$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Maui Coast Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2259 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Maui Coast Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
532 out of 532
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tvern
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jan 15, 2011

Good location, this stay was just okay

We've stayed at the hotel in the past and were very impressed. This time around we did not have the same experience. We would be away from the room for 5-7 hours and the staff couldn't find the time to clean the room until we returned. We had to wait several times. They couldn't help us with multiple beds (I don't care for sofa beds) and only allowed one hour for late checkout. It seems they are more interested in catering to airline staff. They wouldn't even allow you to change the channel in the workout room. We love the location but will probably look harder at other options next time. Easy walk to restaurants, shops and nice beaches. Kudos to Moose's (breakfast), Denny's (breakfast), Beach Bums in Maalaea (lunch), Hula Cookie in Maalaea (great any time of the day - get the ice cream sandwich with two different cookies) and Cafe O'Lei (lunch).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Get the brisket sandwich and green bean casserole at Beach Bums at Maalea Harbor. After that, get an ice cream sandwich at Hula Cookie (upstairs from Beach Bums).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flower
Business
Mountain View, CA
Oct 21, 2010

Great location but not great service

I went there with my husband and parents in law, the location was really great with the beach across the street. The hotel was nice but the food at the hotel is very expensive and not good at all (and also you don't have much choices in the menu). The Hotel has a mandatory fee per day, this fee is for the use of the hotel installations, of course you don't have the option of not paying it. I think that for the price that you pay for each night at the Hotel they don't have to charge you anything else. You don't have internet in you room and if you want it you have to pay it. In the lobby you have 3 PC's with Internet, but you have to be standing up 'cause they are high. The receptionists of the Hotel don't have enough information of the area and places for dinner or lunch. Another bad point is that the view from each room is not good 'cause you only see the parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You have lots of activities such as snorkeling, scuba diving, kayaking, whale view, etc. We did snorkeling with the Pacific Whale Foundation and it was AMAZING!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aisha001
Business
San Jose, CA
Jan 3, 2014

Beautiful hotel and location

Loved staying here. The Junior suite was very spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Krystenblair
Business
Sacramento ca
Apr 12, 2014

Classy Little Gem

Boyfriend and I enjoyed staying here very much. Staff was always nice and helpful. Free bikes is a wonderful plus. Just across the street is the beach and lots to do ! So glad we didn't book one of the big building hotels or timeshares that look like old apartments. It was a classy gem that I would be pleased to stay in again. Thanks maui coast !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots to do

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles,LA
May 22, 2009

nice boutique hotel

I knew they were during or about to finish renovation,however I saw good reviews on internet so I decide to go with this hotel.In this area[Kihei],there are more condos than hotels.Actually there are some condos which is cheaper than this hotel,but since we only stayong 5 nights,I knew we were not gonna cook our meals during our stay,I thought it would be nicer to stay in a hotel with nicer entrance,pool,bar and stuff. It turns out...well,they are during renovation for pool area.I was so disapointed!But we could use next door condo's pool and jacuzzi,so it wasn't so bad.(and it was 1 min walk) Some people were complaining about the view,but luckily we got garden view with partial(tiny though!)ocean view so I loved it. Room was super clean since everything is new,and bed was sooo comfy,I actually miss the bed! So only problem was pool,which will be finish renovation in a week or so I think... Also the lobby of the hotel is very airy and nice.I liked room,view,it's a clean and cute hotel.I would recommend this hotel for friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jargabright23
Business
San Jose, Ca
Jun 1, 2009

Great Deal In Kehei!

Great hotel. Had the Jr Suite. Room was very modern and brand new! Flat panel tv, super comfy beds with beautiful soft white comforters. Bar area with sink and fridge. Large room in general with a big restroom and huge tub. Right in the middle of Kihei within walking distance of all sorts of stuff! I couldn't beleive what a deal for the money it was. VERY HAPPY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Stella Blues Cafe for breakfast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eventual Traveler
Business
Fresno, CA
Jun 19, 2009

Perfect choice for the price.

It's location is perfect, so it became a perfect homebase for our trip. Nice parks and beaches at a walking distance. Plenty of restaurants and shops in the area. The room was cleaned daily by friendly staff, the room had ample space, the king size bed was jut perfect (so much that I'll be shopping for the same mattress), the closet was equiped with complementary security box. I noticed daily that airline crews (pilots and flight attendants) were dropped off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Reasonable drive to/from international airport. Central location, equidistant to either east or west side of the Island. The most incredible beaches if you drive south on hwy 31.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lango
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jun 21, 2009

Maui Coast Hotel

The hotel itself was very nice and fresh. The room was clean, large and quite nicely decorated with newer items. The pool area was also to my satisfaction with the outside bar area. The restaurant "Spices" on the other hand, will not be getting my business again. The biggest problem is that the restaurant is located too far from the hotel. Staff must carry food across the parking lot in order to provide room service. Same thing for Pupu's at the pool bar area. Also, during breakfast at the restaurant, the staff was quite rude making comments and almost throwing food down on the table. Overall, I'd stay at the hotel again, but will not waste my time with the restaurant..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scarygary
Business
riverside,ca.
Jul 5, 2009

great time

friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maui
Jul 18, 2009

It's all good in Maui !!!

Our first trip to Maui. We found the Maui Coast Hotel to be just what we wanted. The bed was perfect! We slept great and that was the most important thing for us! Nice and quiet. We enjoyed the beach towels. We checked out two every day without a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the coupons for buy one get one half off. They are everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top