Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

3 stars
938 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
52 reviews
Good home away from home

It's a nice condo, close to Kihei beaches. The unit is on the first floor and the lanai is... See full review

  • kawaii112
  • Sep 24, 2013
Great trip.

it was really awesome. i had a lot of fun and traveled all across the island saw a lot of stuff.... See full review

  • cyrus2572
  • Aug 11, 2013
Sunny Kihei condos offer affordable oceanfront living for the family
Kihei’s oceanfront Kauhale Makai condominiums offer families a wide-open view onto the ocean and the neighboring islands of Lanai and Kahoolawe. A large lawn sprawls in front of the twin buildings right up to a narrow, peaceful beach, giving kids plenty of room to run and play. In addition to a swimming pool for adults, the property includes a wading pool plus fun extras like shuffleboard and a putting green. All studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom units feature a fully-equipped kitchen, allowing guests to cook “at home” and save on dining.
Highlights
  • Peaceful stretch of beach fronts the property
  • Each unit includes a fully-equipped kitchen
  • Shallow wading pool for kids
Location
The Kauhale Makai enjoys a quiet beachfront location in sunny Kihei on Maui’s south shore. The looming neighbor island of Lanai, just across the channel, adds an exotic element to the ocean panorama. Kauhale Makai guests also are within easy reach of Kihei’s many shops and restaurants.
Rooms
The six-story Kauhale Makai features studio, one- and two-bedroom condo units with air conditioning, private balcony, fully-equipped kitchen, cable TV and traditional island décor. Most units offer ocean or mountain views. All units are professionally-cleaned in advance of guest arrival and stocked with starter supplies of paper products and soaps. Laundry facilities are on every other floor.
Dining
Kauhale Makai guests save by cooking in the fully equipped kitchens. Restaurants and shops are plentiful within the area.

 

Recreation
  • Adult swimming pool, children's wading pool and Jacuzzi
  • Saunas
  • Shuffleboard and putting green
  • Barbecue areas
  • Golf (nearby)

 

Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
Attractions
  • Maui Ocean Center (6.8 mi/10.9 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (8.8 mi/14.2 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (13.3 mi/21.4 km)
  • Lahaina Town (21.5 mi/34.6 km)

Hotel Map

20.7579 -156.4574
Area served
Kihei, HI
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport (OGG)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home Rooms

Two Bedroom Oceanview
This condominium includes queen bed; twin beds and queen hide a bed sofa. All condominium resorts have a swimming pool and are close to shopping, restaurants, golf, activities and the airport. All resorts have BBQ's. All condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, telephones, color cable TV or complex satellite and private lanais. All condominiums are considered a "home away from home" and the inventory includes microwave, coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishes, glasses, silverware, pots and pans, utensils, baking dishes, towels, lines, iron, vacuum, alarm clock and many other items to make your vacation comfortable and enjoyable. Accommodations are professionally cleaned and prepared for all guests prior to arrival, and include starter supplies of paper products and soaps. Additional supplies are the guest's responsibility. Maid service is available for an additional fee.
Two Bedroom Oceanfront
This condominium includes queen bed; twin beds and queen hide a bed sofa. All condominium resorts have a swimming pool and are close to shopping, restaurants, golf, activities and the airport. All resorts have BBQ's. All condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, telephones, color cable TV or complex satellite and private lanais. All condominiums are considered a "home away from home" and the inventory includes microwave, coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishes, glasses, silverware, pots and pans, utensils, baking dishes, towels, lines, iron, vacuum, alarm clock and many other items to make your vacation comfortable and enjoyable. Accommodations are professionally cleaned and prepared for all guests prior to arrival, and include starter supplies of paper products and soaps. Additional supplies are the guest's responsibility. Maid service is available for an additional fee.
Studio
Studio include queen hide a bed sofa or wall bed. All condominium resorts have a swimming pool and are close to shopping, restaurants, golf, activities and the airport. All resorts have BBQ's. All condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, telephones, color cable TV or complex satellite and private lanais. All condominiums are considered a "home away from home" and the inventory includes microwave, coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishes, glasses, silverware, pots and pans, utensils, baking dishes, towels, lines, iron, vacuum, alarm clock and many other items to make your vacation comfortable and enjoyable. Accommodations are professionally cleaned and prepared for all guests prior to arrival, and include starter supplies of paper products and soaps. Additional supplies are the guest's responsibility. Maid service is available for an additional fee.
One Bedroom
This condominium includes one queen bed and queen hides a bed sofa. All condominium resorts have a swimming pool and are close to shopping, restaurants, golf, activities and the airport. All resorts have BBQ's. All condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, telephones, color cable TV or complex satellite and private lanais. All condominiums are considered a "home away from home" and the inventory includes microwave, coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishes, glasses, silverware, pots and pans, utensils, baking dishes, towels, lines, iron, vacuum, alarm clock and many other items to make your vacation comfortable and enjoyable. Accommodations are professionally cleaned and prepared for all guests prior to arrival, and include starter supplies of paper products and soaps. Additional supplies are the guest's responsibility. Maid service is available for an additional fee.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New York Mark
Horseheads, NY
May 28, 2012

Peaceful stay in Unit 122

We had a great 7 day stay at this condo complex. Our room was very clean, modern & well stocked when we arrived. It had a keyless entry which made our late arrival very convenient. All cookware and appliances for cooking were provided, and there were beach items (towels, boogie boards, etc) in the closet. Tons of closet space & drawer storage! The interior was comfortable & nicely decorated. This is a ground level room located toward the rear of the courtyard. Not much of an ocean view, but the courtyard was beautiful! The room was convenient to the parking lot, and didn't require stairs or elevator to access. The courtyard was beautifully maintained daily, and had a putting green, swimming pool, wading pool, hot tub, volleyball net & dual shuffleboard court. The ocean was just a short walk across the lawn and dunes. The beach is a nice hard sand walking beach, with lots of washed up coral to investigate. It is not a swimming beach. The nice sandy swimming beaches begin about a mile south at Cove Park and southward from there. There are a series of gas grills in the center of the courtyard which were meticulously maintained. We cooked several meals on them during the week. I was a great place to cook & meet your neighbors! The condo complex has several laundry rooms available, and there is a concierge desk to help plan your activities (and get you good discounts too!) The condo complex is in a quieter area, away from the touristy areas, but is a central, convenient driving distance to just about everything. It is only 20 minutes from the airport & large shopping areas of Kahului. It is about 15 minutes from the Ma'alaea Harbor activities. Our favorite beach was Big Beach, all the way down on the south end of the island, and even that was only 20 minutes away. There are a number of local grocery stores, restaurants, craft markets, etc, just south of the complex, some even in walking distance. We took the Road to Hana Tour, and they conveniently picked us up right at the condo complex. This is a "must do" tour when visiting this island! If you are looking for a nice peaceful place to base your Maui vacation from, the Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo & Home is a great choice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Saturday morning there is a wonderful local swap meet/flea market in Kahului on the college grounds. Prices and variety there were better than the local craft markets, and most items were made in Maui/Hawaii.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
USA
Dec 30, 2008

very quiet which we loved

We stayed in #209 and where pleasantly surprised how nice it really was. The entire condo was older but very comfortable. We were very close to the beaches and shopping yet we had the luxury of being in a very peaceful area. My husband and I brought along our two teenage daughters who thought that it was very nice and we all enjoyed our stay at Kauhale Makai and would definitely recommend it to anyone. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

A five to ten minute drive to Starbucks, Denny's, Safeway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kawaii112
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 24, 2013

Good home away from home

It's a nice condo, close to Kihei beaches. The unit is on the first floor and the lanai is practically next to the parking lot. That makes for easy loading/unloading, but also made me feel a little unsafe. Very quiet, didn't hear the neighbors when we were in the unit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thaigirl22
Oregon
Mar 20, 2013

Honeymoon

It's not the most luxury place for a honeymoon. But we loved it. It was great for the price we paid. We were close to everything and we didn't mind the drive into lahiana and other town. Our stay was amazing, we enjoyed staying here. We would come back again and recommend people. One thing that I was not as happy about was there was no wifi. Unless you have a password that the lady on the phone told us only the owner property have it. My husband use up 90% of his Internet while we were there. We only had iPhones and iPad on us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There's Safeway maybe less than a mile away from the condo. We cooked at the condo often. To help save money... On going out up eat. The condo have everything pot and pans ready for you to use.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LoganAndFelicia
albuquerque, NM
Jun 17, 2011

Wonderful stay

Very clean and organized. The front desk was able to help with all our needs. Very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bomoblini
Chicago
Dec 19, 2011

Great time

Everithing was great.Location,view,service,and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tuan
Sacramento CA
Jul 12, 2013

Nice anniversary trip to paradise

The room is more than I expected. The view is excellent (we stay on the sixth floor, slightly facing inland, but the view of the garden, the pool, and the ocean are al clear). Since it was our first time to Maui, I did not know which area is best, but I believed our place in Kihei was perfect, as all the shoppings and restaurants are within 5 minutes drive. On our trip to Lahaina area, we saw terrible traffic against ours on the way back in the afternoon. Same thing happens when we took the road to Hana, we saw heavy cross traffic coming from Kahului, again on the way back. I wish we can stay longer, but well, back to the business of making a living !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
always happy
california
Jun 20, 2013

family get away

I loved it and the view was spectacular and the room was very nice and clean so was the property

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cyrus2572
maui , hawaii
Aug 11, 2013

Great trip.

it was really awesome. i had a lot of fun and traveled all across the island saw a lot of stuff. Maui is the best!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lynda train mama
lompoc,ca
Aug 19, 2009

affordable and easy access to town/beach

This trip was part business and part leisure. Our goal was to move my daughter into college and it was a hectic first two days. Every night after a long day it was a pleasure to return to the condo and relax. Finally by the third day we truly enjoyed our stay and beautiful Hawaii. I know I would be back next year and staying at the same condo and orbitz taking care of my trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fred's Mexican and Moose Mcgillyacaddie dining was excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search