Maui Coast Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2259 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Maui Coast Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
459 out of 459
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Former resident
Rhode Island
Nov 6, 2012

Great place to stay in Kihei

From check-in to check-out, Maui Coast was a great place to stay. Check-in was fast and easy, and we were accommodated with a room preference. The room was clean and it was nice to have free bottles of water in the fridge that were restocked daily. The pool area was excellent as well as the poolside bar. I did miss not having the full restaurant available, though. It was easy to schedule activities through the concierge. Overall, a great value compared to staying in Wailea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to check out the lava fields past Makena, and if you go at the end of October, don't miss the fun Halloween night festivities in Lahaina.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Baker boy
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 17, 2011

Not really Maui wowie

The hotel was in a good location. It was clean and friendly. However, we booked our room six months in advance. When we arrive , they gave us a room on the first floor with a view of a staircase and folks walking. We asked several times to be moved anywhere with a better view and was told nothing was available. Many flight crew people came and went during our 8 days and rooms could have been switched but management refused. Bummer. It's also annoying that there is a mandatory daily fee for things we don't need like washers. I'd rather pay for what I use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jul 10, 2010

Vacation in Maui

Nice room. Bikes, pool and laundry room were useful. Walking distance to nice swimming and activity beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Many tour activities will pick you up at your hotel. Pride of Maui had a great snorkeling cruise. Hotel also has a free shuttle.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 28, 2009

Hotel review

Hotel was in an ok location. Rooms had really loud a/c units and was stuffy without them. Overall all staff was friendly. Had 3 computers to use internet access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

about a 2 min drive go to foodland, a grocery store to pick up food.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 21, 2009

Ok budget property

While the rooms are freshly remodeled, they were poorly designed. You cannot take a shower without soaking the shower floor. The in room safe hardly holds anything and easily malfunctions. The shuttle driver cannot be relied upon to get you anywhere in a timely manner. The AC works but can take all night to cool the room down. Nice pool area, clean rooms. Not a bad budget property, but would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maui Tacos - just a few blocks away - good, cheap, quick meal.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Jul 29, 2007

Just okay

This hotel was just okay. The pool was small, the staff not overly friendly, and the price too high for the outdated and small rooms. We didn't think it was awful but were glad to move on to much nicer amenities and services at a different site later in our vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 13, 2007

Guest Service

The hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating. The staff in the restaurant and pool bar were another story. My wife and I took a walk one morning and purchased two cups of coffee. We walked back to the hotel and we decided to stop into the restaurant for breakfast. The two hostesses were sitting at a table talking and looked up at us like we were disturbing them. One hostess walked up and said,You can't bring those in here I said, Excuse me? She said you can't bring outside coffee into the restaurant. Her whole attitude made us walk out. The coffees we had were almost done and we were going to order more with breakfast. What happened to the Aloha Spirit The female bartender at the pool bar was the most unfriendly person I have met behind a bar. I think she left her personality in her other body. I tried to make small talk with her while she poured my beer but I got no response. My wife walked up for a drink and the bartender kept talking to another employee at the other end of the bar. She finally asked us across the bar if we needed anything. I am a Food and Beverage Manager in Las Vegas and if any of my staff would treat our guests this way, they would not have a job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many places to eat within walking distance from the hotel as well as bars. The beach is across the street.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, California
Nov 9, 2010

For a three star hotel it was great

I wish I would have known in advance that the pool and jacuzzi were closed for renovations but the rest of the hotel was very pleasant, clean and recently renovated. I liked having computers available in the lobby to use to check my email and print out my airline boarding passes to the front desk. I loved having housekeeping to help keep the room tidy, room service available and bicycles we could check out for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We drove up to Maalea Bay to go to the aquarium and stopped by the Pacific Whale Foundation. We purchased a family membership and this provided us discounts on aquarium admission, dolphin watching and snorkling tours. The tours were wonderful. We saw whales, dolphins and green sea turtles on our trip.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Nov 20, 2010

Nice place to stay in Kihei

This was our first time to Kihei. We usually travel to Mexico (Cabo). I really enjoyed the atmosphere, hospitality, people, weather and close proximity of everything. One thing the hotel didnt have when we arrived was a pool. We booked this specific hotel for one primary reason. It had a kids pool. Unfortunately it was under renovation when we visited the island. They did offer us access to the pool next store at the Wyndam which was just fine and fairly close. Food was great at Spices there resteraunt on site, rooms were wonderfully sized (Jr. Suite) and the onsite conceirge was very helpful planning our adventures. I have been to many "fancy" hotels and this is not one of them. However it was relaxing, clean, functional, convenient to all venues and they loaned out bicycles as a perk to all guests. I would stay here again but will research other hotels now that we are very familiar with the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Joe's Bar and Grill was the best dining experience my wife and I had on the island. Grandma volunteered to babysit the little one.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arvada, CO
Nov 27, 2009

Good place for the price

In the middle of Kihei. A lot of good places for cheap eats(for Maui anyway) and shopping for nic-nacs and supplies. Not on the beach, but a short walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great shave ice at Local Boys and Kalua pork at Da Kitchen. Cheap too.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle, wa
Nov 8, 2010

Half and Half

We were on our first family vacation - which included my husband and our daughter as well as my parents... When we arrived at the hotel our 1 year old daughter was asleep and needed a place to take a nap - but unfortunately our room wasn't ready. We were early but I've never been to a hotel where our room wasn't ready even when we arrived 2-3 hours before official check-in time. Our room reservations were also not what we asked for - one King size bed - instead the hotel had us down for two Queen size beds. There was one room that they found was available with a King size bed on the bottom floor. So we just took it so our daughter could sleep. My parents ended up staying in that room... A few hours later our room was ready and I think the employee at the front desk could see my irritation we were given a bit of an upgrade for our second room. It was on the top floor and it was much bigger and brighter and just so much nicer in so many ways.... But my husband and I felt awful that my parents didn't get the same type of room that we did. It was a nuisance being on separate floors from them. The other thing we didn't enjoy about the hotel was the $15 daily "resort" fee - - this is something that we've had before and somehow you never know about it until you arrive at the hotel. AND we didn't use anything that the fee applied to! I'm not sure how hotels get away with that. That added up to an additional $200 for the week for both of our rooms together. It's worse than the "baggage" fee that the airlines charge. Also the pool was closed! So we had to use the one next door...which is not so convinient when you have a small child with you. And we had gotten strawberries and other things on the bed - daughter was eating in the bed - so we left a note requesting a sheet change and that never happened during our whole stay. Overall - we probably won't stay there again.....the room was nice but everything else was not very inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're looking to save money on food - a condo is you're best bet so you can shop and cook for yourself. We've been to hawaii 3 other times - but for some reason during this trip every time we went to a restaurant the bill was $80+ and the waiter already put in the tip. It was very strange...

Back to menu Return to top