Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

3 stars
View map of 938 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LoganAndFelicia
Business
albuquerque, NM
Jun 17, 2011

Wonderful stay

Very clean and organized. The front desk was able to help with all our needs. Very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Jun 15, 2011

Kauhale Makai in June

Kids loved the pool! Had a lovely stay here. The 1 bedroom/1 bath condo was nicely decorated and well equipped but it was not very clean. Felt the need to go buy Lysol wipes due to the fuzz on the door frames. The condo facility is nice, right next to the ocean (good for walks not swimming), nice hot tub, but wouldn't go in the sauna - again, not clean and obviously not used. The staff was friendly and even our view across the parking lot was of ocean and island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dweebis
Business
San Francisco
Apr 28, 2011

Nice solid place

We travelled as a family of three and were very comfortable in a one bedroom condo. The place was well set up, the view was nice, and we were happy, unlike some of the condo complexes, to be on the ocean side of the main road. The pool was great for our two year old, and the beach, though not great for sunbathing or playing, was nice to walk on. It is not a terribly fancy place, but we liked it as a place to stay for a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charlie and Carol
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 17, 2011

We liked this place

The hotel was clean and neat. The employees at the desk were very helpful and friendly. There was an experienced hospitality person at 9:00 AM who helped us plan our activities for the week, including a luau, snorkeling, and a helicopter ride. She made the reservations for us, saving us lots of time and money. This is a great thing to take advantage of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Collins Colorado
Nov 5, 2010

Attractive and reasonable

The condo we stayed in was clean and well stocked. We were too busy to use the pool and hot tub, but it looked nice. The landscaping was attractive. Our only regret is that there was no computer available at the site. There was wireless in our room, but we have no laptop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We sailed to Molokini with Paragon and loved it. So much more fun to sail than motor out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happifeet62
Business
Virginia
Jul 23, 2010

Very Nice

Everything went as planned. Very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Jun 30, 2010

Good value

Its a nice easy base for Maui. Not a location to be in if you do not have a car, but a great spot to come home too and get away from the mass tourism spots. It is a little home away from home with easy parking and a nice pool and hot tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great stand up paddle boarding beach out front.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
May 7, 2010

Great value condo!

While the access to the beach was easy it was not a great beach for sunbathing or water activities; the location of the property however was somewhat centralized to neighboring towns and beaches that offered great adventures. Just a 20 minute drive south to great snorkeling and turtle viewing in Makena and a 40 minute drive northwest to great shopping in Lahaina. We met many wonderful couples around the pool and while utilizing the 5 well-maintained gas grills nearby. We saved a lot of money by grocery shopping nearby and preparing some of our own meals in the full kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Snorkeling is best in the morning when the fish and other sea animals are more active and you can rent the gear cheap at nearby shops. It wouldn't hurt to keep the snorkel gear with you on any sightseeing adventures as you are likely to stumble upon many opportunities to use it along the way. I would highly recommend booking a snorkel excursion to Molokini Crater from nearby Maalaea Harbor for the best underwater experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH
Jan 26, 2010

Hit or miss

Condos are individually owned and not all equal. Our first condo was filthy and infested with cockroaches. After a few days we couldn't take any more and after a bit of complaining, they moved us to a better room. It was much cleaner and more updated. Also, the front office is manned by a different company than the one that manages reservations. This means to get anything you have to call an off-site company during business hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle,WA
Jan 6, 2010

Great location

Swimming, Surfing and Travelling

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top