Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

3 stars
938 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
52 reviews
Good home away from home

It's a nice condo, close to Kihei beaches. The unit is on the first floor and the lanai is... See full review

  • kawaii112
  • Sep 24, 2013
Great trip.

it was really awesome. i had a lot of fun and traveled all across the island saw a lot of stuff.... See full review

  • cyrus2572
  • Aug 11, 2013
Sunny Kihei condos offer affordable oceanfront living for the family
Kihei’s oceanfront Kauhale Makai condominiums offer families a wide-open view onto the ocean and the neighboring islands of Lanai and Kahoolawe. A large lawn sprawls in front of the twin buildings right up to a narrow, peaceful beach, giving kids plenty of room to run and play. In addition to a swimming pool for adults, the property includes a wading pool plus fun extras like shuffleboard and a putting green. All studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom units feature a fully-equipped kitchen, allowing guests to cook “at home” and save on dining.
Highlights
  • Peaceful stretch of beach fronts the property
  • Each unit includes a fully-equipped kitchen
  • Shallow wading pool for kids
Location
The Kauhale Makai enjoys a quiet beachfront location in sunny Kihei on Maui’s south shore. The looming neighbor island of Lanai, just across the channel, adds an exotic element to the ocean panorama. Kauhale Makai guests also are within easy reach of Kihei’s many shops and restaurants.
Rooms
The six-story Kauhale Makai features studio, one- and two-bedroom condo units with air conditioning, private balcony, fully-equipped kitchen, cable TV and traditional island décor. Most units offer ocean or mountain views. All units are professionally-cleaned in advance of guest arrival and stocked with starter supplies of paper products and soaps. Laundry facilities are on every other floor.
Dining
Kauhale Makai guests save by cooking in the fully equipped kitchens. Restaurants and shops are plentiful within the area.

 

Recreation
  • Adult swimming pool, children's wading pool and Jacuzzi
  • Saunas
  • Shuffleboard and putting green
  • Barbecue areas
  • Golf (nearby)

 

Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
Attractions
  • Maui Ocean Center (6.8 mi/10.9 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (8.8 mi/14.2 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (13.3 mi/21.4 km)
  • Lahaina Town (21.5 mi/34.6 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home Rooms

Two Bedroom Oceanview
This condominium includes queen bed; twin beds and queen hide a bed sofa. All condominium resorts have a swimming pool and are close to shopping, restaurants, golf, activities and the airport. All resorts have BBQ's. All condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, telephones, color cable TV or complex satellite and private lanais. All condominiums are considered a "home away from home" and the inventory includes microwave, coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishes, glasses, silverware, pots and pans, utensils, baking dishes, towels, lines, iron, vacuum, alarm clock and many other items to make your vacation comfortable and enjoyable. Accommodations are professionally cleaned and prepared for all guests prior to arrival, and include starter supplies of paper products and soaps. Additional supplies are the guest's responsibility. Maid service is available for an additional fee.
Two Bedroom Oceanfront
This condominium includes queen bed; twin beds and queen hide a bed sofa. All condominium resorts have a swimming pool and are close to shopping, restaurants, golf, activities and the airport. All resorts have BBQ's. All condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, telephones, color cable TV or complex satellite and private lanais. All condominiums are considered a "home away from home" and the inventory includes microwave, coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishes, glasses, silverware, pots and pans, utensils, baking dishes, towels, lines, iron, vacuum, alarm clock and many other items to make your vacation comfortable and enjoyable. Accommodations are professionally cleaned and prepared for all guests prior to arrival, and include starter supplies of paper products and soaps. Additional supplies are the guest's responsibility. Maid service is available for an additional fee.
Studio
Studio include queen hide a bed sofa or wall bed. All condominium resorts have a swimming pool and are close to shopping, restaurants, golf, activities and the airport. All resorts have BBQ's. All condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, telephones, color cable TV or complex satellite and private lanais. All condominiums are considered a "home away from home" and the inventory includes microwave, coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishes, glasses, silverware, pots and pans, utensils, baking dishes, towels, lines, iron, vacuum, alarm clock and many other items to make your vacation comfortable and enjoyable. Accommodations are professionally cleaned and prepared for all guests prior to arrival, and include starter supplies of paper products and soaps. Additional supplies are the guest's responsibility. Maid service is available for an additional fee.
One Bedroom
This condominium includes one queen bed and queen hides a bed sofa. All condominium resorts have a swimming pool and are close to shopping, restaurants, golf, activities and the airport. All resorts have BBQ's. All condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, telephones, color cable TV or complex satellite and private lanais. All condominiums are considered a "home away from home" and the inventory includes microwave, coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishes, glasses, silverware, pots and pans, utensils, baking dishes, towels, lines, iron, vacuum, alarm clock and many other items to make your vacation comfortable and enjoyable. Accommodations are professionally cleaned and prepared for all guests prior to arrival, and include starter supplies of paper products and soaps. Additional supplies are the guest's responsibility. Maid service is available for an additional fee.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 52
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tuan
Business
Sacramento CA
Jul 12, 2013

Nice anniversary trip to paradise

The room is more than I expected. The view is excellent (we stay on the sixth floor, slightly facing inland, but the view of the garden, the pool, and the ocean are al clear). Since it was our first time to Maui, I did not know which area is best, but I believed our place in Kihei was perfect, as all the shoppings and restaurants are within 5 minutes drive. On our trip to Lahaina area, we saw terrible traffic against ours on the way back in the afternoon. Same thing happens when we took the road to Hana, we saw heavy cross traffic coming from Kahului, again on the way back. I wish we can stay longer, but well, back to the business of making a living !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thaigirl22
Business
Oregon
Mar 20, 2013

Honeymoon

It's not the most luxury place for a honeymoon. But we loved it. It was great for the price we paid. We were close to everything and we didn't mind the drive into lahiana and other town. Our stay was amazing, we enjoyed staying here. We would come back again and recommend people. One thing that I was not as happy about was there was no wifi. Unless you have a password that the lady on the phone told us only the owner property have it. My husband use up 90% of his Internet while we were there. We only had iPhones and iPad on us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There's Safeway maybe less than a mile away from the condo. We cooked at the condo often. To help save money... On going out up eat. The condo have everything pot and pans ready for you to use.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RolandHannes
Business
São Paulo, Brasil
Mar 19, 2013

Fantastic couple getaway

Everything was great, the beach in front, pool, jacuzzi, full kitchen and a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PTay
Business
Sacramento, California
Jul 18, 2012

Very nice and comfortable

At first we were given a unit facing the parking lot and from the corner of the balcony we could see the ocean in the distance. We had paid for an ocean view and we were not happy with the room. However, after making a couple of phone calls we were given a much more satisfying room with nicer view of the facility and ocean. The complaint was that each night we were smelling cigarette smoke in our room (coming through the vent system). We told the office and they were aware of the issue and trying to find out who was breaking the rules and smoking in their unit. Also, we checked in on July 4th and no one was in the office due to the holiday. This made it difficult to check into a room and would have been impossible had we not had our cell phone with us. The amenities in the room we had were very nice (full kitchen with needed equipment), but all units are not equal so beware of that issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The comedy/magic act at Warren and Annabelle's was extremely enjoyable. Would definitely recommend going.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New York Mark
Business
Horseheads, NY
May 28, 2012

Peaceful stay in Unit 122

We had a great 7 day stay at this condo complex. Our room was very clean, modern & well stocked when we arrived. It had a keyless entry which made our late arrival very convenient. All cookware and appliances for cooking were provided, and there were beach items (towels, boogie boards, etc) in the closet. Tons of closet space & drawer storage! The interior was comfortable & nicely decorated. This is a ground level room located toward the rear of the courtyard. Not much of an ocean view, but the courtyard was beautiful! The room was convenient to the parking lot, and didn't require stairs or elevator to access. The courtyard was beautifully maintained daily, and had a putting green, swimming pool, wading pool, hot tub, volleyball net & dual shuffleboard court. The ocean was just a short walk across the lawn and dunes. The beach is a nice hard sand walking beach, with lots of washed up coral to investigate. It is not a swimming beach. The nice sandy swimming beaches begin about a mile south at Cove Park and southward from there. There are a series of gas grills in the center of the courtyard which were meticulously maintained. We cooked several meals on them during the week. I was a great place to cook & meet your neighbors! The condo complex has several laundry rooms available, and there is a concierge desk to help plan your activities (and get you good discounts too!) The condo complex is in a quieter area, away from the touristy areas, but is a central, convenient driving distance to just about everything. It is only 20 minutes from the airport & large shopping areas of Kahului. It is about 15 minutes from the Ma'alaea Harbor activities. Our favorite beach was Big Beach, all the way down on the south end of the island, and even that was only 20 minutes away. There are a number of local grocery stores, restaurants, craft markets, etc, just south of the complex, some even in walking distance. We took the Road to Hana Tour, and they conveniently picked us up right at the condo complex. This is a "must do" tour when visiting this island! If you are looking for a nice peaceful place to base your Maui vacation from, the Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo & Home is a great choice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Saturday morning there is a wonderful local swap meet/flea market in Kahului on the college grounds. Prices and variety there were better than the local craft markets, and most items were made in Maui/Hawaii.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VondaMay
Business
lynchburg\ danville
Mar 25, 2012

my maui vacation

The condo was excellent, some of the people were rude, some were not sociable, but my overall stay was a good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The south side offers more to do and the people are friendlier

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roxy lover
Business
Ogden, UT, USA
Dec 15, 2011

Fun in the sun

we booked this place for the price and location on the beach, and thought it would be cheaper to cook food ourselves rather than eat out for every meal. Loved the condo, very roomy. The beach it sits on is not nice, it's small and rocky and someone told me it was downstream from a sewage outlet. We ended up driving every day about 7 miles to a really nice beach. I think we saved money overall by booking here and driving to more expensive beach resorts on A public beach. We would probably stay here again if the price was right

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Our condo was stocked with good snorkel and beach equipment. Don't pack yours and just use the condo provided stuff to save room in luggage

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brebreb
Business
Oroville, CA, USA
Nov 17, 2011

Relaxing and comfortable

The concierge in the lobby was a plus we didn't expect. They even called our room the day after check-in to see if we needed help with anything. Our room had all the comforts of home, groceries weren't too expensive as we stopped at WalMart in Kahului. Supermarket Times right up the street has DVD rentals when you want to stay in. The beach is a stroll, but it keeps everything quiet around the rooms in the morning. Assigned parking spaces and a pool/laundry key are +++. The staff was polite and very professional. Our only maintenance issue was handled promptly and without our having to stay around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LoganAndFelicia
Business
albuquerque, NM
Jun 17, 2011

Wonderful stay

Very clean and organized. The front desk was able to help with all our needs. Very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charlie and Carol
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 17, 2011

We liked this place

The hotel was clean and neat. The employees at the desk were very helpful and friendly. There was an experienced hospitality person at 9:00 AM who helped us plan our activities for the week, including a luau, snorkeling, and a helicopter ride. She made the reservations for us, saving us lots of time and money. This is a great thing to take advantage of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top