Maui Coast Hotel

3 stars
2259 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
519 reviews
Great hotel in kihei

This is our second stay at Maui Coast and we really live the location and the value. The only thing... See full review

  • Mainland fever
  • Jul 26, 2014
Great!

Helpful staff, great location, nice rooms! Very glad I stayed here for my first time on Maui.... See full review

  • Dogmom2014
  • Jun 6, 2014
Choose the Maui Coast Hotel, and enjoy a laid-back, slow-paced vacation. One of 40 hotels in the Coast Hotels and Resorts chain, the hotel's guestrooms contain paintings from local artists, as well as verandas to admire the beauty of Hawaii. Live music is featured nightly at the poolside bar, while staff members are happy to serve you a fruit-adorned drink. To get your heart racing a little faster, check out the fitness center located on the premises; tennis enthusiasts will enjoy the lighted courts. Connect to the Internet, while you're away from home or the office, at two free terminals near the front desk.
Key facts
  • 7 floors
  • Free shuttle
  • 2 restaurants: 'Ami 'Ami Bar & Grill and Kamaole Poolside Cafe and Bar
  • Room service
  • Outdoor pool
  • Tennis court
  • 2 meeting/conference rooms
  • Business center
  • Concierge services
Neighborhood
Found in the coastal beauty spot and tourist-favorite Kihei, the Maui Coast Hotel is only a block away from Kamaole Beach Park I, and also within walking distance of local bars, restaurants and shopping. The Shops at Wailea is an excellent place to find clothing, jewelry and other luxury accessories, at stores ranging from Gucci to a Hawaiian-standard ABC outlet. For the golf enthusiast, the Maui Coast Hotel is close to four outstanding golf courses.
Hints and tips

When heading to the beach, ask the front desk for a towel and umbrella, which are free for guests to borrow.

If snorkeling's on the agenda, you'll want to head 10 minutes away for the sea turtles and (seasonal) whale watching opportunities at Makena Beach instead.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Maui Coast Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
355 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
Junior Suite
519 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.graded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is either One King Bed and One Pullout Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Television, Microwave. Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. In addition, Hawaiian artwork from famous local artist Avi Kiriaty is displayed. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.
One-Bedroom Suite
545 Square Feet. Bedding system consists of Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets. Bedding is One King Bed in the Bedroom and One Pullout Sofa Bed in the Living Room. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Televisions, New Furnishings, Microwaves, Private Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Wet Bar and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. Free wireless Internet access available. All rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Hotel Map

20.7238 -156.4464
Area served
Kihei, Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport-OGG
Area description
Just across the street from Kamaole Beach I continuing on with a wide stretch of beautiful, award-winning beaches, surrounded by several shops and restaurants this seven-story hotel is just 2 miles from the upscale Wailea area and championship golf courses.

Dining

Kama'ole Poolside Caf
The Poolside Bar/Cafe provide the following: Lunch; Dinner; Full Bar; Nightly Entertainment; Open Daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (519)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Coast Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
519 out of 519
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary Eliz
San Jose, CA
Nov 27, 2013

Not value for your money

Room is expensive for what it offers. They charge an extra $18per day for amenities - which ideally should be included in the room charge itself like parking fee etc. Compared to other hotels we stayed in recently, this is not value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
catfay
california
Dec 26, 2013

Nice room, confused staff

Room is nice. We only spend one night there, so the required resort fee is a waste for us ... not a good place for people who only want to take a sleep during a long trip. But the room is good. The front lady made some mistakes when we checked out. She was not sure whether we paid or not, which made us a little late for flight check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
riqster
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

good location ,parking lot view

Hotel is right across the street from a decent looking beach. The main part of town is a couple of blocks away where you can get more decent food and entertainment than the hotel usually offers.The pool area is small but a good place to hang out at night if you like the band playing.Mixed drinks are pretty good but a little bit watered down.If you are located on the west side of the hotel ,make sure you're on the 1st or last couple of floors,otherwise your view would consist mainly of people in the parking area getting in and out of their cars.Overall, the hotel is o.k. for a few nights stay if that's all you're looking for. If you want a romantic ambiance,you might want to go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Baker boy
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 17, 2011

Not really Maui wowie

The hotel was in a good location. It was clean and friendly. However, we booked our room six months in advance. When we arrive , they gave us a room on the first floor with a view of a staircase and folks walking. We asked several times to be moved anywhere with a better view and was told nothing was available. Many flight crew people came and went during our 8 days and rooms could have been switched but management refused. Bummer. It's also annoying that there is a mandatory daily fee for things we don't need like washers. I'd rather pay for what I use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Jul 10, 2010

Vacation in Maui

Nice room. Bikes, pool and laundry room were useful. Walking distance to nice swimming and activity beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Many tour activities will pick you up at your hotel. Pride of Maui had a great snorkeling cruise. Hotel also has a free shuttle.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Sep 28, 2009

Hotel review

Hotel was in an ok location. Rooms had really loud a/c units and was stuffy without them. Overall all staff was friendly. Had 3 computers to use internet access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

about a 2 min drive go to foodland, a grocery store to pick up food.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 21, 2009

Ok budget property

While the rooms are freshly remodeled, they were poorly designed. You cannot take a shower without soaking the shower floor. The in room safe hardly holds anything and easily malfunctions. The shuttle driver cannot be relied upon to get you anywhere in a timely manner. The AC works but can take all night to cool the room down. Nice pool area, clean rooms. Not a bad budget property, but would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maui Tacos - just a few blocks away - good, cheap, quick meal.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Omaha, NE
Jul 29, 2007

Just okay

This hotel was just okay. The pool was small, the staff not overly friendly, and the price too high for the outdated and small rooms. We didn't think it was awful but were glad to move on to much nicer amenities and services at a different site later in our vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 13, 2007

Guest Service

The hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating. The staff in the restaurant and pool bar were another story. My wife and I took a walk one morning and purchased two cups of coffee. We walked back to the hotel and we decided to stop into the restaurant for breakfast. The two hostesses were sitting at a table talking and looked up at us like we were disturbing them. One hostess walked up and said,You can't bring those in here I said, Excuse me? She said you can't bring outside coffee into the restaurant. Her whole attitude made us walk out. The coffees we had were almost done and we were going to order more with breakfast. What happened to the Aloha Spirit The female bartender at the pool bar was the most unfriendly person I have met behind a bar. I think she left her personality in her other body. I tried to make small talk with her while she poured my beer but I got no response. My wife walked up for a drink and the bartender kept talking to another employee at the other end of the bar. She finally asked us across the bar if we needed anything. I am a Food and Beverage Manager in Las Vegas and if any of my staff would treat our guests this way, they would not have a job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many places to eat within walking distance from the hotel as well as bars. The beach is across the street.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, California
Nov 9, 2010

For a three star hotel it was great

I wish I would have known in advance that the pool and jacuzzi were closed for renovations but the rest of the hotel was very pleasant, clean and recently renovated. I liked having computers available in the lobby to use to check my email and print out my airline boarding passes to the front desk. I loved having housekeeping to help keep the room tidy, room service available and bicycles we could check out for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We drove up to Maalea Bay to go to the aquarium and stopped by the Pacific Whale Foundation. We purchased a family membership and this provided us discounts on aquarium admission, dolphin watching and snorkling tours. The tours were wonderful. We saw whales, dolphins and green sea turtles on our trip.

Back to menu Return to top