$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Maui Coast Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2259 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Maui Coast Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
494 out of 494
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NellieG
Business
Compton,California
Sep 17, 2013

Great Location

Hotel was very clean the bar/pool area had live music everyday. The food and drinks are great also. If you are looking for quite hotel and great staff you will find here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maui tacos

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BeachHunter International
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 16, 2013

First time in South Maui

Stayed at Kannappali last time I went there so thought I'd try the south side out for a change. Nothing to write home about. The staff in the afternoon at check-in was extremely nonchalant & pretty much threw the keys at us. Didn't even bother to respond to our requests for a higher floor or upgrade. However, the staff in the morning is extremely friendly & accommodating. We didn't care much for the island orientation, they are just trying to sell you stuff rather than give you real information you can use. The location is pretty good though, right next to a very nice beach across the street. Included in the "resort fee" of 17.50/night + tax are bicycles - which you can take to closeby locations & also Wailea - a very nice area about 2 miles south. Couple of great resorts there & nice restaurants The pool is average but surprisingly crowded - I guess a lot of rooms/guests for a small pool. I wouldn't go there again but I guess its a good deal if you book at the right price/time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cuatro - restaurant in the Foodland groceries complex nearby. Probably served the best meal I ate at the island at a pretty reasonable price (gives you 25% off if you decide on an early dinner before 6)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous1979
Business
Ca
Sep 14, 2013

gataway

The staff was great and the amenities were nice. However, I didn't like the fact that there was additional charge of close to $20 daily for usage of fitness, free beach towels, bicycles, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ubylive
Business
Michigan
Sep 7, 2013

Good hotel but not to the hype

It's a good hotel but not really up to the reviews I read before selecting the place. My expectations were much higher. Very good for the parking and location. Very slow wifi depending on the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Some good restaurants close to the hotel but need to drive. They all close around 10 pm .. which is way too early in a touristic islands..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ALOHADAN
Business
SAN JOSE, CA
Aug 26, 2013

Great, EXCEPT

FIX THE 2ND ELEVATOR!!!!! GREAT LOCATION GREAT POOL GREAT VALUE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun Sand Beach Lover
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 21, 2013

Way Better Than Anticipated!

The hotel was so much better than the reviews we'd read. What I read made the hotel good enough for a one night stay before we went to our other hotel for the next week. What we experienced was so much nicer than expected. The lobby was beautiful; the staff very friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable as well as nice and clean. I have terrible allergies and asthma and most hotel room ACs cause me difficulty breathing and even sinus infections. The AC did not smell musty or mildewy; it blew fresh clean air and was wonderful! We had a peaceful night sleep and the following morning had brunch at the restaurant poolside! The lunch was delicious and a great price, and the wait staff very friendly. It was a nice casual setting and was a much better value than the food we later experienced at our 5 star and 5 diamond hotel & restaurants! Next time we go to Maui we will not stay at the higher priced resort, but will stay at the Maui Coast Hotel! It was so close to the beach and walking distance to the town that we know we will enjoy our next visit very much and spend the money saved on more excursions or gifts to take home! The Maui Coast Hotel is very nice and comfortable and had we stayed there for 8 days we would've saved several thousand dollars and still would've had a great time! Don't overlook this hotel; it's a gem!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is literally across the street! The park is next door to the beach and local shopping and restaurants are within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Speed2436
Business
Nevada
Aug 16, 2013

Maui Coast Hotel

this place was great. The service was way beyond what I expected in Hawaii. I have been to 2 other spots in Hawaii and neither was anywhere as friendly as this place. Honolulu was loaded with rude people. a 10 trip was cut short after 3 days because it was so bad. Kona was nice, but the people are lazy. The staff at this hotel does beyond what is expected to ensure your stay is wonderful. Only the food by the pool is a downside. Its pricey and not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Avoid it. I had better food off a food truck around the corner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Todd T
Business
Seattle, Washington
Jun 18, 2013

Nice Hotel

Nice, clean, well staffed hotel. Liked the pool side restaurant and bar. Live music in the evenings was a nice surprise. A very relaxing and comfortable environment all around. Great location for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice beech, shops, and other restaurants are 1-block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Addison496
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 17, 2013

Great Vacation Getaway

The hotel was absolutely outstanding for the price. The room was spacious and clean. We had a mini frig, microwave and safe. The bathroom was very spacious. The beach was across the street and shopping and eating were in walking distance. There was $17.50 a day resort fee that covered use of the laundry facilities, the bikes and internet which we took advantage of. The gym was in a separate building which was very nice. The staff was wonderful. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you visit Maui you should definitely take the ride to the rainforest. The road to Hana is about 2.5 hour drive but it is worth it; the rainforest is breath taking. You will end at the Hana Beach where the sand is black.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Travels Redding
Business
Redding, Ca
Jun 7, 2013

Excellent Hotel with fantastic location

This is my second trip to Maui Coast Hotel. It has been over 7 years since my last trip...and the rooms had been highly upgraded! Everything is clean and nice. The location cannot be beat for the price. The beach across the street is wonderful. Food at the pool bar is A+ and so are the cocktails.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top