Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

3 stars
View map of 938 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
58 reviews
Spur of the Moment Trip

My Girlfriend and I really wanted to do something adventurous so we booked a room here a couple... See full review

  • Robert M.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Perfect For a Family of Five

Location, Location for a family on the go, its not to far and not to close. For those times of rest... See full review

  • FnAVilla
  • Jun 17, 2014

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home Rooms

Two Bedroom Oceanview
This condominium includes queen bed; twin beds and queen hide a bed sofa. All condominium resorts have a swimming pool and are close to shopping, restaurants, golf, activities and the airport. All resorts have BBQ's. All condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, telephones, color cable TV or complex satellite and private lanais. All condominiums are considered a "home away from home" and the inventory includes microwave, coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishes, glasses, silverware, pots and pans, utensils, baking dishes, towels, lines, iron, vacuum, alarm clock and many other items to make your vacation comfortable and enjoyable. Accommodations are professionally cleaned and prepared for all guests prior to arrival, and include starter supplies of paper products and soaps. Additional supplies are the guest's responsibility. Maid service is available for an additional fee.
Two Bedroom Oceanfront
This condominium includes queen bed; twin beds and queen hide a bed sofa. All condominium resorts have a swimming pool and are close to shopping, restaurants, golf, activities and the airport. All resorts have BBQ's. All condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, telephones, color cable TV or complex satellite and private lanais. All condominiums are considered a "home away from home" and the inventory includes microwave, coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishes, glasses, silverware, pots and pans, utensils, baking dishes, towels, lines, iron, vacuum, alarm clock and many other items to make your vacation comfortable and enjoyable. Accommodations are professionally cleaned and prepared for all guests prior to arrival, and include starter supplies of paper products and soaps. Additional supplies are the guest's responsibility. Maid service is available for an additional fee.
Studio
Studio include queen hide a bed sofa or wall bed. All condominium resorts have a swimming pool and are close to shopping, restaurants, golf, activities and the airport. All resorts have BBQ's. All condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, telephones, color cable TV or complex satellite and private lanais. All condominiums are considered a "home away from home" and the inventory includes microwave, coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishes, glasses, silverware, pots and pans, utensils, baking dishes, towels, lines, iron, vacuum, alarm clock and many other items to make your vacation comfortable and enjoyable. Accommodations are professionally cleaned and prepared for all guests prior to arrival, and include starter supplies of paper products and soaps. Additional supplies are the guest's responsibility. Maid service is available for an additional fee.
One Bedroom
This condominium includes one queen bed and queen hides a bed sofa. All condominium resorts have a swimming pool and are close to shopping, restaurants, golf, activities and the airport. All resorts have BBQ's. All condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, telephones, color cable TV or complex satellite and private lanais. All condominiums are considered a "home away from home" and the inventory includes microwave, coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishes, glasses, silverware, pots and pans, utensils, baking dishes, towels, lines, iron, vacuum, alarm clock and many other items to make your vacation comfortable and enjoyable. Accommodations are professionally cleaned and prepared for all guests prior to arrival, and include starter supplies of paper products and soaps. Additional supplies are the guest's responsibility. Maid service is available for an additional fee.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach,Ca
Jul 25, 2011

Customer very poor and not helpful !

We could not use the beach,their was no shore. The grass ended from the Hotel/Condo about 100 yards,then a small drop of 10 feet to a rocky shore.Maked reservations for Zip Line three months in advance. This was not a nice place to stay. My wife triped as she entered the office and the employees started to laugh, my wife twisted her foot,which turned blue. Later we talked to the office lady and she told us everyone trips over the same step all the time. Later we talked to the lady at the front desk and she told us they would not pay for any medicals bills. We arrived a little early and the cleanning lady was about finished,we called the office person and she got mad that we were only put our suitecases in the condo but in a very rude way she then said it was ok to leave our baggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Maui restaurant guide.

Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach,Ca
Jul 25, 2011

Customer very poor and not helpful !

We could not use the beach,their was no shore. The grass ended from the Hotel/Condo about 100 yards,then a small drop of 10 feet to a rocky shore.Maked reservations for Zip Line three months in advance. This was not a nice place to stay. My wife triped as she entered the office and the employees started to laugh, my wife twisted her foot,which turned blue. Later we talked to the office lady and she told us everyone trips over the same step all the time. Later we talked to the lady at the front desk and she told us they would not pay for any medicals bills. We arrived a little early and the cleanning lady was about finished,we called the office person and she got mad that we were only put our suitecases in the condo but in a very rude way she then said it was ok to leave our baggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Maui restaurant guide.

Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH
Jan 26, 2010

Hit or miss

Condos are individually owned and not all equal. Our first condo was filthy and infested with cockroaches. After a few days we couldn't take any more and after a bit of complaining, they moved us to a better room. It was much cleaner and more updated. Also, the front office is manned by a different company than the one that manages reservations. This means to get anything you have to call an off-site company during business hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Jul 3, 2009

Village by the Sea

The room was decent but old and very outdated, nothing matched, everything leaked and there wasn't enough dishes. It just needed updating. The location was bad. I would not stay there again, it is NOT worth the price. It wasn't horrible but it was far from great. Try the Hale Pau Hana if you want a fabulous place to stay in Maui. We stayed there before and we should have spent the extra few bucks to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Pacific Whale Foundation has the best snorkel tour! Mendes Ranch had awesome horseback riding and a great staff, excellent lunch! Road to Hana was worth it. Polo Beach was incredible. Skip Hilo Hattie! Go to Lahina and enjoy the historical landmarks and very quiant shops. Much better deals there too. The Banyan tree in front of the courhouse was just amazing.

Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WeHeartHawaii
Business
Yucaipa CA
Jun 4, 2009

Great place to stay...

It was clean and quiet, the staff was not very helpful to us though. The beach front was not worth going to. Its a nice place to stay, but don't expect anything but bare minimum service and anemnities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roxy lover
Business
Ogden, UT, USA
Dec 15, 2011

Fun in the sun

we booked this place for the price and location on the beach, and thought it would be cheaper to cook food ourselves rather than eat out for every meal. Loved the condo, very roomy. The beach it sits on is not nice, it's small and rocky and someone told me it was downstream from a sewage outlet. We ended up driving every day about 7 miles to a really nice beach. I think we saved money overall by booking here and driving to more expensive beach resorts on A public beach. We would probably stay here again if the price was right

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Our condo was stocked with good snorkel and beach equipment. Don't pack yours and just use the condo provided stuff to save room in luggage

Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PTay
Business
Sacramento, California
Jul 18, 2012

Very nice and comfortable

At first we were given a unit facing the parking lot and from the corner of the balcony we could see the ocean in the distance. We had paid for an ocean view and we were not happy with the room. However, after making a couple of phone calls we were given a much more satisfying room with nicer view of the facility and ocean. The complaint was that each night we were smelling cigarette smoke in our room (coming through the vent system). We told the office and they were aware of the issue and trying to find out who was breaking the rules and smoking in their unit. Also, we checked in on July 4th and no one was in the office due to the holiday. This made it difficult to check into a room and would have been impossible had we not had our cell phone with us. The amenities in the room we had were very nice (full kitchen with needed equipment), but all units are not equal so beware of that issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The comedy/magic act at Warren and Annabelle's was extremely enjoyable. Would definitely recommend going.

Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maui Dan
Business
Aliso Viejo, CA
Apr 27, 2013

Maui Condo # 612 was ok, but not bad for the money

The condo was easy to find on the drive over from the airport. I came in at night....so if you arrive during the day it should be even easier. The complex is nice, and right on the ocean! The beach is not all that great but it is a great walk and view. The condo is new, with an updated modern kitchen and appliances....unfortunately the carpet is very old in the bedrooms and dirty.....ceramic tile throughout the family room and kitchen. Beds are nice, but need to be updated with new mattresses... After two nights of sleep it was a rough sleep and could use more pillows. The bathrooms are nice, but a leak in the second bathroom by the toilet. Plenty of towels and that was a huge plus ! The ocean view from the bedroom is very nice and the sounds of the birds in the morning was incredibly awesome! Pool area was very nice, many friendly people you'll meet throughout the complex.....a very nice office staff as well. The location is great with many places to walk to or a short drive to almost any choice of restaurant and a few small shopping malls. (The location all in all was great) It surely is not worth over $200 per night but under $160 would be appropriate for the condition and all around cleanliness. I was able to find a good deal so I'm not complaining too much. I would recommend to all friends if the price was under $160 per night, or if it was much cleaner with updated bedrooms/carpet $230 would be excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Short walk to a couple fast food restaurants and a mall....but a longer walk to better night life and dinning.

Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pensacola, FL
Jul 19, 2009

GREAT TIME

We enjoyed our stay in condo #333 (2BR;2BA). Our friends enjoyed the 1 BR at #607. Good time; good location; and, a great place to base your travels on Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Jun 15, 2011

Kauhale Makai in June

Kids loved the pool! Had a lovely stay here. The 1 bedroom/1 bath condo was nicely decorated and well equipped but it was not very clean. Felt the need to go buy Lysol wipes due to the fuzz on the door frames. The condo facility is nice, right next to the ocean (good for walks not swimming), nice hot tub, but wouldn't go in the sauna - again, not clean and obviously not used. The staff was friendly and even our view across the parking lot was of ocean and island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top