open until 10pm, but the actual onsite restaurant is closed. There are a few restaurants nearby that you can either walk, ride one of their bikes, or take a short drive to.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chamba
Business
Honolulu, HI
Aug 16, 2012

Busines Trip/ extended weekend with wife

For the money this was one of the best trips my wife and I have had. Its located in heart of Kihei and is walking and biking distance to the beach and many stores and restaurants (bikes are included in resort fee). Things I liked: - Clean bathroom (must for my wife) - New gym - Friendly staff - Great location (not directly on the beach, but near everything) - Bikes available for all people Things that sucked: - Access to the internet was bad and sometimes didn't connect (it really bugged me because I was on a business trip) Things I didn't use: - The pool - Hotel food (I like eating at local places on trips) - Tourist help desk Overall: I thought the hotel was great for the money. If your on a budget and looking for a clean place with good service I highly recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honey mooners12
Couples
Seattle, WA
Aug 27, 2012

Honeymoon

We booked for our honeymoon and couldn't have asked for a better hotel! It was clean everyday, the staff was friendly and very helpful and the fitness center was great! We would love to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top