$187 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2014 Check-out: May 1, 2014

Maui Coast Hotel

3 stars
2259 S. Kihei Rd., Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
475 reviews
Fantastic Vacation

Great Location and very friendly Staff. Best Vacation ever See full review

  • JJ and Tina
  • Apr 13, 2014
Awesome hotel!

We stayed at the Maui Coast on our honeymoon. When we arrived we got upgraded to a Junior Suite -... See full review

  • Alinu
  • Dec 10, 2013
Mid-priced Kihei coast hotel goes the extra mile with amenities
In the heart of sunny Kihei, the Maui Coast Hotel goes beyond the expectations of a mid-priced hotel to deliver exceptional location, amenities and style. The hotel is just across the street from one of south Maui's best beaches and a recent multimillion dollar renovation means fresh, contemporary guest rooms. Families love the oversized swimming pool, wading pool for kids, tennis courts and fitness centers, plus shopping and dining within walking distance.
Highlights
  • Swimming and wading pool, two fitness centers and two tennis courts
  • Located near south Maui's most popular beaches at Kamaole Beach Park I
  • Complimentary area shuttle service and laundry facilities
Location
The Maui Coast Hotel is located in the popular coastal community of Kihei, on Maui's south shore. Close to everything, the hotel sits across the street from Kamaole Beach Park I, with great swimming, a sandy beach, exotic views of distant islands and within walking distance of affordable dining and shopping.
Rooms
The Maui Coast Hotel's recent multimillion dollar renovation means fresh, contemporary, stylish rooms and suites await guests. All feature a 37-inch flat-screen TV, air conditioning, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), bath amenities, wall safe, mini-refrigerator, private balcony and Sealy Plush pillow-top mattress with high thread count sheets. Suites include a separate sitting area and wet bar.
Dining
Dine on site at Maui Coast Hotel's Spices Restaurant which serves traditional island fare to continental favorites. Tradewinds Poolside Café takes it casual with sandwiches, salads and a full bar, plus live island entertainment nightly. The Kihei/Wailea area offers a plentiful array of additional dining choices, including the popular Longhi's at the Shops at Wailea.
Recreation
  • Swimming pool
  • Two Jacuzzis
  • Children's wading pool
  • Two lighted tennis courts
  • Two fitness centers
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (13 mi/26.8 km)
  • A complimentary hotel shuttle transports guests within the Kihei/Wailea areas
Attractions
  • Maui Ocean Center (6.4 mi/10.2 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (16.8 mi/27 km)
  • Lahaina Town (25 mi/40.2 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (49.1 mi/79 km)

Maui Coast Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
355 Square Feet. Upgraded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets designed exclusively for Coast Hotels & Resorts. This room type's bedding is either One King Bed and One Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Televisions, New Furnishings, Microwaves and a Private, Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. In addition, Hawaiian artwork from famous local artist Avi Kiriaty is displayed. Free wireless Internet access available (surcharge). All rooms are Non-Smoking only.
One Bedroom Suite
545 Square Feet. Upgraded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets designed exclusively for Coast Hotels & Resorts. This room type's bedding is One King Bed in the Bedroom and One Sofa Bed in the Living Room. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Televisions, New Furnishings, Microwaves and a Private, Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Alcove with Wet Bar and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. In addition, Hawaiian artwork from famous local artist Avi Kiriaty is displayed. Free wireless Internet access available (surcharge). All rooms are Non-Smoking only.
Alcove Suite
519 Square Feet. Upgraded bedding system consisting of Sealy Plush Pillow Top Mattresses with Luxurious High Thread Count Sheets designed exclusively for Coast Hotels & Resorts. This room type's bedding is either One King Bed and One Sofa Bed or Two Queen Beds. Panasonic 37" Flat Panel Plasma Televisions, New Furnishings, Microwaves and a Private, Furnished Lanai, Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Mini-Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Alcove with Wet Bar and Wall Safe are amongst the many enhancements. In addition, Hawaiian artwork from famous local artist Avi Kiriaty is displayed. Free wireless Internet access available (surcharge). All rooms are Non-Smoking only.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maui Coast Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.7238 -156.4464
Area served
Kihei, Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport-OGG
Area description
Just across the street from Kamaole Beach I continuing on with a six mile stretch of beautiful, award-winning beaches, surrounded by several shops and restaurants this seven-story hotel is just 2 miles from the upscale Wailea area and championship golf courses.

Dining

Kama'ole Poolside Caf
The Poolside Bar/Caf will REMAIN OPEN and will provide the following: Breakfast; Lunch; Dinner; Full Bar; Nightly Entertainment; Room Service. Open Daily from 7:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (475)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Coast Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
475 out of 475
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Sami
Illinois, USA
Aug 31, 2011

Girls Getaway

The hotel was very nice and clean....everything from the room to the pool! The hotel was right across from the beach and in a nice central location on the island....easy to get pretty much everywhere. It was also within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. There is also a shuttle provided that will take you within a 3 mile radius which is nice for the luau at the Marriott so you don't have to drive! The only downfall was the $17.50 resort fee every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
north carolina
Oct 21, 2009

fantastic value

The hotel has recently been remodeled. The decor was lovely. The features were equivalent to those found in more expensive hotels. The staff was always courteous and helpful. Would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Blondiegirl
Seattle, Washington
Oct 5, 2012

Well worth the price, good location!

This hotel is very nice and comfortable. The rooms were clean and updated and the bed was very comfortable. The pool is small but nice and the gym has everything you will need for a good workout. It is directly across from Kamaole Beach I which is a very nice, quiet beach. The $17.50 resort fee is a little high but it includes parking and use of all the facilities. The hotel also offers free wifi. Overall our stay was very nice and I would stay here again. If you stay in Kihei definitely go to the Kihei Caffe for breakfast, best banana macadamia nut french toast ever!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Kihei Caffe for breakfast and order the banana macadamia nut French toast with coconut syrup. It's the best French toast I've ever had! They also have good coffee.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Guard259
Abington, PA
Sep 7, 2009

Good location on island. nice room.

I think we stayed in a good geographic location on the island. The room was nice. We didn't hang out much in the Hotel because there is so much to do on island! It was always nice to come back to a comfortable bed and good shower. Big rooms, fridge, micro, coffeemaker. Beaches are across street, and very close. I would come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit up Fred's for Mexican a few blocks south on Kihei street. Excellent!

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Nov 9, 2009

Maui Coast

I was traveling with my girlfriend for a relaxing vacation. The hotel was clean and very quiet, which was perfect for what we wanted. It was located accross the street from two of the best beaches on Maui and close to a number of excellent and affordable restaurants. The location was ideal to a number of attractions. I would have liked if the pool was a little bigger and if the fitness room was a little larger, but overall I would say that I would absolutely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend to anyone who stays here to check out Sorrento's on the beach in to way to Wailea. Go between 8-9:30 P.M. for dinner and ask for the starlite menu. It is an unadvertised menu, but a great value and a wonderful experience.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
PHDave
Pleasant Hill, CA, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Nice value for the money and good staff.

I really liked this hotel. It is in a nice area of Maui and has all the basics of a luxury room without the resort overcharges and pretentious staff. Nice to have free washing machines too. Tennis courts, live music in the restaurant, good food, walk to nice beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Yuma, AZ
Jan 6, 2010

Great time

My husband and I stayed over Christmas vacation. We were there about six days. The hotel experience was great. The staff was friendly and helpful. They had an activities agent on staff to help set up activities you wanted. The rooms were clean and there is no bad view. The thing they called a fitness center left a lot to be desired but it was ok if all you wanted to do was cardio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I recommend renting a car if you are going to stay at the hotel. It is a little far of a walk (8 miles) from the harbor where most water activities take place (snorkeling/dinner cruises) and I did not see a lot of public transportation although it does exist.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Jan 7, 2010

Great hotel for the money!

The hotel was recently remodeled and the rooms are beautiful. There is only one pool for this hotel but the size was good for the time I was there which was a slow period. Live music every evening with great happy hour drink specials and food. Their employees are very friendly and helpful. Location of this hotel is great as you can walk everywhere. You can walk either direction and find shopping and restaurants. Across the street and at the end of the block is the first of 3 beaches. Bring your cocktail and head down at sunset.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Kihei Cafe for breakfast! Friendly, fast and great good. Try the pork fried rice with scrambled eggs or macadamia nut pancakes. All outdoor seating in a casual atmosphere. Locals hang there as well so you know it's good.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 7, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

We ultimately ended up choosing to stay at the Maui Coast hotel over the larger resorts in Ka'anapali because, as a couple, we wanted to avoid throngs of children and large tourist crowds. Location: The location ended up being perfect because all of the essentials were within a short walk or short drive of the hotel: ABC Store, Longs Drugs, plenty of great local places to eat, shaved ice, and a fantastic sandy beach across the street. It made for a great home base. It is a bit of a drive to the more touristy towns like Lahaina and Ka'anapali, but if you're in no hurry, it's always a pleasant drive considering just about every major highway hugs the coastline. Hotel Amenities: Our room was on the 7th floor and had a lovely view of the ocean. It was fairly quiet (especially considering we never closed our lanai door) and we were pleasantly surprised that there was a ceiling fan in the room. The flat screen TV, soft feathertopped mattresses, and mini-fridge/micro were great. The only complaint is the size of the bathroom, where the door does intrude quite a bit into the bathroom. However, this really wasn't an issue for us and the bathroom fixtures were very modern. Also, a final plus was the complimentary washers and dryers, which meant on our last night, we were able to wash all of our clothes and take home clean clothes rather than having the pleasure of washing everything as soon as we got back. Also, on site is a Local Expert who helped us book our trips. It was much nicer than the high pressure booking situations in Lahaina, with folks trying to pull you in off the street and bribe you with freebies. Re: the pool - we never used it, and frankly don't really understand using it when there's a perfectly fine beach across the street, but it was rather small. However, it seemed nice enough and it was never crowded. In the evening, there was music entertainment and we swung by for a happy hour one evening. If you're looking for one of those huge fancy resort pools, Ka'anapali is the place for you. Overall: This hotel is a great choice if you shy away from places that are packed with tourists and are looking for a more authentic experience. Also, because it's not as touristy an area, you'll find a lot of savings at restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Hit up the local Longs or Foodland and grab your essentials for a great trip: a flat of water, juices, and a cooler. Maui is pretty hot so keeping a stash of cold waters and juice in a cooler in the trunk ensures you don't get dehydrated and avoid paying for bottled water everywhere you go. Also, to help out maid service, leave your cans and bottles in a separate bag by the trash so they can recycle it.

Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
appleton wisconsin
Mar 10, 2011

nice hotel nice location

The people are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and very adequate for the price. We stayed at the Waikiki Sheraton last year and paid $360.00 a night and for the price this is a very nice hotel close to shopping and the beach is right across the street. We'll stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top