$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Mana Kai Maui

3 stars
2960 South Kihei Road, Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
16 reviews
better than expected!

Great location, awesome place to snorkel or just relax on the beach. We will definitely be coming... See full review

  • SpencerJ
  • Jul 4, 2014
Beautiful room and beach

First class hotel! Rooms were excellent with very comfortable beds. See full review

  • Norm56
  • Mar 31, 2014
Welcome to Mana Kai Maui, "Where Heaven Meets Earth", with the mile long Keawakapu Beach at your doorstep.

We do things differently here at Mana Kai. Why? Because we were designed around one very simple idea ~ to cater to your needs. Because we never forget why we were here. For you. The 26 employees of the Mana Kai Maui ohana (family) strive to preserve the "Aloha Spirit". Our guests have been returning for many years. Some even go back to the year we opened in 1973. Generations of visitors return annually to be greeted with Aloha by name. Just as our visitors return year after year, we have the good fortune of retaining a long time staff with a handful of employees at 20+ years of service. It is this familiarity that embraces the soul and spirit of the Mana Kai Maui ~ where true Aloha lives.

This aloha extends to free wi-fi access, free local phone calls, daily maid service, free parking, free cable flat screen tv's complimentary pool towel exchange, laundry facilities on every floor (tokens may be purchased during front desk hours) and no resort fee. Our 1 and 2 bedroom condominiums have fully equipped kitchens.

The Mana Kai Maui Resort is comprised of 98 individually owned condominiums. The Mana Kai Maui Hotel, LLC is an owner partnership company that manages 50 condominiums from the partnership operated offices and front desk, located on our lobby level at the Mana Kai Resort. We are the official on-site rental program, and are here to assist you with any questions or requests you may have. Our front desk is open daily from 8:00 am to 7:00 pm HST. In addition, you may also print your boarding passes during the front desk hours of operation. Our reservations staff is also located on site and available Monday - Saturdays from 8 am to 4:30 pm. Please contact us with any questions you may have, or, if you just need some Aloha.

Property renovation will take place from April 28 2014-July 2014. Renovation hours will be from 8a-5p, Monday-Friday.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mana Kai Maui also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Mana Kai Maui Rooms

Hotel Room - no balcony
The hotel rooms are air conditioned with a large picture window located on the North side of the building. There is no balcony to these units. Equipped with a mini refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and king bed. Approximately 210 square feet, maximum of 2 persons.
1Bedroom, 1 Bath Superior Ocean View
Superior units have additional upgrades which include granite counter tops and drop ceiling with recessed lighting. Most units have converted to shower stalls. These units are located the South side of the building with a balcony overlooking beautiful Keawakapu beach. Approximately 604 square feet, maximum of 4 persons, 1 king bed and sofa sleeper.
1 Bedroom, 1 Bath Premium Ocean View
Premium units offer you our condos with the best views. These units feature the same interior upgrades as our Superior units and are located on South side of the building with a balcony overlooking beautiful Keawakapu beach at the ocean end of the building, rooms 1 through 5 on every floor. Approximately 604 square feet, maximum of 4 persons, 1 king bed and sofa sleeper.
2 Bedroom, 2 Bath Standard Ocean View
ALL units were renovated in 2008 with new furniture, interior paint, 32" flat screen tv, light and wall fixtures, fully equipped kitchens, 2 king beds and a sofa sleeper. Standard units are located the South side of the building with a balcony overlooking beautiful Keawakapu beach. Approximately 814 square feet, maximum of 6 persons
2 Bedroom, 2 Bath Superior Ocean View
Superior units have additional upgrades which include granite counter tops and drop ceiling with recessed lighting. Most units have converted to shower stalls. These units are located the South side of the building with a balcony overlooking beautiful Keawakapu beach. Approximately 814 square feet, maximum of 6 persons, 2 king beds and a sofa sleeper.
2 Bedroom, 2 Bath Premium Ocean View
Premium units offer you our condos with the best views. These units feature the same interior upgrades as our Superior units and are located on South side of the building with a balcony overlooking beautiful Keawakapu beach at the ocean end of the building, rooms 1 through 5 on every floor. Approximately 814 square feet, maximum of 6 persons, 2 king beds and a sofa sleeper.
1 Bedroom, 1 Bath Standard Ocean View
ALL units were renovated in 2008 with new furniture, interior paint, 32" flat screen tv, light and wall fixtures, fully equipped kitchens, king bed and sofa sleeper. Standard units are located the South side of the building with a balcony overlooking beautiful Keawakapu beach. Approximately 604 square feet, maximum of 4 persons, 1 king bed and sofa sleeper.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Five Palms Beach Grill
Located on the ground level of the Mana Kai Maui, the Five Palms Beach Grill offers breathtaking views of Keawakapu Beach with the Molokini Crater and Kaho'olawe in the distance. You will experience Aloha style of service and panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean. Breakfast & Lunch: 8:00 to 2:30 pm Daily Dinner: 5:00 to 9:00 pm Daily Oceanfront Happy Hour: 3:00 to 7:00 pm and 9:00 to 11:00 pm Daily Sushi Bar: 3:00 to 11:00 pm
Zack's Deli
Zack's Deli & General Store is located on the ground level of Mana Kai Maui. Zack's has something for everyone including delicious sandwiches, indulgent desserts, crisp fresh salads and hot plate lunches. They have the most extensive top-shelf liquor selection in Kihei, with a restaurant-style wine selection and ice cold beer. Zack's is well-supplied with all your basic toiletry needs as well as beach toys, apparel, sunscreens and gifts. 7:00 am to 9:00 pm Daily

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for Mana Kai Maui

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cloud kicker
Business
toronto
Feb 2, 2014

don't bother

The room we got was 10 x15 much smaller than we expected. Your paying for the location if you don't mind. Other places would work out much better in the same area with a better view & price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Luau

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John y nickname unique id
Business
Connecticut
Oct 12, 2013

great location but dated

Nice beach, great restaurants, and bars all in short walking distance. Nice view from room only problem with it was walkway to other rooms was in front of window so for privacy you don't really want to keep blinds open, but since I didn't pay for ocean view can't really complain. The room was a little small, bathroom even smaller, but for how old the room looked it was in really good shape and very clean. If you're looking for a clean room and bed to sleep in with a lot to do around it this is the place, but if you are looking for a modern spacious room I would pass on this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hwy49guy
Business
Grass Valley, CA
Jan 10, 2014

Error in our favor.

Original reservation for a "B" unit was lost by the front desk, got it resolved it and we felt very fortunate to be upgraded into the "A" unit for all nights except for our last night, then moved into a "B". Absolutely loved the view and the location of this hotel. Couldn't be any better in Kihei. Grounds are well kept and our room was always clean. Down side to the A unit was that there is no AC. Not a big deal since the weather was a tad bit cooler and we could just open the slider, no problem, but any warmer, things would have been a lot less comfortable. But again, we were fortunate to be upgraded. Ceiling fans can only go so fast. Just be aware. Moved to B unit for last night of vacation and discovered that we would never return to the hotel that provides such a small space. Would not recommend for a stay beyond a couple of nights. With the exception of the front desk, every other employee was terrific! Front desk needs some training. On all occasions, staff at the front seemed arrogant about the upgrade and made it well known that we were "Lucky" regardless of the fact that they made an error. Instead of simply fixing the mistake (which they were obligated to do so and did), the staff at the front desk carried on about it as if we didn't belong there. Sad really as we will return on a regular basis and stay somewhere else. Would not recommend if you are just hoteling it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ceci.LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 5, 2014

Small Rooms

The location is the best thing about this place. The rooms are very small and parking Ivan be hectic since the beach goers park at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yummy Yunny
Business
New York, NY
Sep 7, 2014

Good location and price!

Rooms were small but clean. Location was great, very close to a lot of excellent restaurants. A plus no resort fee or cleaning fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andynaik
Business
Redmond, WA
Jan 13, 2014

Steps away from the beach, needs upgrading though

I cannot complain about the location of this hotel. It is literally steps away from the beach and close to other strip malls and shops. The rooms definitely need upgrading though. We were staying on the 5th floor in a B unit. As far as I can tell, A units have a nice view and are bigger. B units were disappointingly small without any view. You can open the blinds but there would be no privacy at all. Big bummer. The rooms definitely need upgrading. A nice upgrade to all rooms could do wonders to this hotel. Also, there's no breakfast option. Staying in a A unit costs extra but I doubt I'd be willing to pay that much if I can stay at Westin or Four Seasons for a tad extra than that. If you don't mind where you crash after a day of fun, you wouldn't mind staying here. The WiFi connection is also pretty flaky. Good luck connecting with your Apple devices. Our Windows devices connected fine though. Pros: The lady who arranges various tourist attractions near the lobby is really good. No need to buy tickets in advance. Just go see her.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Shops at Wailea if you're interested in shopping. A short drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
prhmd
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jan 13, 2014

Best location

I have stayed at this hotel many times and can heartily recommend it. The location is on one of the best beaches on Maui (Keawakapu Beach) - good for swimming, snorkeling, body surfing, and whale watching in season. All the condo rooms face the ocean with southern exposures - I almost never close the lanai doors and love to listen to the waves. If you wish to add a bedroom, you can also book the 'hotel' style room that is part of the unit (one entrance) - this provides an extra bed and bathroom for children or guests. I only downgraded the value because the usual prices have gone up dramatically after major renovations were done to the property. The price listed at this time on this website, however, it a great price and a great value. This is a wonderful location for families, wedding parties, and couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Check out The Scene - a newspaper addition to the Maui News on Thursdays for weekly entertainment schedules and dining specials. Also, check out what is happening at the Maui Arts and Cultural Center during your stay (the MACC) - you may luck out and find that your favorite national or international artist is giving a guest performance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marathon Island Hopper
Business
Waialua, HI
Jan 20, 2014

Would stay again

My fiancé and I went for a long weekend trip from Oahu and were looking for something central but with a relaxed beach feel. This hotel fit the bill, including our budget. The concierge was helpful, parking free, the beach view and pool are astounding, and the overall location is perfect if you want to be closer to the Islam attractions. The rooms are small and you may hear things going on outside, but it isn't bad and the rooms are clean. We would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant mostly requires reservations, is full, costs $40 a plate, and are not very filling. I would plan to eat in Kihei or the Shops at Wailea.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms SMF
Business
West Hollywood, CA
Jan 28, 2014

Great stay in beautiful Maui!

I stayed at the Mana Kai for my honeymoon and loved it! Apparently the beach is a favorite among the locals, so you know it's a great beach. We wanted a relaxing trip, so spent most of our time at the pool and beach. The room was a bit small but overall cozy and clean. We had a fantastic ocean view, and nothing beat falling asleep to the sound of the waves crashing. The hotel staff are super nice, even one of our taxi drivers said the Mana Kai staff are the nicest in Kihei. Also lots of adorable cats around the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Watch out for the sushi from the Five Palms restaurant. My husband had some raw fish dishes and had stomach pains all night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VacationDaveVacationDave
Business
Providence, RI
Mar 19, 2014

Amazing location

Last minute choice, got a good deal. Amazing views, sunsets, activity options. The ocean was nice and calm here and good for easy starter snorkeling. We even had the pleasure of whales during breakfast. Only cons, service in the restaurant wasn't the greatest also, the lots of talking and activity just outisde our window by people working at the hotel in the morning was a little annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Fred's for susnset dinner on the patio outside

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top