$185 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Maui Coast Hotel

3 stars
2259 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
783 reviews
Great hotel in kihei

This is our second stay at Maui Coast and we really live the location and the value. The only thing... See full review

  • Mainland fever
  • Jul 26, 2014
Fantastic Vacation

Great Location and very friendly Staff. Best Vacation ever See full review

  • JJ and Tina
  • Apr 13, 2014
Choose the Maui Coast Hotel, and enjoy a laid-back, slow-paced vacation. One of 40 hotels in the Coast Hotels and Resorts chain, the hotel's guestrooms contain paintings from local artists, as well as verandas to admire the beauty of Hawaii. Live music is featured nightly at the poolside bar, while staff members are happy to serve you a fruit-adorned drink. To get your heart racing a little faster, check out the fitness center located on the premises; tennis enthusiasts will enjoy the lighted courts. Connect to the Internet, while you're away from home or the office, at two free terminals near the front desk.
Key facts
  • 7 floors
  • Free shuttle
  • 2 restaurants: 'Ami 'Ami Bar & Grill and Kamaole Poolside Cafe and Bar
  • Room service
  • Outdoor pool
  • Tennis court
  • 2 meeting/conference rooms
  • Business center
  • Concierge services
Neighborhood
Found in the coastal beauty spot and tourist-favorite Kihei, the Maui Coast Hotel is only a block away from Kamaole Beach Park I, and also within walking distance of local bars, restaurants and shopping. The Shops at Wailea is an excellent place to find clothing, jewelry and other luxury accessories, at stores ranging from Gucci to a Hawaiian-standard ABC outlet. For the golf enthusiast, the Maui Coast Hotel is close to four outstanding golf courses.
Hints and tips

When heading to the beach, ask the front desk for a towel and umbrella, which are free for guests to borrow.

If snorkeling's on the agenda, you'll want to head 10 minutes away for the sea turtles and (seasonal) whale watching opportunities at Makena Beach instead.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7238 -156.4464
Area served
Kihei, Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport-OGG
Area description
Just across the street from Kamaole Beach I continuing on with a wide stretch of beautiful, award-winning beaches, surrounded by several shops and restaurants this seven-story hotel is just 2 miles from the upscale Wailea area and championship golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maui Coast Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Maui Coast Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
355 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Junior Suite
519 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. In addition, Hawaiian artwork from famous local artist Avi Kiriaty is displayed. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
One-Bedroom Suite
545 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is One King Bed in the Bedroom and One Pullout Sofa Bed in the Living Room. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Televisions, New Furnishings, Microwaves, Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Wet Bar and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Dining

Kama'ole Poolside Caf
The Poolside Bar/Cafe provide the following: Lunch; Dinner; Full Bar; Nightly Entertainment; Open Daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (783)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Coast Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
783 out of 783
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Inter-island kama'aina traveler
Honolulu, HI
Aug 8, 2011

Fine

The room was excellent -- especially the mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee pot. Nice beds. Very clean. Friendly hotel staff. The pool, however, is quite small and not very "scenic." Nice poolside bar, though. It's across the street from the beach. The resort fee is astronomical given the lack of amenities it supposedly provides. For that kind of fee, the hotel needs to have a MUCH better pool as well as a tennis court, minigolf course, or some other fun things to do. No one was using either fitness center when we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We heard about a restaurant called Cafe O'Lei, and it was excellent. About a 10-minute walk from the hotel and then upstairs above some shops. Excellent food.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 21, 2009

Ok budget property

While the rooms are freshly remodeled, they were poorly designed. You cannot take a shower without soaking the shower floor. The in room safe hardly holds anything and easily malfunctions. The shuttle driver cannot be relied upon to get you anywhere in a timely manner. The AC works but can take all night to cool the room down. Nice pool area, clean rooms. Not a bad budget property, but would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maui Tacos - just a few blocks away - good, cheap, quick meal.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
paulguitar
Shrewsbury, UK.
Oct 2, 2010

Good, but they need thermostat in rooms!

I booked a one bedroom suite for a single night. Decent room, good bed, reasonable value for Maui. The problem is that with a simple wall mounted air-conditioner, you have the option of roasting with it off in peace or having a bearable temperature with it on but an 'airport' leevel of noise from the unit. So you tend to end up fighting this all night and don't sleep well which defeats the object somewhat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NorthSide07
Washington State
May 23, 2012

Maui Cost

This wasn't the best hotel I've ever stayed in, defiantly not at the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
riqster
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

good location ,parking lot view

Hotel is right across the street from a decent looking beach. The main part of town is a couple of blocks away where you can get more decent food and entertainment than the hotel usually offers.The pool area is small but a good place to hang out at night if you like the band playing.Mixed drinks are pretty good but a little bit watered down.If you are located on the west side of the hotel ,make sure you're on the 1st or last couple of floors,otherwise your view would consist mainly of people in the parking area getting in and out of their cars.Overall, the hotel is o.k. for a few nights stay if that's all you're looking for. If you want a romantic ambiance,you might want to go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chaconne
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 12, 2009

Friendly staff but poor room clearning

We did not spend lots of time at this hotel, since we usually went out to the beach and other nice places. The front desk staff was very friendly (even to the airline crew who stayed there), and was able to address my problem during check-in. Besides the pool is small (under construction), a major disappointment during our stay was the daily room cleaning. The maid did not give use new soap, shampoo, sugar & creme, etc for at least 2 consecutive nights. Another bad thing is that, the concierge staff was not very helpful or was not in a good mood to answer our questions. This also made our stay from a 4-star experience down to 3.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bellingham, WA
Dec 27, 2009

Basic but nice

We had a great stay @ Maui Coast. A little more elbow room would have been nice. The room reminded me of a standard room at chain hotels; Comfort Inn, Best Western, etc. Not sure why they title the room a deluxe room. Fridge and microwave were great to have in the room. My daughter found the hide-a-bed to be very uncomfortable and just slept on the couch. The location is very convienent with easy (walking) access to an ABC store with gas station, food, and the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Prior to our trip, I had read bad reviews about Spices restaurant in Maui Coast Hotel. We ended up eating there once for dinner and once for breakfast due to time constraints. Both meals were very good and for us the service was very friendly and prompt. Although, we are very patient people. Those less patient need to eat elsewhere. The kitchen does have trouble keeping up since they serve guests eating at the poolside cafe as well.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, Texas
Jul 3, 2010

Karen's Kihei Maui Trip

Nice hotel within walking distance to the beach. Pool was nice. Restaurant on property was good. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Wish we would have stayed at a hotel on the beach to get those fabulous views but what we saved in dollars we were able to spend on fun excursions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Two exceptional meals we had were at Mama's Fish House by the airport and at the Marriott Wailea.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nashville, TN
May 8, 2009

the hotel was okay.

The hotel was great. not a good location for the price. internet suck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Baker boy
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 17, 2011

Not really Maui wowie

The hotel was in a good location. It was clean and friendly. However, we booked our room six months in advance. When we arrive , they gave us a room on the first floor with a view of a staircase and folks walking. We asked several times to be moved anywhere with a better view and was told nothing was available. Many flight crew people came and went during our 8 days and rooms could have been switched but management refused. Bummer. It's also annoying that there is a mandatory daily fee for things we don't need like washers. I'd rather pay for what I use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top