Maui Coast Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2259 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Maui Coast Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
459 out of 459
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellingham, WA
Dec 27, 2009

Basic but nice

We had a great stay @ Maui Coast. A little more elbow room would have been nice. The room reminded me of a standard room at chain hotels; Comfort Inn, Best Western, etc. Not sure why they title the room a deluxe room. Fridge and microwave were great to have in the room. My daughter found the hide-a-bed to be very uncomfortable and just slept on the couch. The location is very convienent with easy (walking) access to an ABC store with gas station, food, and the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Prior to our trip, I had read bad reviews about Spices restaurant in Maui Coast Hotel. We ended up eating there once for dinner and once for breakfast due to time constraints. Both meals were very good and for us the service was very friendly and prompt. Although, we are very patient people. Those less patient need to eat elsewhere. The kitchen does have trouble keeping up since they serve guests eating at the poolside cafe as well.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MauiMan
Business
Orlando, FL
Jan 2, 2011

Our Stay at Maui Coast Hotel

The hotel staff was very friendly. We needed only one night before our plane left. The place was clean but not overly roomy. A little pricey for the ammenities offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The attached restaurant was not very good. I suggest that you check out other options.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
Mar 13, 2010

Nice but basic hotel

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. I bought a flight and hotel package through [...] but when i arrived to the hotel they charged a mandatory additional $15 resort fee per night. The hotel houses flight crews which could result in a shortage of rooms and the hotel refused to grant a courtesy 1hr late checkout. Car is necessary to visit neighboring towns and island. Overall good location for Kihei. Comfy spacious rooms and decent entertainment by pool area. Good happy hour prices

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

About .5 miles down is a center that contains restaurants, nightlife, and shopping. It's a long walk but a short ride.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 10, 2009

Just a place to sleep

Small requests from the front desk was unwelcomed. Housekeeping had a hard time keeping the bathroom stocked with simple things like soap and mouthwash. Overall service was inconsistent. Spend the extra cash for a better stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lahaina is a great location. Nice beaches, great shopping, great food, plenty of activities and entertainment. Lahaina is where I would stay the next time I go to Maui.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chaconne
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 12, 2009

Friendly staff but poor room clearning

We did not spend lots of time at this hotel, since we usually went out to the beach and other nice places. The front desk staff was very friendly (even to the airline crew who stayed there), and was able to address my problem during check-in. Besides the pool is small (under construction), a major disappointment during our stay was the daily room cleaning. The maid did not give use new soap, shampoo, sugar & creme, etc for at least 2 consecutive nights. Another bad thing is that, the concierge staff was not very helpful or was not in a good mood to answer our questions. This also made our stay from a 4-star experience down to 3.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Oct 13, 2010

Good news bad news

Good news was a great hotel for the price ...the bad news was that [...] Coast Hotels did not indicate that the pool would be closed for a remodel during our time. When we checked in we were told that the pool was closed but there was a pool in a location next door that we could use. No food or drink and a condo style pool was at the end of the path. I would like to have known this before we booked our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
paulguitar
Business
Shrewsbury, UK.
Oct 2, 2010

Good, but they need thermostat in rooms!

I booked a one bedroom suite for a single night. Decent room, good bed, reasonable value for Maui. The problem is that with a simple wall mounted air-conditioner, you have the option of roasting with it off in peace or having a bearable temperature with it on but an 'airport' leevel of noise from the unit. So you tend to end up fighting this all night and don't sleep well which defeats the object somewhat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Torrance, Californing
May 27, 2009

Hotel review

I was glad they had a laundry room in case you needed to do a load.. Next time I don't need to bring a suitcase of clothes... The pool was under construction when we went but they said we could use the the neighbooring hotels pool..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
May 27, 2009

Convenient,good location

I live in Honolulu and was only there for one night, so I think that's why they put me in the least desireable (view) room. The pool was closed on the day I was there, but I was spending time on the road sightseeing and at the beach so it was ok. Perfect location with great restaurants nearby. Clean and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fargo ND
Sep 14, 2009

Hotel review

The resteraunt was average, a little pricey for what you got. Drink specials good price and tasty Pool small and not as clean as it could have been. Beach area across road was nice. Rooms clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top